Whats the most brain numbing soul destroying job you've ever had?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Working in a warehouse in Sydney putting white stickers over the "Made In Taiwan" stamp on boxes of cutlery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭alias06

data analysis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

Every job I have had has been, in some way, soul destroying.

Wage slavery does that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Diabhal_Glas

Shop security guard in Melbourne (music shops) I had to ask people to let me look in their bags (backpacks) as they left the shop. Most of the time was 12 hour shifts with 2 half hour breaks.
    Sooo mind numbingly boring, to add to this all the staff hated the security as we were warned to watch the staff too.
    Most of the Ozzies that I worked with too werent very nice and would get off on a power trip shouting at anyone and everyone, including old ladies. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Anton.Mamyko

-landscaping @15 years of age-60 hour weeks/200 euro pay --ruined back for life. slavery
    - subway - endless sandwiches for drunks
    - kitchen porter in the busiest kitchen ever for ages-extremely hard work- smell stuck with you
    - call center-harassing people off lists that were already called 1,00 times before-soul destroying stuff, couldnt bare it and walked off after a month
    - retail security- standing.....in....... one........... spot......for.......10.....hours.............trying .......not.......to ...........go..........mental.........
    -CINEMAAAA YESSSSSSSS

ugh///
    Im gonna go back to studying my engineering so that I dont have to that sht again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Easy. Telesales in a local newspaper in a certain Ulster county shaped like Iraq, trying to convince people to take ad space.

I hated that job. With a passion. 6 Months I lasted. I wanted to kill myself, my bosses, the ****tards I was ringing, everyone except the people in the office who were pretty cool.

God I hated it. More red tape than a civil service, and more "inpiring" phrases that a 80's film set in a high pressure sales office. Like Operation GoldRush. Oh piss off. I swear when I heard them say this for the first time, I swear, I looked for the cameras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

-landscaping @15 years of age-60 hour weeks/200 euro pay --ruined back for life
    - kitchen porter in the busiest kitchen ever for ages-extremely hard work- smell stuck with you
    - call center-harassing people off lists that were already called 1,00 times before-soul destroying stuff, couldnt bare it and walked off after a month
    - retail security- sitting.....in....... one........... spot......for.......10.....hours.............trying .......not.......to ...........go..........mental.........
    -CINEMAAAA YESSSSSSSS

ugh///
    Im gonna go back to studying my engineering so that I dont have to that sht again

Indeed...viva la future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

Working in a vegetable packing factory. Lift 4 cucumbers, place into box - do this three times over. When box is full, place box on pallet and start new box. When pallet is full, start new pallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Doing QC on and packaging the contraceptive pill on a conveyor belt in 2000. MIND numbingly boring!!!

So..eh..if any of ya have a 9/10 year old "accidental" kid now it quite possibly could have been down to me being brain dead that year doing that job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

-landscaping @15 years of age-60 hour weeks/200 euro pay --ruined back for life
    - retail security- standing.....in....... one........... spot......for.......10.....hours.............trying .......not.......to ...........go..........mental.........
    -CINEMAAAA YESSSSSSSS

ugh///
    €200 a week?
    Damn. That's bad. Really bad.
    My box factory job paid ~$600 a week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭ananas

Super Valu, only way they're saving money is by paying slave wages-€4 an hour when the minimum was €6 something. It is ran by the most horrible, narrow minded, vicious rodents I have ever encountered in a job and I've had a fair few jobs.

Shower of bástards, fuppin hate Super Valu and everything affiliated with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

My current job...working part time in retail.

Although I finished college this year I am stuck in the retail job that I have held all through my studies to pay for them due to there being fcuk all jobs about.

I have shat more IQ than most of the managers have that I come across - even the "higher up" managers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

Used to wash milk crates in the pissing rain for dawn dairies, had a big green plastic waterproof suit.

Actually fuck it, I liked that job. Zero responsibility and all the milk a fella could drink. Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Outbound sales calls, trying to get people to come back to Eircom over the phone. Nver been told to piss off so much in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Easy. Telesales in a local newspaper in a certain Ulster county shaped like Iraq, trying to convince people to take ad space.

I hated that job. With a passion. 6 Months I lasted. I wanted to kill myself, my bosses, the ****tards I was ringing, everyone except the people in the office who were pretty cool.

God I hated it. More red tape than a civil service, and more "inpiring" phrases that a 80's film set in a high pressure sales office. Like Operation GoldRush. Oh piss off. I swear when I heard them say this for the first time, I swear, I looked for the cameras.

Monaghan Post??? They've gone belly up now anyway, so you win ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭mukki

INTEL

great money, shyte hours, and staff like nazi soilders, your so called workmates would tell the boss if you were 5 mins late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

Flatbed truck full of leeks would come in the morning. I'd stand at the end of a big conveyor belt on my own. 8 leeks into each bag, heat-seal it and then pack it on a pallet. When the pallet was full move it over to the corner, repeat ad nauseam. That went on for 8 hours a day, 5 days a week for 4 months. Minimum wage, I was young(er) and I needed the money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Picking spuds during the summer holidays for 30p a bag (25kg) i.e pick a ton of spuds and you get paid £12. Backbreaking stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

bluto63 wrote: »
    Filing papers in an office

Ditto. Filing. Only in my job there was the unique feature of having nothing to file so I literally didn't even have the pleasure of killing time sorting stuff from a to z and sticking it in a cabinet. I literally spent 3 months sitting at half a desk (oh didn't I mention they hired TWO people to do these nothing-job - but only one desk for us) staring at the wall waiting for 5o'clock. Probably did at most 5 to 10 mins of work any given 8 hour day in that place.

After 3 months of this torturous tedium myself and my co-desker got a lovely surprise .... a new computer to share on our joint desk! So now we had half a desk each and half a computer each. No internet but at least we were now the proud owners of a dell and single email address! We'd made it! Unfortunately there wasn't any work to do with the computer so naturally we spent the entire day playing the few games that were available in the "windows/games" directory to pass the time (remember , no internet to kill time here).

After about a week of this gamery the boss (an raging alcoholic who liked to spend every lunch drinking alone in the pub across the street knocking back about 2-3 pints on average in the hour - we'd go there for our lunch so we'd regularly see him) had the cheek to write me a snotty email complaining that I was spending all day messing on the computer. I pointed out to him that there was nothing to do (a statement I could back up by the fact that I'd come up to him 15 times a day looking for work - always declined). He said "well act like you've got something to do!". I saw red and told him to go **** himself , drafted a letter of resignation on the spot and dumped it on his desk before storming out of the office to enjoy the rest of my Friday afternoon.

Spent the next week not doing a tap and taking 3 hour lunch breaks (following the bosses example during them and getting well gargled by the afternoon). The day I finished up that "job" was a good one. My co-desker even followed my example and quit the same day too so some lucky flunky probably had a whole 2 desks for themselves the following Monday. Imagine?

To this day I don't know why they hired me in the first place (let alone me and another guy). I can only conclude they were fiddling the system or getting some sort of tax-break or whatever by having X amount of people in a given office? I honestly don’t know. If anyone could answer that one I'd be very interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Doing labouring in London during the summer when I was about 19, one job had me sitting for a whole day in a massive plowed, empty field with just a chair for company in order to collect delivery dockets from lorries dropping off concrete blokes I think. From 9 am to 5 pm I was there slowly cooking in the hot London sun and a grand total of two lorries showed up. I lasted one day there before getting a different job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

Working for a bank.

Pretty sure they keep my soul in a jar in the basement somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Charco wrote: »
    one job had me sitting for a whole day in a massive plowed, empty field with just a chair for company in order to collect delivery dockets from lorries dropping off concrete blokes I think. .

Statues and stuff like that :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

cloneslad wrote: »
    Statues and stuff like that :p

Good spot :D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

putting free things in magazines, those leaflets and the free gifts.

the leaflets had to in certain pages and in a certain order.

it was piece work

done for 9 months, as a second jobs

another one working on a conveyor line put manuals about about nails in a packaging box

actually the second one was worse, the first one was piece work so you just worked really hard to keep up. the second was soul destroying, in a freezing cold warehouse

edit: how could i forget sewing legs of tights together - now that was a soul destroying job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Pot washing in a kitchen. Bloody stinking work. Lasted one day - never went back.

Working in Tesco, Sweeping floors, pot washing and listening to some interminable twat moan about the speed that I was cleaning the checkouts. Lasted one week and told him to go fuck himself and walked out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Working on a production line in the Netherlands, boxing tulip bulbs for export. 12 hour shifts and a bunch of slavedriving supervisors. The weekends more than made up for it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Columbia

Working in Dunnes Stores.

I'm sure a lot of people here have done the same job, and since it hasn't been mentioned here people mustn't have thought it was terrible.

However, I was night staff, and every single night for three and a half months it was my job to list, pack and then face off the peas, beans and tinned fish aisle.

I don't know how many hundreds of tins I had to put facing label-out every night, but every single night my boss would find the ONE TIN not 100% perfectly perpendicular to the shelf, and would give out crap. This probably sounds quite conceited, but having someone who dropped out of school at 18 show me, a PhD student, HOW TO TURN A TIN OF PEAS, was not something I would choose to have repeated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

Working in the Dell Manufacturing plant in Limerick.

I was stapling the bottom of cardboard boxes then passing them onto the guy who puts the computer in the box.....

Try doing that on a 12 hour shift, 8pm - 8am. Definition of Hell.

Money was great though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭tudlytops

I worked for a factory that made smoke alarms, my job was putting these plates on a machine, the machine would put in all this little pins I would take the plates out put them in a box and place more plates on the machine.

It drove me nuts, so 10 days later in the middle of the shift I told my supervisor I was going home, she asked me if I was sick, I said no if I stayed there one more hour I would go insane, she smile and said she understood lol. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭gamblitis

I worked as a stage door keeper for a Theatre. The toughest part of my job was to click a button to open a maglock to let people into the building! This last for about 8 hours a day! :-/ You actually feel your life draining away!