Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you going to your works do this Christmas?

• 14-12-2009 11:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭

As the title asks - are you going out with your work colleagues for Christmas?
    Personally I couldn't be arsed - I've to travel 35 miles and cant afford the extra expense this year.
    Plus, I'm sick of 90% of the staff. :mad:

So, you going out with your co-workers? 122 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    52% 64 votes
    What was the question again?
    47% 58 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Well, its a black tie event in the Shelbourne so.....yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

Mine was on Saturday. I got extremely drunk, tried to break a glass over my head for the laugh (i missed and dropped it on the floor), told one of my workmates to **** off and then went home to throw up.

A good night overall.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Is there a social welfare christmas do? That'd be fúcking amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

They didn't invite me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Might have if I hadn't been working til late that night - but the hassle of getting dressed up and travelling to the venue which is a bit of a trek, forget it.

So I went on the piss after work with my friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

If I had a job I would. But seeing as I dont have a job my reply is highly irrelevant to this discussion, so I wont distort your poll.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

They didn't invite me.

Mine didn't invite me either, it was a lads night out and I'm the only female :(

So I'm having mine on my own starting lunchtime Friday and I'm going to get twisted, photocopy my bum, and tell them all what I really think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭electrogrimey

Projected images.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Went to mine on Friday. Pretty good night. At least I can remember it this year.

Ah. Small turnout this year :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

Silverfish wrote: »
    Mine didn't invite me either, it was a lads night out and I'm the only female :(

So I'm having mine on my own starting lunchtime Friday and I'm going to get twisted, photocopy my bum, and tell them all what I really think.

Aw! I feel really bad for you. Send me aforementioned photocopied bum to make me feel better!:)

Would you not just turn up anyway?!

No, twas all over before I was told about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Sangre wrote: »
    Well, its a black tie event in the Shelbourne so.....yes.

Saturday night perchance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Not having one this year-there's a recession on don't ya know:)
    Don't think i would've went even if they did give us one-they're usually crap.

No, twas all over before I was told about it.

Such a bunch of arseholes - try opening a new thread for revenge ideas, they deserve whatever they get!

Photocopied bum.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,665 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I work by myself and for myself.
    I'm going to get blotto and try and drop the hand on myself whilst dancing like a drunk uncle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Nah. I can tolerate only about 2 people from my workplace when in an non-work context. Id rather spend my time off with people I actually like.

humberklog wrote: »
    I work by myself and for myself.
    I'm going to get blotto and try and drop the hand on myself whilst dancing like a drunk uncle.

Will you get in a huge argument with yourself about how you never liked you, and wake up in the morning dreading work because of what you're going to say about yourself by the water cooler? :p

Photocopied bum.

There's a fine line between porn/revenge!

WeeBushy wrote: »
    Will you get in a huge argument with yourself about how you never liked you, and wake up in the morning dreading work because of what you're going to say about yourself by the water cooler? :p

I'm gonna say I'm a sh!t boss and I could do better...and stop parking in my space!!!

I'm going to imagine your party as that scene in Fight Club where Edward Norton beats himself up.

Ooh, there's going to be trouble in the morning...

WeeBushy wrote: »
    Ooh, there's going to be trouble in the morning...

Rhohypnol...I won't remember a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

yep but our work do isn't on till january!!!!

*grumbles about nightclub work*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

Yup I am and I'm going to take it easy at this one :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

Yup, Im lookin forward to it. What could go wrong with a bar full of free drink and ur boss?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

yup mines on friday night were just going for a chinese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

Yes I will be, but it's not untill after Christmas for various and uninteresting reasons. And I can't wait! It's always a mad laugh! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I went already on Tuesday. Was great! Got 15 free drinks each :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Fcuk no, I am not going.

Used to love my job. Am in serious hating it mode now. Definitely not going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Went to mine on Saturday and got absolutely hammered for free. The company put on a massive spread for about 2000 people and it was a crackin night. Recession me arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭spoofilyj

Had mine last thursday, absolute mayhem, everyone pissed by 11 and the night went on until 4, great laugh and I managed not to insult anyone and made it into work for 12:30 on friday, great fun. There were some embarrased heads on friday too which was good fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Ticktactoe

As the title asks - are you going out with your work colleagues for Christmas?
    Personally I couldn't be arsed - I've to travel 35 miles and cant afford the extra expense this year.
    Plus, I'm sick of 90% of the staff. :mad:

Im hoping we dont work together!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Orlaithc9

I missed last years party because I was rushed from the office to the hospital that day (23rd Dec) as I was pregnant and got a bad blood disorder....this year I cant go because I have no babysitter!

Im the only female working with a group of lads so I dont think ill be missing much...not if our Summer party was anything to go by...going fishing and drinking on a boat. I did suggest a nail bar and cocktails but it didnt go down too well... :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

It's this Friday. Nothing too mad. I'll head to it and get quite drunk!

Well I'm a contract engineer, told a few weeks ago I am on Christmas holidays from the 18th Dec to the 7th Jan, party is on the 19th. Told last week my rate is being cut so I really do not feel remotely inclined to go. Also I work in Galway but being from Cork I would much rather be back home on Friday evening and forget all about this place for a few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Was at mine already, got to the hotel early had a nice swim and jacuzzi. Wandered down to the bar and the director got in a few rounds. Had about 5 pints before dinner and after a lovely meal kept on drinking.

Playing guitar in the residents bar til about 4:30, then wandered to bed to find a half naked sales man outside our room. We took some pics and sent him on his way.

Woke up to a phonecall at 12 and rushed downsatirs to the bus almost falling over our pre ordered room service breakfast on the way out the door.

All in all a good night and I remember all of it, unlike last year.... The year of waking up naked in a shared room minus a pair of boxers :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

Had mine friday started at 9.00pm, thats all i remember. :D

Already had our official one and about 2 unofficial ones. Last wednesday, Friday and all day Saturday!!

Unlike a lot of people who appear to distance themselves from people they work with, The work crowd are the people I go out with regularly so its just like a normal night out anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Our work do isn't until the end of Jan, and work is miles away from where I live.
    Had agreed to go, and booked a room in the hotel which its taking place at, but I've totally changed my mind now.
    Would rather spend the money on a nice weekend getaway with the missus

Can only think of 1 or 2 people that I'd actually want to see outside of work as well!

Loved going out with people in my old job, but this new crowd never do anything together, and if they do I usually end up giving it a miss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It's my first do with the company so I'm going, but I'll probably just hang around for the dinner and a drink or two before going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Am heading off to Vegas for ours on Friday, it's great working for Fas.

The above might not be strictly true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Money from our vending machine funded our holiday party, we had bowling and pizza. Not many showed up but it was ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭simonw

I don't think there's a flat big enough to hold it in. That said, it would be a major boost to the Dutch Gold and crap hash industries in these recessionary times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

My work do is always great craic. We break out the bags of weed and e that we've confiscated over the year and supposedly 'disposed of' and let rip.

So yes I am going.

Ah good times.

Sincerely,

Dectective Sgt. AnonoBoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭gleep

Ours is on Friday night, free bar n grub, sure why wouldnt i go?:D Hope I perform better than last year, I was still the new guy after just starting, can't remember much, woke up next day covered in dried cement, mud, cuts and had a black eye!!!:confused:Don't know what happened to me, and neither does anyone at work ( or so they claim). At lest my gf videod me when i got home, funniest thing ever!

So I'll be making a BIG effort to behave this year, but the night's so long and the drink so free:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

As is the same every year there is no xmas do in my job. I am one of the hated Civil Servent type people. There might be a few of us going out for a few drinks next week (paid for ourselves in case anybody thinks it is a freebie).

Never had a xmas do in any dept I worked in in the CS. The only time we have one is if we pay and arrange it ourselves. Most of the time its not worth the hassle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭gleep

As is the same every year there is no xmas do in my job. I am one of the hated Civil Servent type people. There might be a few of us going out for a few drinks next week (paid for ourselves in case anybody thinks it is a freebie).

Never had a xmas do in any dept I worked in in the CS. The only time we have one is if we pay and arrange it ourselves. Most of the time its not worth the hassle.

Jaysus man, do you know how many people reading this have lost their job this year?:confused:. I'm not commenting on the whole PS debate here, just saying you aint going to get much sympathy because you don't get a xmas party! You have a job to go back to in January, look on the bright side:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

gleep wrote: »

Jaysus man, do you know how many people reading this have lost their job this year?:confused:. I'm not commenting on the whole PS debate here, just saying you aint going to get much sympathy because you don't get a xmas party! You have a job to go back to in January, look on the bright side:eek:

I wasnt looking for sympathy. Far from it. I was just stating that we dont get a xmas party. Other people have posted that they have free bars, drink etc at their party. I was just balancing it out. I am well aware that there are tons of people who will be lucky to even have a xmas dinner on their table.