Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭KerranJast

Agricola wrote: »
    Lads, I wear glasses already. How does that work for 3d films? Would i need to wear two pairs of glasses!
    Yeah unless you can wear contacts then you'll have to double up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭bibbly

Saw this last night, and it lived up to my expectations. I would strongly recommend viewing this movie in 3D and sitting in the centre of the cinema. Smack bang in the middle of Screen 17 in Cineworld is the best spot.

The dialog at times was a bit cringey at times another sterotypical soldier with facial scares saying "come get some". The first half in particular was outstanding.

You can spot one or two musical and visual similarities to Aliens which i thought was kind of cool.

Visually the most impressive movie i have every seen. Well worth the money.

Lads, I wear glasses already. How does that work for 3d films? Would i need to wear two pairs of glasses!

was at it last night with a friend who wears glasses. it wasn't a problem for him at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I wear glasses and have seen quite a few 3D movies this year, including Avatar last night. The 3D glasses sit nicely in front of your regular glasses, so you don't even notice that you're wearing two pairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭mancduff

Is cineworld only showing avatar 3d on screen 17 then? Also has anyone seen this in dundrum was going to see it there but they always manage to feck it up be it the sound or the curtain half over the screen to the aspect ratio being off, where is the best place to see this?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,414 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Saw it this afternoon, and loved it. The CGI is increadible. Wasnt expecting it to be as good as it was. Took me a few minutes for my eyes to adjust to the 3d, but once they did, it was like being there, watching the actual events taking place. Definitely contender for film of the year for me.

I summed it up in one word in a text message earlier....Awesome!
    mancduff wrote: »
    Is cineworld only showing avatar 3d on screen 17 then?
    No, they have a few screens capable of showing it in 3d. Was on screen 8 and 11 earlier today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

Just back from an afternoon showing. No option of glasses where I was so I had to make do with the eyes I was born with!! What a show, the effects were fantastic, CGI certainly is the future. Good story line, even if it was a bit Cameronesque. Script was perhaps a slight negative, but it won't take away from ones enjoyment. Shades of 9/11 in it too I felt. Weaver was excellent as always. 2hrs 40 flew by and I can't imagine that anyone leaving the cinema won't be impressed. For Cameron the vision is complete in a big way, all the years of work have paid off. Credit to his imagination and perseverence. Go see it you won't be disappointed. I can only imagine how immense it is in 3D.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

I had serious issues with the 3D, i think my depth perspective is f*cked up!....first off, i'm half blind. I wear glasses, i didn't know what to do!, for the first 15 mins i wore the 3D specs, but my eyesight is crap and blurred.

So then i got brave, wore my specs and popped the 3D glasses over them...sorted!, they fit perfect as well, no issues having two pairs of specs on. BUT....my major issue was my eyesight, my right eye i don't use....as in my brain disregards thr right eye, i look through my left.

So, basically i didn't get a proper 3D effect as the system requires you to look through both eyes!, i spent all of the movie squinting, adjusting my focus, yes there were moments i saw depth perception, like elements move indepentdent of each other....but, i don't see how it's revolutionary to say when i saw Jaws 3D all those years ago, the depth and 3D effect seemed no more advanced.

As for the CGI, i also forgot they with rendered CGI characters, the motion capturing was flawless, Pandora looked amazing, 100% photo realistic. But alot of the animals looked pure CGI.

The end battle was great, but predictable....the story itself is simplistic and unroiginal, no surprises. Fair few nods to Aliens as well, in fact i picked up on a number of nods to other movies as i watched.

I saw the RealD system, but i'll go again to the Omniplex and check out the Barco system, i wanted to see the 3D...i was let down, either my eyes are usless or i had unrealistic expectations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,517 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

I had serious issues with the 3D, i think my depth perspective is f*cked up!....first off, i'm half blind. I wear glasses, i didn't know what to do!, for the first 15 mins i wore the 3D specs, but my eyesight is crap and blurred.

So then i got brave, wore my specs and popped the 3D glasses over them...sorted!, they fit perfect as well, no issues having two pairs of specs on. BUT....my major issue was my eyesight, my right eye i don't use....as in my brain disregards thr right eye, i look through my left.

So, basically i didn't get a proper 3D effect as the system requires you to look through both eyes!, i spent all of the movie squinting, adjusting my focus, yes there were moments i saw depth perception, like elements move indepentdent of each other....but, i don't see how it's revolutionary to say when i saw Jaws 3D all those years ago, the depth and 3D effect seemed no more advanced.

As for the CGI, i also forgot they with rendered CGI characters, the motion capturing was flawless, Pandora looked amazing, 100% photo realistic. But alot of the animals looked pure CGI.

The end battle was great, but predictable....the story itself is simplistic and unroiginal, no surprises. Fair few nods to Aliens as well, in fact i picked up on a number of nods to other movies as i watched.

I saw the RealD system, but i'll go again to the Omniplex and check out the Barco system, i wanted to see the 3D...i was let down, either my eyes are usless or i had unrealistic expectations.
    sorry to be blunt but you will never be able to see it properly if the images reaching one of yours eyes are disregarded , its not possible to get the effect , sorry you may never experience the full benefit of 3d movies , and theres no point in explaining what its meant to look like you have prob reseached it and heard it all before . feel sorry for ya man i dont think what 3d system they use will matter you need both eyes to see the effect. If you are comparing it to jaws 3d then you defo didnt get it . sorry man. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

you're kidding right?Jaws 3D had a handful of really crapp "3D" effects like heads floating towards the screen, Avatar has completely differnt depth to it, even the monitors in the labs and bases had their own depth of field, its most impressive when its not being shoved in your face during it, like the troop briefing near the end where theres 12-15 rows of people all in clear depth and then the monitor they're watching has its own depth as well, it was fantastic. You do need both eyes to get it to work properly, closing one eye will just make it appear 2D which i did a few times during it just to give my eyes a rest for a minute

I loved the trailer for Alice in Wonderland at the beginning, the Cheshire cat apparance had people ducking out of the way it was great

I'm not blind in one eye, but my brain has been trained as a child to "look" through the left eye, i mean i did see elements of the depth of field, as in you'll see characters in thr foreground seem lifted off the screen or move independent of the background, or scenes in the forest, like that snowflake stuff seems to lift off the screen.

I can see through both eyes but i don't "look" through both...if thst makes sense. The movie...Unobtainium....um, hello!....that mineral has been used lots in other movies + they never explained WHY they wanted it, just for profit?

And why the breathing masks?....can't they breath the normal atmosphere?

Who said it was normal atmosphere? Just because the air is "clear" coloured doesn't mean it's good old 70% Nitrogen 20% Oxygen. The look of the Na'vi suggests that Pandora has lower gravity and a thinner atmosphere than Earth and the huge amount of fauna could mean the atmosphere is mainly methane or similar greenhouse gases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

KerranJast wrote: »
    Who said it was normal atmosphere? Just because the air is "clear" coloured doesn't mean it's good old 70% Nitrogen 20% Oxygen. The look of the Na'vi suggests that Pandora has lower gravity and a thinner atmosphere than Earth and the huge amount of fauna could mean the atmosphere is mainly methane or similar greenhouse gases.

Not to mention the germs and bacteria that the humans would be exposed to. The human immune system would most likely be susseptable to such things.
    Wouldn't be the first time the would be conquerors invading a far away planet were undone by microscopic organisms in a sci-fi classic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭hotspur147

i was dissapointed.the cgi cannot be faulted but its basically "dances with wolves" in space

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 phinny55

This film kicked my eyes in their, head like nothing else. Absolutely amazing. Cannot stress it enough that this needs to be seen in the cinema. DVD or downloads will not do it justice. Get out and watch this, folks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,316 ✭✭✭Reginald P. DuM

hotspur147 wrote: »
    i was dissapointed.the cgi cannot be faulted but its basically "dances with wolves" in space

Disappointed eh?! Bad luck. Care to elaborate, critique it as you saw it?
    Not baying for an argument now, I'm just interested in how it let people down. :)

Just like to say that people should remember to spoiler any posts relating to details which could lessen ones enjoyment of the film.

Been waiting 12 years for this and with my college essay nearly down and my birthday in less than 4 hours, seeing Avatar tomorrow could make it the best day ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Blazher

superfly wrote: »
    how can you say The Abyss wasn't good!? it's up there in my top 10 list of films ever

as for this film it was too cartoony and District 9 was much better as a film, even the battle suit fight was better in D9
    Don't get me wrong, i enjoyed it immensely but the plot was by no means original
    Other films such as Dune, A man called Horse and Battle for Terra kept springing to mind while watching it especially Dune with it's whole messianic message going on
    overall i would give it a 7.5

I honestly dont know what to say.. Where you watching the same movie as everyone else?
    Just like to say that people should remember to spoiler any posts relating to details which could lessen ones enjoyment of the film.

Been waiting 12 years for this and with my college essay nearly down and my birthday in less than 4 hours, seeing Avatar tomorrow could make it the best day ever.

All i will is "EPIC". The movie is easily one of the best movies i have seen in years. The story is great. It is really moving. The movie pumps you up at times and bring you down just as fast. Its a real ride.

I honestly don't like wasting my money going to the pictures, But i am going to go again to see this. maybe a few more times.

I could go on and on,

But as said before. This is a MUST see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,093 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Fantastic. Exciting. Amazing. Mind blowing.

Loved it - Visually stunning. I advise everyone to see it in 3d and on the biggest screen possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭mancduff

Happy Birthday

hotspur147 wrote: »

Simplistic to say that, i didn't see any Wolves parraels myself....beyond yer man hanging with the tribe and adopting their ways.

Which is a story as old as time itself. There are Celtic, Norse and Greek myths based on similar precepts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

Just came out of it. Easily one of the best films ever made. Easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭kilkennykitten

Anyone see it in Liffey Valley yet and will they be open On St Stephens day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,628 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Christ... some real high praise here indeed.

Got my ticket booked for Sunday evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

saw this last night with 2 non sci fi girls and on on the fence guy

everyon loved it

we saw it in 3d which at the start was a problem as we got rubbish seats at the front and it was killing my eyes but once i realised you should not try and focus on the 3d stuff but on what was the center of whatever scene it got alot better

very very visually impressive

very very long but it was only the last 20/30mins that i started noticing it and thinking wow this is along film, wasnt bored at all

well worth seeing

Roger Ebert's closing paragraph of his immensely positive review really says all you need to know about the film.
    It takes a hell of a lot of nerve for a man to stand up at the Oscarcast and proclaim himself King of the World. James Cameron just got re-elected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭ravydavygravy

Galvasean wrote: »
    Not to mention the germs and bacteria that the humans would be exposed to. The human immune system would most likely be susseptable to such things.
    Wouldn't be the first time the would be conquerors invading a far away planet were undone by microscopic organisms in a sci-fi classic!

Plus the fact they mentioned in the first 5 minutes that the athmosphere was toxic to humans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

bibbly wrote: »
    Saw this last night, and it lived up to my expectations. I would strongly recommend viewing this movie in 3D and sitting in the centre of the cinema. Smack bang in the middle of Screen 17 in Cineworld is the best spot.

The dialog at times was a bit cringey at times another sterotypical soldier with facial scares saying "come get some". The first half in particular was outstanding.

You can spot one or two musical and visual similarities to Aliens which i thought was kind of cool.

Visually the most impressive movie i have every seen. Well worth the money.

other than the facial scars its all totally believeable ya?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Zoodlebop

Wow! Really, really fantastic. Cameron took several classic sci-fi and fantasy strands and wove them all together into a superb, groundbreaking film.

Spoiler:
    Has anyone ever read the Dinotopia books? If so, you will have noticed that the whole, bonding-with-your-flying-beast, thing is lifted straight out of it. Not that that matters. Ferngully was also HEAVILY referenced. The Matrix, Gaia in the Asimov Foundation Series. I absolutely loved it!

I really recommend 3D. At first it is weird but when you get used to it, you become fully and amazingly immersed in the film.

Some real one-line-fully-mature-stiltons though. Beware!