Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A5 - Derry Dual Carraigeway

• 28-07-2009 8:20am
    Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭johnbk

I know there are a number of posts that relate to this roads project but I thought I would start one relating specifically to progress. I attended the public display at Omagh yesterday and I was shocked at how many people were there. The car park was packed and there was a queue out the door. Anyway, I got a chance to talk to the Mouchel road designers. They have a different team for each of the three sections.

Junction designs have not been finalised but this is the indications they gave to me.
    It starts with a short (1km) single carriageway bypass of New Buildings which finishes on a roundabout on the Strabane side of this village. From here it will be 2+2 carriage way with no LILOs or central reservation crossing to Stanbane at a roundabout and onto its end at another roundabout on the Armagh road out of Aughnacloy. Another short single carriageway road will link this roundabout to the existing N2 and bridge at the border. The existing A5 will be left as it is on its entirety.

The junctions are not complete yet but are more than likely going to be grade separated. They would not indicate if these grades would be compact or otherwise. The reason they went round the east side of Aughnacloy was mostly down to a significant Archaeological feature to the west (called the Thistle). The reason they have kept so close to Omagh is to encourage use of the new road.

The most interesting section of this road (From an engineering point of view) is as I expected around Strabane. The road will come in along side the existing phase 1 bypass and straight trough the Traveller halting site, rise over the existing Lifford link and pass over a new bridge over the river. It will travel a short distance along the bank to a new roundabout where the new Lifford link will join in. The new Lifford link will have a roundabout on the other side of the river where the new N15/N15 will join.

Also in Strabane they will have some sort of junction at the existing Lifford link road, so when finished they will have two junctions within 500m of each other. I’m not convinced they are doing a very good job of designing what will be a major junction in the years to come at Strabane. Once the maps are on the A5WTC website I will discuss this further.

My views are my own.

• Registered Users Posts: 230 ✭✭johnbk

I found this today about the A5. Looks like Roadbridge are at it again, suprise suprise. They would get all three contracts only they were only allowed to bid on two.

Three teams have won a share of a £600 million contract to build more than 80 km of new road to replace the A5 Western Transport Corridor in Northern Ireland.

A Balfour Beatty-led consortium, also thought to contain Bam Ascon and FP McCann, is tipped to have won one of the contract’s three lots, each worth up to £200m.

A joint venture between Irish heavyweights Sisk, Roadbridge, and PT McWilliams, and a team of top local firms Farrans and Graham, are understood to have scooped the other two lots.

Among those thought to have lost out are a Galliford Try/Siac team and a joint venture between Costain, Spanish giant Ferrovial and Northern Irish firm Lagan.

A local pairing of Wills Bros and Clarke was also understood to be in the running for the project, to provide more than 80 km of dual carriageway between New Buildings, near Derry, and Aughnacloy, via Strabane and Omagh.

The preferred bidders will be officially announced following a two-week cooling off period which began this Monday.

The road-building contract – covering construction, foundation and surfacing works – is being let by the Department for Regional Development in Northern Ireland.

Lot 1 covers the 21-25 km stretch of road from New Buildings to South of Strabane, while Lot 2 will consist of the next 33-34 km section of dual carriageway to South of Omagh. Both will require work at about four major junctions.

The final lot covers the remaining 31-36 km of dual carriageway, including up to three major junctions and finishing at Aughnacloy.

The scheme is part of a longer term plan, backed by the Northern Ireland Executive and the Republic of Ireland, to improve connections between Dublin, Londonderry and Donegal. The Irish government has pledged a contribution of £400m to help fund major roads programmes in Northern Ireland.

Construction is anticipated to start in 2012.

http://www.cnplus.co.uk/news/contracts/trio-share-600m-a5-job-in-n-ireland/5211058.article

My views are my own.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

There goes the money for the M20 so :)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,476 ✭✭✭ardmacha

Getting on a list of preferred bidders is not quite the start of the project. UK government borrowing in October was almost twice that expected. They will have to cut back and NI won't be spared. This road won't happen for a while, I suspect. Which may or may not save the M20.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭Amtmann

Nothing like driving a road for the first time to provoke an interest in it :)

Two links:

Wesley Johnston's page: http://www.wesleyjohnston.com/roads/a5omaghstrabane.html

Scheme website: http://www.a5wtc.com/

The NRA also have a wishlist of N2 improvements on their site. However, I'd favour doing away with much of the N2 altogether and bringing the Derry dual carriageway to meet the M1 motorway somewhere between Ardee and Dundalk.

(Proposed route corridor through Northern Ireland is attached.)

The UUP are now campaigning against it. They have a very powerful ally named Brian Guckian recruited to the cause

Ta. May as well post that here so.
    Ulster Unionist MLA Tom Elliott this week joined Lord Laird of Artigarvan and transport specialist Brian Guckian to look at local concerns over the proposed A5 Transport Corridor.
    "While there is no doubt in anyone's mind that the existing route is in desperate need of upgrading, the word 'upgrade' rather than 'replacement' is key.
    "Attendees at the event in Omagh's Silverbirch Hotel on Monday expressed great concern at the prospect of a new build motorway tearing through acres of virgin countryside.
    "Having held a series of meetings from Aughnacloy to New Buildings, it is apparent that feelings over the proposals are very mixed, and that the prospect of an upgrade is welcome, but not at any cost," the Fermanagh and South Tyrone MLA said.
    "Opposition to these plans is based on a number of factors, from the environmental and personal impact of the build and of increased traffic, to the financial cost. These are all justified concerns and must be given a fair hearing.
    "During the course of the meeting we heard issues over the destruction of badger setts, the proximity of the mortorway to an Area of Special Scientific Interest (ASSI), the proposed build's elevation at certain points - giving rise to fears of dangerous cross-winds, and the £800 million cost for which funds have yet to be allocated.
    "These issues were all underpinned by a presentation from rail and integrated transport researcher, Brian Guckian, who offered a compelling argument for extending and replacing the railway network, which has been long abandoned in the region. Interestingly, the estimated cost of such a project amounts to in the region of £300 million - substantially less than the £800 million motorway build," the UUP MLA said.
    "Highlighting that the new motorway will take up eight times the land that re-opening the railways would, will use 80 per cent more energy and produce 40 to 60 percent more CO2, Mr Guckian said that these plans completely oppose UK and European best practice.
    "If we look to Scotland, and indeed to the wider UK, it is clear that our public transport structure is lagging far behind. To be on a par with our counterparts over the water, we should have some 600 miles of railway - instead we have just 200.
    "While I must emphasise that I am fully in favour of improving the existing road network, the extension of rail services into the west is certainly worth considering. It is clear that our dependence on the road network, without an attractive public transport alternative, in turn breeds greater dependence which is costly both in terms of finance and environment.
    "The A5 undoubtedly needs huge improvement, but the traffic levels simply don't justify a motorway and indeed a development of this size is contrary to contemporary best practice, which seeks to cut - not encourage - car usage.
    "I will be lobbying the Minister to look again at this issue, in the firm belief that where there is a will to find a better solution, there is always a way."
    http://www.uup.org/news/environment/environment-news-archive/re-think-needed-over-costly-a5-plans.php

I'm surprised at the UUP to be honest. Someone should send them a link to your Guckian thread over in C&T. In fairness though, these are the usual, trite, bog standard hoary old chestnuts that one sees whenever the route corridor of a new motorway is announced. Mr Guckian isn't the best ally to have, either.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭nordydan

nordydan wrote: »

That's quite astounding actually. "Protestant farms" being torn up, and the north being used to convey southerners from Donegal to Dublin - as if the upgraded A5 wouldn't benefit the north itself at all! Whatever... Seems like the only one playing nasty politics is himself.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,127 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

"the usage between Omagh and Ballygawley peaks at 12,235 vehicles per day, yet the A 5 has been made the priority. Why?"

Because you can't afford *either* of the schemes on your own, Mr Allister.

"If we look to Scotland, and indeed to the wider UK, it is clear that our public transport structure is lagging far behind. To be on a par with our counterparts over the water, we should have some 600 miles of railway - instead we have just 200.

Who do you suppose got rid of all the railways in Fermanagh and Tyrone?
    Hint: not Sinn Féin.

• Registered Users Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Bog Butter

The A5 project has more to do with opening up speedy access to Donegal than finding the best way to meet local needs. Hence, the steamroller approach of the department under Sinn Fein minister, Murphy.

Is the Irish government's funding still secure for this? How much exactly does it equate to in terms of the overall cost?

malman wrote: »
    Is the Irish government's funding still secure for this? How much exactly does it equate to in terms of the overall cost?
    You might find out this afternoon. We might be sending all the gardai up there to work in chain gangs after they arrest themselves for going on strike!!

Contractors announced. Good to see Irish companies so involved.

http://www.a5wtc.com/Press_Releases.aspx

07 December 2009

Murphy Announces Award Of Contracts For The A5 Western Transport Corridor

Transport Minister, Conor Murphy, today announced that contractors have been appointed for the A5 Western Transport Corridor (A5WTC) dual carriageway between Derry and Aughnacloy.

The Minister said I welcome the appointment of three contractors for the A5 Western Transport Corridor project which at 86 kilometres long, is the largest single road scheme ever undertaken in Ireland.

The contracts are in two phases the first phase is to assist Roads Service and the scheme consulting engineers in the development of the design of the new dual carriageway in advance of the publication of the draft statutory orders next year. The second phase is the construction of the new dual carriageway.

The construction phase is planned to commence in 2012 subject to a successful outcome of the Public Inquiry scheduled for summer 2011 and availability of finance.

The Minister said: Due to the length of this project it was divided into three contracts and was awarded as follows:

•Section 1 from Newbuildings to Sion Mills has been awarded to the Balfour Beatty/BAM/FP McCann Joint Venture.
    •Section 2 from Sion Mills to Omagh has been awarded to the Roadbridge/Sisk/PT McWilliam Joint Venture.
    •Section 3 from Omagh to south of Aughnacloy at the border with County Monaghan has been awarded to the Graham/Farrans Joint Venture.
    To ensure successful delivery of the project within the agreed timescales, Roads Service has adopted an innovative approach in the A5 dualling project by appointing the contractors early in the process. The construction phase will be particularly welcome in the current economic climate providing a range of construction jobs, including special social clauses for employment of apprentices and the long term unemployed and contributing towards social and economic development in the West.

My views are my own.

Great to see Roadbridge involved. What's the betting their section will open first?

What happens with the route between Aughnacloy and Dublin though? I'm hoping the M2 won't go from its M50 junction to there parallel to the M1. There's no need for that level of duplication - a link-up with the M1 between Dundalk and Drogheda would suffice, I'd say.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,127 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

an "m53" a bit further south coupled with widening the existing blayney bypass and a routing north from that makes most sense to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭Steviemak

Building a new road through all Monaghan really doesn't make sense.

Its a fair distance from Aughnacloy to M1 Adree or even the M1 at Dundalk. They will probably just bypass Emyvale and upgrade the road as far as Monaghan.

I guess there would be no chance in getting the UK to pay for an upgrade from
    Aughnacloy to A1 at Newry via Armagh.

Well its funny how the marketing for this scheme has changed. It was money for the upgrade of the Derry road (A5) and now it is for the Monaghan to Letterkenny road. I wonder will they be giving extra money for the Emyvale bypass to the border and the upgrade of the Manorcunningham to Lifford road (N14) too? :-)

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1214/north.html
    Cowen to meet NI ministers
    Monday, 14 December 2009 08:46
    Taoiseach Brian Cowen and several Government ministers will hold discussions on the economy and the peace process in Limavady, Co Derry, today.

They will be meeting Northern Ireland's First Minister Peter Robinson and Deputy First Minister Martin McGuinness.

Brian Cowen is expected to confirm that, despite the difficult economic climate, the Government will continue funding a number of cross-border initiatives, including the construction of a new road linking Monaghan to Letterkenny.

My views are my own.

Steviemak wrote: »
    I guess there would be no chance in getting the UK to pay for an upgrade from
    Aughnacloy to A1 at Newry via Armagh.

Seeing as its going to be DC all the way (via Lisburn) anyway, no. Not a viable route option generally, although if Emyvale is blocked off like the day the truck went in to the houses, it would be...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭cgcsb

Furet wrote: »
    That's quite astounding actually. "Protestant farms" being torn up, and the north being used to convey southerners from Donegal to Dublin - as if the upgraded A5 wouldn't benefit the north itself at all! Whatever... Seems like the only one playing nasty politics is himself.

wow what a bigotted a*hole. It's amazing how he can turn a motorway project (being payed for, in part anyway, by the Irish government) into an anti Irish, anti Catholic rant.

By the way I've followed the project closely and dont recall anything about a route option that dissrupted GAA facilities, he might have made that up though. And aren't "protestant farmers" supposed to be few and far between in western Northern Ireland?

The GAA reference was to Dungiven area on the A6 route from Derry to Belfast, I think.

The A5 runs in the Strule/Foyle river valley from Omagh to Derry, almost every farm in this valley (on either side of the border) is owned by planters. Although the area generally may have a nationalist majority, these live on higher ground or in the towns.

Without wishing to generalise, the Protestants still tend to have the bigger farms on the better land.

Regardless, they are paid for their land so I don't see his issue, apart from pandering to the lowest common denominator

• Registered Users Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭cgcsb

ardmacha wrote: »
    The GAA reference was to Dungiven area on the A6 route from Derry to Belfast, I think.

so, since the article he wrote was supposed to be about the A5, he deliberately threw that in to misslead his constituants?
    ardmacha wrote: »
    The A5 runs in the Strule/Foyle river valley from Omagh to Derry, almost every farm in this valley (on either side of the border) is owned by planters. Although the area generally may have a nationalist majority, these live on higher ground or in the towns.

that may be the case, but it infuriates me that he is not at all concerned about the livelyhood of farmers, however, he is concerned about the livelyhood of "protestant farmers"

• Registered Users Posts: 43 Setanta_og

Fair Point Sponge Bob but it the final analysis we have to look to the future and the Island as a whole my vote says move ahead quickly with the project realistically it is the natural route for access to the NE :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,325 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

Setanta_og wrote: »
    Fair Point Sponge Bob but it the final analysis we have to look to the future and the Island as a whole my vote says move ahead quickly with the project realistically it is the natural route for access to the NW :)

FYP.

Who the hell wants to go to Dundalk?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,226 ✭✭✭Redsoxfan

A small soundbite from McGuinness on the issue of landowners concerns

http://www.highlandradio.com/2010/01/19/no-risk-to-a5a6-projects-mc-guinness/

Bit of data

trafficflows07_5dayweek1.jpg

and

trafficflows07_5dayweek_amflowtimes.jpg

so Derry to Buncrana has a higher AADT than Dundalk-Newry, when the latter gets a HQDC both sides of the border and the former gets an S2....

• Registered Users Posts: 19,015 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

MYOB wrote: »
    so Derry to Buncrana has a higher AADT than Dundalk-Newry, when the latter gets a HQDC both sides of the border and the former gets an S2....
    True but I'd say most or all of the Donegal<->Derry traffic is commuting, and not part of a major interurban like the A1/N1 scheme. If we looked purely at AADT we'd only build motorways on the approach to cities and rely on S2 in between, which would be arseways.

Very interesting figures though, note how few vehicles use the N3 corridor over the border.

• Registered Users Posts: 43 Setanta_og

With the latest exhibition of the Ostrich syndrome from the DUP boys I was thinking about the huge cost of this project especially for our southern brethren and how the money could be put to better use. Anyone in favour of a repatriation fund to the mainland? :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

As I pointed out elsewhere, these data are from 2007 pre sterling devaluation. I'd imagine the N1/A1 numbers are higher now.