Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weather Warning

• 30-12-2009 9:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭

Not sure how many of you here read the weather forum but we have a serious Weather situation coming up with a freeze coming that is expected to last 10 days.

Make sure you have enough heating oil or fuel for 10 days at least and watch the weather forecast over the coming days and if you have elderly relations of friends make sure they have enough too.

This is no joke people:

Met Eireann Outlook
    The first week in 2010 is set to be bitterly cold with a direct feed of Polar air down over Ireland. Heavy snow showers are likely and very severe frosts. Daytime temperatures will hardly rise above freezing at best with icy conditions persisting all day in many areas and nightime minima will fall below -5 degrees and in places below minus 10 degrees. Friday (New Year's Day): Heavy snow showers likely over Ulster. Sunny spells and scattered snow showers possible over Connacht and Leinster and mainly dry over Munster. Daytime temperatures around zero. Friday night minima of zero to -6 degrees. Saturday & Sunday: Some sunny spells but scattered heavy snow showers likely….. all areas at risk but most especially Ulster and Leinster. Daytime temperatures around zero dropping to between -5 and -10 at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

SNOW DAY!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Chilly Willy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

nippily.. look like i'll be goin wexford. save the oul lads pipes bursting

Effort.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

it'll be a bit cold for a few days, with snow in Sally Gap. Who the hell does be driving through there anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    it'll be a bit cold for a few days, with snow in Sally Gap. Who the hell does be driving through there anyway?
    This is exactly the problem, people think because we haven't had a serious winter in 25 odd years this won't happen, I'm telling you it will. Snow will not be the major issue it will be the constant serious freeze.

Villain wrote: »
    This is exactly the problem, people think because we haven't had a serious winter in 25 odd years this won't happen, I'm telling you it will. Snow will not be the major issue it will be the constant serious freeze.

but it's just more of the same we've had for the last week or so. It will get a couple of degrees below zero in most places and colder in elevated land. It's nothing we haven't had already in the last while.

You call -8c and -10c a couple of degrees below zero? It could be a could below zero during the day in places and the East, SouthEast and North could see heavy Snow Showers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I'm off out for tinned goods and a shotgun this morning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I'm not a big fan of driving with ice around. I'll get in whatever I need food wise etc. Oh, and ignore the smart arses, they'll get over in 2-3 pages. Thanks for the heads up :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Helpful Tip: If you leave one of your taps slightly dripping at night-time it should prevent the water in the pipes from freezing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭redsteveireland

Helpful Tip: If you leave one of your taps slightly dripping at night-time it should prevent the water in the pipes from freezing.
    Not very helpful really because this seems to be what the council are blaming the loss of water supply in parts of galway. all taps dripping,no pressure in line, pumps overheating....some people now have no water....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Dammit. :mad:

<---motorcyclist.

Dammit. :mad:

<---motorcyclist.

me too. Leave it at home, tried to go somewhere on Xmas day and lost gripping on first corner nearly came off it, had to turn back.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Not very helpful really because this seems to be what the council are blaming the loss of water supply in parts of galway. all taps dripping,no pressure in line, pumps overheating....some people now have no water....

Yes, but that's Galway. There's always something wrong with the water supply :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

how reliable is met eireann tbh.

i suggest get your shorts and sunglasses ready and go to the beach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Yes, but that's Galway. There's always something wrong with the water supply :P
    That was a lowblow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

Yes I've noticed the weather getting more p1ssy lately.
    All last night and this morning there's been rain with cold wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Meanwhile its meant to get up to 15C here today

And sunny :)

Overheal wrote: »
    Meanwhile its meant to get up to 15C here today

And sunny :)

ok that's great. Would all the Irish in Australia like to tell us about the 35c and blue skies outside too please like you do everytime something like this comes up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭dylano_k

Bring back Global Warming i say :cool:

Everyone start spraying your aerosol cans out the window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Fcuk the oil and coal. I'll have to stash up on smokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Overflow

meh... just a normal winters day over here. We just went out and had a bbq in the park, theres 2ft of snow, its -15oC and a beautiful sunny day. Wrap up well, keep the house warm and drive very carefully (if you have to drive) and you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Dartz

It's Met Eireann.

They've a weather forecast like a shotgun.... fire enough waffle, and eventually one of 'em will hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Dartz wrote: »
    It's Met Eireann.

They've a weather forecast like a shotgun.... fire enough waffle, and eventually one of 'em will hit.

It's not just the Met all the weather charts show what is coming anyone who can read them can see it, IMO be prepared for it if it doesn't come what harm but when it does come you will be prepared

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Yeeey! I love snow. Will this be the deepest cold in Ireland we've felt during the cold snap? Also, has this weather broken any records (could it break the lowest temperature recorded in Ireland?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

It's not just the Met all the weather charts show what is coming anyone who can read them can see it, IMO be prepared for it if it doesn't come what harm but when it does come you will be prepared

Thanks Villain,

Don't mind all the less than appreciative answers!

I'm a country chick and the last week has been ROUGH. Am preparing for the worst and hoping for the best.

Been seeing loads of nature weather signs lately as well, (geese flying to the hills, birds stockpiling etc)

Freezing conditions are freezing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Temps will be back up come Monday probably. So it will be a cold weekend. Not so dramatic i guess :D I doubt we'll see much if indeed any snow in Dublin anyway. Heavy snow showers? Meh. Very cold nights, possibly.

/prepares to eat hat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,814 ✭✭✭TPD

Fcuk sake, this last batch of ice is just clearing up. Grrr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

It's pretty mild in Cork - if dark all day and pissing rain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Not sure how many of you here read the weather forum but we have a serious Weather situation coming up with a freeze coming that is expected to last 10 days.

Make sure you have enough heating oil or fuel for 10 days at least and watch the weather forecast over the coming days and if you have elderly relations of friends make sure they have enough too.

This is no joke people:

Met Eireann Outlook

Thanks for taking the time to post this Villain.

Anyone feel like trolling this thread, don't.

Dudess wrote: »
    It's pretty mild in Cork - if dark all day and pissing rain.
    Cold not really coming until tomorrow evening in the South but it will last at least 7 days and most likely 10 days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

-6:rolleyes: please, ive lived in places in Canada where it was -54 with a windchill and i still walked around, just wear warm clothing and you will be fine and less of the drama please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

-6:rolleyes: please, ive lived in places in Canada where it was -54 with a windchill and i still walked around, just wear warm clothing and you will be fine and less of the drama please.

That is ok if you are used to temperatures that low - we are not :p

We're not set up for cold weather though in terms of road conditions and heating delivery systems. It's not so much the going outside in it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

In Canada, I'm sure the roads are well treated, also, in Canada, pretty much everyone has tyre-chains. In Canada, the footpaths are probably well treated.

In Ireland, estate roads, rural roads, basically every road that isn't a main road isn't treated. In Ireland, if it wasn't for business' kindly gritting their own shop-front (and not all are so kinda) the footpaths would be a complete disaster.

This is the problem with the weather for me, not abit of cold and snow. The infrastructure here is not expected to withstand such cold, hence why pipes are bursting and the ****ing gritters won't do their job. One of my neighbour's houses has been destroyed recently after a pipe burst in his attic.

Yeah, treacherous driving conditions going to work, and frozen/burst pipes leading to a freezing flat/no water are what I'm concerned about. And it could be lethal for elderly people living alone.

Well said jumpguy, sadly the infrastructure in this country means a lot of rural people rely on very small narrow roads that won't see or hear a gritter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

This cold weather is nothing compared to some other places. But as mentioned above Ireland just doesn't have the set up to deal with icy roads. To me cold is cold no matter the temperature. I don't seem to feel different levels of coldness. I lived in Montana for a few years where -20 wasn't a big deal. Just wrap up and your grand. At least there the roads and sidewalks were well treated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Seloth

Yeah how bad is it ment to get in Munster...Like I'm surroudned by water((Inland Islands ftw!)) so we seldom have snow,the ice was pretty bad ere recently though but is snow expected...or just bad ice again(9Every second day it was bad for a while))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

This cold weather is nothing compared to some other places. But as mentioned above Ireland just doesn't have the set up to deal with icy roads. To me cold is cold no matter the temperature. I don't seem to feel different levels of coldness. I lived in Montana for a few years where -20 wasn't a big deal. Just wrap up and your grand. At least there the roads and sidewalks were well treated.

Yeah but it's the elderly you have to worry about - they could freeze to death at home, and can't go anywhere with the ice on the footpaths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭francie BradyII

Are we going to get snowed in or what? it hasn't stopped raining all day here in meath

Mr.S wrote: »
    Its a bit of cold ffs :rolleyes:
    In Dublin where you can get heating fuel and food without having to walk more than a mile it will be just a bit of cold but for those living in rural areas who will could be cut off for days it will be serious especially for elderly people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

the roads are what im concerned about.driving to westport tomorrow for NYE. crawling id say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

People repeatedly comment on how other places get much colder temperatures than we do in Ireland - can't argue with that. But ask people from those locations about Irish cold and they will tell you they prefer their own. If nothing else, they get dry cold and we get sloppy, slimey and very penetrating wet cold.

I just want to go to bed and sleep through the whole thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

holy cow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭DualFrontDiscs

Blush_01 wrote: »
    People repeatedly comment on how other places get much colder temperatures than we do in Ireland - can't argue with that. But ask people from those locations about Irish cold and they will tell you they prefer their own.
    Spent a year in Waterloo, Ontario, Canada.......
    -25C would not be unusual. Snot freezes in your nose, etc. Canadians who came to Northern Ireland the next year could not believe how cold it was here.

Wet, windy and no insulation in student housing (read tenements!)

DFD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭Brian CivilEng

Overflow wrote: »
    meh... just a normal winters day over here. We just went out and had a bbq in the park, theres 2ft of snow, its -15oC and a beautiful sunny day. Wrap up well, keep the house warm and drive very carefully (if you have to drive) and you'll be grand.

I'm going to call you on this, arrived in Norway yesterday and the locals are giving out about the weather. NRK news was showing chaos due to it. Airport train delayed, burst pipes etc. Was out on a walk today and saw plenty of cars slipping and sliding along. My eyelashes froze, that was mental. But... it is a lot less slippery walking around here than it was in Ireland. Here you have snow to grip on to, in Ireland there was no snow, the ground temp was below freezing all day so the footpaths became covered in a glasslike surface of ice. My eyelashes may not have frozen but the cold in Ireland comes with a wind that gets it inside you. Things are certainly different here, but believe me Ireland has it bad.

Incidentally, Grimstad eh? Just picked up a load of Nogne O beer today, looking forward to ringing in the New Year with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    ok that's great. Would all the Irish in Australia like to tell us about the 35c and blue skies outside too please like you do everytime something like this comes up?
    Well im sorry but Irish Weather was the source of my personal disdain for many years. I gladly express happiness to be rid of it.