Are poker players the coolest people in the world?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

wudangclan wrote: »
    shannon elizabeth,jennifer tilly,jennifer leigh........

Vicky Coren.
    Why are most female poker players hot?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭wudangclan

tech77 wrote: »
    Vicky Coren.
    Why are most female poker players hot?

extra tool in their arsenal?
    jennifer tilly can be very distracting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭elshambo

Random selection of poker players
    3c34b6b5e442fc22

Effect if one of said selection happens to run good for a few months
    fddbe175f5dbb350

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

I would have to say yes, I can think of nothing cooler than risking bustoness on a random selection of cards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Slash/ED wrote: »
    I would have to say yes, I can think of nothing cooler than risking bustoness on a random selection of cards
    lol, cos that's what it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

I used to play poker and I won more than I lost, not an awful lot but I didn't lose.

Liar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭j10spades

would have to say there's more skill/coolness in craps..LOLpokerz

get a read on the table, pick your spots don't burst them, never slowroll always fastroll

j10spades wrote: »

get a read on the table, pick your spots, never slowroll always fastroll

jellyroll?

zuutroy wrote: »

Yeah but how much did he lose?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,963 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

lol at the poker forum regulars coming into this thread and attempting to portray poker as a game of skill! Never saw such ridiculousness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,533 ✭✭✭SV

Yeah but how much did he lose?
    Not much by the looks of things.

I love how everyone who doesn't play these games always assumes that everyone who does loses huge amounts of money.

jellyroll?

why not only had a brekkie roll

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    lol at the poker forum regulars coming into this thread and attempting to portray poker as a game of skill! Never saw such ridiculousness.

there is no skill.. LOLoments at the theory and HH section

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

fatguy wrote: »
    You know what's not cool? Talking about yourself in the third person.
    Listen up fatso and listen up good. Coolness is not measured by grammatical semantics. Coolness is being able to walk into a room wearing a pair of trousers that show off your hips and a shirt that is just the right tightness to be able to show off your toned masculine chest. Coolness isn't fat pants. Isn't wearing hawaiann shirts in an attempt to cover up your pudginess by trying to be zany. It definitely isn't having four doughnuts when one would suffice.

Pighead finds it very hard to believe you're a poker player fatguy. Just because you have a deck of cards doesn't mean you're the real deal. Maybe you're a wizard at "House" or "Old Maid" but not poker. You're like the guy who walks into a pool hall with his own cue but turns out to be rubbish. You're a false messiah fatguy. Not the real deal. A bad cover version. Not cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

extra tool in their arsenal?
    jennifer tilly can be very distracting.

Yeah, makes sense alright.

tech77 wrote: »
    Yeah, makes sense alright.

here's some evidence

http://www.pokerpimp.com/images/jennifer-tilly-poker.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Nothing cooler than p;playing poker and doing the tricks with the chips, ye put the fear of god in them so ya do, gonna put em el busto and thy know it. CY@~~~ in the BBV you say to yourself and continue with your chip shuffling

nicnicnic wrote: »
    Not nearly "nuf said" nicnic. Pighead needs a password and username. PM it if you don't want the masses knowing your business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭c0rk3r

Didn't Bernard Dunne knock that guy out of some poker tournament :D

Sure the top 2-5% of players who hoover up everyone elses chips are cool but the other 95% of players are losers. The pictures with millions of dollars are from thousands of players who payed maybe €5000-10000 for entry then lost.

I find the game boring and tedious. Fun with friends drinking and shooting the **** but a career... no. Too cut throat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Pighead wrote: »
    Not nearly "nuf said" nicnic. Pighead needs a password and username. PM it if you don't want the masses knowing your business.

this

http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/6229/55711033107263460651000.jpg

end of thread imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

j10spades wrote: »
    there is no skill.. LOLoments at the theory and HH section

I don't know if you're messing based on your username and I'm not big into poker at all myself, but you cannot say there is no skill in the game.

If you were to play a professional poker player, you'd lose 9/10 easily.

Quoting 'Rounders' here but it rings true:

"Why do you think the same five guys make it to the final table of the World Series of Poker EVERY YEAR? What, are they the luckiest guys in Las Vegas?"

Yeah but in Rounders Matt Damon "played with the best and won" yet went busto against John Malkovich? Has to be a game of luck, no other way to defend that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,373 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

c0rk3r wrote: »
    Didn't Bernard Dunne knock that guy out of some poker tournament :D

Sure the top 2-5% of players who hoover up everyone elses chips are cool but the other 95% of players are losers. The pictures with millions of dollars are from thousands of players who payed maybe €5000-10000 for entry then lost.

I find the game boring and tedious. Fun with friends drinking and shooting the **** but a career... no. Too cut throat
    Would have to disagree with you there c0rk3r. Pighead doesn't know many poker players in the real world as most of his evenings are spent playing indoor bowls with a bunch of decrepit cabbage smelling old people. But as a keen reader of the BBV thread in the poker forum it has struck Pighead over the years that the majority of posters in there are just cool. There's no other word for it. They just have their finger on the pulse and emit a certain coolness. Even the losers!

They have a sort of fatalistic attitude that gives them the ability to shrug off defeat with a joke and a cool word (busto). And far from being down and out degenarates they're actually really really clued in! Yer man kayroo and the boy hotspur wheel out paragraphs of words that make Pighead say stuff like "right on brother" or "you go girl". Pighead very rarely uses those sentences but those lads just make it happen.

And there's a guy called Armani Jeans. Really clever bloke who knows everything about everything and who somehow managed to make Big Brotehr sound interesting during the summer just gone! No way would a non poker player be able to achieve anything as impressive as that.

The poker players are far from gambling loser degenarates. Appearances can be deceptive. The poker players are this generations version of the drunken stinkin' literary rat pack that stumbled from pub to pub around Dublin in the 40's and 50's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,698 ✭✭✭tricky D

brianmc wrote: »
    Viv?

wp :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

Yeah but in Rounders Matt Damon "played with the best and won" yet went busto against John Malkovich? Has to be a game of luck, no other way to defend that

Twas a film kid, he won in the end.

See Rocky for more details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Pighead wrote: »
    But as a keen reader of the BBV thread in the poker forum it has struck Pighead over the years that the majority of posters in there are just cool.

The BBV thread is donkaments.

Or something. :(
    And there's a guy called Armani Jeans.

Actually, it's ArmaniJeanss which is the plural of ArmaniJeans.