If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

All Estate Names to be in Irish

dlofnep wrote: »
    The language is not dead.

Really? Just because you want something to be not dead, does not make it not dead.
    The language isn't dead, it just need to be taught better in schools. They need to make it a non points subject and needs to be taught from the moment you enter school so it can be used in every day use.

It already is taught from the moment we enter school and making it a non-points subject would be the worst possible approach to teaching..
    "I can either study French or Irish tonight.. Hmmm.. I think I'll go for the one that will help me into college".

It's not about points, age, motivation, whether or not it's useless. It's about the method currently being used to teach.
    Why was I learning my prayers in Irish when I was 7 years old instead of being taught how to use Irish in the play yard?
    Why was I being taught poetry when I was 17 instead of being taught how to converse with say a mechanic, a shop keeper, a bar man, anything that exists in the real world.
    The language is definitley dead or if not completely dead it's dying out.

Its pretty rare to hear anyone speak in Irish in day-to-day life. Some people do but even they use English for anything to do with business/work e.t.c.

It's true.. The only time I've heard any of my three friends who are fluent is when they're either hammered out of their tree or when they chat to each other in Irish for a few minutes now and then for the novelty. If I had been taught some conversational Irish, I could join in..

While I can't converse with other Irish speakers, I can accurately describe the emotions felt while reading a beautiful piece of poetry and fill two A4 pages doing it. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Really? Just because you want something to be not dead, does not make it not dead.

No, it just so happens to be fact. A dead language is a language that is not spoken by any people. Irish is still very much alive.

You're going to have to find a new adjective, because 'dead' isn't apt. I use the Irish language daily. It's very much alive for me, and many others who have bothered to learn it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

There's a surprising amount of anti-Irish feeling out there. It's nothing to be ashamed of, lads ;)

Also, for those of you claiming the language is dead, Irish seems to be enjoying a fairly strong resurgence in popularity from what I see, there are two thriving gaelscoileanna in Leitrim, and that is the least populated county in Ireland and not a gaeltacht area. What's wrong with embracing and holding on to your culture? I say hold on to it tight, teach your children better than we were taught, because it would be a sin to let it die. And yes, I do hear Irish spoken very frequently in every day life. Just wish I could understand what they were saying, I'm still convinced they're all talking about me :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Apart from paying someone to translate the names. Oh and the grant that the translator gets for having his business in the Gaeltacht.
    Ah cmon now, its hardly going to be difficult to translate something like Bell Court or something into Irish. Chúirt na Cloige is what it would be and I haven't even done my LC yet. Developers could even use google translate for it. Its hardly going to cost them anything to translate 2 or 3 words.

dlofnep wrote: »
    No, it just so happens to be fact. A dead language is a language that is not spoken by any people. Irish is still very much alive.

You're going to have to find a new adjective, because 'dead' isn't apt. I use the Irish language daily. It's very much alive for me, and many others who have bothered to learn it.

Instead of "dead", we'll say it's "limited".

And how can you say "bothered to learn it"? Every single person over 18 has spent 14 years at it five days a week. It's not coincidence that 90% of people can't hold a conversation a week after the leaving cert.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

Noone is forcing anyone to speak it, it's just an estate name.
    And it's hardly an ugly language, have you ever heard it properly spoken???

I have. It hurt my ears.

While I can't converse with other Irish speakers, I can accurately describe the emotions felt while reading a beautiful piece of poetry and fill two A4 pages doing it. :rolleyes:
    Well you could always talk to them about "Jack".

Lets give it a try.

Mar Sin, Cad a ceapann tú faoi an dán "Jack"?

An bhfuil cead agam dul go dtí an leithreas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Developers could even use google translate for it. Its hardly going to cost them anything to translate 2 or 3 words.

What? And put the translators out of work? Now that'd be a real waste of the grants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Leprachaun

I use this as a chat up line when I'm abroad. It's about all the irish I know but I say it means something corny like ''Your eyes are as beautiful as a Waterford sunrise''.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Quackles

Leprachaun wrote: »
    I use this as a chat up line when I'm abroad. It's about all the irish I know but I say it means something corny like ''Your eyes are as beautiful as a Waterford sunrise''.

See, now, Irish is useful!

Níl, Ní feidir leat ach is feidir leat úsáid a bhaint an pláta anraith folamh nó buidéal Lucozade. Nó do cathaoir mas mian leat. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭moonflower

All the new estates in Galway are named in Irish and it gets really annoying. They all sound the same so I often end up in the wrong place. I'd imagine it's hell for taxi drivers.

Leprachaun wrote: »
    ''Your eyes are as beautiful as a Waterford sunrise''.

ie., Rarely seen & spaced far apart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭RATM

Best of luck explaining your estate name in Irish to your average taxi driver.

Yet another hassle we don't need to 'save' the Irish language.

If you have to spend money and introduce rules/regulations to preserve a language then that is a clear signal that you are operating against the will of the populace. It's sad but the education system has failed us.

Accept it and move on.

RATM wrote: »
    If you have to spend money and introduce rules/regulations to preserve a language then that is a clear signal that you are operating against the will of the populace.

Accept it and move on.

There's too much money at stake for that to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

This is long overdue for Dublin. Fair play to Dublin City Council. It will make a refreshing change from the horrendously English names like Canterbury Court, Hampton Close and the like - names with no connection whatever to the areas in question - which have been imposed upon housing estates in Dublin during the past 10 years.

Well done to the local councillors in Galway and Navan as well.

Dionysus wrote: »
    This is long overdue for Dublin. Fair play to Dublin City Council. It will make a refreshing change from the horrendously English names like Canterbury Court, Hampton Close and the like - names with no connection whatever to the areas in question - which have been imposed upon housing estates in Dublin during the past 10 years.

I'm sure that those names & other equally non-connected ones can & will be translated into their Irish equivalents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,941 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I don't like the insinuation that questioning policy on forcing the Irish language down peoples throats somehow constitutes contempt for the language and not contempt for the policy.

I also dislike some attitudes concerning anti-Irish language being one and the same as being anti-Irish. There's much more to being Irish than the language, particularly when it's not the primary spoken language of the nation. I would see our history as being a far more important part of our heritage than our language and have met many a few people with fluent Irish who have contempt for our history.

Respect for our heritage is not an all in or all out concept, you only need to see the GAA flatten a hillfort without planning permission to understand how mixed up we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Couldn't care less.

More innovative teaching of the language in schools may be a better use of money though.

Some of those English names go back to their English landlords, and as such, are more a part of our heritage than an Irish equivalent made up tomorrow to suit the rules.

Canterbury Close is cringeworthy though, where is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,051 ✭✭✭Whosbetter?

kowloon wrote: »

I also dislike some attitudes concerning anti-Irish language being one and the same as being anti-Irish.

+ 1 to that!

It's the first thing the Irish Language Nazis accuse you of, the second you question the public expenditure (our money BTW) on their pet project.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

No it won't.

err yes it wll, people will be talking about an estate; said estate name is in irish, ergo more irish will be spoken than if the name were in english.

not a bad idea, i way prefer to see irish names for estates than some of the pathetic attempts at sounding like an upper class britsh area

kowloon wrote: »
    Canterbury Close is cringeworthy though, where is that?

Canterbury Gate it was, in ... Mulhuddart. No connection with Canterbury (or gates) whatsoever, needless to say:

http://www.flynnassociates.ie/index.php?action=sitem&item_id=132

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

cbreeze wrote: »
    I think this is to do with the official languages act. Our streets etc are in Irish and English I've noticed. You dont have to like it. Even if there's no money left in the country they will still find the money for these schemes as they are more important than vaccinations for teenage girls against cervical cancer, special needs assistants in schools and medical cards for the over 70s. Don't you know:rolleyes:

aye because all the money saved by not doing this would be able to do all that.......:rolleyes:

+ 1 to that!

It's the first thing the Irish Language Nazis accuse you of, the second you question the public expenditure (our money BTW) on their pet project.

Godwin's Law (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Godwin%27s_law). Lame.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

i bet anyone a fiver, this is a governments incentive, and cost them upwards of 50 million euro to secure this.

Canterbury Gate it was, in ... Mulhuddart. No connection with Canterbury (or gates) whatsoever, needless to say:

http://www.flynnassociates.ie/index.php?action=sitem&item_id=132

They can call their estates anything they like, and I'll fight for their right to do so, but that's just horrible,... and prententious sounding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

smk89 wrote: »
    Why? Given the choice between Irish and German dont you think German should win because its is actually used in the real (buisness) world. I dont believe Irish should be encouraged it is effectively dead.

I always find these arguments about French and German etc. gas, as if any Irish twat could string two words together in them! The Irish (great unwashed I mean) use the 'gap year' to feck off to Australia or some other English speaking spot and have no more interest in developing business German than I have in improving my grasp of Swahili irregular verbs.

People already can learn German in school - a 'choice' between Irish and German doesn't come into it - yet how many Irish people who have not studied German in university could have a conversation that was more complicated than 'my name is' in German a few years after leaving school? Let us get real here, we live in a country where people speak English from birth yet thousands upon thousands of students are incapable of attemting a higher-level paper in that language in school. Let's not delude ourselves about the national language skills.

The anti-Irish brigade produce many arguments to compete for the 'most spurious argument' title but this is perhaps the leading one. I wish people would stop trying to dress their petty little prejudices on all matters into pseudo-intellectual objections that hold less water than a strainer.

aDeener wrote: »
    aye because all the money saved by not doing this would be able to do all that.......:rolleyes:

It would cover the vaccine though, the cost wast six million for the full programme was it not? I could be wrong on that.