Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Miseducation of Jimbo Slice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭brutusthebarber

Hanley wrote: »
    Cheers dude. I'm gonna need it. I've a horrible sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach that's being growing as the day goes on.

Pressure is for tyres man!

Just get past normal person tired and you'll bust fran in the eye!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

BossArky wrote: »
    I have faith in you.

Regardless of what happens with Fran you are stronger and fitter than 99%* of the population.

* figures may not be accurate

Go bust Fran!
    Pressure is for tyres man!

Just get past normal person tired and you'll bust fran in the eye!!

Thanks lads. I'm genuinely scared....

Oh well.... see my sig for appropriate words of encouragement!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Parsley

Cheers dude. I'm gonna need it. I've a horrible sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach that's being growing as the day goes on.

I know that feeling well. f*cking aawwwful.

Well last week was a mega hard training week for me, so I decided to back off a bit this week and rest up. In a 6 day period I did the following, and needless to say it FUBAR'd me:

Wednesday - pulled 245kg x2
    Saturday - squatted 225kg x1 off a below parallel box
    Sunday - reverse band benched 180kg x1
    Monday - killed myself with a 4.12 Fran

This week all I've done so far is a 2.6 mile walk 1x per day on Tuesday, Wednesday and today, Thursday. Did some rolling on my glutes and hams too. Trained today, but I'll post that after this.

Here's a vid of the 4.12 Fran;

Chest'n

Band Pull Aparts:
    monster mini 3x15

Incline Bench:
    60kg x5
    70kg x5
    80kg x3
    90kg x2
    100kg x1
    105kg x5
    90kg x9

Dumbbell Bench:
    47.5kg 'bells x9-4-3rp

Incline Dumbbell Flys:
    20kg 'bells 4x12

Sin é!! Nothing too mad.

Happy with the incline benching. PR's 112.5 x4 when I was at my heaviest!

Dumbbell bench is in or around PR levels too.

Incline flys rock my world.

That is all.

Filling in the gaps....

Pull Ups:
    bodyweight x10, x10, x23 - PR

DC Shoulder Warm Ups:
    3kg 'bells - 4 reps

Dumbbell Bench:
    40kg 'bells 2x12, 1x8

One Arm Dumbbell Push Press:
    25kg x3
    30kg x3
    35kg x3
    40kg x3, x2

Seated Cable Rows w/ neutral grip bar:
    3x12

One Arm Machine Preacher Curls:
    12.5 x12
    15 2x12

CF's Cindy - 10 minute version:
    5 pull ups, 10 push ups, 15 squats - 12 rounds in 10 mins - PR

I'm baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack. It's been like 12 days since I last trained. I've been really sick, and was away over the weekend so things have been screwed up.

Was genuinely scared going in today because I was expecting a serious strength drop off. I was very pleasantly surprised with how things went. Amazed to hit a pull up PR, esp after doing 2x10 before hand. Mighta hung on for 25, but that woulda been seriously pushing it. Soon tho.

Chest strength was quite ok as well, again surprisingly!! My triceps felt pretty fatigued all the way thru, but unusually they just kept grinding out reps instead of doing their usual trick and dying (tho that did happen on the 3rd set).

The dumbbell push presses SUCK. Such a hard movement to handle, but I reckon as the weight moves up on them my shoulder and core stability will follow.

Amazed with my Cindy score.... 10 was my previous PR when I was pushing the cardio work fairly hard. Was expecting a bit of a drop off having not done anything since Fran on the 26th, but I seem to be in an ok place. Gives me a bit of confidence to keep pushing now :):)

Coan-Phillipi Week 5

Power Cleans:
    70kg x3
    80kg x2
    90kg x1
    102.5kg x1
    107.5kg x1
    112.5kg x1

Deadlifts:
    140kg x3
    170kg x2
    200kg x1
    belt
    217.5kg 3x3

Speed Pulls:
    175kg 3x3

Shrugs:
    132.5kg 3x5

SLDL:
    132.5kg 3x5

Chins:
    Bodyweight +5kg 3x5

Good Mornings:
    80kg 3x5

Fuuuuuuuuuuuck my life. That sucked. It’s been like 2 weeks since I deadlifted and my hands have gone all ghey in that time. They’re in ribbons now.

The actual deadlifting wasn’t the worst… it sucked but I was able to grind them out. I much prefer 2 ultra heavy reps than 6 heavy-ish ones anyway!! The pain lasts way less…

The shrugs and SLDL’s were grand. Farted my way thru the second set of SLDL’s :/ +5kg next week I reckon

The bent over rows were very easy. I think I’ll just stick with a 2.5kg jump next week tho, same story with the chins.

I’ll go to 85kg on the GM’s.

Oh, and I did a standing ab roll out!!!! Actually.. I did two. HA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭kevpants

You survived!

Sucky session eh? 9 reps with that weight is just slow torture.

Doing my 252kg tonight :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

hey man i did 12 rounds of cindy in 10mins 3 days ago also!!

After a bout of presses and OH squats - finally getting the OH squats right

kevpants wrote: »
    You survived!

Sucky session eh? 9 reps with that weight is just slow torture.

Doing my 252kg tonight :eek:

Yeah it's fairly brutal alright. Looked back at week 4 and I totally wimped out on the assistance stuff. Gonna make my excuses and blame the 3x3 for it!!

Better text ya now to ask about the 252 :D
    Transform wrote: »
    hey man i did 12 rounds of cindy in 10mins 3 days ago also!!

After a bout of presses and OH squats - finally getting the OH squats right

C'mon...I know you're better than 12 rounds!!!!

Saturday:

Foam Rolling

Seated Dumbbell Bench:
    30kg 'bells 3x12

Incline Dumbbell Bench:
    30kg 'bells 3x10

Dumbbell Bench:
    30kg 'bells 3x15

Some gun work

Monday:

4 rounds of the following for time;
    7 dumbbell snatches w/20kg
    7 pull ups
    7 clapping push ups
    TIME: 3 minutes 21 seconds

The last two sessions were done in the Hilton Hotel in Milton Keynes while I was over helping one of the hercs lifters at the WDFPF world champs. It was a really good weekend with some seriously sick lifting.

There was a 350kg squat at super heavyweight, a 330kg raw pull at 100 (and a 765ish total) and a 250kg raw pull at 67.5kg. There were a few 200+ raw benches and a crap load of other stuff.

Good weekend!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭ladowack

There was a 350kg squat at super heavyweight, a 330kg raw pull at 100 (and a 765ish total) and a 250kg raw pull at 67.5kg. There were a few 200+ raw benches and a crap load of other stuff.

Good weekend!!

And a big row about the attitude of the organizers from what I hear!

ladowack wrote: »
    And a big row about the attitude of the organizers from what I hear!

AFAIK the majority of it centres around them not giving out medals to everyone, which I actually agree with!!

Coan Phillipi Week 6

Power Cleans:
    60kg x3
    70kg x2
    80kg x2
    90kg x1
    100kg x1
    105kg x3
    107.5kg x3

Deadlifts:
    110kg x3
    150kg x2
    170kg x2
    190kg x1
    *belt*
    210kg x1
    230kg x1
    230kg x2

Speed Pulls:
    190kg 3x3

SLDL:
    145kg 3x5

Bent Over Rows:
    90kg 3x5

Chins:
    bodyweight +8kg 3x5

Good Mornings:
    85kg x5
    90kg x5
    95kg x5

CrossTrainer:
    15 minutes

Bit disgusted with myself tonight. The power cleans were good enough.

The deadlifts were not... missed the 230 x2 on my first go, got pulled WAY forward and could feel a huge amount of stress on my hammies so I had to drop it. Took off my oly shoes and went flat footed. Didn't pull it strongly, but I got the double in. Next week's gonna be REALLY tough.

Speed pulls were grand.

My belt is way too big now, so I'm getting fcuk all support outta it. That's what I'm blaming the miss on too.

SLDL's were grand.. 150 next week.

BO Rows were strong - 95 next week

Chins were ok... 10 next week.

GM's were good. 95,97,100 next week.

Gonna start pushing the cardio and diet again now too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭brutusthebarber

Sheeeit 230 x 2 and you call it a bad night!

What are you looking to get down to now man?? weight wise

Sheeeit 230 x 2 and you call it a bad night!

What are you looking to get down to now man?? weight wise

Ya gotta remember I pulled 245 x2 about 3-4 weeks ago like!!

And I dunno... sub 10mm on my calipers as a starting point anyway. What ever weight that is, it is!

Chest'n

Bench:
    60kg x3
    80kg x3
    100kg 10x3

Incline Dumbbell Bench:
    30kg 'bells x10
    35kg 'bells x10
    40kg 'bells x10 - think this is a PR
    35kg 'bells x10
    30kg 'bells x10

Incline Dumbbell Flys:
    22.5kg 'bells x8,7,6

Face Pulls:
    52 x12
    60 x12
    67 3x12

Seated Machine Lateral Raise:
    30 3x12

*supersetted with*

Machine One Arm Preacher Curls (at the door):
    plate 20 3x12

CrossTrainer:
    300kcals

Happy enough with today. Figured I need to get my bench groove back so lots of volume's on the cards. The 10x3 felt a lot more sluggish than it actually was, got a couple of vids on the way thru it. Gonna go 112 6x3 next week, 125 3x3 the following, drop back to 105 10x3, 117 6x3 and 130 3x3 before the year's out.

Incline dumbbell presses were good. Had to fight thru the set wit 40 to get to 10 but I got there. Will probably stick with those weights again next week.

Everything else was just your basic muscle building crap. No point talking about it!

SKWAAAAAAAAAAT'n over the toilet and removing the sand from my vage

Speed Pulls:
    130kg 8x1

Squats:
    60kg x3
    100kg x3
    130kg x2
    150kg x2
    170kg x2
    *belt*
    190kg x2
    *wraps*
    210kg x1
    *wraps off*
    160kg 2x5, 1x8

Box Squats w/ green band (no belt, below par):
    60kg x3
    80kg x3
    100kg 3x3

Leg Press:
    100kg x10
    200kg x10
    250kg x10
    300kg 3x10

Pulldown Abs:
    plate 12 x10
    plate 10 2x12

I've been a total bitch on my squat training recently so decided it was time to start stepping it up again. Pretty disgusted with how bad it's gotten tbh. My quad strength is way down...

The box squats were grand, they're what brought it up quick last time so hopefully it'll replicate it this time.

Leg Presses suuuuuuuucked. I'm using the same as Ger, who squats about 50+kg under me :/ need to come up!!

Pulldown abs were grand... just gonna keep pushing them as usual!!

2+ hours of ugliness.

Bench'n

Band Pull Aparts:
    monster mini 3x15

Bench w/ doubled mini bands:
    60kg x3
    70kg x3
    80kg x3
    90kg x3
    100kg x3
    110kg 3x1

Bench:
    100kg x3
    120kg x3
    *2 board*
    135kg x1, 2x3
    *3 board*
    150kg x3, x1

3OH!3 curls:
    40kg 3x10

15-12-9 w/
    Hang power cleans - 45kg
    Push ups
    Pull ups
    TIME: 3 minutes 46 seconds

Bit of a smeh session. Overall volume was quite high tbh. Probably a bit of a mistake considering I was fubar'd from squatting yesterday.

Set up on the 2 board press was RUBBISH. Missed my 2nd rep on the first set w/ 135kg, ppl started telling me not to worry, tiredness, bad day etc. It's so annoying hearing that at times. Got set up properly and hit the 135 2x3 quite easily.

First set on the 3 boards was ok, second set I again got outta position and was just too shagged at that stage to even bother trying again!!

Circuit was grand... bit short tho. Might do 15-12-9-6-3 next time or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

or a 21, 18,15,etc but jump the hang cleans up to 60kg?

Transform wrote: »
    or a 21, 18,15,etc but jump the hang cleans up to 60kg?

Yah I was thinking 21-15-12 or something. Was gonna do it with 60kg, but wanted to make sure I could get thru it quickly today. I haven't been pushing metcon's hard for the last couple of weeks, and I was in bits with leg DOMS so I sorta underestimated where I was at!

Filling in the gaps

Kev's Sit Ups (decline bench, take a bar to the position you'd press it from, then sit up so that it ends up in liek a snatch grip position):
    22kg 3x10

Standing One Arm Push Press:
    30kg 'bells x3
    35kg 'bell x3
    40kg 'bell 3x3

Dumbbell Bench:
    40kg 'bells 3x10

One Arm Dumbbell Scap Rows:
    40kg 'bell 3x10

Machine Preacher Curls (big machine):
    warm ups
    stack x14-5-4rp - think 14's a PR

Managed to get quite a bit done in a short space of time today. The plan for Monday's is just to hit the things I want to bring up, not too hard, just with some moderate volume and intensity. The primary areas I'm looking at are chest, core and biceps. I realise how "brad" that sounds, but my chest will help my pressing strength, and my core's the key to my squat. The biceps are for me :p

Really like Kev's sit ups (I think they may actually be podge's, but Kev steals all the ab exercises like he made them up so I guess it's only right).

The one arm push presses are up on last week. Definitely a neural thing that's gonna improve with practice.

Dumbbell bench was grand. Tri's were a bit fried towards the end cos I benched hard yesteraday.

Rows were rows.

Think 14 is a PR with the stack on the curls... was toast after but I did what I wanted to do.

Cardio tomrorow to try and get my legs moving again.

Cos I'm going out on Wednesday I can see myself having to pull on thursday, bench friday, squat saturday and bench again on sunday. Funnage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

I actually said I-Dee-Bish-Ee in the gym today.... i feel unclean

What were ya doing?

One Arm Barbell Curls!

For the sake of posterity im pretty sure i had done them long before i saw you doing them..... but there was Lulz regardless :o

One Arm Barbell Curls!

For the sake of posterity im pretty sure i had done them long before i saw you doing them..... but there was Lulz regardless :o

Amazing exercise!!

i don't remember this, or even know what it means!

Parsley wrote: »
    i don't remember this, or even know what it means!

Well why the hell were you laughing!!

I really have do idea what you're on about here!