Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strike?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

I was on the picket lines at NUIG today. We stopped cars for 3 seconds at most and that was only because we were crossing the road backwards and forwards. As for the SU, the **** did **** all, no support at all. As a student of 6 years and counting in NUIG, I was proud to join those on the picket lines. Those students who did cross are ungrateful scabs, who couldn't, just for one day, study (or pretend to study) at home.

Some of the medical students had lectures today.

Thankfully, I'm not defending myself because I didn't cross any picket line. But that actually has more to do with the fact that I've got a chest infection and don't like going outside than anything else.

I'd like to point out that the SU were on strike today as well. The cloakroom, offices, college bar and Smokey's Cafe were all closed.

So long as the car was stopped because you were crossing the road and not because anyone was standing in the way, there really isn't a problem with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭PomBear

Some of the medical students had lectures today.

Thankfully, I'm not defending myself because I didn't cross any picket line. But that actually has more to do with the fact that I've got a chest infection and don't like going outside than anything else.

I'd like to point out that the SU were on strike today as well. The cloakroom, offices, college bar and Smokey's Cafe were all closed.

So long as the car was stopped because you were crossing the road and not because anyone was standing in the way, there really isn't a problem with that.

I think he/she mean the SU committee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

PomBear wrote: »
    I think he/she mean the SU committee

Oh right. Sorry, I'm kinda tired. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Intimidator

Why didn't they send an email out to students telling them to show solidarity with their lecturers? Posters and flyers could have been done up.

Oh what could have been....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭AdamantApproach

Why didn't they send an email out to students telling them to show solidarity with their lecturers? Posters and flyers could have been done up.

Oh what could have been....

Because students shouldn't support the unrealistic demands of unions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

The students union is a union, in case you hadn't noticed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Yes, but it's a Union that represents students not University staff. Do you think that SIPTU/IFUT would down tools and rush out to join a student protest if they were being financially squeezed? They certainly haven't thus far. It's up to each Union to represent it's members not to engage in the misguided 'fight the man' style rhetoric that some posters here like to indulge in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

To the muppets (I don't care if I get banned for calling them muppets, it's the only suitable word to use) at Distillery Road... congrats... you are going to win a Darwin Award some day.

I've said it in the Galway City forum, but i'll say it again...

1) You WERE blocking cars. On two occasions I had someone walk out onto the road as I approached, STOP infront of my car and then proceeded to stare at me. You were blocking cars on a public road, and you can't deny it.

2) Distillery Road is just that.. a ROAD. A *public* road. NUIG does not own this road. There is a right of way on this road which serves houses, a rowing club and another boating club. Not everyone using this road uses it for college purposes (I've never had *any* affiliation with NUIG in any way)

3) When you blocked me, I was on my way to collect my dry-suit as I volunteer with an emergency service. I had anticipated a call to Gort/Athlone to help with the floods so was making sure all my gear was ready.... yet you continued to block me on two occasions. What if i'd just got a call that someone was trapped in their house? You'd be delaying me getting to a potentially life threatening situation

4) Whoever I encountered has the communication skills of an inbred donkey. When I roll down my window and tell you that i'm not going to the college, a dirty look won't get you far. And when I tell you that there's a right of way through that road, an ignorant laugh won't do much for you either

So, in summary.. to the people that were picketing at Distillery Road: You are a disgrace. Everyone has the right to strike, but you don't have the right to block a public road that serves more than your own little wimzy world. I honestly can't believe your ignorance. Less than 60 miles away, people are shattered and heart-broken that their houses are 5ft under water, and they don't know where they'll sleep tonight, yet ye muppets were out whinging about a pay cut.

And for any internet-hero's out there - PM me and i'll happily discuss this in real life with you, don't be brave just because you're behind a computer monitor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭sillybird

JohnCleary wrote: »
    To the muppets (I don't care if I get banned for calling them muppets, it's the only suitable word to use) at Distillery Road... congrats... you are going to win a Darwin Award some day.

1) You WERE blocking cars. On two occasions I had someone walk out onto the road as I approached, STOP infront of my car and then proceeded to stare at me. You were blocking cars on a public road, and you can't deny it.

2) Distillery Road is just that.. a ROAD. A *public* road. NUIG does not own this road. There is a right of way on this road which serves houses, a rowing club and another boating club. Not everyone using this road uses it for college purposes (I've never had *any* affiliation with NUIG in any way)

3) When you blocked me, I was on my way to collect my dry-suit as I volunteer with an emergency service. I had anticipated a call to Gort/Athlone to help with the floods so was making sure all my gear was ready.... yet you continued to block me on two occasions. What if i'd just got a call that someone was trapped in their house? You'd be delaying me getting to a potentially life threatening situation

4) Whoever I encountered has the communication skills of an inbred donkey. When I roll down my window and tell you that i'm not going to the college, a dirty look won't get you far. And when I tell you that there's a right of way through that road, an ignorant laugh won't do much for you either

So, in summary.. to the people that were picketing at Distillery Road: You are a disgrace. Everyone has the right to strike, but you don't have the right to block a public road that serves more than your own little wimzy world. I honestly can't believe your ignorance. Less than 60 miles away, people are shattered and heart-broken that their houses are 5ft under water, and they don't know where they'll sleep tonight, yet ye muppets were out whinging about a pay cut.

And for any internet-hero's out there - PM me and i'll happily discuss this in real life with you, don't be brave just because you're behind a computer monitor

Thank you so much for putting into words excatly what I was feeling. Seeing people left homeless for the past week certainly brings it all into perspective. :)

Yes, but it's a Union that represents students not University staff. Do you think that SIPTU/IFUT would down tools and rush out to join a student protest if they were being financially squeezed? They certainly haven't thus far. It's up to each Union to represent it's members not to engage in the misguided 'fight the man' style rhetoric that some posters here like to indulge in.

True, did you not take into consideration the many postgraduates who make a living in the college and also help run an bialann, the shop, smokies, the bookshop among others

You were crossing a picket line, this is common practice in picketing

This is a entrance to an establishment that was closed(in the most part) due to the strike. The rowing cluband boat club are owned by the college. If you wanted to access this, you had to of crossed a picket. It would be the same if you wanted to access a hospital (non-emergency), school, fire station, esb office among others.
    As admirable as your intentions, you had to cross the picket, this took 4-5 seconds, not a live saving space of time and to say that of someone when it isn't a reasonable possibility shows your intention here.

I'm pretty sure your communication skills were put in use as you rolled down the window, judging by your attitude in this post

Stop trying to pluck heart strings, you were stopped for 5 seconds for something that needs to be brought to public attention as it affects so many people

Not going to justify that pathetic threat with words

a

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭WesternNight

Stop trying to pluck heart strings, you were stopped for 5 seconds for something that needs to be brought to public attention as it affects so many people

Quite frankly, your cause isn't a particularly worthy one, as far as many people are concerned.

Oh, and also, 5 seconds could be the difference between life and death. Just so you know.

The rowing cluband boat club are owned by the college
    Serioulsly PomBear, just how un-informed are you? The boat club and rowing club are NOT owned by NUIG, they have absolutily no affiliation with them. The rowing club is owned by Colaiste Iognaid (The Jes) and the boat club is owned by it's members/trustees.

And has been said above, in an emergency, seconds CAN mean the difference between life and death.

Here's a tip to help stop you sounding like a twat... research things before you come blabbing out sh1te

PS. PomBear - Since when is discussing a 'threat' - are you threatened by conversation? Jaysus, maybe your communication skills are as bad as those who were picketing accross the public road

Quite frankly, your cause isn't a particularly worthy one, as far as many people are concerned.

Oh, and also, 5 seconds could be the difference between life and death. Just so you know.

why do you believe it isn't worthy? because the only explanation I have heard from most are ones of jealousy basically and I work private sector by the way

Serioulsly PomBear, just how un-informed are you? The boat club and rowing club are NOT owned by NUIG, they have absolutily no affiliation with them. The rowing club is owned by Colaiste Iognaid (The Jes) and the boat club is owned by it's members/trustees.

And has been said above, in an emergency, seconds CAN mean the difference between life and death.

Here's a tip to help stop you sounding like a twat... research things before you come blabbing out sh1te

PS. PomBear - Since when is discussing a 'threat' - are you threatened by conversation? Jaysus, maybe your communication skills are as bad as those who were picketing accross the public road
    The Jes, who are also have public sector workers so I find that irrelevant.
    The boat club, you're right, could well be owned privately, but as it agreed to be situated on college grounds, it has to accept the wishes of the majority of college staff.

Emergency can also happen while you're posting on this site but I ain't nit picking over time, especially as little as 5 seconds.
    don't be brave just because you're behind a computer monitor

what's your take on this, if it's not threatening?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,110 ✭✭✭KevR

I was on the picket lines at NUIG today. We stopped cars for 3 seconds at most and that was only because we were crossing the road backwards and forwards. As for the SU, the **** did **** all, no support at all. As a student of 6 years and counting in NUIG, I was proud to join those on the picket lines. Those students who did cross are ungrateful scabs, who couldn't, just for one day, study (or pretend to study) at home.

I think most, if not all of my lecturers are not in any worker's union and did not want strike action. They reluctantly stayed out of work and missed a days pay to support their co-workers. I wouldn't say people in my class were ungrateful scabs for crossing the picket line given that the lecturers who we have had for the past 4/5 years did not want to strike in the first place.

If there is more strike action next week, many students will be crossing the picket line as it's only a matter of days before our exams. I'm in final year and while I do support the protests (see my post in the thread over in the Galway City forum), I will be going into college everyday next week to study (given the nature of my course it is almost impossible to do assignments or study at home). While people in other areas of the public sector should expect support for a strike day next week, university staff can forget about getting it from students. It's not that students are ungrateful and crossing the picket line out of spite; they will be crossing it because they have to. I think most staff striking will realise and accept this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

True, did you not take into consideration the many postgraduates who make a living in the college and also help run an bialann, the shop, smokies, the bookshop among others
    How many of those postgraduate students are paid based on a public sector salary scale? I would expect the large majority of those earning money to be on various fixed stipend schemes that are set by their funding source rather scales. Everyone knows what's going on and it's really up to them to make their own decision based on their personal circumstance rather than for the SU to advise them either way.

I don't see those students earning minimum wage working in the various business on campus worrying much about people on public sector payroll. The SU and it's various businesses were closed so they didn't have to cross a picket line and as such could also chose to volunteer for the pickets in support.
    The boat club, you're right, could well be owned privately, but as it agreed to be situated on college grounds, it has to accept the wishes of the majority of college staff.
    The boat club and it's members have a legal right of access across NUIG property. Regardless of people's opinions, it's at the discretion of neither the University nor it's staff to restrict it.

Haha, don't worry matey, I make myself quite vocal around NUIG, I've never needed to hide. By all means come and discuss it with me IRL. Someone who takes such offence to being walked in front of has a stick up their arse over direct action. Would you be complaining if some FFer walked in front of you, or would you have thrown your jacket to the floor to cover a puddle for them.

Also, to those on the other thread, its a shame you don't make jokes about driving over corrupt TDs, it shows where your allegiances lie. Im a tutor in NUIG but also a student, as well as having a job in the private sector. I know i'm not representative of the shower of scabs in NUIG, you only need to read SIN to see that.

Haha, don't worry matey, I make myself quite vocal around NUIG, I've never needed to hide. By all means come and discuss it with me IRL. Someone who takes such offence to being walked in front of has a stick up their arse over direct action. Would you be complaining if some FFer walked in front of you, or would you have thrown your jacket to the floor to cover a puddle for them.

No. I work for myself and i'm damn glad to do so. I'd prob be better off on the dole, but it's the self satisfaction that makes me smile... you know.. the fact that i'm actually earning something, as opposed to just demanding something because i'm in a certain position. I don't do politics, hence my lack of entusiasm (sp?) for working for the public sector, having turned down 2 PS jobs in recent times (for my own reasons, don't bother asking why)

PM me if you want to meet IRL. I didn't mean it in a 'threatening' way (anyone on these forums who know me know i'm actually kinda sound irl), but it's much easlier to sort things out face to face... in fairness, Hitler didn't get into power through forums :pac:

Also, to those on the other thread, its a shame you don't make jokes about driving over corrupt TDs, it shows where your allegiances lie. Im a tutor in NUIG but also a student, as well as having a job in the private sector. I know i'm not representative of the shower of scabs in NUIG, you only need to read SIN to see that.

I don't know if it's intended but you are coming across as though you are demanding that people support the striking workers. This will probably lose you support rather than make you gain any. People will decide for themselves whether or not they support you - it's up to you to explain why you're striking and why you need/want support. Calling someone an ungrateful scab because they don't support you is unlikely to gain you any further support.

I do support the public sector workers. I think they are being unfairly targetted and there is a lot of hate/negative comments being directed towards frontline staff (which I don't think is right). I do think that some pay cuts in the public sector can't be avoided hopefully the strikes will make sure these pay cuts are not too unfair/severe.

But I still will be going into college everyday next week, sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭Simarillion

For the information of those who were blocking the Distillary Rd access;

Both Colaiste Iognaid RC and Corrib Rowing and Yachting Club are guaranteed a right of access to their respective properties. While the Jes are located on college ground, this is not true of CRYC who own there property outright, and regardless of your protests or beliefs you were illegally blocking a publically owned road leading to a priavte club!

Secondly, as regards students crossing the picket line, (of which I was one) many lecturers went ahead with their classes, and I for one required the use of university facilities including their affiliation and subscription to journals and academic websites which cannot be accessed off campus!

On the point of solidarity of students with their lecturing staff, well I would like to know where they were during the march against student fees? I think anyone who was there could easily see the demographic of the protesters did not include many if any of the academics in this college.

Finally, I think for the hundreds of people in this city who have lost their jobs or liveliehoods, that it was an absolute disgrace that the public sector went out on strike. And I say this as the son of a public sector worker.
    And if the proposed day of strike goes ahead next week, I will cross the picket again, and I'll be damned if after 4 years of being here, any well-paid penisonable academic or student (with nothing better to do around exam time) will stop me from entering the university for which I have paid the sum of €1724 for the pleasure of it's facilites.

For the information of those who were blocking the Distillary Rd access;

Both Colaiste Iognaid RC and Corrib Rowing and Yachting Club are guaranteed a right of access to their respective properties. While the Jes are located on college ground, this is not true of CRYC who own there property outright, and regardless of your protests or beliefs you were illegally blocking a publically owned road leading to a priavte club!

Secondly, as regards students crossing the picket line, (of which I was one) many lecturers went ahead with their classes, and I for one required the use of university facilities including their affiliation and subscription to journals and academic websites which cannot be accessed off campus!

On the point of solidarity of students with their lecturing staff, well I would like to know where they were during the march against student fees? I think anyone who was there could easily see the demographic of the protesters did not include many if any of the academics in this college.

Finally, I think for the hundreds of people in this city who have lost their jobs or liveliehoods, that it was an absolute disgrace that the public sector went out on strike. And I say this as the son of a public sector worker.
    And if the proposed day of strike goes ahead next week, I will cross the picket again, and I'll be damned if after 4 years of being here, any well-paid penisonable academic or student (with nothing better to do around exam time) will stop me from entering the university for which I have paid the sum of €1724 for the pleasure of it's facilites.

Disagree with the bit in bold. I think they have the right to protest at cuts irrespective of people in the private sector losing their jobs. I think they need to be realistic - there will have to be some cuts. But I am all for them protesting because there seems to be a very unfair vendetta against them at the moment.

Agree with the rest of the post which isn't in bold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Why do people think its ok to sacrifice ideology and moral position because of 'teh recession'? What good do you think that will do in the next 5-10 years, when you are in a ****ty job with ****ty working conditions, and don't have a union to call on to help you out because a few years ago people were losing their jobs, so you allowed the government to ride roughshod over pre-agreed contracts and workers rights?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭AdamantApproach

Why do people think its ok to sacrifice ideology and moral position because of 'teh recession'? What good do you think that will do in the next 5-10 years, when you are in a ****ty job with ****ty working conditions, and don't have a union to call on to help you out because a few years ago people were losing their jobs, so you allowed the government to ride roughshod over pre-agreed contracts and workers rights?

You sir, are an ignoramus. The position of the unions in this instance is pretty much indefensible. They lobbied for and got benchmarking in the good times. If they wanted to compare their wages to the private sector then, why not do it now when people are losing their jobs or taking wage cuts to keep their jobs? I wouldn't let someone like Jack O'Connor clean my toilet, yet this idiot is the head of SIPTU? Union members have elected incompetents to key positions. Public sector workers need to accept that the country is going down the ****ter. The cuts have to come from somewhere. They are by and large employed in inefficient industries that don't reward performance but time served and as such their pay simply has to be cut. That is the reality, the unions need to accept it and look to serve their members as best they can. Proposing another strike is outrageous.

As for you 'intimidator', what departmaent are you based in? The creche?

If there's a picket at Distillery Road again next week that's blocking a public road and right of way - i'm purposely going to cross the picket as many times throughout the day as possible :pac:

Respect to the other picketers who at least chose proper places to picket (ie. actual NUIG entrance as opposed to a public road)

Why do people think 'we' have to take cuts? They made the mess, and like 75% of Irish people said last Sunday, TAX THE RICH.

As a student of 6 years in NUIG, I can safely say that the student body are very apathetic. As for the whole "did they support us when fees were threatened", I was very active in the movement against fees (less SU, more FEE), and many of my lecturers kept wondering why the students were doing nothing.

Fire ahead John, I'll be there to meet you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭EuskalHerria

Respect to the other picketers who at least chose proper places to picket (ie. actual NUIG entrance as opposed to a public road)
    You must be f*cking unbearable in real life. Seriously unless they were protesting on the road with sledge hammers and doing damage to your car, then what are you complaining about? Probably a delay of a few seconds on your drive to nowhere. Internet would be so much better if it wasn't used by people like you as an avenue to complain over the most ridiculous things.

People marching and picketing in the freezing cold for their livelihoods, but you were set back a minute or two in your car? I think you need to take your daddy issues off the internet:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

I'll make this simple: Keep it civil, lose the language, lose the threats.

This thread is generating way too many reported posts.

You must be f*cking unbearable in real life. Seriously unless they were protesting on the road with sledge hammers and doing damage to your car, then what are you complaining about? Probably a delay of a few seconds on your drive to nowhere. Internet would be so much better if it wasn't used by people like you as an avenue to complain over the most ridiculous things.

People marching and picketing in the freezing cold for their livelihoods, but you were set back a minute or two in your car? I think you need to take your daddy issues off the internet:(

PM me and we'll meet for a chat and you can decide for yourself. I'll show you some pictures we took of people being evacuated from their houses as water rushed in their front door, and out the back. I'll show you faces of people who are now pretty much homeless, and friends of mine carrying OAP's over their shoulders so they don't get wet, and carrying babies down ladders from upstairs of houses to try and escape from the floodwater..... all these would have been taken on the same day of the picketing