Dutch among lowest cannabis users in Europe-report

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

the_syco wrote: »
    And for most of them, it's probably the first time they smoked so much of it. How many 18 year olds had a simlair experience with alcohol?

Yeah... nobody in Ireland ever has a drop of alcohol before they're 18.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

caseyann wrote: »
    Look at that knew drug that's legal here in the shops whats it called? liquid e .

GHB is illegal both here and in the UK.

That guy in England 18 years old died three times and now mother has to inject him with it.

WTF are you babbling on about? Died three times? That doesnt even make sense.
    Legalise it that makes it so much better.

No argument there.
    Seriously what ever i am out.
    Ireland is going down the preferable **** can.

Preferable sh*t can? Can you elborate....what would be the impreferable sh*t can?
    People forgot the marches against drugs in this country.And what them people fought to stop and you lot want to legalise it.

I'm sorry, I thought this was a thread about Dutch people's low usage rates of cannabis, not the feckin' provo's war on heroin, nor any notion on legalising said heroin.
    What you forget is that the provos and those that followed them failed to wipe out the heroin trade...sure they managed to beat and maim a few dealers, they even managed to kill one...but 20 years on, the problem is at least as bad as it was then....but where are the provos now? The power and the guns are toted instead by the children that grew up in those communities and who saw that instilling fear and the threat violence was the only true way to hold power over people. Ironically many of the guns originally used to protect/enforce the Dublin drug trade would have come from republican stockpiles.
    Simple fact it a hallucinogenic and mind altering and causes all them effects.No matter what you say stop following suit to other countries.What may be working for them does not mean will work for us.

Ah so that's why other such facets of the Dutch system of government and in particular, it's health and transport systems are regarded as the models that should be strived for by many other western nations, not least our own.
    Decriminalisation of cannabis works in Holland for a good reason...it makes basic sense, irregardless of whether you're pro or anti drugs...it has nothing to do with them being Dutch or us being Irish or whatever it is you're trying to tell us...and as illustrated by this report, wide availability and the absence of a criminal deterrent does NOT mean that population turn into a race of pot smoking layabouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

That's a bit naive. I'm sure the guards work very hard but the truth is that the best cops in the world would never be able to stop the drug trade. There's too much money in it for dealers not to find a way in for these substances.
    People need to accept that. Maybe then we can find better way of dealing with it.

and does not need to be legalised for yous who smoke it and those who want the drug dealers out of pocket.

I think there's a lot of evidence against the bit about smokers of that stement. The second part ...:eek: I really do want those guys out of pocket and you only have to think of Veronica Guerin to understand why.

Anyway first bit. The hash thats smoked in dublin is full of oil, crap, anything bascially. People still smoke it, whether or not they should is irrelevent given the numbers involved. Weed used to be safer but you can't be sure anymore since they started spraying carcinogens on plants to bulk up the weight.
    Majority of the ones who say legalise it are because follow the leader or they smoke it.Any Td who wants it legalised is because they want to cash in on it,and don't give a **** about our communities and kids.

Ah comeon, this is patronising and laughable. Follow the leader? The tabloid press is the reason cannabis is upgraded to a class b here in the UK. Why is it so impossible to believe someone genuinely thinks its a sensible idea to legalise it when you consider the current system and the legal classification of alcohol, painkillers and addictive anti-depressants?

Who are these TDs? What do you mean by cashing in? I can only think of Emmet Stagg and Ming(who's a counciller.) Ming got voted in on his second attempt because he promised (and folled through) on improving facilites for children/teenagers in the area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭TheInquisitor

Drugs in portugal- Did decriminilisation work?

http://www.time.com/time/health/article/0,8599,1893946,00.html

The netherlands isn't the only place in europe to legalise drugs. And look at that drug usage is falling...

But no it could never work here? Only one way to find out and thats to try it because what we have now is a complete joke. Drug dealers making fortunes , gang killings because of the money. People ODing because the drugs supplied by dealers are tainted with rat poison and crap.

Legalise drugs to
    1 Tax them and make money from them
    2. Make them safer for everyone by guaranteeing quality
    3. Get rid of gangs and gang killings by taking away their market
    4 Eduate everyone to the real problems rather than making up crap which people aren't stupid enough to believe
    5. We've been fighting drugs for decades and have gotten exactly NO WHERE except create a great market for drug dealers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,542 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

how long more do we have to wait until we realise that prohibition DOES NOT WORK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

rossie1977 wrote: »
    damn it, seems bill o reilly is on boards, either that or one of these attractive ladies with him :p

Fcuking fox news scum... "anarchy" "cesspit"... they are not talking about Amsterdam, they are talking about the USA, them bunch of fcuking thicks (fox news)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭roneythetube

Oh please facts mean diddly squat.

I am anti drugs full stop and that wont change.

Now this is the level of argument that those who are pro-choice for adults are facing!:(

People form opinions (often based on poor information) and when presented with scientific data they refuse to educate themselves! The level of debate from the 'anti-drugs' brigade is woeful!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭caseyann

Now this is the level of argument that those who are pro-choice for adults are facing!:(

People form opinions (often based on poor information) and when presented with scientific data they refuse to educate themselves! The level of debate from the 'anti-drugs' brigade is woeful!

Get off your high and might pedestal.I am well educated on what cannabis does to a persons brain.And also witness to it and the facts.Not better knowledge then seeing it for yourself.And people who have family members addicted to cannabis and moving on to harder stuff after it stops giving them their high,or smoking more and more :rolleyes: know the facts and have to look at everyday.

Sitting beside someone stoned on hash such a nice feeling and comfortable feeling as they look groggy and drooling on them selves and talking complete ****.

I pulled facts and gave link and you are trying to debunk that.:rolleyes:

And again Irish think just because they think its right i should bend over and accept it.
    I have every right to be against it anti drugs and you're idiots who ever smoke it and take drugs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

And people who have family members addicted to cannabis and moving on to harder stuff after it stops giving them their high,

seriously now you just sound like Mary Whitehouse or something, please stop, you're making a fool of yourself

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    seriously now you just sound like Mary Whitehouse or something, please stop, you're making a fool of yourself

I am making a fool of myself because i dont agree with legalising drugs :rolleyes: How pray tell?

And who is she ?
    P.s dont really want to know who she is.I love my country and yous want to turn it into Amsterdam.If you love it so much why dont you go there and let us keep our country maybe when all you lot who like drugs pack your bags and leave wont have any reason for drug dealers to keep selling here.
    Yous add to the problem smoking it so take some responsibility for it,either stop smoking it and lining the dealers pockets, and stop trying to force the rest of us to live with it ;)

I am making a fool of myself because i dont agree with legalising drugs :rolleyes: How pray tell?

And who is she ?
    P.s dont really want to know who she is.I love my country and yous want to turn it into Amsterdam.If you love it so much why dont you go there and let us keep our country maybe when all you lot who like drugs pack your bags and leave wont have any reason for drug dealers to keep selling here.
    Yous add to the problem smoking it so take some responsibility for it,either stop smoking it and lining the dealers pockets, and stop trying to force the rest of us to live with it ;)

I don't smoke it. Look her up if you want to know who she is. You're saying smoking that stuff leads to harder things. That is not true, unless the dealer is selling other stuff, which wouldn't happen if it was legal.

Alcohol leads to spousal abuse, drink driving deaths, deformed kids, murder, depression, etc. etc. etc. Should we all stop drinking too?

p.s. do you think people should be allowed to grow it for their own personal use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭POINTBREAK

Kradock wrote: »
    Drugs fcuk you up , cannibis is most people's catalyst. Maybe even the Dutch have figured this out./

Actually alcohol is the most frequent catalyst or gateway to drug use.

I don't smoke it. Look her up if you want to know who she is. You're saying smoking that stuff leads to harder things. That is not true, unless the dealer is selling other stuff, which wouldn't happen if it was legal.

Alcohol leads to spousal abuse, drink driving deaths, deformed kids, murder, depression, etc. etc. etc. Should we all stop drinking too?

p.s. do you think people should be allowed to grow it for their own personal use?

You dont smoke it,then you should be telling the ones who do smoke to quit and stop feeding the drug dealers, instead of expecting us to put up with their habits rubbed in our faces.

They should quit if not addictive and dont want the dealers to get money off them.They are the problem not whether to legalise it or not.

I dont know,would there be a certain limit and would they be allowed smoke in public near kids?

You dont smoke it,then you should be telling the ones who do smoke to quit and stop feeding the drug dealers, instead of expecting us to put up with their habits rubbed in our faces.

They should quit if not addictive and dont want the dealers to get money off them.They are the problem not whether to legalise it or not.

but there is a HUGE demand for it, if the gov wont allow them to have them for outdated moral reasons how are they supposed to get it without dealers?

again should people be allowed grow their own for personal use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

i don't like alcohol ,as previously stated ,but i don't run around telling anybody they shouldn't drink because i happen not to agree with it.

wudangclan wrote: »
    i don't like alcohol ,as previously stated ,but i don't run around telling anybody they shouldn't drink because i happen not to agree with it.

Yeah but if you are in a pub and choose to sit with them in a pub,that is for drinking then thats your choice.No one is forcing you to ;) Otherwise its not a pub.
    You could always go to coffee shop :D

I shouldnt have to be out somewhere and have to get a whiff of that god awful stuff blowing past me and seeing people stoned in middle of day or near my kids.And them seeing this as normal.Same as i wouldn't bring my kids to a pub and let them see people falling over drunk and think that's ok either.

Yeah but if you are in a pub and choose to sit with them in a pub,that is for drinking then thats your choice.No one is forcing you to ;) Otherwise its not a pub.

I shouldnt have to be out somewhere and have to get a whiff of that god awful stuff blowing past me and seeing people stoned in middle of day or near my kids.And them seeing this as normal.Same as i wouldn't bring my kids to a pub and let them see people falling over drunk and think that's ok either.

nor can you smoke on the street in holland.
    you either have to smoke at home or in a coffeeshop.

but there is a HUGE demand for it, if the gov wont allow them to have them for outdated moral reasons how are they supposed to get it without dealers?

again should people be allowed grow their own for personal use?

And whos fault is that? The weak people? Who cant say no?Plenty of other things that will help someone relax at end of day.Simple fact is they want to get stoned and that is their problem.Not the rest of the people who dont like it and dont want it as apart of our everyday society.

Point again,If they smoke it that's their problem and they should take responsibility for their actions and quit and stop smoking it! And stop lining the dealers pockets.Then no reason to legalise it is there;) But they wont because guess what they are addicts.

Out dated moral reasons? :eek: So morals are not allowed anymore either.

I wont answer that question unless you answer to me first,will there be a limit and will they not be allowed smoke in public?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Well that's fair enough in a way but like wudangclan it's not legal to smoke (or drink) in the streets in the Netherlands however the police don't really enforce that law either unless your making an ass out of your self. Their a very tolerant people those Dutch, we could all learn a thing or two about tolerance from them.

nor can you smoke on the street in holland.
    you either have to smoke at home or in a coffeeshop.

Do you seriously want them places popping up in Ireland?
    That's fair enough if they want to do it at home and subject themselves to their own families and kids i have no problem with that.:D

But on another note yes wow and Irish would listen to that law :D

And whos fault is that? The weak people? Who cant say no?Plenty of other things that will help someone relax at end of day.Simple fact is they want to get stoned and that is their problem.Not the rest of the people who dont like it and dont want it as apart of our everyday society.
    that's the point.it's their 'problem',if that's the phrase you choose to use.stoners cause little or no problems for society through the use of cannabis.
    Out dated moral reasons? :eek: So morals are not allowed anymore either
    is it moral to incarcerate someone or give them a criminal record for smoking a benign flower?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,652 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Oh please facts mean diddly squat.They aren't facts because they don't know what the intake people have on a nightly basis just because of their stats from coffee shops.What do they do, go and knock on every door and ask?

I am anti drugs full stop and that wont change.
    Get off your high and might pedestal.I am well educated on what cannabis does to a persons brain.And also witness to it and the facts.Not better knowledge then seeing it for yourself.And people who have family members addicted to cannabis and moving on to harder stuff after it stops giving them their high,or smoking more and more :rolleyes: know the facts and have to look at everyday.

Sitting beside someone stoned on hash such a nice feeling and comfortable feeling as they look groggy and drooling on them selves and talking complete ****.

I pulled facts and gave link and you are trying to debunk that.:rolleyes:

And again Irish think just because they think its right i should bend over and accept it.
    I have every right to be against it anti drugs and you're idiots who ever smoke it and take drugs.
    What absolute fucking drivel.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Well that's fair enough in a way but like wudangclan it's not legal to smoke (or drink) in the streets in the Netherlands however the police don't really enforce that law either unless your making an ass out of your self. Their a very tolerant people those Dutch, we could all learn a thing or two about tolerance from them.

Tolerance hahahahahaha Ireland is the sess pit of tolerance its completely ridiculous.

You are ok i learned from my mother and father and grand parents right way to be and i am not dutch.Completely different people.

El Weirdo wrote: »
    What absolute fucking drivel.

How very enlightening of you :D

You are ok i learned from my mother and father and grand parents right way to be and i am not dutch.Completely different people.

you've learned to think in a certain way and you're very rigid in your belief system.
    have you ever tried to smoke some weed?
    it may loosen you up a little.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,652 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

How very enlightening of you :D
    Oh the irony.

en·light·entr.v. en·light·ened, en·light·en·ing, en·light·ens 1. To give spiritual or intellectual insight to: "Enlighten the people generally, and tyranny and oppression of body and mind will vanish like evil spirits at the dawn of day" (Thomas Jefferson).
    2. To give information to; inform or instruct.

you've learned to think in a certain way and you're very rigid in your belief system.
    have you ever tried to smoke some weed?
    it may loosen you up a little.:)

Nah i will leave it to you to do that and you keep on living in dream land :)

I am the very chilled out relaxed person i don't need a drop of drink nor drugs to loosen up ;) Why should i change my belief system when its wrong and against how i feel,i can change it when its right.

I am the very chilled out relaxed person i don't need a drop of drink nor drugs to have a loosen up ;) Why should i change my belief system when its wrong and against how i feel,i can change it when its right.
    ok ,then. do you believe alcohol and nicotine should be made illegal?

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Oh the irony.

en·light·entr.v. en·light·ened, en·light·en·ing, en·light·ens 1. To give spiritual or intellectual insight to: "Enlighten the people generally, and tyranny and oppression of body and mind will vanish like evil spirits at the dawn of day" (Thomas Jefferson).
    2. To give information to; inform or instruct.

Ever hear of word sarcasm :D I wont go to dictionary and get for you :rolleyes:

Do you feel superior now,happy to made you feel so awwwwww:p

ok ,then. do you believe alcohol and nicotine should be made illegal?

In perfect world yep banned :cool: