New Year's Eve plans?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Have a massive paper due in first week of January so wont be going out so prob just stay in with a dvd :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

christchurch for the midnight bells and back to a friends house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Good idea ;)

:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

the pub i work in is operating at normal thursday hours, ie. closing at half 11

i would imagine most pubs are doing the same

Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

thee glitz wrote: »
    Why?

because they are the normal trading hours on a thursday

but it's not a normal Thursday. It's probably a 'Right we better clear over
    10 normal Thurdays profits tonight or we'll be closed next week' for many.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

thee glitz wrote: »
    but it's not a normal Thursday. It's probably a 'Right we better clear over
    10 normal Thurdays profits tonight or we'll be closed next week' for many.

it is a normal thursday night. pubs cant just decide to open later to increase profits because of the occasion, they would be breaking the law

I have never been in a pub which stopped serving before 1 on new years eve regardless of the day of the week and most were pubs which would not usually have a late license.

but
    Yes weekend hours apply, same as they would on the sunday night of a bank holiday weekend.

There's 4 places (over half) in Maynooth that serve til at least 1 every Thursday (and don't charge in).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,990 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Gaff party with free drink.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

sod all tbh, sitting in watchin tv, just noticed RTE dont even have a count down show this yr:confused:

They normally do :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

yep, ok its normally crap, but was a handy way of knowing it was 12 lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

c0rk3r wrote: »
    12:10 go to see Avatar in 3-D
    15:00 go see my drug dealer and buy 2g's of cocaine
    18:00 minus 500mgs & 3 cans go meet up with a girl from escort-ireland
    20:00 show my face at one party minus 200mgs & 3 cans
    22:00 Another house party where i will stay the night
    Next morning wake up feeling miserable and alone, so terribly alone

Have a good one

been there done that last night. plan is right now a bottle of jack daniels with the bro with some leftover skunk maybe hit a party on the road again later if i'm still with it.

yep, ok its normally crap, but was a handy way of knowing it was 12 lol

I suppose it could be useful ye, a bit of craic. It surely wouldn't happen anywhere else though (except possibly the UK, where the lotto takes an hour).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Some friends are going out in town, some are going to my parents' local - torn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Dudess wrote: »
    Some friends are going out in town, some are going to my parents' local - torn.

Natalie Emrbulia syndrome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

I've been drinking in the fridge of an off licence free of charge for about 8 hours now (the fridge was turned off strangely enough). Time to head in to town and continue the session I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Had plans for tonight but my little doggie (14 y.o) is on a drip at the vets and it isnt lookin good so am in the horrors this eve. Prob have to make the yay or nay decision 2mo which i am NOT lookin forward to one bit. Happy new year to me :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭dobsdave

They do, its in the middle of a talent program of some sort, 11.35pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Am heading to a house party with a few friends and have a designated driver sorted so no hanging around after trying to get a taxi.

Also the buddy has got his hands on some fire works so they should be fun:D

until that is we gotta start looking for someones fingers in the grass at 5 past midnight :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

efb wrote: »
    Natalie Emrbulia syndrome
    Now two invites to house sessions - what should I go for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Picture yourself paralyzed from the neck down and needing round the clock care for the rest of your days.

Now, which house contains more people that would be there for you if that was to happen to you.

Which ones would vist you, be there emotionally, physically, financially etc etc etc.

For it is the house with the most amount of those people that you belong :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Picture yourself paralyzed from the neck down and needing round the clock care for the rest of your days.

Now, which house contains more people that would be there for you if that was to happen to you.

Which ones would vist you, be there emotionally, physically, financially etc etc etc.

For it is the house with the most amount of those people that you belong :)

I'd pick the place where i was most likely to get a ride... ;) :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

anniehoo wrote: »
    Had plans for tonight but my little doggie (14 y.o) is on a drip at the vets and it isnt lookin good so am in the horrors this eve. Prob have to make the yay or nay decision 2mo which i am NOT lookin forward to one bit. Happy new year to me :(

Awh, poor little thing :( hopefully there'll be a new years miracle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

SeaFields wrote: »
    I'd pick the place where i was most likely to get a ride... ;) :P

That too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Door number 3!

Or is this an afterhours Deal or No Deal?

its 10p!!!