Toys for Big Boys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Went last year, was ok,I'd stay away from the fast food though,it was fast,in one hole and out the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Our boss dragged us along the first year it was on, we were back out within the hour, wound up antagonising the pushy c**ts trying to flog their tack off on us.."how much is dem?".. "how much is dem?".."dats fierce steep" .."how much is dem?" etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

It's crap. Wild horses wouldn't get me back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Is there not semi naked hot chicks in there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Nah just an assortment of anal dildoes designed for fat men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

went few times. avoid the over priced food.. unless you need to clear your bowels and everything else inside ya.
    some remote helis, a few cars some tramps in way too much makeup to be human and a lotta crap like speed camera detectors with "all the uk camera locations" :rolleyes:

If i remember correctly theres a paint stand too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Kiera wrote: »
    Is there not semi naked hot chicks in there?
    I knew it wasn't the cars that were attracting you! ;)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Well I won tickets right here on boards so yes, yes I guess I'll be going :D

ditto :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

Went last year. Feck all to see to be honest. Only two things I was bothered with was a brilliant home cinema setup with a HD projector and some of the nice cars that were there (R8 to be exact). Otherwise its people selling rubbish and cheap crap you would prob get for half the price on moore street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Toys4BigBoys

Hi Guys

Thanks for all your comments and congrats to all the people who've won tickets to the show starting tomorrow!

We have a thread dedicated to questions from anyone who wants to ask :)
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055723412

See you there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

It's incredibly tatty...

The year I went to it even the Scientologists had a stand with clueless slack jawed goons lining up to get their theaton levels measured outside it.

Hells ya! I'd love to get e-meter tested :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

I'll be heading on Sunday, got free tickets.

And it'll be my birthday, aw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

It's a load of pony and I wouldn't go again if someone paid me.

+1 , it's total bollox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Hi Guys

Thanks for all your comments and congrats to all the people who've won tickets to the show starting tomorrow!

We have a thread dedicated to questions from anyone who wants to ask :)
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055723412

See you there!

Can I have some tickets please, I need to light the fire in my stove, its cccccccccold.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Surely if you are a chick and are into guys that are complete personality-less ar*sewipes then this would be the place to go, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Probably worth a look. I happened to be there when some guy was driving around on a one wheeled motorbike doin some pretty cool tricks. But that was a fluke, think he only done 2 shows a day.

I definitely don't think it's worth paying into though. Would you pay 15 squids into a market just because you may or may not see a nike show? No.

But if you win tickets on here then it'd be a nice way to kill a few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭swingking

anyone been to it today and what was the verdict?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Don't know why anyone would ever pay to go. Have gone twice (second time was not by choice!), and both times tickets were off-loaded onto me. If your idea of a good time is gangs of young knacks, scientologists, little girls dipped in a browney-orange paint and neon clothes, and looking at some overpriced tack, then you might enjoy it.

If, however, you have any one of the following: (class/intelligence/taste/sense/life/maturity/medium-to-large penis), then it's not for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

swingking wrote: »
    anyone been to it today and what was the verdict?

it was truly amazing,the foul mouthed,three legged smoking giraffe was something to tell the grandchildren about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭MAB83

When I went it was rubbish, pure shíte, not even worth getting up for but have fun :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

Was shíte. I'd rather have stayed in and watched last years toy show with that muppet pat kenny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

i would imagine only gob****es attend this. had the misfortune of walking by outside it last year and the dickhead:normal person ratio was incredible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

I went to the show on Thursday, free ticket thankfully, I have been to it every year and it's been getting steadily worse, it peaked a few years back with lots of high end audio, super cars, hot chicks, full Nintendo stand, proper toys for 'big' boys. It's gone downhill massively, aimed at skangers and kids, nothing but stall after stall of Chinese cheap crap, and not available in the store QVC type of junk, a handful of nice cars no decent exhibitors, even the lads pad is kitted out with cheap crap, used to be sonos, Pioneer, Bowers and Wilkens top end stuff, now a few LG tv's and cheap LG sound systems.
    One a positive note there is a 30% promotional discount on the luxury power boat that they brought in to try and flog!

Not worth the price of entry and at this rate I'd be surprised if it's back again next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 sparkey1

went to it for the last 2 years it is a load of bo**ox,,,,dont waste your time or your money and beware the clampers haunt the place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭irishconvert

MIN2511 wrote: »
    So i reckon AH is the best place to post this :D

Has anyone been to Toys' for Big Boys in the RDS?

I plan on going this Sunday as my treat to myself and want to know if it's worth the hassle

Cheers

Pay to get into a glorified Gadget Shop that wants to sell you stuff, I don't think so.

Seriously though, I was there a few years ago, got some free tickets, it was not bad. But no way would I pay to get in, not worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

mikom wrote: »
    What's that........ a fleshlight convention?

No it's a gadget convention, stop trying to be funny all the time.

I went last year with three of the lads, I thought it was good craic. I spent most of the day perving the models though, and chatting up this one particular one, because she was the soundest.:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

aDeener wrote: »
    i would imagine only gob****es attend this. had the misfortune of walking by outside it last year and the dickhead:normal person ratio was incredible

That's the kind of accurate reportage we need in this country. Buy yourself a leather chair and wheel it down to RTE, pronto.

Howaye fixed for an interview with John Gormley?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭Bubblefett

I'm going cause i'm a nerd and want to meet Darth Vader! And possibly bear his children if he's up for it..... i could sell the little skywalkers and make millions.

I also want to try and drive the At-st walker... i mean if an ewok can do it..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,702 ✭✭✭squod

bubblefett wrote: »
    I'm going cause i'm a nerd and want to meet Darth Vader! And possibly bear his children if he's up for it..... i could sell the little skywalkers and make millions.

I also want to try and drive the At-st walker... i mean if an ewok can do it..........

Well if you can't score 'Vader, like the dude has no hands. He has to get someone to polish his helmet for him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Is there some sort of airsoft thing on at it?