Are British people foreigners?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

mikemac wrote: »
    I don't frequent AH that often.
    If this "chesnut" is incorrect can you please correct me?

Try a search.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I saw a thread and contributed to it

If this thread was a duplicate then that's on the OP, not me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

It's kinda about language isn't it? Foreigners are folk who don't speak English as a first language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

lugha wrote: »
    It's kinda about language isn't it? Foreigners are folk who don't speak English as a first language.
    Not according to any definition I have ever come across.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Well that's not right I can think of many countries where they speak more than one language and even in Ireland you will find people who consider gaeilge is their first language

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Would you consider people from the UK to be foreigners?

They are foreign to me till they cross our borders.
    Then they are only strangers till I get to know them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

But we are so similar. Foreign implies there is a huge difference.

I mean, we speak the same language, follow the same sports etc.

Its a philosophical question, not a literal one

We're not that similar.

If you remove the shared language and the few sports we both like, we're quite different.

If you don't believe me go spend a night in an English pub.

We have more in common with the Spaniards than the Brits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Biggins wrote: »
    They are foreign to me till they cross our borders.
    Then they are only strangers till I get to know them.

*Pukes*

Pushtrak wrote: »
    Not according to any definition I have ever come across.
    No, not by definition but by popular usage. If you hear folk praising the cultural diversity brought about by our foreign guests, or something, the typically will never be talking about visitors from the US, UK or even Aus land.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

AARRRGH wrote: »
    *Pukes*
    ....and my job is done. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

If you don't believe me go spend a night in an English pub.

What is the difference?

We have more in common with the Spaniards than the Brits.

Loud and excitable?
    Can you expand on this? I'm interested to learn more

greendom wrote: »
    Well that's not right I can think of many countries where they speak more than one language ....
    but not many where English is the first.
    ... and even in Ireland you will find people who consider gaeilge is their first language
    Yeah, well that lot are always causing bother.

Well every lawyer or anyone had to sit an exam on the Constitution will be part of "that lot"
    And up to recently, every garda too

but not many where English is the first.

Canada, South Africa and Australia are 3 pretty big ones I can think of

We're not that similar.
    If you remove the shared language and the few sports we both like, we're quite different.
    You're kidding! :eek: Language and sport only? How about music, food, celebrities, TV programs, pretty much any aspect of popular culture you can think of. We're like chalk and more chalk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭c4cat

Would you consider people from the UK to be foreigners?

Yep, they don't know what a hot press is and if you ask them what yoke do they drive they have'nt a clue

Yeah but you wouldn't tend to refer to them as foreigners. You would say stuff like "bloody Canadians coming over here taking our women" and so on. If I hear someone talking/ranting about foreigners, I immediately think mainland Europe, Africa or Asia, and I usually think right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

No to mention large numbers of people in Hong Kong, Singapore, India, and several areas of East Africa.

Yeah but you wouldn't tend to refer to them as foreigners. You would say stuff like "bloody Canadians coming over here taking our women" and so on. If I hear someone talking/ranting about foreigners, I immediately think mainland Europe, Africa or Asia, and I usually think right.

Well you're partially right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Erm...yeah they are from another country, why would they not be?

Well thats just due to selective xenophobia by Irish people not any change in the meaning of the word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

They're only foreign if their names don't begin with O or Mac.

Well thats just due to selective xenophobia by Irish people not any change in the meaning of the word.
    Perhaps, but words get, and over time change, their meaning depending on how people use them. If this is the way Irish people use the word then in Ireland, that is what the word means. No?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Which British people are being refered to here? The British ones alone or the (ahem,) Irish ones as well?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

of course they are.

as are people from north of the border. They are not from the Republic, therefore, they are foreigners.

I dont see the confusion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

Its a philosophical question, not a literal one

Why have this 7 posts into the thread?

I read title, I read OP, then I vote. Don't go gerrymandering around with the referendum after I've left the polling station!

dannym08 wrote: »
    of course they are.

as are people from north of the border. They are not from the Republic, therefore, they are foreigners.

I dont see the confusion

Heres where I'd disagree. Especially seeing as they are completely entitled to irish citizenship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Iolar wrote: »
    this is the inequality why is it southern Irish cant use the same method to claim British citizenship from the GFA

Cos no one wants it:confused: