Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ghosts - What are your experiences?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Jessica xxx

pookie82 wrote: »
    I presume he means ask AI. You posted that you took the photo while investigating with him, so he can put up the pic for you.
    He dosent have the pic, its on my camera, i took it. He was off in another part of the house doing a 360 while i took it. Ill get it up over the weekend lads. Had a prob with the pc at home with a virus and loss all files etc. So ill post in at w-end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

Me uncle Jamelle's house is definitely haunted. This one time I was staying round there, and late at night I heard a knocking on the door, footsteps on the staircase, the sound of a strange man's voice, and then a few minutes later, a banging noise and the voice of a man whimpering- huh, ahh, huh....

I found the whole experience very unsettling. So, the next morning, I asked my uncle Jamelle about it and he told me that the house was haunted.... about three or four times a week.

The next time I was round there, I actually came face to face with one of the ghosts. It was the figure of a fully grown, naked man with a massive tache........ it was so life-like. And it had a smell about it, what I can only describe as 'spunk'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭paranormal

i suppose you might call that a close encounter

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭a-k-47

:D:D:D:D:D wonder did he snap his banjo string the night before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Jessica xxx

Me uncle Jamelle's house is definitely haunted. This one time I was staying round there, and late at night I heard a knocking on the door, footsteps on the staircase, the sound of a strange man's voice, and then a few minutes later, a banging noise and the voice of a man whimpering- huh, ahh, huh....

I found the whole experience very unsettling. So, the next morning, I asked my uncle Jamelle about it and he told me that the house was haunted.... about three or four times a week.

The next time I was round there, I actually came face to face with one of the ghosts. It was the figure of a fully grown, naked man with a massive tache........ it was so life-like. And it had a smell about it, what I can only describe as 'spunk'.

Are you serious? A naked man that smelt of spunk!?? WEIRD.... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Galway1989

OK so now I can't sleep after reading these posts! Waiting for daylight to come in the window so i can sleep without fear! I'm going to post a spiel about my experiences for the craic.
    1. I had a bad experience one night as a child in bed when i let my imagine run away from me and started whispering 'Satan' 3 times. I snapped out of it scared I was being possessed or leaving myself open to it. Climbed into my parents bed and calmed down!

2. About 5 years ago, a part of our neighbourhood cemetery made me really curious and for some reason one day i decided i was going to ramble over and peep over the wall. There was no wind that day nor were there animals in the next field. As I neared my destination, I heard a really loud grunt, as though something wanted me to back off so i turned and fled back to Dad again!!

3. In my teens, I dreamt some strange things about my former secondary school which used to be a border school and is pretty old. The first dream was that i saw a ghost of a young girl looking out the window as i walked through the grounds. She was really starved and gaunt looking. Then I dreamt that I was walking through the corridoor of the oldest part of the school when this young beautiful woman rushed past me in a victorian dress!

4. Lately as I've been chatting with my parents, the last thing that i've said is repeated on the radio or the television moments after i have said it. Mam and Dad have both commented on it. Also I say things and like tings that my deceased grandfathers used to say or like. I was a toddler when they passed away!

5. Mam hears a switch in another room of our house normally when none of us are in the room with her or noone else is at home. We are still trying to locate the origin! The rest of us haven't noticed it yet

6. Things disappearing into thin air! Passport, car keys, two good watches, a coat! Probably nothing paranormal about that.

7. A fortune teller told me a kind woman with a black shawl was watching over me. Apparently dad has a picture of my grandmother's mother and she is wearing a black shawl. Again coul be coincidence

8. Growing up, have two vivid memories. 1- of using and seeing horse and carts on part of a road joining the N17 that had been closed and diverted years before I was born. Also remember being stopped in traffic watching a train pass, even though a train hasn't passed through the area since ten years before I was born

9. My dad reunited his uncle and mother who had fought over inheritance for ten years. Not much was resolved but at least they were civil before he died. Anyway as my dad was in the house reuniting them, I started thinking of their deceased brother and cried for no reason! It was like I was feeling his relief that his brother and sister were together remembering him instead of bickering over the land he left behind.

Anyhow, I've bored myself to sleep now and left behind a probably irrelevant post that ye will hate!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭Rabbit Heart

I love reading other people experiences so I thought I'd share some of mine.

- When I was younger my cousin used to stay over sometimes so her and her mum would stay in my room (I had a spare bed). Everytime she stayed over, she would sit up in the bed and cry saying she saw people in the room. One night she said someone was sitting on the end of the bed but refused to ask his name because she was too scared. She was only about 3 or 4 at the time so she doesnt remember any of this now but it always freaked me out.

- Another time I was doing my homework in my bedroom, telly and radio were off but I saw a hand come out of the telly. Really lifelike, scared the life out of me. I ran down stairs - it took me a few hours to return.

- In my bedroom now I always see cats and dogs on my bed, always out of the corner of my eye but its always cat and dogs:confused:

All the bedroom experiences happened in different bedrooms in the house.

I always see people out of the corner of my eye usually its just a white figure but a few months ago I saw a man standing in the kitchen, in full army gear. My nanny says this was probably my great grandad but I never saw his face, unfortunatly.

I always feel like someones watching me in this house too.
    I'm never scared just a bit freaked out:P

EDIT: Oh I just thought of something else.
    Another cousin of mine has been getting woke up during the night by a man standing at the end of his bed.
    Sometimes he cant make out what he's trying to say but a few months ago he got woke up and the spirit told him someone was going to die, he said a name but my cousin couldnt hear it. A week or two later my mums uncle was found dead in his house.
    Creepy.:pac:

My experiences arent as interesting as some already posted but they're something! :p

- Another time I was doing my homework in my bedroom, telly and radio were off but I saw a hand come out of the telly. Really lifelike, scared the life out of me. I ran down stairs - it took me a few hours to return.

I always see people out of the corner of my eye usually its just a white figure but a few months ago I saw a man standing in the kitchen, in full army gear. My nanny says this was probably my great grandad but I never saw his face, unfortunatly.

My experiences arent as interesting as some already posted but they're something! :p[/quote]

You saw a hand come out of the telly.. I dunno if i'd ever return to the same room! and if i did- the telly would be the first thing to go! And a man in army gear standing in the kitchen.... I think i'd die of shock. You live in an interesting house... scary, but interesting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭pistonsvox

Walking home earlier today along river. There was a man in front of me and another man in front of him. I looked up again and the man in front of him who was dressed in black was gone. There was no way he could have gone anywhere and couldnt have run ahead.:confused: Place I was walking through is a long lost monastary from the dark ages...so its bound to have something spooky I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭spudz22

Two uncles of mine where diagosed with cancer within a few weeks of each other a couple of years ago. One of uncles (lets call him uncle A) died a few months after being diagnosed. Uncle B sadly died 2 years later but the night before he died, I had a dream that Uncle A was trying to pull Uncle B out of his hospital bed by his feet... Totally weird experience.. ever since then i fully believe in the paranormal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭pistonsvox

Was helpin mate take some photography snaps for college the other night when i saw a light, that appeared to be headlights on a wall, but was only for a second. No cars around there at all. And was pretty dark all there was was moonlight shining through the trees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

Been lurking a bit now. Have to say been an interesting read from a neautral point of view. I'm unsure as to what I believe in but my experience is from when i was around 13.

I was with the scouts on our annual holiday. We went to Achill Island. Such a beautiful and mysterious place i wanted to explore it all. Anyway. Back in dublin was my family and my cat who had been very sick but we weren't sure what was wrong.
    I woke up one night abruptly down there after having a vivid dream of my cat. 6 years on I don't recall much of the dream only remembering my cat standing looking at me then turning away.

(as freaky as this seems i just paused typing to hear 2 knocks and a slight squeeling noise not unknown to hear strange things in this newer house)

(lil shook up now from noise) Back to my story. My parents had gone to the vet and my cat was put down though my parents didn't tell me.When I reuturned, my neighbour who is close with animals let it slip not knowing I didnt know. So there ya go. My cat visited my in my sleep. Now that I look back it seems nice. He was the only out of the litter to survive

Im sure i've had other experiences from camping etc but i should probably get some sleep!

Good thing im not working tomorrow. Not a hope I'll sleep after reading this thread :(:(

Still good thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭armaghbhoy

Thought I'd share another, this would of been about 6 or 7 years ago...
    Me and my friends ( there was about 10 of us maybe more ) were hanging out behind the local youth club one night. In front of the youth club, theres alot of fields and trees/hedges, were a housing estate used to be but was knocked down. Theres still some walls and steps in these fields so ya can tell something used to be there..but anyway we were standing there and all of a sudden about 4 of us, all spotted a shadow figure pass through some of the trees..We looked at each other, and started saying, did you see that? and a few of the girls first reactions were, omg see what? what are yous talking about? this is the point were everyone freaked out and legged it.
    stories and rumours are that this club is haunted. Wether it is or not I have no idea, but another night, me and a friend were outside it, and decided to knock the door. ( the club was closed ) Then we put our ears to the door, when we heard what sounded like real old classical music. Anyway knocked the door again, and heard a voice come from another door at the bottom saying something, which sounded like ' come to the bottom' when we talked to people about this, some people said it might of been the caretaker, but there were no lights on in the place or anything..Wether this was all paranormal or not I don't know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Orlaithc9

Morning All,

Love read everyone stories here. Thought Id share my own.

I use to rent an appartment in The Old Infirmary on Johns Hill in Waterford City. One night while lyinging in bed with my boyfriend (now ex - but I dont think that matter much to the story lol) we were just snuggling down and chatting, the lights were off but the room was still somewhat light by the outside lights.In mid sentence I stopped speaking as we both saw a very dark shadow in the corner of the room near the door, up high near the ceiling. It floated right over our heads and through the wall behind us. I said nothing for a moment and then my boyfriend said "Did you see that?". It scared us to bits. There was always doors slamming and people walking ourside the appartment, I could put it down to other residants but when ever I opened my door to see there was never anyone there - the corridors were really long and you could see all the way down to the other end so for someone to go anywhere in the short space of time seemed impossible. I found it strange and needless to say I didnt rent there too long.

Other things had happened to me that I cant seem to explain. My mother passed away after a short battle with cancer, I was still in my early 20s and living in my fathers house at the time. While passing their bedroom door one day I heard the bed creak as if someone had sat on it. I looked in thinking our little dog had jumped up or down on the bed but he was no where to be seen. I got the most amazing smell of flowers in the room it came and went in one big whiff. My mam was a keen gardener. I questioned my Dad who was happily sitting watching tv in the sitting room and he said himself and the dog where there for at least the last hour. I just thought it was strange.

Shortly after my 21st birthday I was searching for a particular photograph of my mother and myself celebrating a New Years eve a few years before. I wanted it for a college project. I KNEW i had put it in my bedroom drawer but still could not locate it. It was really bothering me where it had gone. Until one day I was clearing out an old sideboard full of old school books that hadnt been touched in years when I just got an instinct to flick though one and out came the photograph. How it got there I really dont know. My father would never be in my room or ever go into my drawers of personal things and I know I didnt move it myself. I like to think of it as my mam showing me she was still there and still caring for me.

I have gotten sleep paraysis twice before. But I didnt know what it was until I read it here. It really frightened me and I never told anyone before as I thought they would find me weird. There has been other things too but as you can see this post has gotten quite long so I will step aside for someone else.
    Thanks for reading and I am open to any explainations or comments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 number16

My father has tens of stories. Most extremely interesting and very powerful. But there is only one that I can 100% confirm. there is much more to even this story that I will post here as I can't personally confirm the rest of it so I will leave that part out.

Anyway, Coming out from mass on Christmas eve (about 12 years ago), my whole family squeezed into the car. Someone commented on what a good mood the priest had been in. My father pointed out quite matter of factly that he was going to die soon. He was in no doubt. He said that he could see his soul almost lifting out of his body. The priest died of a massive heart attack three days later.

I could spend hours listening to his stories. Hi is in zero doubt about all this, he just sees it as fact. I really must get his permission to post some more up.

In response to my first post on page 51
    Added info:
    My experience at number 1. was sleeping paralysis, considered normal. I often get it after a bad nightmare or when I don't keep my mind off spooky things while trying to sleep. A radio on low volume helps me to drift off usually! Then the things i subconsciously hear on the radio i sometimes dream about! Also I sometimes have to change the station to sleep if the content on the radio is weird like apparitions in Knock or random goth, disturbing or shrieking music!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Ghost Girl

Looking forward to the pic Jessica, !!!!

Anyhows, I have had a few experiences again recently, at work some one (or thing) walked across the room in front of me, and other colleagues were in the room working at the time, had their backs to it, her or him, and a few mins later a colleague commented on how cold the room was. I definitely have company in my house, and my child is picking up on it too. She was laughing and having a chat in her room on her own recently. The type of laugh and chat when she's actually communicating with some one! Bloody weird for me to hear this, hasn't happened before. Oh an item in the house moved right before my eyes, this hasn't happened to me before either, it moved continuously for about 30 seconds and then just stopped.

well ghostgirl i think if you see stuff moving around in front of you and you weren't drinking at the time or on some medication prescribed or not you might have something going on .could it have been a trick of the light .have you been writing down the stuff that happens in the house and what times it happens at.have you done any research into the history of the house or grounds it was built on .also have you talked to your child about it ,i am sure you could talk to him/her nicely about it ask what games he/she plays don't forget kids have a very vivid imagination. sometimes my own kids sound like they are playing with an army of spirits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,232 ✭✭✭furiousox

I always feel like someones watching me in this house too

ok ok sorry it won't happen again l promise!.....:p

You are a khaki coloured bombardier, it's Hiroshima that you're nearing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭whelpy

On the 16th sept this year (yeah i actually remember), i woke up and saw this ''ghost'' (white silhouette of a person, there were no clothing,facial etc. features) at the foot of my sister's bed. There was also a ''background'' light behind the ghost but it wasn't as bright. They were both flashing regularly, sometimes at different speeds & sequence.
    During this i moved my left arm slightly and when i did this the ghost stopped flashing. The background carried on as normal, and then after a while they both disappared.
    I had planned to study for a geog test that morning, ah well.
    The weird thing is i remember thinking that i would see it again next week, and i was right :eek: i think

So the following wednes, while i was asleep, it was like as though someone had flicked a light on behind my eyelids and this happened twice. Later on i was sleeping on my stomach and i felt a pressure on my head and at the base of my neck pushing me down. It didn't cross my mind that this was a pretty serious situation, I was wretched out from the light thing and i raised my head up and back down a few times but it was still doing it, though it went away later.

From some of the stories i read, my description of the ghost doesn't fit with them, it was just pure white light in the shape of a person :confused:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

Glad to see this thread is still going. It's very entertaining. I'm a sceptic I think. I've personally never seen anything but my parents have told me stories of seeing bright lights, like a car's headlights, when their parents were dying and my mam heard a Dead man's Knock the night before her mum died. I was sorry I wasn't home for that but had decided to head into the hospital to see my granny that evening.

The weirdest experience I've had can be explained but I just wanted to note it for opinions or to maybe help other people who are wondering and have had similar experiences. One night I woke up to hear wailing. I had woken from a deep sleep and had sleep paralysis. I couldn't move and it seemed like I was being 'made' listen to this sound that was just 'in the air', non directional. I was scared but not out of my wits, and I remember thinking, 'Ok, it's a banshee, just have to deal with it now and see what happens'. I remember thinking, well at least I've finally experienced something now. After a minute or two though I was more awake and the SP had gone, It was then I realised that it was most likely the neighbour's cat wailing. I'm pretty sure that's what it was. Made abit mor sense as I was awake then but it really was very plaintive wailing. It's funny what conclusions you jump to! No close family members died after the incident though which leaves me more convinced it was my local kitty acting up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭leddpipe

omg, lol, just finished reading ALL these stories!
    so scared right now lol!
    well, ehm, ive never seen anything, but my friends uncle did once, and told me about it lol!
    ghosts are totally real though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Ghost Girl

paranormal wrote: »
    well ghostgirl i think if you see stuff moving around in front of you and you weren't drinking at the time or on some medication prescribed or not you might have something going on .could it have been a trick of the light .have you been writing down the stuff that happens in the house and what times it happens at.have you done any research into the history of the house or grounds it was built on .also have you talked to your child about it ,i am sure you could talk to him/her nicely about it ask what games he/she plays don't forget kids have a very vivid imagination. sometimes my own kids sound like they are playing with an army of spirits
    Unfortunately I can't have a chat with my child about it because she's too young 12 months old, not talking yet!!! to be honest im afraid to do research into the house the land the area etc, i dont want to hear about some thing bad, at the moment there is nothing threatening me, just weird behaviour. I'm completely happy in my house. So maybe i'll leave it at that, and just keep sharing stories what ya think? :-)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,659 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

squonk wrote: »
    Glad to see this thread is still going. It's very entertaining. I'm a sceptic I think. I've personally never seen anything but my parents have told me stories of seeing bright lights, like a car's headlights, when their parents were dying and my mam heard a Dead man's Knock the night before her mum died. I was sorry I wasn't home for that but had decided to head into the hospital to see my granny that evening.

The weirdest experience I've had can be explained but I just wanted to note it for opinions or to maybe help other people who are wondering and have had similar experiences. One night I woke up to hear wailing. I had woken from a deep sleep and had sleep paralysis. I couldn't move and it seemed like I was being 'made' listen to this sound that was just 'in the air', non directional. I was scared but not out of my wits, and I remember thinking, 'Ok, it's a banshee, just have to deal with it now and see what happens'. I remember thinking, well at least I've finally experienced something now. After a minute or two though I was more awake and the SP had gone, It was then I realised that it was most likely the neighbour's cat wailing. I'm pretty sure that's what it was. Made abit mor sense as I was awake then but it really was very plaintive wailing. It's funny what conclusions you jump to! No close family members died after the incident though which leaves me more convinced it was my local kitty acting up!

It's quite possible the sound was cause by the sleep paralysis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Traze

We moved into a new house when i was 6 "many a moon ago" any how my parents had not managed to sort all the bed rooms out "There was !0 of us"
    So we where all sleeping on mattresses in different rooms in the house " House was in crumlin, old county road" I had asked to sllep down in the sitting room with my parents, so they let me, I remember waking during the nite as i though i heard someone come into the room, i looked around and over at the fire place i saw what i can only describe as a smokey figure, So being a 6 yr old i was a bit freaked out when it turned in my direction and looked at me, Now it did not have a face or hair it was as a said a smokey or shadowy figure. I jumped from veside my parents and ran upto my big sisters room, To this day i still remember that incident as if it was only yesterday, So i think that is why i am so interested in the paranormal as i am trying to find or seek answers to what it was i saw.

Ghost Girl wrote: »
    Unfortunately I can't have a chat with my child about it because she's too young 12 months old, not talking yet!!! to be honest im afraid to do research into the house the land the area etc, i dont want to hear about some thing bad, at the moment there is nothing threatening me, just weird behaviour. I'm completely happy in my house. So maybe i'll leave it at that, and just keep sharing stories what ya think? :-)
    well if you are happy there and dont feel threatened there is no need to do anything about it .but no harm in keeping us updated on your experiences :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Ruth KPS

About 3 years ago, maybe 3 and a half.. I was living in a house with my ex boyfriend and my daughter, and he was in work and she was in bed, it was just about to get dark and I was outside taking clothes off the washing line, and the way the house was shaped, from where I was standing, I could see half of the sitting room and a small part of the kitchen..

Next thing a woman, completly dressed in white walked through my sitting room, I ran into the house and it just disappeared through my wall.

The good thing was it didn't frighten me, I had such a calm feeling.

I think that's why I'm not a Paranormal Investigator, would love to find out all the answer's to the questions I have.

Well that's my experiance.

Oh and let me throw in, it was near Ross Castle in Killarney, and there is a story behind the castle, and people think it's her that walked through my house, but Im not sure.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,320 Mod ✭✭✭✭squonk

It's quite possible the sound was cause by the sleep paralysis.

Yup, I'd agree but I woke up and became fully conscious and then realised it was the cat in as much as I could. My mind was definitly playing tricks when I woke first though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,372 ✭✭✭steamengine

Next thing a woman, completly dressed in white walked through my sitting room, I ran into the house and it just disappeared through my wall.

The good thing was it didn't frighten me, I had such a calm feeling.

I think that's why I'm not a Paranormal Investigator, would love to find out all the answer's to the questions I have.

Well that's my experiance.

Oh and let me throw in, it was near Ross Castle in Killarney, and there is a story behind the castle, and people think it's her that walked through my house, but Im not sure.

I was in Killarney over a year ago and whilst there, my wife and I did a guided tour of Ross castle. As we wound our way upwards, room by room, the guide was explaining the history of the castle and the renovation work that had recently been carried out.

We then proceeded to the top room which has the original fireplace and a musicians ??? gallery. As soon as we entered the room the hair stood up on my head (the little that is left) and I could sense 'something'. I asked the guide whether there was any ghosts connected with the castle, but she declined to answer as there were young children on the tour.

Would be interested in hearing more about this "ghost", if someone knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Ruth KPS

As far as I know, Iv been told this story so many times but I can't remember it, A woman called Una, was living in the castle, and saw her husband drown on the lake and killed herself. I'll get my friend to tell me the exact story and get back to you :D