Crossing a picket line?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Pdfile

ill cross the picket line.

moar mon3h 4 meh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

esel wrote: »
    That's horsesh!t, tbh.

Well played especially given the late hour :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I'm not in the union but what I would probably is ask to the a holiday. If I felt strongly that the union were right then I would probably join them and go out with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭papachango

Germany 1939.

Prone to some sensationalism are we? Oh well, if it's all you got then we'll have to make do I suppose:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭papachango

Wow, according to the poll, only a fifth of people would not cross a picket line. So those that are in the minority would not cross a picket, regardless of the reason. I guess that says a lot. Ireland 2009 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Galway1989

I have completely mixed feelings bout the strike on 24th of November. What good will it do on one hand, but on the other hand, its time we put trust in someone other than the government and the banks. They've completely screwed up the place.

Anyway my lecturer is crossing the picket line Tuesday(if there is one??!), but i'm not. The class want their lecture. He told us if he gets beaten up he'll come after us! haha

I'm not driving a half hour to Galway city for one lecture and potentially rubbing people up the wrong way! yay i get to sleep in!

Damn flooding in county galway could lead to more sleep ins too

My sincere sympathies to the families and friends of the 4 girls that died tragically in the car accident last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

watched somewhon cross the picket line on the last civil service strike day. he was too mean to pay his union fees and he passed the picket line.

he was shunned in work sice and he will be the only person in the building now on NOV 24th apart from the man hired to open it. he will have to pass by 200 staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

stevoman wrote: »
    watched somewhon cross the picket line on the last civil service strike day. he was too mean to pay his union fees and he passed the picket line.

he was shunned in work sice and he will be the only person in the building now on NOV 24th apart from the man hired to open it. he will have to pass by 200 staff.

Im a CS and I am not in a union. Its not because I am too mean to pay the union fees though. I was an active member of the CPSU when I was a CO and an SO but I got so disalusioned with it over various various aspects that I left. Then when I got promoted to EO I didnt bother joining the PSEU. Next week the majority of the staff in my building are out on strike (3 different unions). Only 3 of us are not in the union. I really dont want to pass the picket so the only option to me is to come in before 8am and leave after 7pm. However if I do pass the picket I wont get any work done as the people I need to talk to will all be outside picketing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

I would have no problems with crossing a picket line if I did not agree with the reasoning behind the strike. If it was something I felt strongly enough about, I'd be outside with my placard otherwise, union or no union, I have no inclination to show solidarity with people who I believe are being unreasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

gazzer wrote: »
    Im a CS and I am not in a union. Its not because I am too mean to pay the union fees though. I was an active member of the CPSU when I was a CO and an SO but I got so disalusioned with it over various various aspects that I left. Then when I got promoted to EO I didnt bother joining the PSEU. Next week the majority of the staff in my building are out on strike (3 different unions). Only 3 of us are not in the union. I really dont want to pass the picket so the only option to me is to come in before 8am and leave after 7pm. However if I do pass the picket I wont get any work done as the people I need to talk to will all be outside picketing.
    well the member i am specifically talking about is meana nd its a matter of money more than anything else that he wont join.

on a note on yourself though if you not in the union that is your chioce, but do you not find it very unfair to your colleagues that you are not in the union so you will in fact pass the picket line, but you will go into work for the day and get the days pay for it whilst all your colleagues are outside striking, yet you will still reap any benifits that this strike may have on pay or conditions.

thats the issue i would have with anyone who passes a picket line tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Long Onion wrote: »
    I would have no problems with crossing a picket line if I did not agree with the reasoning behind the strike. If it was something I felt strongly enough about, I'd be outside with my placard otherwise, union or no union, I have no inclination to show solidarity with people who I believe are being unreasonable.

agreed.

If I were a teacher for example, assuming their sanctimonious bullshit hadn't rubbed off on me, I'd be very thankful for the easy life I have with the very high pay and large amount of holidays, and so I would go to do my couple of hours' work. they get enough time off without having to strike for a lie-on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

well the member i am specifically talking about is meana nd its a matter of money more than anything else that he wont join.

on a note on yourself though if you not in the union that is your chioce, but do you not find it very unfair to your colleagues that you are not in the union so you will in fact pass the picket line, but you will go into work for the day and get the days pay for it whilst all your colleagues are outside striking, yet you will still reap any benifits that this strike may have on pay or conditions.

It has to be a question of personal chice stevoman, and not everyone is a free rider. If you do not agree with the reason for striking you should have as much right to go to work as your colleagues have to go on strike, to argue otherwise is not logical. When it comes to the 'benefits' issue, by going to work, the poster is saying that (s)he is willing to take any proposed cut - that should be enough of a statement to justify the actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭kingtut

I have no problem crossing a picket line and did so recently.

There are multiple unions where I work and I was not involved at all, however they felt they had the right to block the entrance by standing in the way!

By all means strike (which is stupid during a recession when you should be lucky to have a job!!) but do not block the entrance / exit for people who are not involved....Intimidate me all you want, I'll still go to work and be thankful for my job.

They soon moved when they realised I had no intention of slowing my car down ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭gazzer

Well I wouldnt pass the picket. I would come in before the picket starts and stay until the picket is over and have lunch at my desk etc. I know technically I am passing the picket still though.

I dont agree with this strike. We are going to have to take our share of the pain. I hate this government with a passion and I wish Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen were strung up on the top of the spire and we could lob rotten fruit at them and I think NAMA is going to ruin this country for years to come but at the same time the country is going to go bankrupt if we dont cut back on spending.

As it stands I prop wont come into work on Tuesday. There is no point as I will not get any work done. The work will pile up on my desk and will be waiting for me on Wednesday. I cant take any leave so what I will have to do is take unpaid leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

genericguy wrote: »
    agreed.

If I were a teacher for example, .... I'd be very thankful for the easy life I have with the very high pay and large amount of holidays, and so I would go to do my couple of hours' work. they get enough time off without having to strike for a lie-on.

you really shouldn't be involved in conversations when you have no facts at all at your disposal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Osgoodisgood

Would I?

Yes. In fact, I did so very recently and will gladly do it all day on the 24th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭hopalong85

Yes I would. If I want to go somewhere, a picket line will not stop me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭SmokeyJo84

Passed the picket this morning, recieved threats and was intimidated.every non union member has the right to pass the picket and go to work as usual without threats &intimidation, doesnt infringe on the union members right to protest.

Gave them all a piece of my mind & will be reporting those who made nasty comments. other non union members were prevented from coming into work by the strikers, which is disgraceful.

in my job its just another day for the bullies in work to bully everyone else and get away with it.
    ill be passing the picket again next wk most likely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

SmokeyJo84 wrote: »
    Passed the picket this morning, recieved threats and was intimidated.every non union member has the right to pass the picket and go to work as usual without threats &intimidation, doesnt infringe on the union members right to protest.

Gave them all a piece of my mind & will be reporting those who made nasty comments.
    other non union members were prevented from coming into work by the strikers, which is disgraceful.

in my job its just another day for the bullies in work to bully everyone else and get away with it.
    ill be passing the picket again next wk most likely!
    Fair play to ye. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Government should have gotten the batons our at them! Selfish fcks! ALl unions should be unionised into one Governemnt run Union and put against a wall!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭carefulnow99

sorry know its a bit off topic but does anyone know if there is going to be another strike soon?

December 3rd is being mooted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

I went down to my college today to pick up some stuff from my locker. I was only there for about two minutes but felt very intimidated going into and leaving the building. No comments were made but there was an eery silence whenever someone walked towards the entrance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭positivenote

jaysus theres alot of hostility on here towards people striking for a just cause. Anyone who calls for batons and violence whether serious or playing the hardman on the internet should remember that it was strikes throughout the 70's and 80's that brought about conditions for employees across nearly all sectors that should have been seen as a given, but still had to be fought for. In todays society there are far too many people who have forgotten that a strike is usually the last call of action that a union can put to its members once all other avenues have been exhausted... and unfortunately this seems to have happened today with the public sector. I was reared in an Ireland that was respectfull of offical strike action and as such would not cross a picket given the choice... never mind draw batons or 'moonwalk'. Some of you ought to be ashamed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭carefulnow99

Nevore wrote: »
    December 3rd is being mooted

Is this date just a rumour or is there anything definatle going ahead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

jaysus theres alot of hostility on here towards people striking for a just cause. Anyone who calls for batons and violence whether serious or playing the hardman on the internet should remember that it was strikes throughout the 70's and 80's that brought about conditions for employees across nearly all sectors that should have been seen as a given, but still had to be fought for. In todays society there are far too many people who have forgotten that a strike is usually the last call of action that a union can put to its members once all other avenues have been exhausted... and unfortunately this seems to have happened today with the public sector. I was reared in an Ireland that was respectfull of offical strike action and as such would not cross a picket given the choice... never mind draw batons or 'moonwalk'. Some of you ought to be ashamed

Except this time they are striking about wages cuts that dont exist yet.
    Just cause my ass.

Is this date just a rumour or is there anything definatle going ahead?
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/n...-3-435640.html

http://www.rte.ie/news/2009/1124/partnership.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

Once a scab always a scab and its hereditary. :eek:

I would rather be a scab any day than an open, puss filled infected wound. Scabs have a bad reputation that is not entirely justified. Would you rather someone joined a picket line or refused to cross it if it was completely opposite to their viewpoint?, because it is the following of the path of least resistence that makes people and rivers crooked.