Political correctness gone mad!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

Kieron Wood wrote a very informative article on this general issue in 2005, when the crib was removed from St James's hospital, in the Sunday Business Post, entitled 'Taking the Christ out of Christmas':

http://archives.tcm.ie/businesspost/2005/12/25/story10579.asp

It seems there are places in Britain - he cites Birmingham city - where Christmas has been officially renamed Winterval!

Jesus Christ, you couldn't invent this stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 152 ✭✭jackthekipper

Rebelheart wrote: »
    Kieron Wood wrote a very informative article on this general issue in 2005, when the crib was removed from St James's hospital, in the Sunday Business Post, entitled 'Taking the Christ out of Christmas':

http://archives.tcm.ie/businesspost/2005/12/25/story10579.asp

It seems there are places in Britain - he cites Birmingham city - where Christmas has been officially renamed Winterval!

Jesus Christ, you couldn't invent this stuff.

As for christ out of christmas, what has the whole spending frenzy got to do with christmas? Besides cChrist left the catholic church in Ireland a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 bjg

Some further googling turns up this site: http://www.youngvoicesconcerts.com/ which is obviously down wid da kidz in da h00d because it has a Facebook thingie and even a YouTube link.

So what we seem to have here is a British entertainment agency, which makes its money by persuading teachers to teach songs to their classes. Then it gets lots of the teachers to bring their charges to a single large venue, where they all sing together to the assembled thousands of mummies, daddies and grannies, all of whom are paying for the privilege. And then it sells CDs and DVDs of the joyous occasion to the said mummies, daddies and grannies.

Now, I'm sure that the chappies running this, er, educational endeavour are right-minded chappies who have all the sensibilities proper to their station. But I see no evidence that they are driven by political correctness, afraid of recent immigrants to ireland or indeed interested in Ireland in any way — apart from persuading lots of mummies, daddies and grannies to shell out to attend their concerts and to buy CDs and DVDs afterwards. In fact, given that they do the same thing all over HM Realm, it seems likely that their decision to avoid Christmas and Christian songs, and to offer a "pop medley" instead, has nothing whatsoever to do with recent immigrants to ireland or even with non-Christian Irish citizens. I might even suggest that they saw a market opportunity in adding Muslim, Jewish and other children to their massed choirs — and their mummies, daddies and grannies to their audiences.

But that is speculation. So far there is absolutely no evidence whatsoever that anyone in Ireland, native or immigrant, asked the organisers to avoid Christian and Christmas songs. Nor is there any evidence that the original complainant to the Voice of the Nation (who had no children affected by the matter) did anything to check out the situation. And there is no evidence that the complainant was over-eager in leaping at the opportunity to attack Muslim or other immigrants in the interests of soi-disant Christian religion.

bjg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

Zebra3 wrote: »
    We live in a secular society so f.ck all religious festivals.

Secular society != not regarding religious festivals as what they are. I don't see people rushing to demand that people not celebrate Ramadhan or Channukah. I wonder why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

Rebelheart wrote: »
    A representative from the Immigrant Council came on and condemned the decision and feared that immigrants would be blamed for this.

A quick google and it seems that the organisers of this concert, and thus who made this decision, are going under the name 'Young World':

Contact Details
    Young World
    20 Pantbach Road
    Birchgrove
    Cardiff
    CF14 1UA
    Tel:
    01 833 7912
    donohoe3@iolfree.ie
    www.youngworlduk.com

Source: http://www.irishtourist.com/event_calendar/hallelujah_concert.shtml

Bloody foreigners!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Jakkass wrote: »
    Secular society != not regarding religious festivals as what they are.
    Public holidays where everyone gets to stay at home drinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!

Lets just drop the pretense and recognise all public holidays for what they are, piss up days. By using this designation going forth we can offend none but non drinkers and sure arn't they used to being ignored anyway.... ;)

But seriously....Ireland...HARDEN THE FUCK UP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Adam wrote: »
    there's a mosque three doors down from my house, they arrive in droves every sunday, and AT LEAST three of them drive micras. FACT.

Jaysus, there are far more Micras at a Catholic Mass. Nuns love them too, replaced the Toyota Starlet.

Anyway, this topic usually features on Fox News every Christmas, Bill O'Reilly makes a huge deal about it.

I don't agree with it, too pc, but I love seeing Bill O'Reilly types frothing at the mouth over it.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

glynn888 wrote: »
    just listening to the joe duffy show several callers complaining that a christmas concert in dublin cant have christmas music or carrols for fear of offending the lovely people who populate in their droves ,the housing estates of west dublin : you know the type they all drive crap micras or other jap crap cars that the social bought them to drive to dole office.
    Any one left here at all with any cop on?
    probably get banned for this but what the hell its christmas!---OOPS so sorry shudnt have said the c word might offend them

MEGAFAIL
    AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Did this even actually happen?

NO, this didn't happen! I was actually listening to this. The actual story was that its an annual concert attended by school kids from around the country. In the past it was a Christmas themed thing but they'e moved away from that now. Some ****ing old codger busy body who doesn't even have kids in primary school anymore rang up because he heard about it from another parent. Yes the people ringing up weren't even affected by this. They were giving out because not only were Christian songs removed, but also non-Christian songs like Rudolph the red nosedrein deer etc etc. The organisers said as posted previously that they removed these songs after complaints by parents in previous years who were offended. NOTE THEY DID NOT SAY THEY WERE FOREIGN OR OF DIFFERENT RELIGIONS. So they could just as easily have been lapsed catholic or atheist Irish parents. The old codger busybodies ringing up just assumed they were forr-den and assumed they were muslim or whatever and went on a rant - with lots of "I'm not a racist but...." type pretenses.

So in reality, we had a private company responding to the requests of their customers by altering the type of service they were supplying. None of the affected people were calling up - just random busy bodies with nothing else to do.

Because gee, its not like these people who requested no Christmas songs might have a reason, no ? Its not like the Catholic Church might just have gotten into a little trouble with how they've treated children is it? And more than that its not like the parents don't have a right to decide whether their kids get indoctrinated to believe in Jesus or Santa or magic pixies or whatever is it?

The only people with the problem here were the idiots ringing up and whomever it is thinks this is about political correctness. And frankly it just gave a voice to Irish closet racism since so far as we know it was Irish ex-Catholics who asked for the changes.

NO, this didn't happen! I was actually listening to this. The actual story was that its an annual concert attended by school kids from around the country. In the past it was a Christmas themed thing but they'e moved away from that now. Some ****ing old codger busy body who doesn't even have kids in primary school anymore rang up because he heard about it from another parent. Yes the people ringing up weren't even affected by this. They were giving out because not only were Christian songs removed, but also non-Christian songs like Rudolph the red nosedrein deer etc etc. The organisers said as posted previously that they removed these songs after complaints by parents in previous years who were offended. NOTE THEY DID NOT SAY THEY WERE FOREIGN OR OF DIFFERENT RELIGIONS. So they could just as easily have been lapsed catholic or atheist Irish parents. The old codger busybodies ringing up just assumed they were forr-den and assumed they were muslim or whatever and went on a rant - with lots of "I'm not a racist but...." type pretenses.

And frankly it just gave a voice to Irish closet racism since so far as we know it was Irish ex-Catholics who asked for the changes.

So it was really Bill O'Reilly types screaming "liberal, pinko, Commie, pc'ers" then?

These types usually don't analyse the situation, just rant so Joe Duffy sounds just right.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

just random busy bodies with nothing else to do.
    It is my right to dismantle the evil catholic church in any manner I see fit. That evil must be purged from this land

ScumLord wrote: »
    It is my right to dismantle the evil catholic church in any manner I see fit. That evil must be purged from this land

You've a point. Purge them and let them earn our respect.

K-9 wrote: »
    You've a point. Purge them and let them earn our respect.
    In fairness that's never going to happen. Where's me pitch fork!

20 Years ago where we are now was unthinkable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

This is a scandal.

Just goes to show that political correctness is incorrect in a political sense but utterly correct in the secular non-political sense of the word, which makes a lot of sense politically, when you think sensibly, and politically about it.

I am outraged.

Feckin' facists.

K-9 wrote: »
    20 Years ago where we are now was unthinkable!
    That's only because those people were stupid. We're infinitely more smarter than them was! Can't find a pitch fork, I have a shovel though.

But wine was Liebframilch then.

I'll reply tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

KungPao wrote: »
    This is a scandal.

+1. Listening to Joe Duffy should be punishable by hanging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

ascanbe wrote: »
    Wow. What a load of rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭radharc05

I'm with the OP
    For he spake the truth.

As for the rest of the noobs who wanted 'evidence' of what he wrote.. go piss off to PC hell.

I had to pay €55 euros last week to see the doc.
    While my Nigerian FRIEND across the waiting room with her clan of now Irish passport holders got herself and her 2 out of her 3 kids seen for FREE. I'm not minted. I had to take a half day to see the doc pay him then shell out €55 euros for my prescription.
    What did she pay NADA. Now that sucks eggs!

Why am I paying for her when I can hardly pay for myself?

Besides that fact she and her clan were the best dressed in the waiting room. Then she drove away in her Micra that had more hits than Elvis by the look of the state of it.
    Its crazy. Unfair. And the government welcome all these people with open arms whilst the rest of us struggle to make ends meet.

I know I've gone off the OP's original posting a bit and sorry about that.
    But I too was listening to Joe Duffys show that day.
    I hold 2 points of view. Who gives a flying **** about christmas carols?
    and on the other hand I thought 'WHEN IN ROME' ..
    If these people want to be welcomed into our country and reside with us.
    Bloody well integrate with us, be friendly. You dont have to sing our carols, but we should'nt have to curb how we live, celebrate our customs to facilitate YE.

Rant over.
    PS Dont bother highlighting parts of my post with anal responses like
    I ASSUME YOUR THIS OR THAT

I dont care what you think
    Its merely MY point of view
    and I'm entitled to it.
    Its called FREE SPEECH. Deal with it.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

radharc05 wrote: »
    I'm with the OP
    For he spake the truth.

As for the rest of the noobs who wanted 'evidence' of what he wrote.. go piss off to PC hell.

I had to pay €55 euros last week to see the doc.
    While my Nigerian FRIEND across the waiting room with her clan of now Irish passport holders got herself and her 2 out of her 3 kids seen for FREE. I'm not minted. I had to take a half day to see the doc pay him then shell out €55 euros for my prescription.
    What did she pay NADA. Now that sucks eggs!

Why am I paying for her when I can hardly pay for myself?

Besides that fact she and her clan were the best dressed in the waiting room. Then she drove away in her Micra that had more hits than Elvis by the look of the state of it.
    Its crazy. Unfair. And the government welcome all these people with open arms whilst the rest of us struggle to make ends meet.

Bloody well integrate with us, be friendly. You dont have to sing our carols, but we should'nt have to curb how we live, celebrate our customs to facilitate YE.

Rant over.
    PS Dont bother highlighting parts of my post with anal responses like
    I ASSUME YOUR THIS OR THAT

I dont care what you think
    Its merely MY point of view
    and I'm entitled to it.
    Its called FREE SPEECH. Deal with it.:D
    Quick question. Did you actually see said passports?

Also. How do you know she was Nigerian?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

ascanbe wrote: »

That’s as good a rebuff of the tired “PC gone made” refrain that I have heard. While the term itself is relatively modern, the philosophy behind it has been going on for a very long time and might loosely be viewed as a progression towards a greater degree of civilization. It is because of this philosophy that acceptable practices amongst mankind (sorry humankind! :D) in the past are no longer tolerated. We have elevated our regard for human life. In relatively recent human history you would be hung for stealing a sheep. If the term PC had been around when women were given the vote in democracies, you would no doubt have heard the “gone made” bleating then too. Similarly when moves were made against those who sought to subjugate people based on their skin colour or religion or sexual orientation etc. Political correctness is just a modern term for our eternal quest to be more civil. And yes of course certain demands by its advocates in particular times and places will strike people as ridiculous and excessive (for what its worth, I do not believe that singing Christmas carols or erecting cribs, even in public buildings, should be suppressed, indeed I get rather annoyed when such things are suggested). But that is not a reason to abandon our quest to make the world a less harsh place, a philosophy which has benefited us all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 glynn888

dont complain about them ! after all they live in rented houses and apartments owned by who? teachers , guards, hse workers , remember its in their interest to keep them here, rememeber if they were not housed for free got free money and cars etc, Ireland would not be an attractive place for them . its not the weather anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

dont complain about them ! after all they live in rented houses and apartments owned by who? teachers , guards, hse workers , remember its in their interest to keep them here, rememeber if they were not housed for free got free money and cars etc, Ireland would not be an attractive place for them . its not the weather anyway!
    Free cars?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Jesus H. Christ dude, this is the 2nd thread were you're ragging on me,

I drive a Hyundai and live in Blanchardstown, WTF am I doing to annoy you? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

At this stage I think the myth of the free car will outlast Santa Claus....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

Nodin wrote: »
    At this stage I think the myth of the free car will outlast Santa Claus....
    I can assure you it is not a myth. How do I know? Well, I challenged a chap once to outline the proof he had that some Nigerians get free cars from the state. It went like this. A relative of his knew someone who went down to social welfare one day. There was a Nigerian chap there and when he was been dealt with by staff, they took him into an office and discussed his affairs with him in private and out of ear shot of everybody else. Ergo, social welfare was clearly giving him his free car. And no, I am not making this up

lugha wrote: »
    I can assure you it is not a myth. How do I know? Well, I challenged a chap once to outline the proof he had that some Nigerians get free cars from the state. It went like this. A relative of his knew someone who went down to social welfare one day. There was a Nigerian chap there and when he was been dealt with by staff, they took him into an office and discussed his affairs with him in private and out of ear shot of everybody else. Ergo, social welfare was clearly giving him his free car. And no, I am not making this up

Was it the dole office or the HSE as in the Community Welfare officer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

radharc05 wrote: »
    I'm with the OP
    For he spake the truth.

Did you read the thread before you made your racist diatribe ? Did you read my post on page 5. As I said I was listening to it this show also. REPEAT - THEY DID NOT SAY THAT FOREIGN PEOPLE ASKED FOR THE CAROLS TO BE REMOVED. They said non-christians asked for them to be removed. For all we know they were Irish ex-catholics who don't want their kids indoctrinated by an organisation that abuses children. Get your facts striaght before going on your rants would you ?