Oh my god the most unfair thing EVER

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Jip wrote: »
    Where's the OP gone ? Has he/she been arrested again for just walking to the shops this time ?

I suspect they have nicked it back to their real forum i.d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

OP Has yet to reply :confused:

Does this mean he in the joy. being shared among the sex starved prisoners like a joint at a rasta party?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

Yes OP, that is definitely the most unfair thing EVAR.
    I have now completely forgotten about the floods, the match, and the upcoming budget from hell.

But you did the right thing in coming to AH to seek sympathy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

gcollins09 wrote: »
    Long time lurker, first time poster.

Okay, so I was walking home from school the other day (it's about a two kilometre walk (yeah, I know)). I was just walking along, minding my own business when a Garda decides to make it his business to fcuk up my day.

FOR NO REASON WHATSOEVER he asks me for my name and address. Obviously, I'm not going to give him those. Then he decides he has the authority to take me down to the fcuking garda station FOR NO REASON WHATSOEVER. So, obviously, I politely say "No, thank you" and I start to walk away.

THEN HE FCUKING THROWS ME INTO THE BACK OF HIS CAR AND I SPEND THE NEXT THREE HOURS WAITING IN THE STATION FOR NO REASON WHATSOEVER.

Please tell me I'm not crazy for thinking this is unfair.

Gardai have a hard enough job as it is, next time be a little more respectful and cooperative and you will find them mutually respectful(in most cases).

However if you really want to be a bollix about it, you can always use the old "In relation to what officer?" (works best with a posh accent, which is usually indicative of Daddy's stature in society)

My limited understanding is that a Garda must have due reason to stop/question/search you.

It has however been a long long time since I've had any negative encounter with a Garda, infact I can't remember any such incident such as yours.

Probably because I'm generally cooperative and polite with the Gardai Siochana.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Clare_Guy

Respect, honesty and politeness should be a two-way street, but isn't always the case. Not all Gardai are nice, decent people themselves and then demand and expect people to be courteous to them because they're wearing a uniform. Some people have had to put up with crap from them on an almost daily basis, so is it any wonder they're viewed with suspicion.

I agree with all of this, and in the OP's case, or anyone else's for that matter, if the Garda in question simply explains his reason for requiring personal details, I'm sure, people would give them without any questions.
    We don't live in a communist state. We do not legally have to carry identification with us. Nor do we have to provide our name + address unless we are in breach of the Public Order Act. Unfortunately, this act covers a myriad of things, one of which is "failure to comply with the directions of a Guard". This means that he can say "Give me your name and address". You say "But I don't have to". He then says "Right, you're in breach of the PO Act, that means i'm now entitled to your name and address".

Is this true? I'm not trying to start an argument or anything, I'm just curious to see it. Can you show me or point me to the legislation that covers it?

betafrog wrote: »
    FYP

An Garda Síochána

Fixed your fix... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭ART6

Since the law says "in the opinion of the Garda" surely that permits him to do almost anything? He may have simply formed the opinio that the OP looked like a dodgy character, in which case I assume he had every right to stop and question. Who is to argue with aomthing as abstract as his opinion?

Personally, I'm with Biggins on this. I'd be happy for them to do a bit more stopping (and searching).

ART6 wrote: »
    Since the law says "in the opinion of the Garda" surely that permits him to do almost anything? He may have simply formed the opinio that the OP looked like a dodgy character, in which case I assume he had every right to stop and question. Who is to argue with aomthing as abstract as his opinion?

Personally, I'm with Biggins on this. I'd be happy for them to do a bit more stopping (and searching).

I'd be interested to hear him explain "dodgy" though... :rolleyes:

You can't see it very well but if you look closely, you'll notice the i has a strike through it in my fix :p...

cheeky *%£&^?@!!! Name and address please?....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,474 ✭✭✭drkpower

Becuase of the backwards nature of this Act, it is up to the individual Guard to decide whether you are a danger to yourself or someone else based on the simple fact that you are just standing there. If it comes down to it, all he has to do is tell a judge that you were standing outside the shops/on the green/walking down some lane that is known to be used by drug dealers (doesn't matter if is known or not) and he is within the law. They can tell you to leave an area. You can try and argue your case, you are then failing to comply with his directions so bang, you're arrested.

Im afraid you are wrong.
    He will need to show evidence that you were acting in a manner...... that give rise to a reasonable apprehension for the safety of persons/property/public peace. The fact that you, a law abiding citizen, were standing in an area frequented by dealers is unlikely to cut it, unless the Garda can show some other circumstances that led the Garda to come to such a view.The Garda needs to justify that to the Judge.

Now the Judge may be more likely to believe the Garda more than he would believe a dodgy 18 year old, but that is another story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Blackhorse Slim

OP may well be a priest. In which case the Garda was right to stop him. About time.

ART6 wrote: »

Nope, he cannot do anything; the opinion has to be reasonable. If he is loooking for a 6 foot white guy in connection with a crime, he cant just stop a 5 foot black girl because he thinks she was involved.

The same people who probably decry how easy it is to 'get off on technicalities' are probably the same ones who claim that the Gardai can essentially 'do almost anything'. As always, the truth is somewhere in the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Boom Boom

Long time lurker,

First offence................
    THEN HE FCUKING THROWS ME INTO THE BACK OF HIS CAR

Either he was huge or you are tiny as i have an image of him now physically lifting you and throwing you, maybe it was robocop
    Please tell me I'm not crazy for thinking this is unfair.

you're not crazy**

**I'm not a qualified psychologist therefore this is merely me humouring you and not a medical opinion

No, thank you

Go to jail, go directly to jail, do not pass go, do not collect 200...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Lorrs33

That was certainly unfair! I was randomly pulled over at a checkpoint. All the cars in front of me just had their tax discs checked and were allowed move on, but because I wasn't driving a Merc or bloody Ferrari, I was pulled over and asked for my license. Unfortunately, I didn't have it on me (long story) and I had to give my details for presenting it later. I was grand with that, but they turned to my boyfriend and first asked if they had met before, which they hadn't. Then they took his details. It's OK to take mine, but they had no right to take his.

I'm sick of them abusing authority, thinking they're someone when they're probably the most uneventful police force in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Lorrs33 wrote: »
    I'm sick of them abusing authority, thinking they're someone when they're probably the most uneventful police force in the world.

What events should they be having? Garden parties.... quilting sessions? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I was pulled over and asked for my license. Unfortunately, I didn't have it on me (long story) and I had to give my details for presenting it later. I was grand with that, but they turned to my boyfriend and first asked if they had met before, which they hadn't. Then they took his details. It's OK to take mine, but they had no right to take his..

Yes, unfortunately he was right to do so. Let's say for instance you had no license, you don't present it later and the matter goes to court. In court the garda is asked to recount what happened, he can check his notes and say Lorrs was driving this car etc etc and beside Lorrs was Mr X. If he had no details taken down, you could claim you were alone, your word against his, thereby casting doubt on the whole thing, similarly if he had no details you could claim that he didn't do his job fully by not taking the details etc. The garda was covering his own arse if the matter had to be taken further.

That was certainly unfair! I was randomly pulled over at a checkpoint. All the cars in front of me just had their tax discs checked and were allowed move on, but because I wasn't driving a Merc or bloody Ferrari, I was pulled over and asked for my license. Unfortunately, I didn't have it on me (long story) and I had to give my details for presenting it later. I was grand with that, but they turned to my boyfriend and first asked if they had met before, which they hadn't. Then they took his details. It's OK to take mine, but they had no right to take his.

1. Eh; you didnt have your licence, which you are supposed to have, so quit moaning:D.
    2. Why didnt your b/f just say 'no'; or ask why he wanted it; or ask on what basis he was obliged to give it?

How does you breaking the law and your b/f answering some straightforward questions all of a sudden become 'an abuse of authority'?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

I've been breathalised (and it was fun, they checked my OH for the laugh as she HAD been out lol), been stopped on the street, someone in the neighbourhood called them when I was younger and lurking (having a shifty smoke) outside their house etc etc... And every time they were grand. I smile and say Hi... that's a good start. If they ask my name I tell them... Usually end up chatting for a sec then off they go. If you're not in violation of Law 0: Do not be a prick and people will be nicer to you, then they're grand.

Like anyone doing a job, you have to deal with total idiots and it sucks, so you get cranky...

OP I know it's a wind up and all, but do people really think being a big hardman is worth it, or makes ANY statement other than LOOK AT ME I'M SO TOUGH. Be polite, answer the questions and be on your way.... Even afterwards ask why you were stopped. One Guard said to me 'no offence but that leather jacket and black clothes make you look a little dodgy when driving past'.... Not the nicest thing to hear, but to be fair I get the point and once I opened my mouth he could tell I was an ok bloke.

Frankly I'm happier knowing that the police ARE checking dodgy looking people in my neighbourhood (even if it was me in that case), that means they're doing their job and actually give a crap about the place.

(and no I'm not a cop, nor is anyone I know, this is not sponsored by anything, and the lady who gave me penalty points at 2a.m. for doing a U turn to ask her for directions can rot in hell, I hope your family get face and ass cancer).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 gcollins09

WAHAHAHA JOKE'S ON YOU GUYS, THAT WAS AN HILARIOUS TROLL! MY NAME'S RHYS GORMAN AND I BEAT THE BOYS ON MY BIKE AND I HAVE A REAL ACCOUNT ON BOARDS.IE BUT YOU'LL NEVER KNOW WHICH ONE TO ACTUALLY BE ABLE TO BAN ME

I AM RHYS AND I'M THE BEST TROLL EVER AND YOU'LL NEVER TO BE ABLE TO BAN ME BECAUSE I'M RHYS AHAHAHAHA

RHYS GORMAN THE BEST ST BRENDAN'S COLLEGE WOODBROOK BRAY AHAHAHAAHAHA

WAHAHAHA JOKE'S ON YOU GUYS, THAT WAS AN HILARIOUS TROLL! MY NAME'S RHYS GORMAN AND I BEAT THE BOYS ON MY BIKE AND I HAVE A REAL ACCOUNT ON BOARDS.IE BUT YOU'LL NEVER KNOW WHICH ONE TO ACTUALLY BE ABLE TO BAN ME

Wanna bet? Ever hear of an i.p. address?
    Sad, just sad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 gcollins09

Biggins wrote: »
    Wanna bet? Ever hear of an i.p. address?
    Sad, just sad.

oh please no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

oh please no

Go fellate a phallus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

I've been breathalised (and it was fun, they checked my OH for the laugh as she HAD been out lol), been stopped on the street, someone in the neighbourhood called them when I was younger and lurking (having a shifty smoke) outside their house etc etc... And every time they were grand. I smile and say Hi... that's a good start. If they ask my name I tell them... Usually end up chatting for a sec then off they go. If you're not in violation of Law 0: Do not be a prick and people will be nicer to you, then they're grand.

Like anyone doing a job, you have to deal with total idiots and it sucks, so you get cranky...

OP I know it's a wind up and all, but do people really think being a big hardman is worth it, or makes ANY statement other than LOOK AT ME I'M SO TOUGH. Be polite, answer the questions and be on your way.... Even afterwards ask why you were stopped. One Guard said to me 'no offence but that leather jacket and black clothes make you look a little dodgy when driving past'.... Not the nicest thing to hear, but to be fair I get the point and once I opened my mouth he could tell I was an ok bloke.

Frankly I'm happier knowing that the police ARE checking dodgy looking people in my neighbourhood (even if it was me in that case), that means they're doing their job and actually give a crap about the place.
    QUOTE]

you're exactly right, life would be easier if everyone chilled put and looked at things from other peoples perspective every so often

I AM RHYS AND I'M THE BEST TROLL EVER AND YOU'LL NEVER TO BE ABLE TO BAN ME BECAUSE I'M RHYS AHAHAHAHA

The discussion has actually moved on from your (supposed) predicament. But thanks for raising the issue which has prompted an interesting discussion. Keep up the good work.

Who are the 'boys on your bike', by the way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Hiya Rhys, by any chance did you go to St. Mary's & St. Gerard's primary school in Bray, play right back in soccer and have your bebo account blocked but judging from your profile pic you are either a guy with gay pink hair or else a guy more orange than Ian Paisley?

I love google stalking :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

Charco wrote: »
    Hiya Rhys, by any chance did you go to St. Mary's & St. Gerard's primary school in Bray, play right back in soccer and have your bebo account blocked but judging from your profile pic you are either a guy with gay pink hair or else a guy more orange than Ian Paisley?

I love google stalking :).
    :D:D:D
    caught by the proverbial bollox me hopes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

But is it really Rhys Gorman trying hard to be clever or is it someone pretending to be Rhys Gorman,repeating his name four times for emphasis,in order to make Rhys Gorman look like a dick.
    The mind boggles really.The cunning and audacity of this troll knows no bounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭Tefral

https://www.gardaombudsman.ie/complaints-about-garda-siochana/gsoc-online-complaints-form-db1.asp

Garda has no right to request your name and address unless you are suspected of committing an offence, they need to quote an act before your obliged to answer them.

The gardai can only act within the powers they are granted under legislation, other than this they are ordinary people and its an offence for anyone to stop you going about your business.