Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toys for Big Boys

• 03-11-2009 9:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭

So i reckon AH is the best place to post this :D

Has anyone been to Toys' for Big Boys in the RDS?

I plan on going this Sunday as my treat to myself and want to know if it's worth the hassle

Cheers

Is it worth going? 36 votes

Yay
    0% 0 votes
    Nay
    100% 36 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭rizzee

I'll show you my toy, big boy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

MIN2511 wrote: »
    So i reckon AH is the best place to post this :D

I plan on going this Sunday as my treat to myself and want to know if it's worth the hassle

Cheers
    Are you a boy?
    Are you big?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

get yourself a dremel arse-whisk while you're there, now that's a toy for real men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭xxlilyxx

ive been twice and im goin saturday, i love gadgets and i love the cars so i think its a good day out, plus there's a pamper section for the girls:D my favourite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Typical AH responses :D

And no i am not a boy... I am female!

I do like toys though(And no not your 'toy'!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Holmer

It's okay, nothing special.I went a couple of years back. Nothing like the magical hi-tech utopia they always promise on the radio ads. It's actually quite small. They had a cool car exhibition though, and a few scantily clad wimmins doing promotions:D. But it's underwhelming really, you'll see everything in about 90 minutes, unless they've really improved it in the last couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I bet there'll be a 1-3 ratio of guys wearing 'witty' t-shirts there

"the wife is home chillin' my beers"

hawhawhaw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

What's that........ a fleshlight convention?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

It's a load of pony and I wouldn't go again if someone paid me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,808 ✭✭✭rizzee

I do like toys though(And no not your 'toy'!)

What about... my big boy toy ;)

Well I won tickets right here on boards so yes, yes I guess I'll be going :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Toys for Big Boys is the biggest load of Shoite I have ever seen in my life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭WIZE

Haha someone was happy to ditch their tickets on to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

I might be exhibiting at it. What's best is we're not trying to flog you anything, just provide ye with information about powerboating in Ireland. Ye can have a look at the boats we use etc. and get info on how to get involved (without even having to buy your own boat)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,647 ✭✭✭✭Fago!

So you wouldn't go if you were paid 8 grand?

You lying TART. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

JohnCleary wrote: »
    I might be exhibiting at it. What's best is we're not trying to flog you anything, just provide ye with information about powerboating in Ireland. Ye can have a look at the boats we use etc. and get info on how to get involved (without even having to buy your own boat)

yea yea, that's how it starts, then after a look you'll offer us a great deal on a boat. then when we take the deal, sure we might aswell have somewhere nice to sail it. how about a timeshare in monaco? and for that price sure we might aswell buy our own place...

i'll have six please.

genericguy wrote: »
    yea yea, that's how it starts, then after a look you'll offer us a great deal on a boat. then when we take the deal, sure we might aswell have somewhere nice to sail it. how about a timeshare in monaco? and for that price sure we might aswell buy our own place...

i'll have six please.

No problem, just send me your CC and bank account details and i'll have them delivered to your local marina

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

It's incredibly tatty...

The year I went to it even the Scientologists had a stand with clueless slack jawed goons lining up to get their theaton levels measured outside it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I am prejudiced about the typical male attendee because I used to work with a couple of guys that religiously went to the thing.

Going by that yardstick, the only wish I would have re: the event is that the place might hopefully burn down when they're all in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

I went a couple of years ago (free tickets). It was grand for a look around
    for 1-2 hours. There was a fashion show and that was quite good (no, really).
    That and a few girls hanging out of cars. There was the wimmins area for their
    treatments... It was worth seeing once, I may go again when I've amassed a
    large bag of cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

How did you win tickets? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

I met Keith duffy there a few years back. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Was there last year. total crap.
    NUmerous stands selling sh1t remote control cars and cheap useless remote control helis etc.
    Lots of those stands doing demos with 'magic drill bits' etc
    There was a RR phantom & a ferrari which was worth look.
    Basically though it was loads of stands selling tacky sh1t.
    As for the famous bachelor pad, I was expecting a bit of effort. It had a sofa with holes for drinks, a big telly and F all else

I went to the bike show. Now Ive no more than a passing interest in bikes but it was miles ahead of this crap. I will go to that again but not this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 432 ✭✭RealEstateKing

Is the entire tragedy of Modern Ireland writ large. The reduction of Irish manhood into passive bovine consumers, overweight, bald and pathetically jerking off to the Argos catalogue in the hope that some new, bright, shiny object created by slaves in a Chinese factory will fill the awful emptiness in his soul left by his crap job, overpriced suffocating house, and dumb pink-clad wife, who has little more substance to her soul than a means-tested focus-group conceived shell of a person , created in the image of whatever advertising agencies think she ought to be: A hollow bag of unfillable appetites.

Or something.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

mikom wrote: »
    What's that........ a fleshlight convention?

Here's to hoping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

I'd love to go for the cars. Went to Top Gear last year (pile of ****) but the car exhibition was awesome!

Is the entire tragedy of Modern Ireland writ large. The reduction of Irish manhood into passive bovine consumers, overweight, bald and pathetically jerking off to the Argos catalogue in the hope that some new, bright, shiny object created by slaves in a Chinese factory will fill the awful emptiness in his soul left by his crap job, overpriced suffocating house, and dumb pink-clad wife, who has little more substance to her soul than a means-tested focus-group conceived shell of a person , created in the image of whatever advertising agencies think she ought to be: A hollow bag of unfillable appetites.

Or something.

Oh the irony in your username is epic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's like every other show in Ireland, the same set up as they'd have for the ideal homes just different types of businesses in the stands. It's no better than the ploughing championships and they take place in a field.

Allot of the businesses there are out to fleece anyone who was foolish enough to walk through the door. There is some good stuff there and if you live close by it might be worth it but definitely not worth spending time driving to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭paconnors

was there once total shoite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

No it's ****. You go there to be pitched to buy something, think differently and you're an idiot. I worked on various exhibitions there, that's all it is.

End of thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,084 ✭✭✭dubtom

Went last year, was ok,I'd stay away from the fast food though,it was fast,in one hole and out the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Our boss dragged us along the first year it was on, we were back out within the hour, wound up antagonising the pushy c**ts trying to flog their tack off on us.."how much is dem?".. "how much is dem?".."dats fierce steep" .."how much is dem?" etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

It's crap. Wild horses wouldn't get me back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Is there not semi naked hot chicks in there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Nah just an assortment of anal dildoes designed for fat men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

went few times. avoid the over priced food.. unless you need to clear your bowels and everything else inside ya.
    some remote helis, a few cars some tramps in way too much makeup to be human and a lotta crap like speed camera detectors with "all the uk camera locations" :rolleyes:

If i remember correctly theres a paint stand too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Kiera wrote: »
    Is there not semi naked hot chicks in there?
    I knew it wasn't the cars that were attracting you! ;)

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

ditto :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

Went last year. Feck all to see to be honest. Only two things I was bothered with was a brilliant home cinema setup with a HD projector and some of the nice cars that were there (R8 to be exact). Otherwise its people selling rubbish and cheap crap you would prob get for half the price on moore street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Toys4BigBoys

Hi Guys

Thanks for all your comments and congrats to all the people who've won tickets to the show starting tomorrow!

We have a thread dedicated to questions from anyone who wants to ask :)
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055723412

See you there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

It's incredibly tatty...

The year I went to it even the Scientologists had a stand with clueless slack jawed goons lining up to get their theaton levels measured outside it.

Hells ya! I'd love to get e-meter tested :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

I'll be heading on Sunday, got free tickets.

And it'll be my birthday, aw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

+1 , it's total bollox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Hi Guys

Thanks for all your comments and congrats to all the people who've won tickets to the show starting tomorrow!

We have a thread dedicated to questions from anyone who wants to ask :)
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055723412

See you there!

Can I have some tickets please, I need to light the fire in my stove, its cccccccccold.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Surely if you are a chick and are into guys that are complete personality-less ar*sewipes then this would be the place to go, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

Probably worth a look. I happened to be there when some guy was driving around on a one wheeled motorbike doin some pretty cool tricks. But that was a fluke, think he only done 2 shows a day.

I definitely don't think it's worth paying into though. Would you pay 15 squids into a market just because you may or may not see a nike show? No.

But if you win tickets on here then it'd be a nice way to kill a few hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

anyone been to it today and what was the verdict?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Don't know why anyone would ever pay to go. Have gone twice (second time was not by choice!), and both times tickets were off-loaded onto me. If your idea of a good time is gangs of young knacks, scientologists, little girls dipped in a browney-orange paint and neon clothes, and looking at some overpriced tack, then you might enjoy it.

If, however, you have any one of the following: (class/intelligence/taste/sense/life/maturity/medium-to-large penis), then it's not for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

swingking wrote: »
    anyone been to it today and what was the verdict?

it was truly amazing,the foul mouthed,three legged smoking giraffe was something to tell the grandchildren about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭MAB83

When I went it was rubbish, pure shíte, not even worth getting up for but have fun :D