Tesco's offensive card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

A_Leahy wrote: »
    You are correct sir!
    For how many years have blondes put up with blonde jokes? There are actual, physical books full of just blonde jokes. I'm sure there are cards.
    So thats right then, is it? :confused:
    For years, black people had to put up with n*gger jokes, but that's different right? I mean thats skin colour. Hair isn't skin silly.
    genericguy wrote: »
    nope, i don't agree that children should be encouraged to be mean to each other. but children are going to do it anyway.
    :confused: Your concept of not encouraging them is to sipport a concept that targets individuals for abuse based on skin colour. Sorry I mean hair colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

It makes kids think its acceptable to pick on other kids for having red hair.

Look i can take a ginger joke as well as everyone else but this joke is directed at kids. If the card said 'Even Santa loves fat kids' it would be an even bigger deal.

Oh right so it's not up to the parents to make sure their children know what's right and wrong, it's up to everyone else

Got ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭musiknonstop

cop on. i get teased about things sometimes, and i just, you know, carry on living my life. and personally, your height wouldn't deter many people from slagging you - irish nature is generally to have a bit of friendly teasing, so if people don't engage in banter with you it's possible they just don't like you. and a post like that, if it's based on the way you comport yourself in real life wouldn't be too endearing in my own view.

So when strangers shout abuse at you from a car just because of the colour of your hair that is friendly teasing?

For you it may be friendly teasing, but when it happens constantly, throughout your life, you may think differently about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,897 ✭✭✭Kimia

Of course, it's hilarious for those who have never been affected. But as an earlier poster said, there is no point in banging on about the fact that 'kids will be kids' and other such nonsense. So if your kid was calling another child a n*gger you would just chuckle self-indulgently? Come off it.

Basically if you judge, tease, mock, slag, or humiliate someone because of the colour of their skin, hair, eyes, etc you are a racist and imo an ignorant fool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 GREENWORLD

This is a British card. Look at the British tabloids, their newspapers, (the tabloids), they rip people to shreds. Part of their culture seems to be about putting people down and tearing them apart. They follow their celebrities and dig up as much dirt on them as they can. I believe because red hair is not as common over there as it is in Ireland, children with red hair are singled out. Because they are running out of things to pick on people about in school, like their size, their colour etc., the red-heads are an easy target. The kids know they will get in trouble for racisism remarks etc. So now it's the turn of the red heads. I think the culture of bullying is much worse in the UK, look at the amounts of stabbings etc. that take place over there. For some reason people seem to think that redheads don't mind being teased about their hair, that they are able to laugh it off, that it doesn't matter if we tease them. Any finally, I know some extremely attractive red heads, who are very even tempered. That's another myth about the temper. On the other hand too, I know a few redhead adults who find the whole ginger thing very funny. They have no problem with the colour of their hair and are very secure in themselves anyway. I think when we see on telly redheads that laugh at jokes about gingers, people seem to think that all redheads should find those jokes funny then.

tudlytops wrote: »
    For crying out load its a card....

I have Bi-polar disorder and BPD, I was picked on my whole life for it and you know what I can still laugh at mental health jokes.

So if you saw a card in Tescos with a child on Santa's lap that read , "Even Santa loves children with Bi-Polar or mental illnesses", you would find that hillarious ?, well you might but what do you think others would think. Or if the card said Even Santa loves Fat Kids, or even Santa loves Black Kids. It's true when did it become ok to treat redheads this way ? Ok so alot of people don't like red hair, alot of people don't like fat people, like they might not like big noses etc. Should parents not be teaching their children that they can't go around hurting people's feelings. People can't change they way they are born. The problem is so many people think they are perfect, but I'm sure they have lots of things to hide that they would dread if people taunted them about if they knew about them. The world is not perfect - people should respect each other more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭tudlytops

GREENWORLD wrote: »
    So if you saw a card in Tescos with a child on Santa's lap that read , "Even Santa loves children with Bi-Polar or mental illnesses", you would find that hillarious ?, well you might but what do you think others would think. Or if the card said Even Santa loves Fat Kids, or even Santa loves Black Kids. It's true when did it become ok to treat redheads this way ? Ok so alot of people don't like red hair, alot of people don't like fat people, like they might not like big noses etc. Should parents not be teaching their children that they can't go around hurting people's feelings. People can't change they way they are born. The problem is so many people think they are perfect, but I'm sure they have lots of things to hide that they would dread if people taunted them about if they knew about them. The world is not perfect - people should respect each other more.

It wouldn't affect me one bit, I really, really have more important stuff to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Do kids hang out in the greeting card aisle of Tesco now?

How did they see this? I bet the kids don't give a toss and it's just their whiny mothers looking for something to give out about.

It's a joke ffs, Don't like it? Don't like the card.

tudlytops wrote: »
    It wouldn't affect me one bit, I really, really have more important stuff to worry about.

Fair play to you for being so able to rise above it. Hopefully the kids will have your strength.

So it means nothing to you. It hurts others. Therefore, the others should suck it up because it means nothing to you. Nice attitude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

So when strangers shout abuse at you from a car just because of the colour of your hair that is friendly teasing?

For you it may be friendly teasing, but when it happens constantly, throughout your life, you may think differently about it.

no, it's obviously not friendly teasing, but to be honest i'm not that weak a person that i'd give a second thought to what some cnut shouts at me out of his car window.

fcuk sake, if someone calling you rooster, shortarse, fatty, skinny or whatever bothers you that much, just lock yourself in your room forever, because that is nothing compared to some of the shit life will throw at you.

no, it's obviously not friendly teasing, but to be honest i'm not that weak a person that i'd give a second thought to what some cnut shouts at me out of his car window.

fcuk sake, if someone calling you rooster, shortarse, fatty, skinny or whatever bothers you that much, just lock yourself in your room forever, because that is nothing compared to some of the shit life will throw at you.

Oh ffs. Why is this so hard for some people to grasp. Yes of course there will always be morons that abuse people out of car windows, etc etc. There will always be playground slagging, and bullying etc.

The point is, that doesn't mean we have to agree with it, or roll our eyes and say 'ignore it', or 'don't let it bother you', etc. Why can't we say you know what, no, just stop it, it's not ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,147 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I thought it was hilarious, though pretty much all ginger jokes are.

Kimia wrote: »
    Fair play to you for being so able to rise above it. Hopefully the kids will have your strength.

So it means nothing to you. It hurts others. Therefore, the others should suck it up because it means nothing to you. Nice attitude.

I was a kid once to, and picked on for having a mental illness, my parents told me to be strong, the teached me to see the funny side of it and why people do it, if they had protected me from it instated of teaching me I wouldn't have been able to live this long with it.

i didn't say what hurts others means nothing to me, but if that is all they have to worry about and be hurt by, gosh do they have a great life.

Its a card, nothing more, nothing else.

The Catherine Tate show is an example of a redhead taking the mickey out of herself. She is probably a bit responsible for people thinking redheads don't mind being slagged, that its ok. She might feel that way as an adult, the thing is children can be very sensitive - why do you think nose jobs are the most requested procedures in plastic surgery and young girls become anorexics. Alot of this is caused by bullying and teasing. It is not ok to just say - oh sure kids will be kids. My mother would have killed us if she thought we were ever teasing other kids in school. Parents who don't teach their kids to treat others with respect have a lot to answer for. Remember there are 400 suicides in this country every year. Alot of this bullying in school can affect people throughtout their whole lives. I think schools should have stricter punishment policies for bullying

I thought it was hilarious, though pretty much all ginger jokes are.

Just to illustrate the ignorance in this thread:

I thought it was hilarious, though pretty much all ****** jokes are.

I thought it was hilarious, though pretty much all Jew jokes are.

I thought it was hilarious, though pretty much all fat people jokes are.

I thought it was hilarious, though pretty much all women jokes are.

GREENWORLD wrote: »
    The Catherine Tate show is an example of a redhead taking the mickey out of herself. She is probably a bit responsible for people thinking redheads don't mind being slagged, that's its ok. The thing is children can be very sensitive - why do you think nose jobs are the most requested procedures in plastic surgery and young girls become anorexics. Alot of this is caused by bullying and teasing. It is not ok to just say - oh sure kids will be kids. My mother would have killed us if she thought we were ever teasing other kids in school. Parents who don't teach their kids to treat others with respect have a lot to answer for. Remember there are 400 suicides in this country every year. Alot of this bullying in school can affect people throughtout their whole lives. I think schools should have stricter punishment policies for bullying

A lot of that stuff its caused by giving kids make up at the age of 5 and 6 as a toy, buying them high heals, grown up cloths just made smaller to fit the kids, parents constantly on diets and moaning about being fat, small, tall, etc. let kids be kids and they wont have so many problems with their bodies.

Teach them to stand up for them selfs and stop warping them in cotton wool.

And yes I have children

Well I hope your kids aren't being bullied and teased in school then.

I think parents should teach them how to report bullying and not accept this kind of behaviour - it's not acceptable and these children should be punished in some way and their parents informed of their behaviour. The only problem is that some of these childrens' parents are just as bad as their kids and won't listen to anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

CamperMan wrote: »
    what's wrong with ginger?.....
    What's wrong with paedophiles, the holocaust, knife crime. It's just WRONG.

What a horrific thing to say. Reported.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Kimia wrote: »
    What a horrific thing to say. Reported.
    :rolleyes: How very PC of you. I was obviously very serious.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

ascanbe wrote: »
    It's actually a ludicrous analogy.
    The card with the red haired kid is making fun of an element of one ethnicity; a hair colour.

But then we are OK with a card making fun of an element of one species; dark-coloured skin, yeah?

Wrong is wrong, and I'm still gobsmacked that a member of the public actually had to step forward to tell a giant retailer like Tesco that they were wrong. I know in a big system that some stuff gets through, but in all fairness!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Wester

Seriously, adults slag off others about having red hair! Well the last time anyone slagged me about having red hair I was about five. Just goes to show the mentality some people have. Mind you, it's probably a class thing. The under classes tend to ape anything the English do, maybe out of some sense of inferiority or lack of education, probably both. Hence, some of the posts on here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 A_Leahy

Wester wrote: »
    Seriously, adults slag off others about having red hair! Well the last time anyone slagged me about having red hair I was about five. Just goes to show the mentality some people have. Mind you, it's probably a class thing. The under classes tend to ape anything the English do, maybe out of some sense of inferiority or lack of education, probably both. Hence, some of the posts on here.

The Under Classes?
    Clearly people have had much more to insult you about in the past few decades. That is the most pompous, untrue, bias, self-satisfied, smug, arrogant fallacy I've ever heard.
    And, the irony is that that 'apes the English' more than anyone else here.

Tweed.

I guess you're going to tell us next some politically correct garbage that class doesn't exist. :rolleyes: would you rather I used the term knacker?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Say no to fire crotch... :(

I guess you're going to tell us next some politically correct garbage that class doesn't exist. :rolleyes: would you rather I used the term knacker?

Of course class exists. But Christ, coming from someone who may not have the 'privileged' background you insist on having, lower class does not mean lower intelligence.

Sorry where did I say intelligence? I used the term "education." Education = self-confidence = not feeling the need to beat up on other people. I said nothing about intelligence.

Yes, because by 'The under classes tend to ape anything the English do, maybe out of some sense of inferiority or lack of education, probably both' you clearly meant self-confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Hey Mr High and Mighty, get the **** off your horse and stop sounding so elitest. It's people like you who create this bull**** of "poshos" and "knackers" that is doing no good for anybody.