Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Year's Eve plans?

• 30-12-2009 11:47pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭

So After Hours ..

What are your plans for tomorrow night? Anybody going somwhere that's been planned awhile?

Hard to believe that this time ten years ago most people were brinking it over the whole Y2K palava :p

I'm meeting up with some folks but we, as of yet, have no idea where we are heading.

Anyone any suggestions?

Was out earlier and one thing is for sure. I am going somewhere with an indoor smoking area.

Fecking nearly got blown (and not in a good way ;)) clean down Dame St earlier when out for a ciggie :D

So what's your plans? Where you all heading? Can I pop along? ;)

If that's not to personal a question.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Going pub

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Nothin' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Nothing planned. Might have a fap and try and climax down to the end of the countdown.

IBBT (In before BrummyTom)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Don't have a clue, will prob just be the usual whiskey + telly routine. Couldn't be arsed going out to a pub and nobody seems to be throwing any gaff parties this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

pithater1 wrote: »
    Don't have a clue, will prob just be the usual whiskey + telly routine. Couldn't be arsed going out to a pub and nobody seems to be throwing any gaff parties this year.

so throw one yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Faustino VII x3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

so throw one yourself!

Fcuk that, that would mean I'd have to clean up afterwards.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭karlog

Pub also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

12:10 go to see Avatar in 3-D
    15:00 go see my drug dealer and buy 2g's of cocaine
    18:00 minus 500mgs & 3 cans go meet up with a girl from escort-ireland
    20:00 show my face at one party minus 200mgs & 3 cans
    22:00 Another house party where i will stay the night
    Next morning wake up feeling miserable and alone, so terribly alone

Have a good one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I'm working in a hotel. Wahh. But might finish up early. Doubt it will be before midnight though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭GrahamThomas

Going to a house party. A nice relaxed evening with good company, cheap cans and a comfortable spot on the couch will be so much better than heading into town and paying over the odds to get into some sh*tty club!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

OutlawPete wrote: »
    So After Hours ..
    Hard to believe that this time ten years ago most people were brinking it over the whole Y2K palava :p

Hmm for some reason this came into my head. It's New Year's Eve 2019. either:

I can't believe 20 years ago people were bricking it over climate change :D

or

I can't believe 20 years ago people did nothing about climate change. We're fooked :(

Anyway, havn't a clue what i'm doing this New Years. Leaving it to the final hours as usual...

if you were born in 79 (or any of the other 70's!) you'll have existed in 5 decades :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Im just heading to a house party for the night. Couldnt be bothered being bashed around in town and spending too much money!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

pub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

was supposed to be in sligo for it, but now I'm gonna be in sunny clones.

Prob just head to the local and arse around for a while, won't be going anywhere that's charging in, so I will prob be home at about half one or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

cloneslad wrote: »
    was supposed to be in sligo for it, but now I'm gonna be in sunny clones.

Prob just head to the local and arse around for a while, won't be going anywhere that's charging in, so I will prob be home at about half one or so.

your from cavan right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

if you were born in 79 (or any of the other 70's!) you'll have existed in 5 decades :(

I was only saying that to my mam earlier today! She got a bit of a shock:).

I am spending New Years all alone in the house. And i can't wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Yeah never thought of that!! Suddenly i feel very very old, despite only being born at the end of 79!!
    Ah but the 70's was the decade to be around tho, so glad i experienced it! :)

Tomorrow night is a party in a mates house. Have done the same for last few years.
    Load of cans in, all the friends around. Hence no packed pubs, no crazy waits for taxis etc. Always a good night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭enry

worst night to go out in the year. i'm sitting at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ashyle

Just a relaxed house party... few beers & good friends. Don't like to plan too much for NYE, it's always a let-down if I do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭qwertplaywert

I've 30 euros left to my name after christmas, that won't even get me home on over priced tax- I mean New Years Eve.

Pub gig on friday night, will be much better craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Knacker drinking > Pubbing > Clubbing > Riding (subject to terms and conditions)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

K4t wrote: »
    Knacker drinking > Pubbing > Clubbing > Riding (subject to terms and conditions)

Jerry Fish and The Mudbug are playing Vicar St so thinking about that.

Anybody know of any other gigs or even clubs that something good on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭truecrippler

Night in with the missus. Pizza from PHQ with garlic bread, fries and some dips. If not, made pizza from Dunnes or Superquinn. Maybe a drink or two and we'll watch a DVD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Jerry Fish and The Mudbug are playing Vicar St so thinking about that.

Anybody know of any other gigs or even clubs that something good on?

Not sure about gigs Pete but clubs jack up their prices a lot on New Years Eve. I went to town last year and I was charged €17 in. :eek::eek::eek::eek:

That_Guy wrote: »
    Not sure about gigs Pete but clubs jack up their prices a lot on New Years Eve. I went to town last year and I was charged €17 in. :eek::eek::eek::eek:

Vicar St usually don't though.

Went to see The Frames there New Year's Eve 07/08 and it was grand.

One of the best nights of my life, great craic till nearly 2am :D

I'd imagine all the places in town will do what your saying though.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I'd imagine all the places in town will do what your saying though.
    I'm heading mess'rs, free in, reasonably priced drink and they don't overpower the music as much as other places

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

I'm staying in myself. Have a massive essay due the first week of Jan so I really need to get a good chunk of that done tomorrow. Plus, I really don't enjoy being out for New Years at all, I find it all very messy, crowded, sweaty, expensive and tedious. I'm down in the country at the mo and it costs about €30 to get a taxi home (which could be a problem with the current weather!)

Most of my year was spent working, studying etc and I probably spent about 5 nights with my parents during the whole of 2009 so tomorrow I'm gona get into my snuggy pyjamas, put on my slippers, pour a glass of wine and be with my family and my doggie when the New Year begins! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

I plan on heading up to the city for the night. St Steven's night where I live was an epic fail in my books and I don't get a chance to go up to the city that often. Only good thing was I woke up next day with no hangover.

And whats all this about New Years Eve being completely insane? From personal experience, St Steven's night is always more insane than New Years Eve!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Pizza from PHQ with garlic bread, fries and some dips.

This is making me hungry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,963 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

MizzLolly wrote: »
    I'm staying in myself. Have a massive essay due the first week of Jan so I really need to get a good chunk of that done tomorrow. Plus, I really don't enjoy being out for New Years at all, I find it all very messy, crowded, sweaty, expensive and tedious. I'm down in the country at the mo and it costs about €30 to get a taxi home (which could be a problem with the current weather!)

Most of my year was spent working, studying etc and I probably spent about 5 nights with my parents during the whole of 2009 so tomorrow I'm gona get into my snuggy pyjamas, put on my slippers, pour a glass of wine and be with my family and my doggie when the New Year begins! :D:D
    I hope I never turn into that^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭Ridley

My routine usually just consists of eating whatever food is supplied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Rented 2 houses in wexford and a good lot of mates going down ,stay in the houses and crash at some un-holy hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

I'd appreciate it if you keep your ignorance to yourself.

By all means express your preferences for New Years but there's no need for what you wrote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

Dressing up and going to have fun with acquaintances. Still don't know what I'm doing with my hair or how formal to dress. All part of the fun. I think this'll be my first new years out for the countdown!

Really looking forward to what should be an a-typical new years night out.

Gillington wrote: »
    Rented 2 houses in wexford and a good lot of mates going down ,stay in the houses and crash at some un-holy hour.

Address or gtfo .. :p

By all means express your preferences for New Years but there's no need for what you wrote.
    No offence intended.

Just different strokes for different folks and all that. I hope you enjoy your night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

No offence intended.

Just different strokes for different folks and all that. I hope you enjoy your night.

K4t

I hope MizzLolly is a forgiving poster, for your sake.

dsmythy wrote: »
    Anyway, havn't a clue what i'm doing this New Years. Leaving it to the final hours as usual...

Well your in a good place. Be heading out that way for the day tomorrow but coming back into town for the Midnight Hour.

Go to Tomangos, that's where the gang goes ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

your You're from cavan right?

What's with the massive insult? That one cut me deep.

There is one nightclub in my town and it's cr*p and I have refused to go to it since I was 18. The only other place charging in is a small hotel with a small function room, it gets wedged in there as people descend on it from every pub in town.

The reason I am not going anywhere that charges in is not to save €10, it's to save my sanity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,199 ✭✭✭G-Money

Have to say I'm not that mad keen on the thought of going out in town. I imagine everywhere is going to be insanely packed and getting home will be a nightmare.

Really don't know if I could be arsed.

I could go out locally on my own, but I'm very "meh" about all of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

do normal pubs open till 0030 tonight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭d1975

having a few friends over for a party, dreading the lovely clean up after it lol :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    do normal pubs open till 0030 tonight?

No normal bars all shut their doors at 10:30 but for an extra €20 you can buy a ticket to sit in the same seat you usually do so, but normally for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Going to a comedy club in Covent Garden. Will probably end up being a stupid idea but who knows.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

No normal bars all shut their doors at 10:30 but for an extra €20 you can buy a ticket to sit in the same seat you usually do so, but normally for free.

normal local pubs wont do that. Seriously does anyone know if weekend opening hours apply to pubs tonight??

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    normal local pubs wont do that. Seriously does anyone know if weekend opening hours apply to pubs tonight??

Yes weekend hours apply, same as they would on the sunday night of a bank holiday weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

Pub, to see a band that I don't even know are any good. Oh, and the smoking area is outside. Don't know how much it is in yet, either, but the place tends to overcharge. Feck.

Had a cold the last few days, thats gone now which is good. Just hope I don't end up with another in a few days.