Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the most brain numbing soul destroying job you've ever had?????

• 05-01-2010 08:28PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭c4cat

Mine was working for a call centre in Clontarf taking Directory Enq calls for Orange Mobile UK customers. Had to try and answer one call every 25 secs for 8 hours a day. fried my brains into mush

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

The Junior Cert.:p

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I worked in Shannon Aiport briefly while at college doing the airline tray meals, it was basically putting an item on a tray as it came down a conveyer belt for 8 hours a day, grand money but boring as fück.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭magick

AOL Waterford

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Lobotomy experiments test subject.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I worked as a data entry clerk in a large building society......i lost all will to live while I was there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Filing papers in an office

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,382 ✭✭✭snorlax

working making sandwiches when i was 15..endless 1 o'clock queues..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

drew 2d digital maps of farmland. Was unbearable and I dreamt about it at night so even when I left work it still haunted me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭TomCo

Lounge staff in a pub run by gangsters and inhabited by chancers.

Some of the bar staff were evil, sadistic, ****ers and the pay was terrible. They'd lock the staff in at closing time and force everyone to clock out, then you'd clean the place for about 3 hours.
    Came out with €20 pay one week and never returned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

Power washing dried cowdung of farm buildings, has to be done every year and seems to take forever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Stella777

one sumer in college I worked in the shoe department in Macy's. I had the lowest amount of sales in the whole department. I'm just not good at sales. I did have the lowest return rate too. Basically I wasn't pushy enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Juggler_

Stripper

Fund accounting has to be the worst, every bleeding day is exactly the same. Was so happy when I quit!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Super Valu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Milky Moo

MacDonalds, the work is hard, the pay is crappy, the food is poop and the people treat you like you are some manner of functioning retard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

My second stint at HP - 12 hour shifts of talking to people in Bangalore on Office Communicator asking them to fix stuff that we could have well fixed there and then if our management had let us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Super Valu.

this like hell hated it facing off is the worst thing ever invented

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

A box factory.
    My main task was to stand at the end of a converyor belt and make sure the cut pieces of cardboards were stacked straight.
    Fill the pallet and start again.

I went back to tiling after 4 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

filling envelopes for a hotel newsletter (basically junk mail) and replying to peoples CVs that they didnt get the job (never looked at by management) I still have nightmares about envelopes and stamps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

tesco bagpacker...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Stunt cock.

I was left drained at the end of the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

The two summers I spent in 5th and 6th year making this

It was messy as hell, and mostly involved hitting three buttons over and over again to fill a moutld with the meat paste!!

The pay was pretty good for someone at 17 and 18 who was living at home. Allowed me to save over two grand each summer and go out every weekend during them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭PurplePrincess

Back in the days when cigarette machines used to give you the change sellotaped to the cigarettes, that was what I did. .
    Line up boxes into rows.
    Put coins onto boxes.
    Sellotape into place, could be two or three times depending on amount of change
    Put in bundles of 5 in an elastic band and box up.
    We were paid a penny per packet and it was awful work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

Putting slices of bread on a conveyer belt for a sandwich company! I lasted three weeks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

one off a girl called fiona in blackrock park many years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Door to door sales. I lasted 2 weeks and then got a loan and ran off to europe for 5 weeks on my own to recover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

I had lots of them - really basic office work stuff is soul destroying like filing or data entry. One of the worst ones I had was photocopying 100 page manuals and collating it all - absolutely mind-numbing stuff.

And then after that is factory related stuff - i packed boxes in one place and did something with badges in another. fairly horrible work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Daffodil washer in a daffodil factory.Worst 3 weeks of my life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 trixybell

been handed pages of the telephone book and told to ring every number and convince peope to set up appointments for sales reps to call to thier home to sell life insurance, critical life policies etc...

soul destroying to say the least..i lasted a week. :eek:

Juggler_ wrote: »
    Stripper

Fund accounting has to be the worst, every bleeding day is exactly the same. Was so happy when I quit!

Not a juggler no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Working in a warehouse in Sydney putting white stickers over the "Made In Taiwan" stamp on boxes of cutlery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 298 ✭✭alias06

data analysis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

Every job I have had has been, in some way, soul destroying.

Wage slavery does that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭Diabhal_Glas

Shop security guard in Melbourne (music shops) I had to ask people to let me look in their bags (backpacks) as they left the shop. Most of the time was 12 hour shifts with 2 half hour breaks.
    Sooo mind numbingly boring, to add to this all the staff hated the security as we were warned to watch the staff too.
    Most of the Ozzies that I worked with too werent very nice and would get off on a power trip shouting at anyone and everyone, including old ladies. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Anton.Mamyko

-landscaping @15 years of age-60 hour weeks/200 euro pay --ruined back for life. slavery
    - subway - endless sandwiches for drunks
    - kitchen porter in the busiest kitchen ever for ages-extremely hard work- smell stuck with you
    - call center-harassing people off lists that were already called 1,00 times before-soul destroying stuff, couldnt bare it and walked off after a month
    - retail security- standing.....in....... one........... spot......for.......10.....hours.............trying .......not.......to ...........go..........mental.........
    -CINEMAAAA YESSSSSSSS

ugh///
    Im gonna go back to studying my engineering so that I dont have to that sht again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Easy. Telesales in a local newspaper in a certain Ulster county shaped like Iraq, trying to convince people to take ad space.

I hated that job. With a passion. 6 Months I lasted. I wanted to kill myself, my bosses, the ****tards I was ringing, everyone except the people in the office who were pretty cool.

God I hated it. More red tape than a civil service, and more "inpiring" phrases that a 80's film set in a high pressure sales office. Like Operation GoldRush. Oh piss off. I swear when I heard them say this for the first time, I swear, I looked for the cameras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

-landscaping @15 years of age-60 hour weeks/200 euro pay --ruined back for life
    - kitchen porter in the busiest kitchen ever for ages-extremely hard work- smell stuck with you
    - call center-harassing people off lists that were already called 1,00 times before-soul destroying stuff, couldnt bare it and walked off after a month
    - retail security- sitting.....in....... one........... spot......for.......10.....hours.............trying .......not.......to ...........go..........mental.........
    -CINEMAAAA YESSSSSSSS

ugh///
    Im gonna go back to studying my engineering so that I dont have to that sht again

Indeed...viva la future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭SoulTrader

Working in a vegetable packing factory. Lift 4 cucumbers, place into box - do this three times over. When box is full, place box on pallet and start new box. When pallet is full, start new pallet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Doing QC on and packaging the contraceptive pill on a conveyor belt in 2000. MIND numbingly boring!!!

So..eh..if any of ya have a 9/10 year old "accidental" kid now it quite possibly could have been down to me being brain dead that year doing that job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

-landscaping @15 years of age-60 hour weeks/200 euro pay --ruined back for life
    - retail security- standing.....in....... one........... spot......for.......10.....hours.............trying .......not.......to ...........go..........mental.........
    -CINEMAAAA YESSSSSSSS

ugh///
    €200 a week?
    Damn. That's bad. Really bad.
    My box factory job paid ~$600 a week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭ananas

Super Valu, only way they're saving money is by paying slave wages-€4 an hour when the minimum was €6 something. It is ran by the most horrible, narrow minded, vicious rodents I have ever encountered in a job and I've had a fair few jobs.

Shower of bástards, fuppin hate Super Valu and everything affiliated with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

My current job...working part time in retail.

Although I finished college this year I am stuck in the retail job that I have held all through my studies to pay for them due to there being fcuk all jobs about.

I have shat more IQ than most of the managers have that I come across - even the "higher up" managers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭barakus

Used to wash milk crates in the pissing rain for dawn dairies, had a big green plastic waterproof suit.

Actually fuck it, I liked that job. Zero responsibility and all the milk a fella could drink. Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,957 ✭✭✭The Volt

Outbound sales calls, trying to get people to come back to Eircom over the phone. Nver been told to piss off so much in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

Easy. Telesales in a local newspaper in a certain Ulster county shaped like Iraq, trying to convince people to take ad space.

I hated that job. With a passion. 6 Months I lasted. I wanted to kill myself, my bosses, the ****tards I was ringing, everyone except the people in the office who were pretty cool.

God I hated it. More red tape than a civil service, and more "inpiring" phrases that a 80's film set in a high pressure sales office. Like Operation GoldRush. Oh piss off. I swear when I heard them say this for the first time, I swear, I looked for the cameras.

Monaghan Post??? They've gone belly up now anyway, so you win ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭mukki

INTEL

great money, shyte hours, and staff like nazi soilders, your so called workmates would tell the boss if you were 5 mins late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭DamienH

Flatbed truck full of leeks would come in the morning. I'd stand at the end of a big conveyor belt on my own. 8 leeks into each bag, heat-seal it and then pack it on a pallet. When the pallet was full move it over to the corner, repeat ad nauseam. That went on for 8 hours a day, 5 days a week for 4 months. Minimum wage, I was young(er) and I needed the money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

Picking spuds during the summer holidays for 30p a bag (25kg) i.e pick a ton of spuds and you get paid £12. Backbreaking stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

bluto63 wrote: »
    Filing papers in an office

Ditto. Filing. Only in my job there was the unique feature of having nothing to file so I literally didn't even have the pleasure of killing time sorting stuff from a to z and sticking it in a cabinet. I literally spent 3 months sitting at half a desk (oh didn't I mention they hired TWO people to do these nothing-job - but only one desk for us) staring at the wall waiting for 5o'clock. Probably did at most 5 to 10 mins of work any given 8 hour day in that place.

After 3 months of this torturous tedium myself and my co-desker got a lovely surprise .... a new computer to share on our joint desk! So now we had half a desk each and half a computer each. No internet but at least we were now the proud owners of a dell and single email address! We'd made it! Unfortunately there wasn't any work to do with the computer so naturally we spent the entire day playing the few games that were available in the "windows/games" directory to pass the time (remember , no internet to kill time here).

After about a week of this gamery the boss (an raging alcoholic who liked to spend every lunch drinking alone in the pub across the street knocking back about 2-3 pints on average in the hour - we'd go there for our lunch so we'd regularly see him) had the cheek to write me a snotty email complaining that I was spending all day messing on the computer. I pointed out to him that there was nothing to do (a statement I could back up by the fact that I'd come up to him 15 times a day looking for work - always declined). He said "well act like you've got something to do!". I saw red and told him to go **** himself , drafted a letter of resignation on the spot and dumped it on his desk before storming out of the office to enjoy the rest of my Friday afternoon.

Spent the next week not doing a tap and taking 3 hour lunch breaks (following the bosses example during them and getting well gargled by the afternoon). The day I finished up that "job" was a good one. My co-desker even followed my example and quit the same day too so some lucky flunky probably had a whole 2 desks for themselves the following Monday. Imagine?

To this day I don't know why they hired me in the first place (let alone me and another guy). I can only conclude they were fiddling the system or getting some sort of tax-break or whatever by having X amount of people in a given office? I honestly don’t know. If anyone could answer that one I'd be very interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Doing labouring in London during the summer when I was about 19, one job had me sitting for a whole day in a massive plowed, empty field with just a chair for company in order to collect delivery dockets from lorries dropping off concrete blokes I think. From 9 am to 5 pm I was there slowly cooking in the hot London sun and a grand total of two lorries showed up. I lasted one day there before getting a different job.