Are poker players the coolest people in the world?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

Pighead wrote: »
    Would have to disagree with you there c0rk3r. Pighead doesn't know many poker players in the real world as most of his evenings are spent playing indoor bowls with a bunch of decrepit cabbage smelling old people. But as a keen reader of the BBV thread in the poker forum it has struck Pighead over the years that the majority of posters in there are just cool. There's no other word for it. They just have their finger on the pulse and emit a certain coolness. Even the losers!

They have a sort of fatalistic attitude that gives them the ability to shrug off defeat with a joke and a cool word (busto). And far from being down and out degenarates they're actually really really clued in! Yer man kayroo and the boy hotspur wheel out paragraphs of words that make Pighead say stuff like "right on brother" or "you go girl". Pighead very rarely uses those sentences but those lads just make it happen.

And there's a guy called Armani Jeans. Really clever bloke who knows everything about everything and who somehow managed to make Big Brotehr sound interesting during the summer just gone! No way would a non poker player be able to achieve anything as impressive as that.

The poker players are far from gambling loser degenarates. Appearances can be deceptive. The poker players are this generations version of the drunken stinkin' literary rat pack that stumbled from pub to pub around Dublin in the 40's and 50's.

Exhibit A:
    hotspur wrote:
    I would say that most poker players who are unemotional were that way to begin with. But what I think poker can do is inculate in players the need to be philosophical about the vicissitudes of life due to an understanding of probability. A more prosaic way of saying that is : realising sh1t happens! The people who react most negatively to something bad happening to them, such as mugging or violence, are people who hold a "just world" view, that is they think that the world is a fair place. A poker player knows that everything is just a matter of probabilty and chance. If they get mugged their life view is not shattered, it's just something lousy that happened that was pretty unlikely but possible. That philosophy doesn't affect one's emotional reaction at the very time of it, but it will affect subsequent emotional reaction and psychological handling of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭fatguy

Listen up fatso and listen up good. Coolness is not measured by grammatical semantics. Coolness is being able to walk into a room wearing a pair of trousers that show off your hips and a shirt that is just the right tightness to be able to show off your toned masculine chest. Coolness isn't fat pants. Isn't wearing hawaiann shirts in an attempt to cover up your pudginess by trying to be zany. It definitely isn't having four doughnuts when one would suffice.

Pighead finds it very hard to believe you're a poker player fatguy. Just because you have a deck of cards doesn't mean you're the real deal. Maybe you're a wizard at "House" or "Old Maid" but not poker. You're like the guy who walks into a pool hall with his own cue but turns out to be rubbish. You're a false messiah fatguy. Not the real deal. A bad cover version. Not cool.
    Fatguy is gonna go home and cry himself to sleep now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Earthhorse wrote: »
    The BBV thread is donkaments.

Or something. :(
    Brag: Pighead knows more than you.

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Actually, it's ArmaniJeanss which is the plural of ArmaniJeans.
    Beat: You know more than Pighead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

brianmc wrote: »
    probabilty and chance:

Thats a toxic and hazardous way to earn a living. The best thing to do is buy a percentage of the top ranking guys bankroll or however that works. As has been said the best guys always end up on the last table. The 2-5% sitting ontop of the pyramid

fatguy wrote: »
    Fatguy is gonna go home and open the fridge and eat a doughnut, then he will open the cupboard and eat another doughnut, then he will go up to the attic and take another doughnut from his "Secret Doughnut Chest of Drawers" and then he shall retire to the bedroom, eat one final doughnut before finally crying himself to sleep.
    FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

c0rk3r wrote: »
    Thats a toxic and hazardous way to earn a living. The best thing to do is buy a percentage of the top ranking guys bankroll or however that works. As has been said the best guys always end up on the last table. The 2-5% sitting ontop of the pyramid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Losers are never cool. No matter how well they take it / joke about it. The vast majority of poker players are losers hence uncool

c0rk3r wrote: »
    Losers are never cool. No matter how well they take it / joke about it. The vast majority of poker players are losers hence uncool
    No offense c0rk3r but Pighead would choose Nick Berry's life views over yours everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭ihadu

zuutroy wrote: »
    Seriously though. This man is ridiculously cool no question.

http://wickedchopspoker.com/phil-ivey-e60-feature-video/

bill: hey phil, me and guys are planning on doing something wholesome for the weekemd like skiing or visiting a european city, fancy it?

Phil: no way homes, i'm playing craps!

Bill: really, just saw a video of you plaing craps own your own, looked grim. thats why i called

Phil: Grim? sheeeiiiiit, no way homes. i'm shooting 100k a roll.

Bill: yeah but thats like me rolling for a tenner each time, pretty sh!t after a while...anyway, didn't want to ask but had to. laters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭j10spades

ihadu wrote: »
    bill: hey phil, me and guys are planning on doing something wholesome for the weekemd like skiing or visiting a european city, fancy it?

Bill: really, just saw a video of you plaing craps own your own, looked grim. thats why i called

Bill: yeah but thats like me rolling for a tenner each time, pretty sh!t after a while...anyway, didn't want to ask but had to. laters

*tumbleweed*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

ihadu wrote: »

That was awful.

Pighead, I never knew you loved my posting so much! I'm honoured.

Also, I have to say I am loving the guy who said "If you play a pro you'll lose 9/10 times". LOL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Poker; the game itself is so cool. Probably the single best game ever invented.

The players (of whom I am one) vary greatly in their levels of coolness. Some (like myself:rolleyes:) are cooler, wearing suit jackets or something semi-styish to the table along with taking a generally more bit of pride in ourselves; we also keep ourselves to ourselves and show little to no emotion and do NOT call other players derogatory terms... We have read all the books, know all the moves, but generally tend to be less flashy and brash in our use of ''moves''.

Then we come to the group I have dubbed ''The Poker Brats'': the know-it-alls, the insufferable f*cks you will find at every poker event around the world. Typically, they have read every poker book known to man, wear hooded tops, listen to iPod/MP3 at the table, wear shades and baseball cap, are loud brash and aggressive, commentate upon every play, believe they are far better than everyone else and state as much, treat other players with disdain and generally make me want to throttle the living shíte out of all of them.

Beware, there are poker players who are cool and act such; there are poker players who are assholes and act such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

They are all freaks and very weird dudes imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Coolness is being able to walk into a room wearing a pair of trousers that show off your hips and a shirt that is just the right tightness to be able to show off your toned masculine chest. Coolness isn't fat pants. Isn't wearing hawaiann shirts in an attempt to cover up your pudginess by trying to be zany. It definitely isn't having four doughnuts when one would suffice.

http://www.pokerforall.org/images/articles/patrik-antonius.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭fatguy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

wudangclan wrote: »
    shannon elizabeth,jennifer tilly,jennifer leigh........

None of these people play in Dundalk or Drogheda

just some aul chinese ones and some fat women p!ssed coming in from serving in the chiper..........nuff said

Yeah, Rich Poker players in the USA are pretty cool compared to other people but generally I use the rule that rich people all over...they can afford to look cool.

How many "cool" regular poker players have had sex this year?
    That doesn't include using your winnings to get a hooker

You'd spend time with your gf if you had one......it's a bullsh!t lifestyle for 99% of people.

Here's the glamour of it all baby!

http://www.celticpokertour.com/Uploads/Userfiles/Images/Gallery_tum_273/CL1410.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Kalashnikov_Kid

DazMarz wrote: »
    Then we come to the group I have dubbed ''The Poker Brats'': the know-it-alls, the insufferable f*cks you will find at every poker event around the world. Typically, they have read every poker book known to man, wear hooded tops, listen to iPod/MP3 at the table, wear shades and baseball cap, are loud brash and aggressive, commentate upon every play, believe they are far better than everyone else and state as much, treat other players with disdain and generally make me want to throttle the living shíte out of all of them.

Ah yeh I know the type alright - but it's good fun when you slowplay and stack them!

I find this type seem to be pretty common around the Guildford scene - maybe it's a general theme among the studenty or more 'educated' type of player - makes them all the more predictable and profitable in the long run ;)

Ah yeh I know the type alright - but it's good fun when you slowplay and stack them!

I find this type seem to be pretty common around the Guildford scene - maybe it's a general theme among the studenty or more 'educated' type of player - makes them all the more predictable and profitable in the long run ;)

Love the 5 flag banner thing Kalashnikov_Kid.....I don't think you should have Scotland and Wales on it though as they didn't use an armed struggle in recent years....if that's not the point then maybe you should put Galicia and Catalonia on it as they are areas that could be said to be looking for independence too.....but you probably knew that already.

Not so much to do with armed struggle but more to do with support for Nationalist ideals...and yes there are more than 5 nations in the world who have such notions.

We'll leave it for another time another place but the Basque Country has never been a nation, most of the people in the Basque Country by a long shot want to remain with Spain and what is a Basque person to you? Religion is the same, and even people of "Spanish" decent will be speaking Basque in the schools.

Totally different situation to ours. Just think it's a nice band wagon flag for soccer supporters in Croke Park.

We'll leave it for another time another place but the Basque Country has never been a nation, most of the people in the Basque Country by a long shot want to remain with Spain and what is a Basque person to you? Religion is the same, and even people of "Spanish" decent will be speaking Basque in the schools.

Basque language and culture outdates that of the Spanish. So I don't see why they shouldn't be considered a nation if people want to. Anyway, the definition of nationhood has always been fairy lucid. It certainly can't just be pinpointed to religion exclusively.
    Totally different situation to ours. Just think it's a nice band wagon flag for soccer supporters in Croke Park.

I'm not an avid soccer fan if that's what you're suggesting. But seeing that you have mentioned it - ever considered why the Spanish soccer team have been perennial underachievers? It might have something to do with people having more pride in their regional indigenous identity ala the Basques and Catalans. Anyway I'm gonna end this bar-room spat by going to bed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Basque language and culture outdates that of the Spanish. So I don't see why they shouldn't be considered a nation if people want to. Anyway, the definition of nationhood has always been fairy lucid. It certainly can't just be pinpointed to religion exclusively.

I'm not an avid soccer fan if that's what you're suggesting. But seeing that you have mentioned it - ever considered why the Spanish soccer team have been perennial underachievers? It might have something to do with people having more pride in their regional indigenous identity ala the Basques and Catalans. Anyway I'm gonna end this bar-room spat by going to bed...

Poker, poker, poker his/her face! :confused: