Are you going to your works do this Christmas?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭gleep

mud wrote: »
    Lies!

Could have been, I was anyones, even yours:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭gustavo

No,they're charging us this year for the first time and whilst I probably still would have went I don't know anyone who is actually going so I won't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 jameson4me

Is there a social welfare christmas do? That'd be fúcking amazing.

yea and mr lenihan puts up a free bar..... woo hoo:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Firefox10

We had ours about 2 weeks ago. The company wont shell out for free booze or food anymore but had a great night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Bayan

Yep, have to go on Friday. Small 'official' one with a shower of management dry****es that we have to pay for... dinner and then looking at one another for a couple of hours... have the emergency call lined up already. Bigger unofficial one was last weekend, also paid for ourselves but savage craic.... late n boozy, nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

lockie83 wrote: »
    Your company is not going to take over the world now is it?

2,000 people holy god!!

Well I work for a bank so they kinda already have!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

Had mine on Sat night in hotel off Merrion Sq. The 5 course Christmas banquet was crap, music was well cheesy but by god we had great craic. Best thing to get everyone going is to have some music & a bit of a boogie. I think everyone drinks less if they're dancing a lot. So we were all merry but not completely s***faced.

We all get along fine so we can let our hair down & act like eejits & no one cares. Though the company is nearly all male & being one of a few females can get a bit daunting. Year before last I was the one female with about 15 rowdy Polish lads. Try getting them into a nightclub all at once, not a chance. Got them into the Gaeity when it was still open but we had to pay 15 or 20 euro each :eek:

I'd never say no to a party. You just have to make the best of it & make it into a great night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Christ no. 2 reasons

1: Last years was deplorable, dullest "party" I've ever been to.
    2: Just recovering from Swine Flu, don't think it'd be a good idea seeing as I was off for a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭googlehead

Is there a social welfare christmas do? That'd be fúcking amazing.

:D:D:D

I laughed hard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭googlehead

:D:D:D:D:D

stop it please:D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,568 ✭✭✭thewools

No Xmas party this year AGAIN!!

We had one three years ago. 2 years ago it got cancelled due to "cutbacks", last year we paid for our own. This is coming from a company which makes a pretax profits of millions and millions... :mad:

Really knows how to look after its employees like :rolleyes:

This year no one bothered organising one as the only female in our office is on maternity leave :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Had it on Monday.

It was fantastic.

I Love Mein Job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I didn't go to mine; most of the people i work with are old (middle aged) and none of us fine young things wanted to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,810 ✭✭✭smokingman

Have mine tomorrow night but won't be going. Would love to but I've a month old screamer to take care of and I'd probably fall asleep after the first pint.
    There's a 7 course meal and some free drinks and everything :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

Dunno about anyone else but I see the people I work with at least
    5 days a week while at work! Thats enough for me!

When I finish work the last thing I want to
    do is spent any more time with them!

Last time I went to one of the office parties it was 1997.
    Fancy Dress, Table Quiz some Band I've never heard about.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

bullets wrote: »

~B

Do you not get on with them or something?

Most of the people I work with are good craic and a night out tends to be great fun!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭Assets Model

~B

Totally agree bullets ours was a free meal and some booze but it was in the back of beyond so I didn't bother going as coughing up for a taxi would have been a drag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭HereticPrincess

Nope... Ours for some reason was on the 3rd.. & on a Thursday.

Had work the next morning at 8am & would have had to get home to Meath at some point. Damn it..

Weeknight nitelinks, we need em!

~B

I dont get this, in any job I have had I usually end up calling a lot of the people I work with friends rather than just work colleagues and would go out with them regularly, not everyone but some of the people in the office.

Any weekend I don't head up home Id be out on a Friday and Saturday night with 5 or 6 people from work.