Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are British people foreigners?

• 26-12-2009 10:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭

Would you consider people from the UK to be foreigners?

So, are they? 922 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    71% 657 votes
    Dont care
    17% 164 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    10% 101 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

They are from a foreign country, so yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

ah, the crap thread for AH tonight has arrived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Duh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

nuxxx wrote: »
    ah, the crap thread for AH tonight has arrived.

I beg your pudding, this thread is far worse:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=63660236

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Adam Selene

But we are so similar. Foreign implies there is a huge difference.

I mean, we speak the same language, follow the same sports etc.

Its a philosophical question, not a literal one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

Everyone is a foreigner to most of the rest of the world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Foreign in the sense that they are from another country? Yes.

But in terms of similarities - we've alot in common. I wouldn't consider someone from England a foreigner in the same sense as let's say, an American tourist. Some of us live there, some of them live here. We get on and tend to blend into each other. In social circumstances - they aren't that foreign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Is this what AH is being reduced to?

It seems to be getting dumber by the day. The are from a different country, so yes, they are "foreigners."

I worry about AH, there used to be genuinely entertaining things here, now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭wtgorilla

What a brilliant question. Well thought through etc. Ashamed you won't get brilliant replies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

Only when they're not in Britain.

They're foreign but not particularly alien.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

Too many people place negative connotation on the word "foreigner". Its not a dirty word, its a geographical fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

I always found it ironic that many British people living in Ireland feel secure referring to Poles as foreigners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I worry about AH, there used to be genuinely entertaining things here, now...

Start a more 'entertaining' thread yourself then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

In a way yes but they blend in pretty well. They're only foreign in a geographical sense.

Pushtrak wrote: »
    Too many people place negative connotation on the word "foreigner".
    You can blame this lot for that:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Joycey

Well we live in different countries, so if you take that to be your definition of a foreigner then yes they are obviously foreigners.

On the other hand ive been living there for the last 3 months and id have to say that the two countries are basically identical, cant see any difference really between the two cultures bar the accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Having both an "I don't care" and an "Atari Jaguar" option is redundant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Well Ireland is part of the British Isles

So I don't tend to use the word British as it just gets confusing

wtgorilla wrote: »
    What a brilliant question. Well thought through etc. Ashamed you won't get brilliant replies.
    *Cough.

phasers wrote: »
    Having both an "I don't care" and an "Atari Jaguar" option is redundant

After 5 years on boards I still don't know the point of Atari Jaguar :o

And I don't particularly want to know!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Yes, they are foreign and different to us. I know several British people, mostly English and the differences are mainly subtle but they are there.

mikemac wrote: »
    Well Ireland is part of the British Isles

So I don't tend to use the word British as it just gets confusing

Someone said a bad word :D

Bad word? It's true!

There was Great Britain which we all know and they was Minor Britain which was Normandy, possibly Brittany too. Goes back to the days of William the Conqueror.

Great Britain is a geographical term, great doesn't mean brilliant or fantastic or anything like that.
    And Ireland is part of the British Isles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Yes, they are foreign and different to us. I know several British people, mostly English and the differences are mainly subtle but they are there.

More or less subtle than someone from Donegal and someone from Cork, for example?

Bad word? It's true!

There was Great Britain which we all know and they was Minor Britain which was Normandy. Goes back to the days of William the Conqueror.

Great Britain is a geographical term, great doesn't mean brilliant or fantastic or anything like that.
    I know that, some people however... :pac:

If you answered yes do you consider the Northern Irish to be foreign ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Adam Selene

greendom wrote: »
    If you answered yes do you consider the Northern Irish to be foreign ?

Wish id added an option for that

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Ahhh... I knew it had been at least 3 weeks since this chestnut came up again and was wondering when it would appear !

Ponster wrote: »
    Ahhh... I knew it had been at least 3 weeks since this chestnut came up again and was wondering when it would appear !

I don't frequent AH that often.
    If this "chesnut" is incorrect can you please correct me?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

I don't frequent AH that often.
    If this "chesnut" is incorrect can you please correct me?

Try a search.

I saw a thread and contributed to it

If this thread was a duplicate then that's on the OP, not me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

It's kinda about language isn't it? Foreigners are folk who don't speak English as a first language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭Pushtrak

lugha wrote: »
    It's kinda about language isn't it? Foreigners are folk who don't speak English as a first language.
    Not according to any definition I have ever come across.

Well that's not right I can think of many countries where they speak more than one language and even in Ireland you will find people who consider gaeilge is their first language

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

They are foreign to me till they cross our borders.
    Then they are only strangers till I get to know them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

But we are so similar. Foreign implies there is a huge difference.

I mean, we speak the same language, follow the same sports etc.

Its a philosophical question, not a literal one

We're not that similar.

If you remove the shared language and the few sports we both like, we're quite different.

If you don't believe me go spend a night in an English pub.

We have more in common with the Spaniards than the Brits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Biggins wrote: »
    They are foreign to me till they cross our borders.
    Then they are only strangers till I get to know them.

*Pukes*

Pushtrak wrote: »
    Not according to any definition I have ever come across.
    No, not by definition but by popular usage. If you hear folk praising the cultural diversity brought about by our foreign guests, or something, the typically will never be talking about visitors from the US, UK or even Aus land.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

AARRRGH wrote: »
    *Pukes*
    ....and my job is done. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

If you don't believe me go spend a night in an English pub.

What is the difference?

We have more in common with the Spaniards than the Brits.

Loud and excitable?
    Can you expand on this? I'm interested to learn more

Well that's not right I can think of many countries where they speak more than one language ....
    but not many where English is the first.
    ... and even in Ireland you will find people who consider gaeilge is their first language
    Yeah, well that lot are always causing bother.

Well every lawyer or anyone had to sit an exam on the Constitution will be part of "that lot"
    And up to recently, every garda too

but not many where English is the first.

Canada, South Africa and Australia are 3 pretty big ones I can think of

We're not that similar.
    If you remove the shared language and the few sports we both like, we're quite different.
    You're kidding! :eek: Language and sport only? How about music, food, celebrities, TV programs, pretty much any aspect of popular culture you can think of. We're like chalk and more chalk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭c4cat

Yep, they don't know what a hot press is and if you ask them what yoke do they drive they have'nt a clue

Yeah but you wouldn't tend to refer to them as foreigners. You would say stuff like "bloody Canadians coming over here taking our women" and so on. If I hear someone talking/ranting about foreigners, I immediately think mainland Europe, Africa or Asia, and I usually think right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Shacklebolt

No to mention large numbers of people in Hong Kong, Singapore, India, and several areas of East Africa.

Yeah but you wouldn't tend to refer to them as foreigners. You would say stuff like "bloody Canadians coming over here taking our women" and so on. If I hear someone talking/ranting about foreigners, I immediately think mainland Europe, Africa or Asia, and I usually think right.

Well you're partially right