Weather Warning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

It's pretty mild in Cork - if dark all day and pissing rain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Villain wrote: »
    Not sure how many of you here read the weather forum but we have a serious Weather situation coming up with a freeze coming that is expected to last 10 days.

Make sure you have enough heating oil or fuel for 10 days at least and watch the weather forecast over the coming days and if you have elderly relations of friends make sure they have enough too.

This is no joke people:

Met Eireann Outlook

Thanks for taking the time to post this Villain.

Anyone feel like trolling this thread, don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,744 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Dudess wrote: »
    It's pretty mild in Cork - if dark all day and pissing rain.
    Cold not really coming until tomorrow evening in the South but it will last at least 7 days and most likely 10 days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

-6:rolleyes: please, ive lived in places in Canada where it was -54 with a windchill and i still walked around, just wear warm clothing and you will be fine and less of the drama please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

-6:rolleyes: please, ive lived in places in Canada where it was -54 with a windchill and i still walked around, just wear warm clothing and you will be fine and less of the drama please.

That is ok if you are used to temperatures that low - we are not :p

We're not set up for cold weather though in terms of road conditions and heating delivery systems. It's not so much the going outside in it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

In Canada, I'm sure the roads are well treated, also, in Canada, pretty much everyone has tyre-chains. In Canada, the footpaths are probably well treated.

In Ireland, estate roads, rural roads, basically every road that isn't a main road isn't treated. In Ireland, if it wasn't for business' kindly gritting their own shop-front (and not all are so kinda) the footpaths would be a complete disaster.

This is the problem with the weather for me, not abit of cold and snow. The infrastructure here is not expected to withstand such cold, hence why pipes are bursting and the ****ing gritters won't do their job. One of my neighbour's houses has been destroyed recently after a pipe burst in his attic.

Yeah, treacherous driving conditions going to work, and frozen/burst pipes leading to a freezing flat/no water are what I'm concerned about. And it could be lethal for elderly people living alone.

Well said jumpguy, sadly the infrastructure in this country means a lot of rural people rely on very small narrow roads that won't see or hear a gritter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

This cold weather is nothing compared to some other places. But as mentioned above Ireland just doesn't have the set up to deal with icy roads. To me cold is cold no matter the temperature. I don't seem to feel different levels of coldness. I lived in Montana for a few years where -20 wasn't a big deal. Just wrap up and your grand. At least there the roads and sidewalks were well treated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Seloth

Yeah how bad is it ment to get in Munster...Like I'm surroudned by water((Inland Islands ftw!)) so we seldom have snow,the ice was pretty bad ere recently though but is snow expected...or just bad ice again(9Every second day it was bad for a while))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

This cold weather is nothing compared to some other places. But as mentioned above Ireland just doesn't have the set up to deal with icy roads. To me cold is cold no matter the temperature. I don't seem to feel different levels of coldness. I lived in Montana for a few years where -20 wasn't a big deal. Just wrap up and your grand. At least there the roads and sidewalks were well treated.

Yeah but it's the elderly you have to worry about - they could freeze to death at home, and can't go anywhere with the ice on the footpaths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭francie BradyII

Are we going to get snowed in or what? it hasn't stopped raining all day here in meath

Mr.S wrote: »
    Its a bit of cold ffs :rolleyes:
    In Dublin where you can get heating fuel and food without having to walk more than a mile it will be just a bit of cold but for those living in rural areas who will could be cut off for days it will be serious especially for elderly people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

the roads are what im concerned about.driving to westport tomorrow for NYE. crawling id say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

People repeatedly comment on how other places get much colder temperatures than we do in Ireland - can't argue with that. But ask people from those locations about Irish cold and they will tell you they prefer their own. If nothing else, they get dry cold and we get sloppy, slimey and very penetrating wet cold.

I just want to go to bed and sleep through the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

holy cow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭DualFrontDiscs

Blush_01 wrote: »
    People repeatedly comment on how other places get much colder temperatures than we do in Ireland - can't argue with that. But ask people from those locations about Irish cold and they will tell you they prefer their own.
    Spent a year in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada.......
    -25C would not be unusual. Snot freezes in your nose, etc. Canadians who came to Northern Ireland the next year could not believe how cold it was here.

Wet, windy and no insulation in student housing (read tenements!)

DFD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Brian CivilEng

Overflow wrote: »
    meh... just a normal winters day over here. We just went out and had a bbq in the park, theres 2ft of snow, its -15oC and a beautiful sunny day. Wrap up well, keep the house warm and drive very carefully (if you have to drive) and you'll be grand.

I'm going to call you on this, arrived in Norway yesterday and the locals are giving out about the weather. NRK news was showing chaos due to it. Airport train delayed, burst pipes etc. Was out on a walk today and saw plenty of cars slipping and sliding along. My eyelashes froze, that was mental. But... it is a lot less slippery walking around here than it was in Ireland. Here you have snow to grip on to, in Ireland there was no snow, the ground temp was below freezing all day so the footpaths became covered in a glasslike surface of ice. My eyelashes may not have frozen but the cold in Ireland comes with a wind that gets it inside you. Things are certainly different here, but believe me Ireland has it bad.

Incidentally, Grimstad eh? Just picked up a load of Nogne O beer today, looking forward to ringing in the New Year with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    ok that's great. Would all the Irish in Australia like to tell us about the 35c and blue skies outside too please like you do everytime something like this comes up?
    Well im sorry but Irish Weather was the source of my personal disdain for many years. I gladly express happiness to be rid of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

I'm going to call you on this, arrived in Norway yesterday and the locals are giving out about the weather. NRK news was showing chaos due to it. Airport train delayed, burst pipes etc. Was out on a walk today and saw plenty of cars slipping and sliding along. My eyelashes froze, that was mental. But... it is a lot less slippery walking around here than it was in Ireland. Here you have snow to grip on to, in Ireland there was no snow, the ground temp was below freezing all day so the footpaths became covered in a glasslike surface of ice. My eyelashes may not have frozen but the cold in Ireland comes with a wind that gets it inside you. Things are certainly different here, but believe me Ireland has it bad.

Incidentally, Grimstad eh? Just picked up a load of Nogne O beer today, looking forward to ringing in the New Year with it.

I don't think the weather is anything out of the ordinary, except the cold snap has come earlier this year. There are always accidents due to the snow and ice, but in general yeah we are much better prepared and have infrastructure in place to keep the roads clear. But i haven't experienced any chaos what so ever. Under that thin layer of snow you see on the roads there is about an inch or two of ice, you said you seen cars slipping and sliding about, that perfectly normal, you get used to it while driving around here.

I would say yes Ireland does not have the infrastructure in place to handle these conditions on the roads, but in general i dont think there is much to worry about.

Nogne ah yes, thats a local micro brewery here, nice bear. Drank a ton of it last summer at a music festival here. I hope you got all the booze you need for New Years. Off-licenses are closed till the 2nd Jan. Have a good trip !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

-54? Did you live in Nunavut?

Warm clothing? I think you're forgetting something rather important about what to do with your eyes.

I lived in the BC Interior about 10 years ago. So cold we weren't allowed out to play, that was -26/-27...

Cold is no laughing matter. An extra jumper when it's -10 isn't the answer.

PS: @Everone - If it's below -15 degrees, or you think it might be, you need to speed up the pace of your blinking when outdoors. Don't leave your eyes closed for too long either. Apparently eyes frozen shut is worse than eyes frozen open.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

yeah, sorry for place-name dropping, but I spent a winter in Alberta once and -30 etc was quite common, and tonnes of snow. I'd much rather take this awful windy rainy sh*te we have outside now, and it kills me to say that, than 4 or 5 months of snow showers, -30, etc. The snow drove me nuts after a few weeks, never mind months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Toulousain wrote: »
    -54? Did you live in Nunavut?

Warm clothing? I think you're forgetting something rather important about what to do with your eyes.

I lived in the BC Interior about 10 years ago. So cold we weren't allowed out to play, that was -26/-27...

Cold is no laughing matter. An extra jumper when it's -10 isn't the answer.

PS: @Everone - If it's below -15 degrees, or you think it might be, you need to speed up the pace of your blinking when outdoors. Don't leave your eyes closed for too long either. Apparently eyes frozen shut is worse than eyes frozen open.
    Surely you'd have to be in the coldest location of the country in the middle of cold snap to experience -15 Degrees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Voltex

December 23rd was our last day in work before crimbo...so had the boys do a deep clean that included emptying out an ice machine we have....told the lads just to dump the ice out in the yard.....Its still fricken there over a week later...just goes to show what a litterbug i am with ice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,794 ✭✭✭chillywilly

Chilly Willy

you rang?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

jumpguy wrote: »
    Surely you'd have to be in the coldest location of the country in the middle of cold snap to experience -15 Degrees?

Yeah, but better to be on the toilet and not need a sh1t than to need a sh1t and not be on the toilet...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

What the hell is some Irish peoples obsession with getting some snow? It's a fuckin nightmare for people who need to travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

DSCF0036.jpg

The whole back garden wall just collapsed there, Lucky my dad wasn't going out for a smoke beside the door, He would have been killed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Is there any difference between how you experience cold in different areas? Due to humidity etc? Polish dude told me our -3/4 feels colder than their lower temps.