How much do you drink on a night out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Lil Kitten wrote: »
    You don't need to ask on boards.ie to know. Open your eyes in a nightclub and you'll see. Or just look on the streets at the clowns going around in bare feet, puke on the streets, fights breaking out, singing and shouting at 3am. Ask any garda in Temple Bar. Irish people get paralytic. Go into any a&e on a thursday - saturday just to double check.

If you want to go and follow every person on a night out in Templebar on a Thursday night to see how much drink it takes them to get "paralytic" then all I say to you is, good luck because you have a big job ahead of you.

simonw wrote: »
    Either the majority of the posters in this thread are lying, or I need to hand in my Being-Irish license

I doubt it. My boyfriend drinks a ridiculous amount on a regular basis. Hardly ever less than 10 pints on a night out, plus shots and whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Mark200 wrote: »
    Yeah, about 20 pints of liquid.

Real clever smart arse.

I meant say, lined up or place 20 pints on a table. Or that much liquid poured into a bath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

A 15 year old kid posted up how much he drinks (allegedly) and no one batted an eye lid.

What should we do? Give the kid a sermon on how he/she shouldn't be drinking that much?

I never listened to anyone older back then. Not many teenagers do.
    They will go out and experience all the good and bad things about life. Including drinking too much. Part of growing up. Not a nice side to it but that's life.

Ireland is not the only country where people go overboard on the social drinking. We just get hyped up alot more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Maybe not want to but need to. Which is sad.

You sound like my friend that tries to mother us all the time. He annoys people a lot.
    For the record other people's drinking habits affect me directly and indirectly. So it is my business and my right to be pissed off and comment on it.

Other people's nagging and moral pontificating affects me, so its my business and right to tell them to butt out of my drinking habits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭BDR

2 pints of Fat Frog, and (maybe) 2 vodka and blackcurrents..

Sin é :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

WeeBushy wrote: »
    None of your business how much and what people drink, tbh.

I thought that's what this thread was about :confused:
    Although her post is a bit sweeping, she's basically right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

Out last night and had about 4 pints of Smithwicks and a double Southern Comfort. Happily tipsy, no hangover today.

8.8 standard units according to the drinkaware site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Start: Pints of Guinness/Bulmers; maybe 6-7 or so
    ==Night could potentially finish here if I fancy an early one==

Middle: On to either -Jack Daniels and coke
    -Vodka and cranberry
    -Bacardi and coke
    ; maybe a further 7-8 of these
    ==Night usually ends here, taxi home or stumble home==

The Livin' End: On to neat spirits and shots against better judgment; 7-8 of these.

Aftermath: Oh............my................god............my head...

Completely depends.
    Sometimes nothing. Sometimes about 4 or 5 pints of Cider/Beer. Sometimes loads of vodka. I love Jager, I often bring a bit of that in my bag with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    Whatever money I bring out I will definitely spend it all on booze.

Had our class party the last night.

Had 3/4 bottle of Jameson (the 700ml bottle)
    6 more Jamesons in pub
    1 Bulmers
    3 Sex-On-The-Beach
    3 shots of something green
    Possibly one or two other drinks but don't remember.

I was sensible enough to know I had waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay more than usual and sent myself home in a taxi!
    My own fault for mixing all the drinks. Was not healthy!
    In future I will stick to the plain Jameson and Coke. No fancy other crap:cool:
    this thread makes me feel good - i am not going to AA after all!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Max would be 8 pints but usually it'd be around 6. I wouldn't keep drinking for the sake of it, I know when I pass my 6 pint limit it can get a bit ropey . I may have a few pints and a shot or two (rarely) and I'd leave it at that, I know when to stop myself !

I'm actually shocked reading some peoples replies, I'd end up in hospital if I had similar amounts of drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Stella777

more than 3 drinks and I'm on the floor. :o

so, usually 2 vodka-tonics or something similar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Depnds on what I'm drinking.
    In Messrs Maguire, they have this GODLY in-house brew known as Bock.
    It's a bit like toffee-flavored beer with the added bonus o having a 6.5% alcohol content per pint.

3 of them are enough to get me piggy-eyed.

That aside, my limit is usually between 4-6 pints a night, though if I drink a pint of water in between each pint, I can easily last up to double that without clinging to the floor.

Granted, haven't gone on any nights out in YONKS now. Lack of funding sucks the big one.

while we're on the subject of drinking, I'm curious:

How old were you when you first tasted alcohol and how ol were you when first started PROPERLY drinking it?

first tasted alcohol aged 4. By the time I was 7, I was drinking one quarter-pint of Budweiser a week as a "weekend treat".

After a while, I didn't drink until alco-pops became popular (I was about 14/15) and then it was pretty much downhill from there. :)

Nowadays, I'll probably drink once in a forthnight or so, averaging 5-6 bottles of beer in the night. My favorite tipple's Stella Artois. Anything bitter, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Drinking amount depends on the night out, and who i'm with...

College nights out tend to be messy enough, Boards beers i do be grand drinking enough to keep me sober-ish going home...like 5 pints and some shots.

Out with friends? sometimes i'll drink alot, sometimes very little. I only started drinking in Feb this year but dont go out all that much...maybe 3 times every 6 weeks.

McChubbin wrote: »

How old were you when you first tasted alcohol and how ol were you when first started PROPERLY drinking it?

first tasted alcohol aged 4. By the time I was 7, I was drinking one quarter-pint of Budweiser a week as a "weekend treat".

After a while, I didn't drink until alco-pops became popular (I was about 14/15) and then it was pretty much downhill from there. :)

Nowadays, I'll probably drink once in a forthnight or so, averaging 5-6 bottles of beer in the night. My favorite tipple's Stella Artois. Anything bitter, really.

You're messing....... right? :eek: Cos no parent in their right mind would give a 7 year old alcohol on a regular basis as a 'weekend treat'. Having a quick taste of mammy or daddy's drink is one thing, but being given a glass.... :eek:
    Anyway, assuming I just missed the joke, I had about a tenth of a can of Grolsch when I was 14 on a youth club trip to Holland, and a few alcopops at a sleepover when I was 15. From 15 to 18 I drank on about 3 or 4 occasions, and it was just a few alcopops each time. Didn't start drinking a lot/regularly until I was 19-20.

First tasted it when I was about 6 or 7 I'd say, a sip of Guiness.
    First started drinking with friends when I was about 13, with parents/in pubs when I was 14, near enough to 15(around 2-3 months).

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,566 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Thoie wrote: »
    The suggested "safe" amount is 3-4 units on any given day.

www.drinkaware.ie

How are you supposed to get drunk on that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

How are you supposed to get drunk on that?

Take the top of your skull off and pour it over your brain all at once. Better for the liver that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭VinnyTGM

Don't drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

tech77 wrote: »
    I thought that's what this thread was about :confused:
    Although her post is a bit sweeping, she's basically right.

It came across incorrectly, I meant who is she to tell me/others here how to drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 dilligaf73

baz2009 wrote: »
    First tasted it when I was about 6 or 7 I'd say, a sip of Guiness.
    First started drinking with friends when I was about 13, with parents/in pubs when I was 14, near enough to 15(around 2-3 months).

17 believe it or not. Sheltered upbringing...I'm a social drinker but I don't go out every week.

depends on the night out, and who i'm with...Drinking with the lads definitely increases the volume.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭irish-anabel

while we're on the subject of drinking, I'm curious:

First got drunk when I was 12 on about 3/4 cans. Then I told all my friends and we all started doin it for the youth discos 13/14 yrs old.
    Quit the youth discos for knacker drinking 15/16
    first went pub drinkin at 15.
    Regular niteclub goer at 16/17
    And that's my story! Note that I did not grow up in the hood, pretty sheltered wholesome life! Oh and I'm female.

On an average night I have a nagin in the bag (the recession made my habits worse) have a few beers and a few shots. ie abut 2/3 of each.
    It's too much for me though cos I get locked, need to solve that age old problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Is it bad that I just used neat vodka to swallow tramadol ???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Lol I have 4 pints at most usually but if I go to a nightclub, I'll start on shots.

My 4 pints doesn't get me hammered or anything but I hate that feeling and I don't know why anyone would want to get that plastered.

4 pints leaves me in a place where I can have a conversation with a sober person/semi-sober person or someone who has had more without much difficulty.

Usually on a night out, I do get annoyed by the really plastered random womeon on the dance floor trying to get me to dance with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

[quote=[Deleted User];63465244]You're messing....... right? :eek: Cos no parent in their right mind would give a 7 year old alcohol on a regular basis as a 'weekend treat'. Having a quick taste of mammy or daddy's drink is one thing, but being given a glass.... :eek:
    Anyway, assuming I just missed the joke, I had about a tenth of a can of Grolsch when I was 14 on a youth club trip to Holland, and a few alcopops at a sleepover when I was 15. From 15 to 18 I drank on about 3 or 4 occasions, and it was just a few alcopops each time. Didn't start drinking a lot/regularly until I was 19-20.[/quote]

Nope, no messing. It started out as sips from my aunt's beer and it was all downhill from there. Granted, it was only a QUARTER of a pint a WEEK so my folks didn't really view it as a bad thing. It calmed me down, sure enough. Maybe that's why they condoned it!
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

[quote=[Deleted User];63465244]You're messing....... right? :eek: Cos no parent in their right mind would give a 7 year old alcohol on a regular basis as a 'weekend treat'. Having a quick taste of mammy or daddy's drink is one thing, but being given a glass.... :eek:
    Anyway, assuming I just missed the joke, I had about a tenth of a can of Grolsch when I was 14 on a youth club trip to Holland, and a few alcopops at a sleepover when I was 15. From 15 to 18 I drank on about 3 or 4 occasions, and it was just a few alcopops each time. Didn't start drinking a lot/regularly until I was 19-20.[/quote]

7....late starter. my foks used give me wine when i was 2 and they had people around for dinner. apparently is used go from adult to adult at the table looking for a sip nd getting it. Never did me any harm (snips story about 52 unit night posted earlier.....)
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

thebman wrote: »
    Lol I have 4 pints at most usually but if I go to a nightclub, I'll start on shots.

My 4 pints doesn't get me hammered or anything but I hate that feeling and I don't know why anyone would want to get that plastered.

4 pints leaves me in a place where I can have a conversation with a sober person/semi-sober person or someone who has had more without much difficulty.

Usually on a night out, I do get annoyed by the really plastered random womeon on the dance floor trying to get me to dance with them.

Most lads dream night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

Just in from an 18th birthday party!

3 or 4 Jamesons at home. Don't measure it properly so no idea really.
    5 or so in the pub
    2 jager bombs

That's about roughly it.

Followed by garlic and cheese chip :D:D:D Ohhh yeah.

You don't need to ask on boards.ie to know. Open your eyes in a nightclub and you'll see. Or just look on the streets at the clowns going around in bare feet, puke on the streets, fights breaking out, singing and shouting at 3am. Ask any garda in Temple Bar. Irish people get paralytic. Go into any a&e on a thursday - saturday just to double check.

If you want to cut back, cut back. Can't make a decision and stick to it yourself? What does it matter to you if anyone else does or not? Oh because most drinkers will keep at you and at you, "ah you'll have another, go on you will" buying rounds and pressurising you until you're as drunk as they are. So they feel better about it. Gotta drag everyone else down to their level. Sit sober or have 1 drink and just look at them make drunken tits of themselves for one night and you'll definietly want to cut back.

Maybe not want to but need to. Which is sad. There aren't many other countries that need to tell grown ups when they're too drunk to function and that maybe, just maybe they should cut back. Sites like drink.aware set up. Campaigns going to try to curtail drinking. But the tagline is "know the one that's one too many". By all means drink and be drunk, but be one away from comatose and liver collapse. The govt make too much money from revenue and are owned by publicans so won't make a stand against a very real and serious problem. It's sponsored by Diageo(an alcohol company) ffs!

The level of self defense and justifciation here in responses is shocking.

Hahaha. Watch the morons make fools of themselves at their office parties this Christmas and put their jobs at risk. How many have sober unprotected one night stands with strangers they meet in a bar? How many people when sober would get in a car with a drunk driver?

Believe what you want, but it's hard for most of the population to stay sober at any event. Irish culture revolves around drink. Look at it been applauded and encouraged in this thread. I'm glad some posters have the sense to disagree with some of the rubbish posted. A 15 year old kid posted up how much he drinks (allegedly) and no one batted an eye lid.

For the record other people's drinking habits affect me directly and indirectly. So it is my business and my right to be pissed off and comment on it.

Bla bla bla.

With your attitude id be surprised if you had any friends to not drink with.