Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most Hated Domestic Chore?

• 03-12-2009 8:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

I hate changing bed clothes. Ill do anything else...mop the floors...clean the toilets..wash the windows...but not change bed clothes.

Whats yours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭smk89

Washing the gimp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Ironing. So much so that I haven't done it in six years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

I fu*king hate changing bed clothes.

Putting the duvet inside the cover is impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Duvet inside the sheet is torture for me, it always ends up arse ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

ronnie3585 wrote: »

It's easy enough once you get the hang of it, just turn it inside out and grab the corners of the duvet through the cover and the slip it on like a giant rubber

inside-out method makes it easy enough
    turn the duvet cover inside out, stick your arms inside it to grab the corners (so the rest of the cover is going up your arms), then grab 2 corners of the duvet with your hands, shake and the cover falls nicely over the duvet

simple :D

i don't like vacuuming, though it's nice to have a clean carpet after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

cleaning up the mountain of takeaway cartons and empty beer cans.. although that may not apply to everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,406 ✭✭✭PirateShampoo

Sex with the wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

My most hated chore is definitely garden weeding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Duvet covers as well fookin hate them. also mopping the floor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Dont mind changing bed clothes at all. Love doing all house work except mopping the floors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Folding up the clothes after the dry can be a pain,it depends on the mood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,169 ✭✭✭rednik

Kiera wrote: »
    Dont mind changing bed clothes at all. Love doing all house work except mopping the floors.

What time can you start.:D

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Turn the cover inside out, go inside it and grab the corners from the inside, then grab your duvet at the corners with the cover corners and shake them like a lunatic.. easy peasy :)

xzanti wrote: »
    Turn the cover inside out, go inside it and grab the corners from the inside, then grab your duvet at the corners with the cover corners and shake them like a lunatic.. easy peasy :)

almost word for word! haha
    ^5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

hate ironing and hoovering

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

rednik wrote: »
    What time can you start.:D
    Depends how much you're paying? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭ollaetta

Window cleaning. And trying to dust the place on those days when the sun is shining right in highlighting every single speck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Hoovering the stairs! Such a pain in the arse!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭maryjane007

mine is sorting and putting away washing. i sometimes hide all the clean washing in a bag in the bedroom til im in the humour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭gleep

Hanging washing to dry,mundane mind numbing, hate it:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Cleaning those odd, sticky, smelly stains of the work-top.

Wiping my arse :mad:

Pulling hair out of the shower drain (I know it's mainly mine but other people's gunk is collected with it and it's all white and gooey)

I never iron, it's just gonna get creased as soon as you sit down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

the duvet is the easy part...whats hard is trying to fit a fitted sheet thats too small to one of those memory foam matresses that must be made of lead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

bringing back the empty beer bottles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Hoovering the stairs! Such a pain in the arse!!

You're not supposed to put the tube up there, well not for long anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭themilkyone

I cried when I was a wee one cos I couldn't change the stupid thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Knit wit

hate changing bed linen also ... ugh

don't mind mopping now that I have a steam mop (well worth investing in)

not keen on going to bottle bank, cleaning windows, washing the food processor ... I really don't like housework!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭sharky86

Sex with the wife.

does she feel the same

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

changing bed linen doesnt bother me, plus i loooooooove getting into bed when teh sheets ect are freshly changed.

i hate ironing, really hate it. i avoid buying stuff that needs to be ironed, and at times i have thrown away clothes after one wash when i realised they would need to be ironed.

i really hate it.
    i would clean toilets all day rather than iron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

It's easy enough once you get the hang of it, just turn it inside out and grab the corners of the duvet through the cover and the slip it on like a giant rubber

You forgot to add, 'after you've worn the cover like a ghost costume and annoyed yer OH by going "wooooooooooooo" at her'.

Of course it helps to be naked underneath. That just me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

The only thing I really really hate is peeling potatoes. HATE it.

I don't particularly like ironing, probably because we used to go to my sister's friend's house after school the odd time when we were in primary school, and her mother used to store the ironing in buckets and "let" me do it until my mother came to collect us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 higgo1888

painting the house on special occasions like now christmas time , i hate it so boring and demoralising, 100 things runs through your head o god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭Voltex

higgo1888 wrote: »
    painting the house on special occasions like now christmas time , i hate it so boring and demoralising, 100 things runs through your head o god.
    whipped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Ironing anything, especially shirts:mad: drives me around the f****n bend. Changing a duvet cover, I am not too bad at it(I have had enough practice :().I try to put it off as much as possible. Taking down the Christmas tree from the attic and putting it up, depresses me:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

Ironing.
    I decrease my clothes by wearing them for a full day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Not when its a King size duvet cover. Sweet mother of jaysus...no inside out-corner grabbing technique gets it on right without
    a)shaking it so much that it whacks the light shade in the ceiling
    b)hitting the half full pint of water on your bedside locker you brought to bed the previous night
    c)got it half way on and realised its inside out cos you got the corners wrong and you have to start AGAIN :mad:

My least fav chore is that one...and ironing. Ill wear the clothes for longer before i go out so my body heat "irons out" the creases rather than get the actual iron out.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

Ironing.

I am all about equal rights for everyone and no exploitation etc but if the opportunity arose to imprison somebody, feed them a bucket of fish-heads once a week and get them to do all my ironing ad infinitum, I gotta say I am taking it with both hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Ironing! Who's idea was it to start ironing clothing anyways? Creases FTW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Wiping the cum off the walls :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭enniscorthy

oh hey listen dont even try get me started on 'most hated live' hehehehehehehahahahah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭population

Wiping the cum off the walls :mad:

Give up that seminary job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭all_smilz

i have bed spreads which i have someone launder... so no duvet covers! ha ha ha!
    i hate emptying the bin and putting away the cutlery....
    I love having a clean house tho!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

The worst chore for me will have to be done tomorrow.. in telling my housemate to stop bringing back random girls 3/4 nights a week and keeping me awake bangin' the bejayzus outta them.

I DREAD having to mention it but it's been going on for weeks now AND I have an important interview in the morning. This sucks :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

I hate hoovering or washing the floors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

bluewolf wrote: »
    inside-out method makes it easy enough
    turn the duvet cover inside out, stick your arms inside it to grab the corners (so the rest of the cover is going up your arms), then grab 2 corners of the duvet with your hands, shake and the cover falls nicely over the duvet

simple :D

i don't like vacuuming, though it's nice to have a clean carpet after
    xzanti wrote: »

Ye all forgot the most importantpart!

You have to stand on the bed when grabbing the duvet with the cover, so much easier, it just falls down then all you have to do is fasten it!

*runs off to email Take a Break

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Hate general tidying up.
    Dont mind doing things like powerwashing the yard and cleaning out the stove and lighting it/bringing in turf.

Hate folding clothes and ****e, hoovering is a bollix ****in pet hairs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I do very little chores - a bit of gardening, mowing the grass, cleaning windows, getting the coal in & lighting fires is about the height of it.

Everything else seems to be done by fairies - like the clothes fairy, who takes my clothes off the floor, washes & irons them & puts them in the wardrobe. I put it down to living near a fairy ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Ironing is a horrible chore. But gotta say i enjoy hoovering, dunno what it is but outta all the household chores that is the one i don't mind doing at all.

It must be the going around seeing a result all the time, sucking up dead things, pieces of crap etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Stevecw wrote: »
    Ironing is a horrible chore. But gotta say i enjoy hoovering, dunno what it is but outta all the household chores that is the one i don't mind doing at all.

It must be the going around seeing a result all the time, sucking up dead things, pieces of crap etc.

In our house, we crap in the toilet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

My most hated chore is definitely garden weeding.

I'll do anything my mother asks me except this! No matter who many weeds i pick, there's still a thousand more that i miss. I just use weedkiller.