Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pat Kenny nearly loses rag with Jack O'Connor

• 02-11-2009 11:07pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

lol, anyone just see that. An "ooooh" moment. Pat Kenny had a go at that Jack O'Connor union guy when he described Pat Kenny's house as a "trophy" house.

Pat Kenny: "I built my house in 1988 - I don't want this crap thrown at me..." - Jack O'Connor appoligises for "offence caused".

Jack O'Connor is coming across as a bumbling fool really though. "Trophy houses" - ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

darkman2 wrote: »
    Pat Kenny: "I built my house in 1986 - I don't want this crap thrown at me..."

Poor Pat ....I guess if you've seen one recession, you've seen them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

I'm loving this. Very entertaining. Brightened up my day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I'm sure he knows the year- I mean adverse possession and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Ajfunky

How can this man be the voice of so many..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Should Pat ponder to the Slacker Sponsor Unions because he built his house at a good opportune time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

pat said crap on tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

yeah, it woke the program up a bit. It's all quite dry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

I'm liking Pat a lot more since he no longer has to play nice, after he left the Late Late Show.

Good to see him put the smack down on someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Ajfunky wrote: »
    How can this man be the voice of so many..
    €124,000 a year says he is, me I'd rather 3 or 4 more nurses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭uriah

soundsham wrote: »

How many nurses would you get for pat kenny's salary?

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

his wife is a nice trophy alright. his best acheivement... EVER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Jack O'Connor did overstep the line though, and took it personal with Pat. It was a good segment though, Jack got hammered, was talking out of his arse for the most of the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭Kirnsy

his wife is a nice trophy alright. his best acheivement... EVER

i swear to god ive read this comment about his trophy wife before!

severe deja vu!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

or one more SIPTU president

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Banter Joe

Nearly loses rag. Pat Kenny said crap on tv. That rag's long gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

€31K, Junior trainee Nurses???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Would the owner of the Sky+ box registration 09-D-Rewind, please upload said video to Youtube as it is causing an obstruction thank you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

netwhizkid wrote: »
    Would the owner of the Sky+ box registration 09-D-Rewind, please upload said video to Youtube as it is causing an obstruction thank you.

FYP :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Pat Kenny is the man.

All of you naysayers might call him a lifeless shell of a man, but how come you're not original enough to call him anything other than a "plank?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

That Jack fella was on vincent brown a few weeks ago and I was waiting for Vincent to go to town on him but no, nice as pie. Pat was having none of his crap though. Unusual for RTE I have to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭segaBOY

Even though Pat is still seriously overpaid he still took a voluntary long before those two muppets Gerry Ryan and Ryan Tubridy were forced to.

Says a lot about him, seems to have some economic understanding hence him not letting Jack O' Conner get off the hook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Was a fairly pathetic comment to make. Sounded very begrudging and petty which did his argument no favours at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

Pat Kenny is the man.

All of you naysayers might call him a lifeless shell of a man, but how come you're not original enough to call him anything other than a "plank?"
    They are calling him something other than a "plank", they're calling him a lifeless shell of a man.

Pygmalion wrote: »
    They are calling him something other than a "plank", they're calling him a lifeless shell of a man.

I'm pretty sure they're calling him a "plank" too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

He walked into that one really.
    Who could have resisted such a smart-arsed answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭Pygmalion

I'm pretty sure they're calling him a "plank" too.
    Yes but your post said they weren't original enough to call him anything else, I counted 2 insults.

Pygmalion wrote: »
    Yes but your post said they weren't original enough to call him anything else, I counted 2 insults.

Okay then, you concede. I still think he's the man though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I don't know how, but can someone take a screenshot of Pat's face in the last second?

It precisely the reason I <3 the new Pat Kenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Ajfunky

TheZohan wrote: »

Ha, the look at the end from pat is priceless :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Good lad Pat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

Who cares when his house was built...it's where he's living at the minute that yer man was talking about.

That wouldn't be the Gorse Hill that Pat went through all that legal ****e for would it?

Same Gorse hill with an estimated value of €10,000,000?

God no, sure Pats a common man.

Go Pat! :rolleyes:

Most of the value is in the land price though. His point about building it in 1988 is to make the point that while he would have put allot into it, he would not have spent millions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

I dabbled in crazy weight without RTE, I was crazy straight
    Patnah, I'm still spendin money from eighty-eight... what? Pat Kenny- Dead Presidents

Kenny is a straight up hustla!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

Smyth wrote: »
    Who cares when his house was built...it's where he's living at the minute that yer man was talking about.

It was a cheap dig and fair play to Pat for calling him on it.
    That wouldn't be the Gorse Hill that Pat went through all that legal ****e for would it?

So what is that today?

Did he claim to be a man of the people during the interview?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I used to dislike him on the Late Late, he wasn't very good.

This new show suits him though, he really knows his stuff. Well done Pat for showing the union boss the line.

Someone has to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

IvySlayer wrote: »
    I used to dislike him on the Late Late, he wasn't very good.

This new show suits him though, he really knows his stuff. Well done Pat for showing the union boss the line.

Someone has to.

Pat's the perfect representative of the saying

'Do something you love and you'll never work a day in your life."

He hated interviewing celebrities and the like and so was useless at it. Politics was a passion in his personal life and I think that's why he is far better at that.

Here's a prime example of a Late Late gaff. Bet there isn't a person alive who can watch this without cringing:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭Smyth

Most of the value is in the land price though. His point about building it in 1988 is to make the point that while he would have put allot into it, he would not have spent millions.

That's not what he was asked though. He was asked what was considered a trophy house. Pats house - even though it didn't start that big - is that big now, and is considered a trophy house.

That was his point.
    Cheap, yes - but oh so brilliant.

His point about building it in 1988 is to make the point that while he would have put allot into it, he would not have spent millions.

Just the price of a padlock, for some of it. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Good to see him put the smack down on someone.

He slapped down this biatch too :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Laughable stuff. Pat "common man" Kenny.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

That's one bold face on Mr. Kenny. I love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Go Pat! :rolleyes:

What did you want him to do, piss his money up against the wall of the Stoneboat?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

He's still a land grabbing squatter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 911 ✭✭✭engrish?

Never liked the man really, until recently. That fool Jack O Connor was going for a cheap shot by trying to rally the tabloid support of "ah sure would you look where yerman lives on the hill".

F*ck that, he lives on the hill, someday I hope to too.

Not right beside him though, he might steal some of my garden :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

124k would barely get you 2 nurses in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Jack O'Connor earns about 120k a year himself; I wonder what his house looks like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

Lux23 wrote: »
    Jack O'Connor earns about 120k a year himself; I wonder what his house looks like.

Something like this, but maybe with more pretty red hammer and sickle flags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 muckraker

124k would barely get you 2 nurses in this country.

There's been a few comments like this on the thread. Here are nurse's pay scales:

Staff Nurse 16,629 - 24,280
    Senior Staff Nurse 25,954
    Clinical Nurse Manager 25,155 - 29,912
    Clinical Instructor 25,896 - 30,453
    Assistant Director of Nursing 27,175 - 32,724

So 124k would get you 4 or 5 nurses.

It's amazing how many people are happy to give out about public sector pay when they know almost nothing about it.