EP Mooney is Back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭Kersh

TBH, I think he should have let the sleeping dog lie. It may create 30 jobs now, but they could just be easily let go again in a few months if metal isnt being shifted.

ye, and more suppliers left in the lurch, but tbh it will serve them right for supplying someone who mismanaged a company to the tune of 22 million.

You never know - the manufacturer might be desperate and have loaned the cars to the dealer - only looking for cash if it is sold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,090 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

You never know - the manufacturer might be desperate and have loaned the cars to the dealer - only looking for cash if it is sold.

Na, if Hyundai are that desperate to move stock, they'd send it to the UK, like Audi, VW, Ford, Mitsubitshi, Jag, Landrover, and possibly every other distributor too.

Trust me, there is no deal like that going on. Hyundai couldnt and wouldnt take the risk of losing that stock. It has to be in the dealer name to be covered under dealer insurance, so Mooney's would have to buy it. I'd doubt that Hyundai would let hundreds of thousands of euros worth of stock out without taking some form of payment for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Jody S wrote: »

Before people start complaining they should consider the amount of people that have lost there jobs,who now face getting up in the morning & having nothing to do all day & not earning money & having to claim off the state.

What about the people in the places that are owed a portion of the €22m that will presumably be written off?

One thing I noticed in the days after EP mooney went, the Renault signs all dissappeared from the Naas Road showroom, while there was still a couple of cars inside and the other marques still had their signs. Did someone just fancy themselves a huge diamond? :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,764 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Is that a confession from a die hard Renault fan, Stekelly? ;)

"Make no mistake. The days of the internal combustion engine are definitely numbered" - Quentin Willson, 1997

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Sick as I am to say this, there is regular bashing about Longmile Road, Robinhood Ind Est Indy dealers selling cars and bowing out leaving people high and dry and now here's a well respected dealer 40 years in the business and in the same area doing exactly the same thing. I may as well just buy a car out of a Potacabin in future as they seem to invest just the same level of trust in their customers and suppliers

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    Sick as I am to say this, there is regular bashing about Longmile Road, Robinhood Ind Est Indy dealers selling cars and bowing out leaving people high and dry and now here's a well respected dealer 40 years in the business and in the same area doing exactly the same thing. I may as well just buy a car out of a Potacabin in future as they seem to invest just the same level of trust in their customers and suppliers

I'd agree with that alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I'd agree with that alright.

Damn sad ain't it dude?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,684 ✭✭✭JHMEG

The other good news from that newspaper article (for those that missed it) is the recession will be over in March as BMW are launching a new 78 thousand euro roadster then.

Damn sad ain't it dude?

Well I suppose its the way business works for some people. Its only going to become more and more common, especially in the next 18 months. I can understand why Mooney has done this - I can only imagine how it felt to lose a huge business, but that doesnt excuse the fact that he's left other companies and customers out of pocket to the tune of 22 million.

Things like this will only destroy what little is left of consumer confidence in the motor trade if you ask me. People will think " well if a large dealer like EP Mooney's can do something like this, any dealer in the country can do it. I'll just go to the UK for my next car instead" It's only going to bad for the who industry IMO.

I work for a large dealer in Dublin who has a lot of different branches across the country. I suppose I know that we are relatively safe for the time being, and we've even taken on a new franchise, but what I know doesnt count. Its what the public will think. I think the only way to get customers on board is to convince them that you arent going anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭RedorDead

EP Mooney's has a yard full of Hyundai's at the minute. Nobody bought them in the good times (Santa fe's and Coupes aside, especially since most were bought on finance thats not available anymore), who in their right mind will buy one now??!

A lot of people seem to buy them in times of scrappage - Hyundai sold more cars during the scrappage in UK than all manufacturers in September. In Europe they have shown the largest % increase in countries operating scrappage schemes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,734 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

.. I may as well just buy a car out of a xxxcabin in future as they seem to invest just the same level of trust in their customers and suppliers

Oi ! I object ! :P

There are cars, and cabins..........there's Hyundai's vs Honda's and there's XXXXcabins and ours......;) :D:D

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

RedorDead wrote: »
    A lot of people seem to buy them in times of scrappage - Hyundai sold more cars during the scrappage in UK than all manufacturers in September. In Europe they have shown the largest % increase in countries operating scrappage schemes.

Not totally true.... They made the largest in roads with private punters. Its a magic trick with statistics. They ( Hyundai ) didnt even dent the real figures given that across Europe most reg's are made up of Fleet company, Hire company or Business buyers. Peugeot used to use a similar stat in their ads by claiming to be the No1 seller to private users in the UK. I cant remember the exact percentage but if memory serves me I think that stat represented about 5% market share. Stats can be twisted many ways ;)

PS : With regard to Mooneys dont forget that EP Mooney Holdings never made a loss. They were the part of the company that owns all the property and rented the buildings to the loss making car dealers. EP Mooney Holdings didnt go bust , the car dealers did. Plus Mr Mooney has great personal wealth and can easily afford to finance a start up main dealer business without a bank. So lets recap: All the old car dealers under one umbrella are gone bust with the banks swinging for a fortune. EP Mooney Holdings goes on. Mr Mooney starts again using his own personal wealth to finance the dealership/s and ploughs on debt free. It might not be right but there you go

RedorDead wrote: »

The European and UK markets are completely different kettles of fish in fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭bostoncommon

Story going around the trade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Darsad

I think its pretty clear from the article in the Indo that Padraic Mooney is setting up again with the backing of others so in essence , he will probably be classed as an employee and trying to use the good name and a substantial customer data base from EP Mooney,s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭reverandkenjami

Its a bit of a joke tbh!! Mooneys owe the place i work 10k - prob the difference between someone having a job next year and not..... :mad:

He'll struggle for credit with alot of places!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,035 ✭✭✭✭-Chris-

Just a note - in the discussion of this story/topic, can we stick to discussion of newspaper articles etc. (stuff that can be linked to or Googled) rather than discussing or sharing rumours?

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭THEDONWALDO

well said Chris. there are too many rumour mongers out there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 dublin needs to work

hey im new to all this but iv been following ep mooneys since they got into trouble and i really dont understand how he can let 170 people go and one week later (not that it was 1 week more like 2 days) open back up under a new name i for one would not trust a garge that can do that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Most of the old staff were re-employed... I presume you were one that didn't. And I wouldn't go digging up old threads, especially for your first post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭notel70

steve06 wrote: »
    Most of the old staff were re-employed... I presume you were one that didn't. And I wouldn't go digging up old threads, especially for your first post.

not quite "re-employed".

Staff prob got redundancy and then were basically given new jobs by a new company, this redundancy would have been fully funded by the government, therefore EP Mooney is back to where he was after screwing over aload of suppliers and the tax payers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 dublin needs to work

hi steve06 thanks for the advice ill keep that in mind about old post's

but just to clear it up i didnt work for ep mooneys i just knew alot of the lads that were let go and i also know 1 or 2 that got there jobs back i take it you did work there at one time

anyway i was only saying i didnt understand how a company can owe that kind of money and open up a couple of days later under a new name

I think fair play to Mr Mooney for taking some of his old staff back as there would be many company's that wouldnt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭metzengerstein

delighted when i heard they where back ,always got my honda parts there always good service and frendly to deal with .

dont know if anyones mentioned it ,and im sure people know by now they are now parma motors

hyndai,honda,nissan and mitsubishi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,732 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

I got my Alfa from them in Tallaght. I've just heard that their Alfa mechanic is now working on the Long Mile Road, so I'll be happy to bring my car to them. They were always very good to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,774 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Bluefoam wrote: »
    I got my Alfa from them in Tallaght. I've just heard that their Alfa mechanic is now working on the Long Mile Road, so I'll be happy to bring my car to them. They were always very good to deal with.

I believe Airton FIAT /Alfa will be back open soon as well.

Not sure who will be running it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

but just to clear it up i didnt work for ep mooneys i just knew alot of the lads that were let go and i also know 1 or 2 that got there jobs back i take it you did work there at one time
    No I never worked for them.
    anyway i was only saying i didnt understand how a company can owe that kind of money and open up a couple of days later under a new name
    If you owe someone €500 it's your problem, if you owe them €5m then it's their problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Jody S

Hi chaps, I have seen the comments on this thread over the past while & can understand that people are annoyed.

However this is my own personal experience of Mooneys & how I look at. My dad who has since passed on has bought cars from Paraic Mooney & his dad Ernie for a very long time,his first car I think being a Datsun 120A and I think since then he has had sunny's,cherry's,160j,200 L,Laurel,Bluebird,x trail,Volvo S40 & a Volvo S60. Throughout these cars he always brought them back for service & warranty repairs & was always dealt with fairly.
    He got to know a lot of the staff in all the departments & I would often here him talking to people about his dealings with Eddie or Peter or Paddy or Noel etc & the one thing that always amazed my dad was how loyal the staff was,they where always thought to look after there customers & they did everything they could to do so. There was the very odd hick-up of course, eg after a service there was an oil leak which my Dad noticed on the Sunday morning that he was going to Westport for a wedding.He was fairly pissed off, in his new suit & the cases in the car. & my mother in his ear. He called Mooneys not expecting someone to answer on a Sunday but got an answer & it was Paraic Mooney, he had gone in to the garage to pick up something I think, anyhow my Dad vented his fury & he wasn't the type of man to get upset but for some reason this was getting to him. Within 15 minutes there was a mechanic at the door & within another 15 minutes the car was fixed, a faulty oil filter seal being the culprit. Off my dad went a little calmer.
    During the week unexpectedly Paraic Mooney called to the house to see if everything was ok & to apologise,my Dad was gobsmacked to think that he would have bothered to remember or call & at this stage my dad had only bought a couple of cars of them so he wasn't a big spender or a big client. I think he also gave him a service or valet voucher.
    A couple of years ago not long before my Dad passed away he had brought his car in for service only to realise that he had left his wallet at home,embarrassed he said he would collect the car tomorrow as he had forgotten his wallet, the girl behind the desk offered to have him dropped home to collect his wallet but he didn't want any fuss & declined,while this was going on Paraic Mooney walked through the reception as my dad turned to walk out. He obviously asked the reception was there a problem & shortly after he ran after my Dad who had set off up Walkinstown Ave by foot, he brought him back & insisted that he take his car & drop in a few days to sort out the bill.

I will be forever grateful for how they looked after my dad.

This is just my experience, a good decent Irish owned family company who got in to trouble over the past year or so. I don't believe that the hardship that suppliers are feeling was intended & I,m sure Mooney's have also had there fair share of being on the receiving end.

I wish them all the best,it's great to see 30 or so people employed again in the current climate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75,480 ✭✭✭✭L1011

R.O.R wrote: »
    I believe Airton FIAT /Alfa will be back open soon as well.

Not sure who will be running it though.

Already open.

No website working as yet though: http://www.tallaghtfiat.ie/

No idea who is running it, the Fiat sales, parts and some service staff from Airton ended up at South Dublin Fiat Alfa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭notel70

delighted when i heard they where back ,always got my honda parts there always good service and frendly to deal with .

just make sure that you dont leave a deposit on any parts, they could be gone again in the morning.