Why did the ESB flood Cork?

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Jip wrote: »
    I don't understand this, if this was a thread about Dublin it would have been shipped off to the Dublin forum immediately with some smart comment as per usual. Why are you letting a Cork thread contaminate After Hours ?
    Because it seems to be of national interest - top story on national news still.

Dudess wrote: »
    I can't flush the toilet. :( :mad:

And thus your prophecy came to pass...:pac:
    ...gonna be whiffy Leeside...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I would be jealous but you are living in Dublin after all. :p

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Girls don't defecate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭BennyLava

The real tragedy here, is that it wasn't Dublin that was flooded, at least that would have flushed the junkie scum, from the City Center into the Irish Sea

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,393 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

or didn't come to pass as the case may be :pac:

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

BennyLava wrote: »
    The real tragedy here, is that it wasn't Dublin that was flooded, at least that would have flushed the junkie scum, from the City Center into the Irish Sea

Doesn't work, sure aren't they still here after the last few floods we'd have over the past 2 or 3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Mary Harney should get off her fat ass and be used as a liferaft for the poor Dublin folks livin' down there. Feck all them cork heads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭TetsuoHashimoto

independent inquiry to begin in 6 months time
    Bandit12 wrote: »
    New found respect for the ESB

Roy Keane and Gromley say the Cork emergency plan worked well

picture.php?albumid=438&pictureid=3683.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Just add a couple of words and it's a much more sensible and pertinent question:
    Why did the ESB not flood Cork sooner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 888 ✭✭✭shamblertine

kpbdublin wrote: »
    Does anybody know why the ESB released a surge of water from the dam to flood the city of Cork with such devastating effect?
    The media have have not really explained this adequately Would the dam have burst if they had not done this - or was there a danger of a completely uncontrolled flood?
    Was the water release botched? Could they not have released it in a more controlled fashion? According to one report the water release was delayed because they were searching for a body in the river? Does anybody know about this?
    I understand that the ESB informed the public via a warning on its website. Was that the extent of the warning and was it completely inadequate?

Poetic justice for Roy Keanes remarks to the Irish people about what goes around comes around. I can just imagine the ESB lads opening the floodgates with the words: "Take that Keane you cnut, don't even take your bitterness and pettiness towards the FAI out on the Irish public and Irish team again you smug sneering fcuker."

Just a shame Keane didn't drown in the floods but I'm sure he'll choke on his own bile soon enough, the bitter little fcuker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭dingdong1

You know i would'nt mind the Cork bashing if it was actually funny but some efforts on this thread are fairly poor.

Typical post in this thread: "They wanted to wash away the langers". Followed by that person going to their window, looking out across the houses/fields of Dublin/Kerry/Carlow(the forgotten county) etc and secretly wishing they were lucky enough to have been born in Cork.

Come on people try harder.:)
    you are hilarious.. do you do children's parties? my daughter is turning two and there's 50euro in it for you for 3 hours work-pm if interested ...

Poetic justice for Roy Keanes remarks to the Irish people about what goes around comes around. I can just imagine the ESB lads opening the floodgates with the words: "Take that Keane you cnut, don't even take your bitterness and pettiness towards the FAI out on the Irish public and Irish team again you smug sneering fcuker."

Just a shame Keane didn't drown in the floods but I'm sure he'll choke on his own bile soon enough, the bitter little fcuker.
    ... except Roy doesn't live in Cork. Hasn't since circa 1990.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I can't flush the toilet. :( :mad:

Are you keeping a log?

Damn you! :D

I've just noticed $hifty's sig too. Appropriate, I suppose... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

because they were searching for a body in the river? Does anybody know about this?

A body was recovered from the Lee at lunchtime today, probably that of the missing student. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭limklad

Does anybody know why the ESB released a surge of water from the dam to flood the city of Cork with such devastating effect?
    The media have have not really explained this adequately Would the dam have burst if they had not done this - or was there a danger of a completely uncontrolled flood?
    Was the water release botched? Could they not have released it in a more controlled fashion? According to one report the water release was delayed because they were searching for a body in the river? Does anybody know about this?
    I understand that the ESB informed the public via a warning on its website. Was that the extent of the warning and was it completely inadequate?
    You had two choices, "Control flood" or "complete devastation flood" that will cause severe structure destruction to buildings or bridges, wall etc, that happens when Dam's fall apart when there is too much force and body of water behind it.
    ESB choose the correct option "control flood". It is not their fault that it rained too much that it could not be confined behind the dam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

limklad wrote: »
    You had two choices, "Control flood" or "complete devastation flood" that will cause severe structure destruction to buildings or bridges, wall etc, that happens when Dam's fall apart when there is too much force and body of water behind it.
    ESB choose the correct option "control flood". It is not their fault that it rained too much that it could not be confined behind the dam.

i dont understand this argument at all

it was not an either/or decision

they knew the combination bad weather and tides were on the way, they could have released water gradually in the lead up to it rather than letting it all build up to dangerous levels then discharging all at once

it may have been to do with the search for the missing student, a nice sentiment but also completely stupid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

limklad wrote: »
    Guards were looking for the body of a UCC student, who was believed to have drowned in the river. ESB didnt release as much water as normal so as to aid the search for the student. The heavy rain forced them to then release the water to avoid damage to the dam. This coincided with a high tide. It was badly planned, to be honest.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

dingdong1 wrote: »
    they were instructed to wash away the smugness. brown envelope job..

If thats the case Dublin needs a tsunami, was walking down nassau street last Thursday and the scumbag to regular person ratio was crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭monkeypants

stovelid wrote: »
    Are you keeping a log?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,588 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

They've had to do it again today.

In other news the Red Cross are looking for donations to deal with the flooding.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1125/weather.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Are we talking about the ESB plant on the shannon which opened the dam....... Is this near cork??????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭star.chaser

quote]

Apparently, they heard that a bunch of dubliners with chips on their shoulders, seemingly all members of a popular Irish internet forum were in town. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Are we talking about the ESB plant on the shannon which opened the dam....... Is this near cork??????

No. We're talking about the one on the Lee. Although now that you say it, it does sound a tad suspicious, the ESB opening all the dams. Maybe you're on to something there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭pablomakaveli

dingdong1 wrote: »
    you are hilarious.. do you do children's parties? my daughter is turning two and there's 50euro in it for you for 3 hours work-pm if interested ...

PM sent. I'm very interested.:)