Most Hated Domestic Chore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

The only thing I really really hate is peeling potatoes. HATE it.

I don't particularly like ironing, probably because we used to go to my sister's friend's house after school the odd time when we were in primary school, and her mother used to store the ironing in buckets and "let" me do it until my mother came to collect us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 higgo1888

painting the house on special occasions like now christmas time , i hate it so boring and demoralising, 100 things runs through your head o god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Voltex

higgo1888 wrote: »
    painting the house on special occasions like now christmas time , i hate it so boring and demoralising, 100 things runs through your head o god.
    whipped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Ironing anything, especially shirts:mad: drives me around the f****n bend. Changing a duvet cover, I am not too bad at it(I have had enough practice :().I try to put it off as much as possible. Taking down the Christmas tree from the attic and putting it up, depresses me:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

Ironing.
    I decrease my clothes by wearing them for a full day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

It's easy enough once you get the hang of it, just turn it inside out and grab the corners of the duvet through the cover and the slip it on like a giant rubber
    Not when its a King size duvet cover. Sweet mother of jaysus...no inside out-corner grabbing technique gets it on right without
    a)shaking it so much that it whacks the light shade in the ceiling
    b)hitting the half full pint of water on your bedside locker you brought to bed the previous night
    c)got it half way on and realised its inside out cos you got the corners wrong and you have to start AGAIN :mad:

My least fav chore is that one...and ironing. Ill wear the clothes for longer before i go out so my body heat "irons out" the creases rather than get the actual iron out.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭population

Ironing.

I am all about equal rights for everyone and no exploitation etc but if the opportunity arose to imprison somebody, feed them a bucket of fish-heads once a week and get them to do all my ironing ad infinitum, I gotta say I am taking it with both hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Ironing! Who's idea was it to start ironing clothing anyways? Creases FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,849 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Wiping the cum off the walls :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

oh hey listen dont even try get me started on 'most hated live' hehehehehehehahahahah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭population

Wiping the cum off the walls :mad:

Give up that seminary job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭all_smilz

i have bed spreads which i have someone launder... so no duvet covers! ha ha ha!
    i hate emptying the bin and putting away the cutlery....
    I love having a clean house tho!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

The worst chore for me will have to be done tomorrow.. in telling my housemate to stop bringing back random girls 3/4 nights a week and keeping me awake bangin' the bejayzus outta them.

I DREAD having to mention it but it's been going on for weeks now AND I have an important interview in the morning. This sucks :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,820 ✭✭✭deisemum

I hate hoovering or washing the floors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

It's easy enough once you get the hang of it, just turn it inside out and grab the corners of the duvet through the cover and the slip it on like a giant rubber
    bluewolf wrote: »
    inside-out method makes it easy enough
    turn the duvet cover inside out, stick your arms inside it to grab the corners (so the rest of the cover is going up your arms), then grab 2 corners of the duvet with your hands, shake and the cover falls nicely over the duvet

simple :D

i don't like vacuuming, though it's nice to have a clean carpet after
    xzanti wrote: »
    Turn the cover inside out, go inside it and grab the corners from the inside, then grab your duvet at the corners with the cover corners and shake them like a lunatic.. easy peasy :)

Ye all forgot the most importantpart!

You have to stand on the bed when grabbing the duvet with the cover, so much easier, it just falls down then all you have to do is fasten it!

*runs off to email Take a Break

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Hate general tidying up.
    Dont mind doing things like powerwashing the yard and cleaning out the stove and lighting it/bringing in turf.

Hate folding clothes and ****e, hoovering is a bollix ****in pet hairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I do very little chores - a bit of gardening, mowing the grass, cleaning windows, getting the coal in & lighting fires is about the height of it.

Everything else seems to be done by fairies - like the clothes fairy, who takes my clothes off the floor, washes & irons them & puts them in the wardrobe. I put it down to living near a fairy ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Ironing is a horrible chore. But gotta say i enjoy hoovering, dunno what it is but outta all the household chores that is the one i don't mind doing at all.

It must be the going around seeing a result all the time, sucking up dead things, pieces of crap etc.

Stevecw wrote: »
    Ironing is a horrible chore. But gotta say i enjoy hoovering, dunno what it is but outta all the household chores that is the one i don't mind doing at all.

It must be the going around seeing a result all the time, sucking up dead things, pieces of crap etc.

In our house, we crap in the toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

My most hated chore is definitely garden weeding.

I'll do anything my mother asks me except this! No matter who many weeds i pick, there's still a thousand more that i miss. I just use weedkiller.

grenache wrote: »

I'll do anything my mother asks me except this! No matter who many weeds i pick, there's still a thousand more that i miss. I just use weedkiller.

Napalm is even more effective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭baaaa

My least favorite chore has to bedone about every 9 months.Sometimes it makes me physically sick,mostly if I do it right I can get away with retching.
    My female housemate has long hair which is twice as dense as anyone's else I'm told.It gathers down the plughole until it eventually stops the shower tray from draining.
    The method I use is to fashion a hook and tie a piece of rope to it(must stretch around a corner).I remove the shiny cover on the plughole and fiddle around with the hook until I catch the hairsnake firmly and sink the hook into it(the retching starts now and I usually have to stop and wait 5 mins for it to subside),then I retire out into the hall and gently coax it out of the plughole bit by bit by gently tugging on the rope, in between running away every 2 mins to retch.It can be up to a foot long wen it eventually emerges,slimy grey in colour and as thick as your wrist.
    It is then bagged, by peering through slits in my hands-so I can't see it in it's entirety,and I then know that tomorrow brings a new day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

baaaa wrote: »
    My least favorite chore has to be...
    My female housemate has long hair which is twice as dense as anyone's else I'm told.It gathers down the plughole .
    You need one of these little beauties :D and all your problems are solved!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭baaaa

anniehoo wrote: »
    You need one of these little beauties :D and all your problems are solved!
    I never actually thought of that for some reason,I suppose it's cause the problem only becomes bad so irregularily.
    Although as I think of it now Id probably end up having to clean that little thing every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

4 pages and nobody think cleaning the oven is the worst chore? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭cloneslad

I gotta say I don't mind ironing, never have done. Since I decided to stop shaving my hair I now have to use a hair dryer to dry it, that's a pain!

But here's a tip, I put on my t-shirt and blast the hairdryer around it for about a minute, helps get rid of most of the big creases and makes you toasty warm

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I wouldn't know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Ironing, hate it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    I fu*king hate changing bed clothes.

Putting the duvet inside the cover is impossible.
    bluewolf wrote: »
    inside-out method makes it easy enough
    turn the duvet cover inside out, stick your arms inside it to grab the corners (so the rest of the cover is going up your arms), then grab 2 corners of the duvet with your hands, shake and the cover falls nicely over the duvet

simple :D

i don't like vacuuming, though it's nice to have a clean carpet after
    xzanti wrote: »
    Turn the cover inside out, go inside it and grab the corners from the inside, then grab your duvet at the corners with the cover corners and shake them like a lunatic.. easy peasy :)

I tried this method before. I failed.

I have to go inside the duvet and pull the corners up. Takes me about 40 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,106 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

R0ot wrote: »
    4 pages and nobody think cleaning the oven is the worst chore? :pac:

Definitely, did it last night...awful!!!