Pat Kenny nearly loses rag with Jack O'Connor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Good lad Pat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

Who cares when his house was built...it's where he's living at the minute that yer man was talking about.

That wouldn't be the Gorse Hill that Pat went through all that legal ****e for would it?

Same Gorse hill with an estimated value of €10,000,000?

God no, sure Pats a common man.

Go Pat! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Most of the value is in the land price though. His point about building it in 1988 is to make the point that while he would have put allot into it, he would not have spent millions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

I dabbled in crazy weight without RTE, I was crazy straight
    Patnah, I'm still spendin money from eighty-eight... what? Pat Kenny- Dead Presidents

Kenny is a straight up hustla!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Smyth wrote: »
    Who cares when his house was built...it's where he's living at the minute that yer man was talking about.

It was a cheap dig and fair play to Pat for calling him on it.
    That wouldn't be the Gorse Hill that Pat went through all that legal ****e for would it?

So what is that today?

Did he claim to be a man of the people during the interview?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I used to dislike him on the Late Late, he wasn't very good.

This new show suits him though, he really knows his stuff. Well done Pat for showing the union boss the line.

Someone has to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

IvySlayer wrote: »
    I used to dislike him on the Late Late, he wasn't very good.

This new show suits him though, he really knows his stuff. Well done Pat for showing the union boss the line.

Someone has to.

Pat's the perfect representative of the saying

'Do something you love and you'll never work a day in your life."

He hated interviewing celebrities and the like and so was useless at it. Politics was a passion in his personal life and I think that's why he is far better at that.

Here's a prime example of a Late Late gaff. Bet there isn't a person alive who can watch this without cringing:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

Most of the value is in the land price though. His point about building it in 1988 is to make the point that while he would have put allot into it, he would not have spent millions.

That's not what he was asked though. He was asked what was considered a trophy house. Pats house - even though it didn't start that big - is that big now, and is considered a trophy house.

That was his point.
    Cheap, yes - but oh so brilliant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

His point about building it in 1988 is to make the point that while he would have put allot into it, he would not have spent millions.

Just the price of a padlock, for some of it. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Good to see him put the smack down on someone.

He slapped down this biatch too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Laughable stuff. Pat "common man" Kenny.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

That's one bold face on Mr. Kenny. I love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

What did you want him to do, piss his money up against the wall of the Stoneboat?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

He's still a land grabbing squatter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭engrish?

Never liked the man really, until recently. That fool Jack O Connor was going for a cheap shot by trying to rally the tabloid support of "ah sure would you look where yerman lives on the hill".

F*ck that, he lives on the hill, someday I hope to too.

Not right beside him though, he might steal some of my garden :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

soundsham wrote: »
    €124,000 a year says he is, me I'd rather 3 or 4 more nurses

124k would barely get you 2 nurses in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Jack O'Connor earns about 120k a year himself; I wonder what his house looks like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

Lux23 wrote: »
    Jack O'Connor earns about 120k a year himself; I wonder what his house looks like.

Something like this, but maybe with more pretty red hammer and sickle flags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 muckraker

There's been a few comments like this on the thread. Here are nurse's pay scales:

Staff Nurse 16,629 - 24,280
    Senior Staff Nurse 25,954
    Clinical Nurse Manager 25,155 - 29,912
    Clinical Instructor 25,896 - 30,453
    Assistant Director of Nursing 27,175 - 32,724

So 124k would get you 4 or 5 nurses.

It's amazing how many people are happy to give out about public sector pay when they know almost nothing about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭suitseir

TBH I am fed up of all these well paid presenters asking us mere mortals "Well how is the recession affecting YOU"! And maybe the union leader was getting a jibe in.....and mind you, those union leaders would want to look at their own salaries as well!!!!! This country is such a JOKE!!!

How dare these people, presenters and the likes, how dare they! With most of them on serious salaries, the recession doesn't even enter into their oppulent daily lives! And that goes for all the top well paid presenters on the National airwaves!

And what really gets on my goat is those so called "economists" out there, presenting programmes and writing books about the "I told you so recession" and THEY too no doubt, commanding big buks for their advice,(allegedly!) which is not worth listening to at this stage!!!! And while I am on this subject, how come it takes an HOUR to deliver the news on RTE at 6.01 each day? Its like a repeat of the hourly news on the radio during the day!!!! I switched over to BBC news last night and there is Geore Alagiah SITTING DOWN, thank God, reading the news and it is all done and dusted in less than 30 minutes. With RTE it is like a MUSICAL, they are up on their feet, then sitting down and it takes two of them to repeat the same thing heard during the day? For GOD'S SAKE, if we are in the age of cut-backs, what are they like? I read recently that it costs over €4m to run RTE is this true?.......dear GOD!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

But it would get you some nice nursing students.....:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,607 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

suitseir wrote: »
    I read recently that it costs over €4m to run RTE is this true?.......dear GOD!
    I think we can pretty safely say that RTE costs more than four million quid. You meant per year, right?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

How dare these people, presenters and the likes, how dare they!

How dare these people speak about the recession on the national airwaves? Would you rather nobody spoke about it and we all can then pretend it's not happening and move on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,513 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

muckraker wrote: »
    There's been a few comments like this on the thread. Here are nurse's pay scales:

It's amazing how many people are happy to give out about public sector pay when they know almost nothing about it.

My GF is a nurse, senior staff nurse, pediatric qualified, and is on well more than 25k. Obviously overtime would push her wages up, but I am certain her base salary ex over time is well over 25k.

I would also point out though, pension and union payments do take a hefty toll each month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

TBH I am fed up of all these well paid presenters asking us mere mortals "Well how is the recession affecting YOU"! And maybe the union leader was getting a jibe in.....and mind you, those union leaders would want to look at their own salaries as well!!!!! This country is such a JOKE!!!

How dare these people, presenters and the likes, how dare they! With most of them on serious salaries, the recession doesn't even enter into their oppulent daily lives! And that goes for all the top well paid presenters on the National airwaves!

It's a current affairs show. The recession is a current affair. Would you prefer a "1984" style current affairs show? "Good news everyone, the price of chocolate dropped 2c again this month".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

muckraker wrote: »

Where did you get these figures? 1993?

The current salary scales are here:

http://www.ino.ie/DesktopModules/Articles/ArticlesView.aspx?TabID=35&ItemID=3625&mid=6977

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Stark wrote: »

http://www.ino.ie/DesktopModules/Articles/ArticlesView.aspx?TabID=35&ItemID=3625&mid=6977

LOL:

Thank you google.

http://working.monster.ie/articles/salaries/

What should have really set alarm bells ringing was that fact that the figures were quoted in IRISH POUNDS :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Stark wrote: »

Wish I could thank that more than once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

It's always amazing how trade union support and jealousy go hand in hand.