why do girls love shopping, and shoes??

• 22-12-2009 12:18AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭

I cannot stand shopping, and get nice clothes every so often, but find the process of shopping really irritating! It always puts me in a bad mood!

I do not get why girls love shopping, and have a particular interest in shoes?? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

1. It's fun, that's like asking why certain people enjoy reading or ballroom dancing.

2. Shoes are the one thing that generally stay the same size, no matter how much chocolate you eat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

phasers wrote: »
    1. It's fun, that's like asking why certain people enjoy reading or ballroom dancing.

2. Shoes are the one thing that generally stay the same size, no matter how much chocolate you eat
    Unless you get kankles!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

Ah sure, why does anybody like anything, jebus:rolleyes:

Kiera wrote: »
    Unless you get kankles!
    Oh jaysus, I saw a woman with kankles trying on a pair of long boots a while ago, it was hilarious and very sad at the same time

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Oh jaysus, I saw a woman with kankles trying on a pair of long boots a while ago, it was hilarious and very sad at the same time

Oh hi, we've met.

/shoves phasers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭Spore

Ask my girlfriend, she's two wardrobes full of shoes. A shoe rack in the hall (that she made herself from wood because I was incapable unwilling to make it). She's now talking about making her own shoes :confused: Shoe fetish isn't a strong enough description...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,033 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

they like shoes and shopping cause they find it hard to love a man so this is there love.

EVENFLOW

Ooooh mocking is catching!

You're sooooo get kankles now for that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Unless you get kankles!

You know you're truely obese when you got the 'Fat Feet'

Girls have an irrational love for shoes just like guys have an irrational love for just about everything.

they like shoes and shopping cause they find it hard to love a man so this is there love.

Shoes don't get lippy at you.

*some joke about tongues*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Interests
    Current hobby taking employer to court,men,alcohol, laughing alot

Im not into men or alcohol too much. Different people, different interests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭nicegirl

Reading or ballroom dancing is an enjoyable activity. How can shopping be described as "Fun"? I respect, and thank you for your opinion, but shopping for me anyways is torture!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Women and gays love shopping. It's just programmed into them.

Spore wrote: »
    Ask my girlfriend, she's two wardrobes full of shoes. A shoe rack in the hall (that she made herself from wood because I was incapable unwilling to make it. She's now talking about making her own shoes :confused: Shoe fetish isn't a strong enough description...

I imagine it looks like this on a larger scale :pac:

Ooooh mocking is catching!

You're sooooo get kankles now for that!
    I do ankle exercises every day :eek:
    nicegirl wrote: »
    Reading or ballroom dancing is an enjoyable activity. How can shopping be described as "Fun"? I respect, and thank you for your opinion, but shopping for me anyways is torture!
    And ballroom dancing to me is torture. People are different.

Wow, thats deep, Dude! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

You know you're truely obese when you got the 'Fat Feet'

It's so true, a friend of mine once got a job in the footwear department in Evans ... it was the motivation she needed to join Weightwatchers and lose three stone - fair play to her!

Oh and she got fired from Evans after she lost the first stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Kevin Bacon

nicegirl wrote: »

Do what lads do....

When you go into a shop look at the first thing you see and say to yourself "sure this will do". Makes the whole process a lot quicker and a whole lot less painful.

The Evans in Liffey Valley always has suspiciously thin women, always thought it was strange... sometimes I go in to to pick up depressed fat chicks

Remember, lift with your knees.

Feeder!

Does the tutu help or hinder your efforts?

More cushion for the pushin ladies! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭Wurly

Generalisation. I HATE shopping. I like grocery shopping but not clothes shopping.

And shoes? Well it beats walking the streets in my socks but that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭nicegirl

Do what lads do....

When you go into a shop look at the first thing you see and say to yourself "sure this will do". Makes the whole process a lot quicker and a whole lot less painful.

I am usually less than a minute in a clothes shop! I scan the shop, if I don't see anything I like, I leave in less than a minute. If I see something I like, I usually don't try it on, (because I know my size, and cannot stand Q-ing to go into a fitting room) buy it, and leave. I only have 3 clothes shops I shop in, and do the above shopping procedure! I am usually less than an hour when I need to get clothes, after that my bad mood tells me to leave the shops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

It's so true, a friend of mine once got a job in the footwear department in Evans ... it was the motivation she needed to join Weightwatchers and lose three stone - fair play to her!

I once bought a bathrobe from evans for a girl as a present without actually realising that it was a fat chick store..something of a faux pas as it turned out

You sir, have sussed it out, kudo's to you.

Bambi wrote: »
    I once bought a bathrobe from evans for a girl as a present without actually realising that it was a fat chick store..something of a faux pas as it turned out

You sir, have sussed it out, kudo's to you.
    :eek::eek::eek: how are you still breathing?

I'd have cut them off with a rusty garden shears!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Splendour

I'm female and I can't stand shopping! As far as I'm concerned it's a necessary evil!! I was in Frankfurt recently with eight shopaholic women and spent most of the time hanging around outside the shops waiting for the women to return...

Bambi wrote: »
    Holy crap, are your balls still in tact?

Once my brother bought his girlfriend some jewellery from Evans and she went mental :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

brummytom wrote: »
    Women and gays love shopping. It's just programmed into them.

Nope.
    I hate shopping!!

I just get bored and pick the first thing I think will do.

Maybe if I won the lotto I would think differently about it though.

There's nothing worse than having xx amount of money only to see what you would really like costs xxx amount.