Oh my god the most unfair thing EVER

• 04-12-2009 11:51AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3

Long time lurker, first time poster.

Okay, so I was walking home from school the other day (it's about a two kilometre walk (yeah, I know)). I was just walking along, minding my own business when a Garda decides to make it his business to fcuk up my day.

FOR NO REASON WHATSOEVER he asks me for my name and address. Obviously, I'm not going to give him those. Then he decides he has the authority to take me down to the fcuking garda station FOR NO REASON WHATSOEVER. So, obviously, I politely say "No, thank you" and I start to walk away.

THEN HE FCUKING THROWS ME INTO THE BACK OF HIS CAR AND I SPEND THE NEXT THREE HOURS WAITING IN THE STATION FOR NO REASON WHATSOEVER.

Please tell me I'm not crazy for thinking this is unfair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

You should have just given him your details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Should have given him your name and address.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

by law you have to give them your name ,address and date of birth.Which you didnt do.

You know next time:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

You shouldn't have cupped him when he asked you what your up too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

why

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭frman

gcollins09 wrote: »

I politely say "No, thank you" and I start to walk away.

That's the funniest thing i have heard in ages, thank you ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

dclane wrote: »
    why

so he could get to the other side

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 27,103 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

Lab_Mouse wrote: »
    by law you have to give them your name ,address and date of birth.Which you didnt do.

You know next time:)

What law is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Okay, so I was walking home from school the other day (it's about a two kilometre walk (yeah, I know))

Know what? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭CountingCrows

Spear wrote: »
    What law is that?

11b

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

in future, just repeat everything he says to you back at him.

In saying that any time ive been asked i always reply with my details.....meekly!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

(it's about a two kilometre walk (yeah, I know)).

Maybe he thought you weren't taking the whole converting from imperial to metric thing on board

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

The boys in blue just love that... LOVE IT. Try and get a rise outta you, and then when they succeed, kick you square.

Never, ever, get lippy with the polis, cos they will fúck you up.

Why did you not wanna give him your details? I know you don't have to, but still, anything for a quiet life?

You tried to act cool and aloof to a Garda, he got pissed and made your life a bit of a misery. Never screw with anyone who has power over you.

It's not fair, but then who the hell told you life was fair???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

I agree OP, in the history of unfair things this definitely tops the list as the most unfair thing ever, displacing the former leader - Ultravox's Vienna which was kept off the number one spot by Joe Dolche. We now have a new winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭Ciaran B

Contact the Garda ombudsman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭builttospill

Okay, so I was walking home from school the other day (it's about a two kilometre walk (yeah, I know)). I was just walking along, minding my own business when a Garda decides to make it his business to fcuk up my day.

You know what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭I_am_Jebus

FOR NO REASON WHATSOEVER he asks me for my name and address. Obviously, I'm not going to give him those. Then he decides he has the authority to take me down to the fcuking garda station FOR NO REASON WHATSOEVER. So, obviously, I politely say "No, thank you" and I start to walk away.

THEN HE FCUKING THROWS ME INTO THE BACK OF HIS CAR AND I SPEND THE NEXT THREE HOURS WAITING IN THE STATION FOR NO REASON WHATSOEVER.

OMG! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,375 ✭✭✭source

You may have fitted the description of someone he was looking for, and by refusing to give your name he has the power to arrest you under section 24 Criminal Justice(Public Order) Act 1994....and trust me, it almost definitely wasn't for no reason whatsoever, I can almost guarantee that you did or were doing something which either someone complained about or the garda saw, and this was his reason for stopping you in the first place, if you had given your name and address he probably would have told you to watch what you were doing, and let you on your way.

You learned a valuable lesson today, even if you don't think you did anything wrong, give the Garda your name and address, he might be trying to eliminate you from his enquiries and by giving lip and refusing to do so, only makes him more suspicious of you.

Gardai have the power to arrest you if you don't give your name and address, and the power to hold you until they can identify you if they suspect you of having committed a crime.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I rather be stopped ten times for no reason than think that a pedo' or possible house breaking thief was not stopped and asked the same question once.

Its a bit of an inconvenience but he is not personally out to get YOU, he/she is looking out for the welfare of the neighbourhood instead.
    That could be your neighbourhood too! I'd be damn grateful to actually see such checks are done to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

You have to give the Gardai your name and address if they ask for it.

Or else they'll hoof ye into the back of teh car and fukc your day up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

What I want to know is how come the Po-Po caught you unawares like that? Don't you have hoppers as lookouts? Where were the cries of "5-O! 5-O Yo!"?

You need to straighten your crew out OP. Them corners don't run themselves you knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Ciaran B wrote: »
    Contact the Garda ombudsman.

Yeah that would be a laugh.

OP you should have told the Garda that you already have a boyfriend, like in the ad on tv.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Answer him in gaelic, its his tough sh*t if he doesn't understand.

And if he's one of our new Chinese guards you'll be making Degsy's day.

But in reality your probably a teen with a lot of attitude, most are.

Next time give him what he (or she) wants and be on your way, because believe it or not our guards have better things to be doing than stopping and questioning random people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭Porkpie

I think we're not hearing the full story here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Obviously, I'm not going to give him those.
    ...because? Because he's the man, man?

The Gardai are here for your protection. If you treat them like idiots, they'll do likewise, and rightly so.

DazMarz wrote: »
    The boys in blue just love that... LOVE IT. Try and get a rise outta you, and then when they succeed, kick you square.

Never, ever, get lippy with the polis, cos they will fúck you up.

Am I the only one who read this in the voice of Samuel L Jackson?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,355 ✭✭✭Sean Quagmire

and I thought Rodney King got a raw deal thats simply shocking OP....!

http://iwanticewater.files.wordpress.com/2009/07/rodney-king.jpg

Porkpie wrote: »
    I think we're not hearing the full story here.

Do you think he's telling porkpies?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭ItsNoAlias

Congrats, your a man now. isnt getting hauled off to the station a coming of age thing for most people these days?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

and I thought Rodney King got a raw deal thats simply shocking OP....!

http://iwanticewater.files.wordpress.com/2009/07/rodney-king.jpg

Ah come on, that whole Rodney King deal was totally disproved by the 'magic baton' theory. Officer Coon, Officer Big Balls and Officer Keep Darkie Down were acquitted of all charges

(Thank you Mr Hicks)