Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What are the army doing?

• 07-01-2010 5:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭

Just wondering what all the army men and women are doing this weather. Like, if they have the equipment and materials should they be gritting the roads?

IF not, should they be involved in trafficing people around? Helping out with crashes and other stuff the gardai normally do?

Basically provide some kind of presence? Whats the point in having a group of fit, capable, trained men sitting on their holes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

Go "ask" them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Sid_Justice

What do you think they should be doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

The Government's task force on emergency planning says the Army is available if any local authority needs it. It will be up to each local authority to assess that need. - http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0107/weathertransportupdates.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

They're on stand by. Willie O'dea said he'll deploy them if necessary over the weekend.

So basically we should be getting on to our local authorities to get them to get the army involved. Reminds me of the fella down in wexford with the 100 tonnes of salt that's waiting for the local authorities to come get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

What do you think they should be doing?

Playing quasar and drinking tax free beer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

US Soldier: "I killed fifty Iraqi militia men yesterday."

British Soldier: "I killed sixty Al Qaeda yesterday"

Irish Soldier: "I eh ... I cleared away some snow"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

What are the army doing?

Poking out of the sleevey......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Just wondering what all the army men and women are doing this weather. Like, if they have the equipment and materials should they be gritting the roads?

IF not, should they be involved in trafficing people around? Helping out with crashes and other stuff the gardai normally do?

Basically provide some kind of presence? Whats the point in having a group of fit, capable, trained men sitting on their holes?
    I saw the thread title and I was like "This cant seriously be about...."

And then I read it and I was like "....yep :rolleyes:"

Come join the "National Crisis" debate.

My what a sheltered life you Pats live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Heading to your house to take turns in using your head as a snow plough.

A bit of snow and the country turns upside down.

stovelid wrote: »
    Heading to your house to take turns in using your head as a snow plough.

what's this about? **** posts go in -> thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Toronto we will go! Hi Ho the Derry Oh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

davyjose wrote: »
    US Soldier: "I killed fifty Iraqi militia men British soldiers with 'friendly fire' yesterday."

FYP :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I know. It's mad.

People are actually calling for the army to be on the streets and everything.

does anyone even own winter tires?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Mary Harney's got a few to spare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

stovelid wrote: »
    I know. It's mad.

People are actually calling for the army to be on the streets and everything.

I wouldn't mind if they were on the streets all year round in certain parts of Limerick and Dublin tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

First you are giving out about the army, now about winter tyres.

Find a damn point and stick to it! It's annoying when a thread bounces all over the place on the first page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Bull76

The army needs to be asked to help. People assume that there to help just because the council doesn't have a clue how to grit roads and manage there funds. The question should be asked what are the council's doing to help? Not much from what I can see.
    Gardai are there to aid in traffic issues and civil matters. The army isn't nor should they.
    They do a job that they are trained for. If you want the roads gritted then get the council out and do it. Haven't seen many council workers out doing there job so let's have the people who are to do this do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭BJC

I'd be most proud of the Irish soldier then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

US Soldier: "I killed fifty Iraqi civilian men, women and children yesterday."

British Soldier: "I tried to kill Al Qaeda yesterday but none of my equipment worked"

Irish Soldier: "I tried to clear away some snow but the 100 year old shovels they gave us broke after 5 mins"

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Irish Soldier: "I eh ... I cleared away some snow killed 70 snowmen last night"

First you are giving out about the army, now about winter tyres.

Find a damn point and stick to it! It's annoying when a thread bounces all over the place on the first page.

Sorry!:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭maryjane007

Whats the point in having a group of fit, capable, trained men sitting on their holes?

eh MEN???? are there no females in the army?

yes of course i did mention women earlier in my post. the army men don't feed themselves like or wash their own cloths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

They may be female, but they ain't women! :P

</grabs coat, runs>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

We're all on a Basic Road Gritting Course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

Poccington wrote: »
    We're all on a Basic Road Gritting Course.

What manual is that in ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Overheal wrote: »
    I saw the thread title and I was like "This cant seriously be about...."

And then I read it and I was like "....yep :rolleyes:"

Come join the "National Crisis" debate.

My what a sheltered life you Pats live.

"in america we..."
    "in ireland you always..."
    "actually i do know more..."
    "my argument is correct unless you can prove otherwise..."
    "sarcastic smiley sarcastic smiley sarcastic smiley"

Come on man, change the script for 2010 please will you?

What manual is that in ?

It was just drafted in this week, when the CoS realised that everyone was outraged at the fact that an Army wasn't out gritting roads, directing traffic, rescuing ducks from frozen lakes and whatever else people crib about.

Really, you'd swear the DF didn't have their own work to be doing. Rather than existing solely to step in when everyone else makes a balls of dealing with a situation.

/Rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

What are they going to grit the roads with? bullets?

The main reason the roads are not being gritted is not because we don't have the people power,

and after this weekend it is going to be a lot worse if you believe what they are saying about grit supplies.

It was just drafted in this week, when the CoS realised that everyone was outraged at the fact that an Army wasn't out gritting roads, directing traffic, rescuing ducks from frozen lakes and whatever else people crib about.

Really, you'd swear the DF didn't have their own work to be doing. Rather than existing solely to step in when everyone else makes a balls of dealing with a situation.

/Rant.

i'm not being a twit but what do the defence forces do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Out with pickaxes and shovels! Oh wait..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

Their duties.

i'm not being a twit but what do the defence forces do?

Overseas missions, CIT's, Regimental Duties, Protection of Vital Installations, Courses, Exercises etc.

We don't just sit in a barracks all days waiting for snow or floods to pop up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

What manual is that in ?

Its in the new Tac-Aide........."TM complain about the army, cut the pay, promotions, equipment and overseas service then wonder why they are not out doing someone elses job"

...Its at the back.

Overseas missions, CIT's, Regimental Duties, Protection of Vital Installations, Courses, Exercises etc.

We don't just sit in a barracks all days waiting for snow or floods to pop up.

bear with me please?

Ok, I respect the fact the guys in the lebannon can't be out gritting roads, how many army men are serving overseas?

other than that... just saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

bear with me please?

Ok, I respect the fact the guys in the lebannon can't be out gritting roads, how many army men are serving overseas?

Educate Yourself : http://www.military.ie/

Map: http://www.military.ie/overseas/images/UN_DF_map_large.jpg
    :-)

bear with me please?

The missions to the Lebanon ended a few years ago.

We have just over 700 troops deployed Overseas. Then add another 700 troops that will be taking part in a form up period before going Overseas. Then another 700 troops on leave after coming back from Overseas.

That's over 2,000 troops out of country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

bear with me please?

Ok, what do you want the Defence Forces to be doing?

We cannot grit the road, theres no grit.

The roads are still icy as feck, do you want them out in 10 tonnes trucks skidding all over the road?..this would make matters worse, especially if you want to use the trucks to ferry people home because there are no busses?

We are not trained to direct traffic or assist in car crashes...we can do it, but there are plenty of Gardai and reseve Gardai to do this job.

Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

benwavner wrote: »
    Ok, what do you want the Defence Forces to be doing?

We cannot grit the road, theres no grit.

The roads are still icy as feck, do you want them out in 10 tonnes trucks skidding all over the road?..this would make matters worse, especially if you want to use the trucks to ferry people home because there are no busses?

We are not trained to direct traffic or assist in car crashes...we can do it, but there are plenty of Gardai and reseve Gardai to do this job.

Any ideas?

Can you go out and shoot all the eejits trying to drive at 60kph on icy roads?

Seriously though, I don't think the DF can help just yet. We have to wait for all the snow to melt so the flooding start. Then the DF's skills with sandbag placement will be invaluable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭Archeron

Ideally we should use magic to bring all the counties snowmen to life and get those feckers to clear the roads. It is THEIR skin after all.

Then when the weather picks up they just melt, so we dont even have to bring in grizzly bears to eat the snowmen.

Simple solutions are never considered......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

Watching Eastenders?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

and was an extra in Braveheart!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

spadder wrote: »
    Watching Eastenders?

That made me laugh:D I don't really know what the army do either apart from overseas missions and transporting cash but now I've got this image of the army people who are not overseas sitting around in the barracks having tea and biscuits while watching Eastenders while half the country is wating to see them out clearing snow and gritting roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

sunnyside wrote: »
    That made me laugh:D I don't really know what the army do either apart from overseas missions and transporting cash but now I've got this image of the army people who are not overseas sitting around in the barracks having tea and biscuits while watching Eastenders while half the country is wating to see them out clearing snow and gritting roads.

You're bang on there!
    If you ever want to invade Ireland, just plan your attack around the Coronation st. double bill!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Never mind the Army, at least they are in the country unlike Noel Dempsey who's off on holliers.

Ah sure Cowen said it's ok as even though he is minister for Transport the current issues are not concerned with capital funding. Alls fine though as Gormley will chair a daily committee in a nice warm boardroom with fresh coffee and pinapple and laugh at clips of old people falling on their arses.

This is another example of when it comes to the crunch, when actual action is required these fat inept bastards really fu.cking shine.

They are such a bunch of cnuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Yes send the Army on the snow filled streets!

Put them under command of the Local Authorites.

Each Local Authority could take a small amount of soldiers under its wing...
    hmm soldier sounds a bit violent lets call them 'workers' and send them out and about in the local council areas to grit roads and footpaths.

Wow this is a great plan a dedicated body of Council Workers to help the Local Authority!

wait a minute...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

Never mind the Army, at least they are in the country unlike Noel Dempsey who's off on holliers.

That is such bad timing, it's not as if he could really do anything if he was here but it looks so bad for him. Is he gone somewhere nice?