Who is getting a pay rise this year

Shabbah wrote: »
    Take the €6K childcare off that and it's down to 17K

I can't for the life of me understand why people in the public sector try to explain their salaries by highlighting their outgoings...

"Yea, I'm a nurse/garda/whatever but when I pay off my childcare, mortgage, car loan, yadda, yadda, yadda I'm left with only x amount"

Do these people think its only them that have these expenses? People in the private sector also have the same costs and they could lose their job any day...and still face the mortgages and car loans

I cannot believe the face of those with safe, secure, pensionable jobs on strike in front of the people that don't know if they have a job to go to in 6 months.

I took a 20% cut in March and had to grin and bear it like everyone else in the private sector. I certainly wasn't walking around in circles at an entrance looking to keep my own nest feathered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

She said that overtime accounted for €1000 pm. Including overtime her total take home was €2700.

I think nurses have a 35 hour week, then thats €12 per hour after tax. Nurses at this level are not overpaid.

1000 is hell of alot of overtime, slash it. 35hr week, they work fewer hours than myself.
    Where did you get 12 quid an hour after tax?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Shabbah

NothingMan wrote: »
    But still not doing too badly, 26K a year is plenty to live on and have a comfortable lifestyle. Renting and driving and plenty of socialising. And that's 4 years in a job with a degree and another professional qualification. I find it hard to sympathise with someone on 27K, especially if they have no qualifications, who think they're being under paid.

Although I completely sympathise that it is a LOT tougher with a child and I hate to see anyone working their asses off and still struggling, but 27K is not underpaid unless you're in a job with a qualification or specific training.

I take offence at your presumptions.

May I ask do you come out with 26K or is that gross salary? And do you have a family?

27K would be adequate to live on you are right. Shame I only bring home 22K (checked payslip today to confirm) after the famous "Pension Levy", other Pension deductions and regular PAYE/PRSI are taken off. This will be less if more cuts are implemented.

I mentioned my childcare expenses in the context of comparing what I earn (for working full-time - which in turn creates a compulsory spend on childcare) to what I would receive for not working (from Social Welfare)

On my 22K per year (420 approx per week) I pay 6000 childcare (125 per week) which reduces my income to 16K pr year (305 approx per week)

If I decided to sit at home while my child was at school and have the luxury of being at home with my child in afternoons and on holidays, and rely on pay-outs from the state in the way of "One Parent Family Payment" I would receive 207 (personal rate) 23 (increase for child) and 21.90 (fuel allowance, each week amounting to 251.90 per week.....my income (after childcare expenses are paid, which would not be necessary if I did not work) is 305 per week, so I would be €53 worse off if I was a scrounger? Or would I? I would probably live in a council house, pay rent of 22eur per week and have a full medical card for myself and my child....so I wouldn't be any worse off at all really? Is it any wonder there are so many many thousands of unemployed "lone parents" popping babies out at a mile a minute to their invisible boyfriends who just "happen to visit them and have sex every once in a while"

I guess what I'm geting at is that, the whole system is wrong, very very wrong. There are underpaid Public Sector workers, just like there are underpaid private sector workers, but everyone jumping into this debate from the anti-public-sector brigade like to presume that there are no underpaid public sector workers, or at least, none that have any sort of financial struggle on their hands...and they also like to presume that if you are getting paid less, it's because you are underqualified and generally lazy/stupid. I saved a certain government Department over €10m last year (within a 6 month period), myself and a similarly underqualified and underpaid colleague/peer/equal who were responsible for certain projects. We didn't get mentioned in the news. We got a tiny "thank you for your continued hard work and for saving the Dept €10m" from our bosses in a meeting. We didn't get a bonus, we didn't expect it. We just do our jobs as best we can and keep our heads down usually.

And you are trying to tell me that I should be glad with what I get because I didn't scab off my parents after school in order to have a few good years in college and therefore I don't have a degree yet and presumably I must be an imbicile???....

I chose not to study full-time and to get work experience as opposed to a degree that I could do nothing with (as is happening to many graduates these days)

I have a good Leaving Cert, a wealth of office and administration experience, much MUCH more than any of my school friends who went to college straight from school and gained zero experience in the real world (I have 10 years work-experience since leaving school and going straight into the work-force), I have a marketing qualification, computer qualifications, a qualification in Personnel Practice all achieved in my own spare time whilst working full-time, I am also in the midst of completing a 4 year degree (in my own time) and I pride myself in having a great work ethic (as do many of my colleagues where I work) I can stand tall and be proud of the work I do, how often I do it, how much of it I do, and how I do it and I get praised or thanked by the public (in my dealing with them courteously and efficiently), my colleagues (who often say I'm wasted in the role I work) and by my bosses.

I will strike again if agreements are not reached, and the more days I strike, the more Frugal Christmas 2009 will become, but I will stand up for my future rights a and the rights of my peers and colleagues and any future entrants to the Public Sector, at any immediate cost.

Maybe I should be paid LESS than what I would receive on Social Welfare??

Rant over :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

gurramok wrote: »
    2,700 pm is NOT underpaid. Try 800 quid a mth to see what its like on the other side.

How the fcuk is €2,700 the other side to €800? Get a grip! You'd swear she was getting €27,000 grand a month.

€2,700e a month (before tax) with rent/mortgage of €1,200 and bills maybe €400, creche could be €600. Wowee she's loaded. Off to St. Tropez!

*Low paid workers in bitter rant against other low paid workers shocker!*

Money really brings out the jealous ugly side in people. Bitch and moan and do nothing about it...

400euro for bills?

Lil Kitten wrote: »
    How the fcuk is €2,700 the other side to €800? Get a grip! You'd swear she was getting €27,000 grand a month.

€2,700e a month (before tax) with rent/mortgage of €1,200 and bills maybe €400, creche could be €600. Wowee she's loaded. Off to St. Tropez!

Money really brings out the jealous ugly side in people. Bitch and moan and do nothing about it...

Rent/mortgage/bills are personal decisions. Its called budgeting.

2,700 net per month is alot of money and is NOT low pay, its handsome to live on. Compare it to someone like my partner who has just lost her job and now has to live on 800 a mth and makes one angry at why well paid nurses for example have a cheek to strike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

I'm a primary teacher... 7.5% pension levy and a further 2% health levy and did we get an income levy too? More to come in budget. I don't even look at my payslip anymore, the outgoing looks like a shopping list. :(

your pension levy of 7.5% is tax deductable so your out of pocket around 4% , couple this with the health levy and factor in deflation at officially 6% , your losses are wiped out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭granturismo

1000 is hell of alot of overtime, slash it. 35hr week, they work fewer hours than myself.
    Where did you get 12 quid an hour after tax?

Nursing hourly net salary theorem;
    She said her take home was €2700 pm, of which €1000 was overtime.
    =>(2700-1000)= 1700 eu per month, after tax

Assume 35 hour working week and 4 weeks per calendar month
    =>(1700/4)/35=12.14 after tax.
    Insert theorem proven 3 dot triangle here ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,293 ✭✭✭sdanseo

New job compared to last year, slightly lower rate but higher number of hours. So all in all around the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

2700 euro a month is a good wage.

And what do you do for a living? Saved any lives lately :), nurses are underpaid and there are'nt enough of them - most hospitals run nurses and junior doctors ragged and there are none being hired this class of civil servant along with teachers and the Gardai should be left alone, theres thousands wasting resources in pencil pushing roles take your grief out on them and leave the professionals that look after sick kids and old people aside.

we are over nursed in this country , twice the number per head what they have in france and they are anything but under paid , 50 k plus per year on average , by far the highest in the EU , of course nurses are the most sacred of sacred cows in this country and if they averaged 100k per year , most people would still say their underpaid , nurses have a uniquely special place in most irish peoples hearts , ive said it before many times , i put this down to the fact that traditionally a large number of irish women when they emmigrated or stayed at home , became nurses so to critcise a nurse for a large section of the population is to litterally bad mouth your own mom or grandmother

ps , my mom is a retired nurse

400euro for bills?

Yea, unless you want to sit starving in the cold and dark. As well as basics there are extras like TV licence, phone bill, house insurance and maybe health insurance, running your car, repairs, travel expenses etc etc etc
    Rent/mortgage/bills are personal decisions. Its called budgeting.

Ok, well I personally decide not to pay my bills. I wonder how long I'll be allowed go one before I'm evicted/arrested.
    2,700 net per month is alot of money and is NOT low pay, its handsome to live on. Compare it to someone like my partner who has just lost her job and now has to live on 800 a mth and makes one angry at why well paid nurses for example have a cheek to strike.

The nurses are working hard for their "handsome salaries", your partner gets €800 for free. How much did she get before she lost her job? A lot of people have lost their jobs. How is this the fault of any nurse or other public sector employee who is getting the blame? If nurse gets cut to €2000 how will that benefit you or your girlfriend? It's begrudgery.

Take it out on some govt fat cat, over paid consultant, bank official, corrupt bulider or RTE presenter that is making €800,000 a year not someone that work in a mostly thankless and incredibly difficult job for 30k a year just so that they can pay for basic and NOT personal needs.

the nurse interviewed by vincent browne said she was getting 30 k per year NET which means shes earning over 50 k gross , most people when disclosing thier salary quote gross , public servants quote NET as thier unions tell them it makes them come across less well paid , its a cute trick which most of them use

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Shabbah wrote: »
    who went to college straight from school and gained zero experience in the real world

Such a bitter, resentful attitude that so many non-University people have to those who went to University.

If learning from some of the top professionals in their field wasnt experience enough most students now take work placement, I for instance worked with one of the biggest financial companies in the world and probably learned more in my 6 months there then you would in your years of "Office Work". Not to mention that most students work part-time during college and full time over the summer.

irish_bob wrote: »
    your pension levy of 7.5% is tax deductable so your out of pocket around 4% , couple this with the health levy and factor in deflation at officially 6% , your losses are wiped out

Yea, I dunno. Whatever. I get paid what I get paid. I don't keep track or understand it. The INTO thinks for me. Whatever is in my bank a/c every Thursday is what I get paid. And after 3 years teaching I get paid less than when I started which is pretty ****ty cos I'm trying to save for a mortgage before prices go back up.. Anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

@ Shabbah.

Ok first things first yes 26K is Gross take home = 22K.

Secondly I never made one comment regarding Public sector Vs Private sector I merely said that 27K is not underpaid for an unqualified worker with 8 years experience. Your childcare and bills are your own business and in no way affect what you should be earning, although as I said I sympathise a LOT with people in your position and I have had family in similar positions.

Thirdly yes I went to college to get a degree but no I didn't sponge off parents, I have had a part time job since I was 15 and have paid my own way as long as I legally could and the experience I gained from working in places like McDonalds, Dunnes, Shell and another retailer as a general worker and supervisor added to my CV but my degree got me my job even though it has very little to do with what I do in my job. Do not presume all students are only going to college because they have rich parents who pay their way it was certainly not the way with 90% of my college friends and classmates did it and I missed every Thursday student night to go to work the evening or night shifts.

I think it is admirable that you choose to work and get by on what you earn when it can be easier to go on benifits and I know plenty of people take the easy route. I fully respect you and I wish you the best and I don't agree the public sector should be taking the brunt of the recession problems and I in no way meant any attack towards you. My main point was that 27K is a good salary for the position you seem to be in (I know I don't know the details but from what you've said so far).

\counter rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

It depends how good cowen is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭Doyler92

I'm getting a pay rise of about -11%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

i'll get a 100% pay rise, as in i might actually get a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭ronaneire

The only rise I will see will be sunrise :rolleyes:

Yea, I dunno. Whatever. I get paid what I get paid. I don't keep track or understand it. The INTO thinks for me. Whatever is in my bank a/c every Thursday is what I get paid. And after 3 years teaching I get paid less than when I started which is pretty ****ty cos I'm trying to save for a mortgage before prices go back up.. Anyways

dont know if you are full time but temporary teachers starting out seem to get dicked around but that is more to do with the internal politics of the teaching fraternity than anything else

ps , house prices have a long way to fall yet , the economy shows no sign whatsoever of recovery , interest rates will start to rise again in a year or so and thier is such an over supply of stock , its a buyers market and will be for a long time , btw , an uncle of mine who is a bachelor and out of work carpenter bought a two bed appartment in newbridge for 119 k last week , even in rescessionary times , i consider that good value

• Closed Accounts Posts: 347 ✭✭_Kooli_

Nursing hourly net salary theorem;
    She said her take home was €2700 pm, of which €1000 was overtime.
    =>(2700-1000)= 1700 eu per month, after tax

Assume 35 hour working week and 4 weeks per calendar month
    =>(1700/4)/35=12.14 after tax.
    Insert theorem proven 3 dot triangle here ...

For your proof to be valid, your assumptions must also be valid.

There are more than 4 weeks in a calendar month.

A big red X through your three dots :D

Ok, well I personally decide not to pay my bills. I wonder how long I'll be allowed go one before I'm evicted/arrested.

You can choose what bills you have and by how much you pay for them, you forgot that its called budgeting.
    The nurses are working hard for their "handsome salaries", your partner gets €800 for free. How much did she get before she lost her job? A lot of people have lost their jobs. How is this the fault of any nurse or other public sector employee who is getting the blame? If nurse gets cut to €2000 how will that benefit you or your girlfriend? It's begrudgery.

She paid her stamps for years and is getting the money back thru the dole. She was on about 25k, low pay in my book unlike that nurse on 40k GROSS(30k net).

There is no blame attached from a private sector person losing their job on a public sector employee.

Its a cop on attitude that ye still don't realise that ye still have 100% job security, overpaid jobs and bulletproof pensions, count yourselves lucky to maintain good lifestyles without any worry.

ZERO sympathy from those who have no jobs.
    Take it out on some govt fat cat, over paid consultant, bank official, corrupt bulider or RTE presenter that is making €800,000 a year not someone that work in a mostly thankless and incredibly difficult job for 30k a year just so that they can pay for basic and NOT personal needs.

Thats amusing. Her losing her job had nothing yo do with the above, the company cut costs to survive and a few of them were let go.

Your employer is broke and ye still moan going on strike about non-existent cuts that have not even happened yet. :mad:

the nurse interviewed by vincent browne said she was getting 30 k per year NET which means shes earning over 50 k gross , most people when disclosing thier salary quote gross , public servants quote NET as thier unions tell them it makes them come across less well paid , its a cute trick which most of them use

More Lies and made up figures. Why do people persist in pulling numbers out of their arses and then pretending they know what they are talking about?
    There are even websites for calculating tax.

http://taxcalc.eu/

€40K gross, NOT €50K would give take home of €30K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

Not doing too badly. Wages have increased v. slightly this year - probably won't happen next year, but we'll deal with that when it happens. Christmas bonus should still go ahead, even though it is tied to company profits, so we're not expecting a whole lot.

Waiting to see what the 9th brings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭byrner51

irish bankers of course

_Kooli_ wrote: »
    More Lies and made up figures. Why do people persist in pulling numbers out of their arses and then pretending they know what they are talking about?
    There are even websites for calculating tax.

http://taxcalc.eu/

€40K gross, NOT €50K would give take home of €30K

40 k is a pretty good salary for someone in thier 20,s

ps , why do so many public servants insist on quoting after tax ( NET) pay instead of gross

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭waffleman

For the love of God 2700 euro take home (she said NET mothly income) for a nurse a month who qualified 2 years ago is WELL PAID! I agree not loaded but definitely WELL PAID and quoting fantasy bills she may / may not be paying to dispute this is just ridiculous.

P.S. Im not saying she doesnt deserve it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭Lo23

Private sector- 5% pay cut this year and pay freeze til 2011..no bonus as its based on company performance! Started a second job last week!

But hey i love my job and im lucky to have it!!

On a separate note I would give my right arm to take home €2700 a month, that is a very decent wage!!

40 k is a pretty good salary for someone in thier 20,s

ps , why do so many public servants insist on quoting after tax ( NET) pay instead of gross

It was your complete disregard for the facts i was pointing out. You know - the one where you misquoted someones gross by 20%. Thats a biggy.

How you brushed over that one.

Nobody i know of, public servant or not, quotes their NET salaries. The only one saying they do here is you. About 20 times so far. They may quote NET when talking specifically about take home, but they will clarify that first, as would i if i was talking take home. Otherwise its assumed its gross.

If anyone asked their boss for a €5k raise what do you think that would be to? Everyone knows its gross that is meant when talking about salaries.

As i pointed out above, you're not great on your NET, GROSS calculations yourself.