Thank you to the person who helped me last night !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

You were intimidating the poor knifeman !

Go away!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Seloth

Im sure the guy knew you wished to thank him after but realised you were in quite a shock,Selfless acts of the brave few keep us going :).

Not much in comparision but when driving from Cobh to Cork this morning the car I was in had a sudden flat tyre and within 40seconds of pulling ina car pulled over to help us,and he even called his friend out over too...Very nice guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Funny you mention it was Limerick bus station OP. In my one and only time there over the summe gone by, I had to transfer buses at the station and low and behold got robbed by a knife loving knacker (€5 was "all I had on me"). Security don't take any **** there though, wasted no time in chasing after him when I told them, didn't catch him though but were keen to stay alert from then.
    Limerick bus station is a hotbed for robbing scum; to argue otherwise is trolling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,433 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Typical Limerick. Oh, and yes, I've been there. I didn't feel safe until I got on the train back to Dublin. Funnily enough, I've been mugged twice in Dublin though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭superfly

unless they were armed with a gun you were safe in Dublin, but in Limerick tthey might actually stab you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Mousey- wrote: »
    it was limirick....its a legal job there
    stab city....like paris being the city of love.....we have to keep our name

What's the "we" about, and where is this "Limirick" place that you're from :rolleyes: ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

robbie_998 wrote: »
    alright lad,

good to hear your ok, that was myself that got that lil gremlin for ya.

glad to see you appreciate the help, happens quite a bit there.

i could see at the time your were about to shit a brick.

the locals are a bunch of tight gits down there so im not really surprised by that.

anyway best of luck lad and i appreciate the thread :pac:
    Ehh, where did you get that phone your selling Robbie:pac:

Confab wrote: »
    Typical Limerick. Oh, and yes, I've been there. I didn't feel safe until I got on the train back to Dublin. Funnily enough, I've been mugged twice in Dublin though.

LMAO!!!! You "didn't feel safe" in Limerick, but WEREN'T mugged, and you WERE mugged in Dublin.....and you still bull**** about "typical Limerick" ????

That post has made my day, really.......thanks! I needed a good laugh and proof that - despite the news during the week - the blinkers were still well and truly in place....... :rolleyes:

Typical Limerick tbh. I heard anyone born in Limerick gets this weird "Scum" gene they call it..

Fair play to that guy OP. We not only need more of them, we need to become more like them ourselves.

Dirty knacker was prob gonna sell your phone for 10 euros or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I was more than glad to help OP.

You ran away before you could thank me properly so I've PM'd you my PayPal details if you want to express your gratitude in a meaningful way.

Glad you're OK!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Rojomcdojo wrote: »
    Typical Limerick tbh. I heard anyone born in Limerick gets this weird "Scum" gene they call it..

Fair play to that guy OP. We not only need more of them, we need to become more like them ourselves.

Did it occur to you that the OP and probably the guy who helped him are most likely from Limerick? typical After Hours tbh. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭laoisforliam

stovelid wrote: »
    I was more than glad to help OP.

You ran away before you could thank me properly so I've PM'd you my PayPal details if you want to express your gratitude in a meaningful way.

Glad you're OK!

lol no way was it you!! that would be too coincidental!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Glad you didn't get hurt OP. I'm sure he was seriously getting security though so I would still consider him brave.

If he does read Boards fair play to him and I wish there were more people like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭manutd

Good to haer OP is good health, still good people and fair play to him, we need more like them, maybe he was an off-duty Garda.

Typical ignorant and obnoxious comment :rolleyes:

Tell ya what, next time you want to talk ****e and call me "scum", do it via PM.

Absolutely, and the fact that the guy who helped was from Limerick is an irony obviously beyond whatever location-based "gene" gives you your level of intelligence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Limerick Train Station is seriously dodgy these days. They badly need to increase the security there and stop the junkies from hanging around inside and outside the station. Two weeks ago I made the mistake of waiting outside for a lift and I had a rather intimidiating encounter with one of those lowlifes.

There was a junkie in his twenties running around the carpark harrassing people for money. He starts walking in my direction and pulled his hood up and started shouting - "WESTON YEAH WESTON YEAH". Got right in my face demanding money and cigs. I was with my mother and he said - "Give me some money so I can inject myself right" My mother was terrified, we just told him we didn't have anything and he kept it up. I think when we didn't let on that he was intimidating us he just lost interest then so he fcuked off over to some other people.

Lesson learned - Don't hang aound Limerick Train Station!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

This is the kind of police force we need nowadays. Junkies and scumbags wouldn't stand a chance!

RonMexico wrote: »
    "Give me some money so I can inject myself right"

I'd have given him TWICE as much so he could REALLY do it right!!!! ;)

Instant end of problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 ItsAnOmen

You could have teamed up with the knifeman and robbed the samaritan, split the winnings, gotta watch out for yourself these days.:)

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Typical ignorant and obnoxious comment :rolleyes:

Tell ya what, next time you want to talk ****e and call me "scum", do it via PM.

Absolutely, and the fact that the guy who helped was from Limerick is an irony obviously beyond whatever location-based "gene" gives you your level of intelligence.

Hey man chill with the Limeraggro. I'm not from Limerick you know...

I'm scared :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Anymore of that and you'll be taking a break from After Hours.

I was just messing with the crazy pro-Limerick crowd that always pops up in threads like this tbh :)

I don't actually believe that anyone born in Limerick has a scum gene...........................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I was just messing with the crazy pro-Limerick crowd that always pops up in threads like this tbh :)

I don't actually believe that anyone born in Limerick has a scum gene...........................

So...you were...trolling...?

Think carefully before you answer that question. ;)

So...you were...trolling...?

Think carefully before you answer that question. ;)

from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tongue-in-cheek ...

Tongue-in-cheek is a term used to refer to humor in which a statement, or an entire fictional work, is not meant to be taken seriously, but its sarcasm is subtle.

from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tongue-in-cheek ...

Tongue-in-cheek is a term used to refer to humor......

That it is, however....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Humour

Humour ..... is the tendency of particular cognitive experiences to provoke laughter and provide amusement.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    That it is, however....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Humour

Humour ..... is the tendency of particular cognitive experiences to provoke laughter and provide amusement.

Oh I laughed alright :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,923 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

Just great. Another good thread turned into Limerick bashing. Incidents like this happen in every city, every day in every country. The point of OP's post was to highlight that there are good people out there who'll go out of there way to help a complete stranger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭D-A-V-E

Im not suprised in the amount of sh!te non Limerick people post here about Limerick but it really shows how little you know about the place if you really believe how bad it is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭Johnnnybravo

I hope he wasn't going to leave you with the scumbag while he got security.

That's not what I would call brave at all.

But if his initial interference helped you then I hope he reads boards and sees your "Thank You".

Ugghhh always the bad word:rolleyes: