What is the most scared you have ever been?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

We were on a family holiday to Disney World when i was 8, my father had warned me a couple of times to never wander off. We walked in the main gates and there's a main street leading into the distance with shops and restaurants. Of course i stopped to look at something in the window of the first shop, then turned around and couldn't see my family, just a mass of people, i just panicked and ran in the direction we were walking, i probably ran a good 200 yr up the street and still couldn't see them, i was frighten ****less, pure panic, tears were rolling down my face but then i seen my sister running towards me. My whole family had stopped to look at the same shop window, but i didn't see them, they were just standing there, then they seen me run like mad up the street. It was funny afterwards but not at the time.

I was 16 and it was my second day working as a waiter in a restaurant, this lady starts choking on a piece of meat, she continued choking for a good 30 seconds then her family started to panic and started shouting at me to help. I'd seen people do the Heimlich maneuver on TV so i figured i better try it, i gave her 3 good hard pulls and it wasn't helping, then i started to panic, the next pull i literally put every ounce of my strength into it, thank god it dislodged the stuck food. I made sure she was alright then i had to sit down myself from the shock. I've since learned how to do it properly:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

I think the most scared I have been was seeing a guy getting hit by a rally car at 140 mph. I was scared as I knew my parents would have been panicking and we couldent get through to them on the phone for awhile. The panic right after it happened was wierd.

It was a fecking surreal moment,time actually seemed to slow down and it went quiet. Knew as soon as the car hit him he was dead.

Another thing I cant stand is tight spaces.When I see footage of the Vietcong tunnels in Vietnam,and the American Soldiers going in head first into them I can even watch. I would freak in them tunnels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

guy getting hit by a rally car at 140 mph.

Knew as soon as the car hit him he was dead.

Sherlock Holmes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I've had moments of course where I've been scared to bits but the one that hit home was when I destroyed my hand climbing over a fence that was 8ft.

Went to hospital and all the doctors and nurses told me that I was going to lose 2 fingers because of nerve damage.

They stitched my hand back up to which I went to another hospital where they told me my hand was poorly put back together and that I might lose my 2 fingers (Again) More surgery ensued.

Less than a few weeks later I was told I had 2 dodgy moles on my back which, according to professional opinion and my parents (who worked in the medical profession) told me I was looking at a bad form of melonoma.

Bad couple months that almost destroyed me. :(

I'm alive and well now but I have a very low opinion of anyone questioning their existence for the sake of popularity or basically anything else. Cliched, yes, but you have 1 life. Make goddamn sure you earn it. I wouldn't wish what I went through on anyone but somehow I'm glad I did because I feel like peronally a better person about life.

Miserable post, sorry:

http://ihasahotdog.files.wordpress.com/2008/03/cute-puppy-pictures-sorry-eyes.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

donmeister wrote: »
    another time falling off a banana boat about 1 mile out in seas and my life jacket falling off, luckily I grabbed it before it floated away and I sank into the abyss....I think I poo'd my pants abit at the time.

Made me think of what Michelle says in this clip to Al Pacino :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hTXixkO47r8

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 PrideInBattle

Things are vicious!

Hehe lol you ain't kidding :eek:.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YA58sS3x2Oo

It nearly killed me, it was horrific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 PrideInBattle

The time I had a bad trip on acid, without a doubt.

What was it like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,032 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

My job before used to involve me working in middle east and in some fairly dodge countries.

Never really been scared but I do remember the time I was in country where two bomb blasts went of about two streets away and killing 42 people in total.

That scared life out of me. I was also in India for the Mumbai terror attacks last November think over 170 people were killed and more then 400 wounded that was bloody mayhem.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,104 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Without a shadow of a doubt it was seeing the heart rate on the monitor on my baby gradually slowing before stopping in the middle of her birth. I'm glad to say she is ok but I will never ever forget how scared I was. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Probably the time my brother went missing when he was five.
    I found him on the road next to my house, he'd fallen off the wall and knocked himself out.
    :(

I was also pretty scared when I woke up in the middle of the night, when I'd just moved back to Dublin, to hear someone hammering on the door of my apartment.
    Noise went on for ages, seriously thought someone was trying to break in. The noise eventually stopped, after I'd barricaded myself into my room.
    Discovered later it was just some weirdo who lived in another apartment block, inviting me to one of his parties. Obviously, 5am was an ideal time to come over an invite me! :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

I think the most scared I have been was seeing a guy getting hit by a rally car at 140 mph. I was scared as I knew my parents would have been panicking and we couldent get through to them on the phone for awhile. The panic right after it happened was wierd.

It was a fecking surreal moment,time actually seemed to slow down and it went quiet. Knew as soon as the car hit him he was dead.
    Was that during the Donegal International last year ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Losing a bet, I had to walk From Ardoyne to the Falls through the middle of Shankhill and Crumlin, both heavily protestant areas in a Feckin' Celtic Jersey and Celtic trackies. Was a pretty ****in scary walk.

RMD wrote: »
    Losing a bet, I had to walk From Ardoyne to the Falls through the middle of Shankhill and Crumlin, both heavily protestant areas in a Feckin' Celtic Jersey and Celtic trackies. Was a pretty ****in scary walk.

:eek: What sort of bet was it exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

You could have taken it off and hidden it in your trousers!!
    Just a hint if ever it happens again:p

My job before used to involve me working in middle east
    I do remember the time I was in country where two bomb blasts went of
    I was also in India for the Mumbai terror attacks last November

*Cop voice*
    Where were you on the days/nights in question hmmmmmmm need an alibi son!:eek:

ToniTuddle wrote: »
    Just a hint if ever it happens again:p

It's a bit silly that things like that happen in the first place, to be honest.

I know it's all in the name of a joke, but it's risky. Provoking people like that is just asking for trouble and you could find yourself in a potentially dangerous situation.

Obviously, people are free to do as they please, but be aware that your actions will have consequences, whether you like it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

:eek: What sort of bet was it exactly?
    An unbelieveably stupid one

It's a bit silly that things like that happen in the first place, to be honest.

I know it's all in the name of a joke, but it's risky. Provoking people like that is just asking for trouble and you could find yourself in a potentially dangerous situation.

Obviously, people are free to do as they please, but be aware that your actions will have consequences, whether you like it or not.

I told him to take off his Celtic top and hide it...not go around wearing it!
    He would stand a better chance if he was simply half naked...they would think he was drunk. If they saw him wearing the Celtic top...Bye Bye kneecaps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,104 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

Smells of bullsh!t to me - bet like that has to have had pics. Prove me wrong :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

netwhizkid wrote: »
    One of the biggest frights I even got was on the NY subway (shortly after the madrid attacks), alot of people were on edge as there had been something on the news about a possible terror attack.

Anyways this arab looking fellow came into the car I was on and then loudly announced "Ladies and Gentlemen, I want your attention", he was was wearing a long coat and strapped all along inside the coat were bars of chocolate, I had my eye on him as he came into the car and as soon as he opened the coat and I saw the chocolate my brain had no time to react only bang I was ontop of him in a classic rugby tackle, I was in such a rage I almost knocked him unconscious and had hit him once or twice into the face in sheer fight or flight mode.

An ex detective who was a passenger on the train helped me restrain him, when we got to the next stop after 2 or 3 mins myself and the detective took him off the train and he was going mental about racism and civil liberties. It turns out he was trying to sell candy bars for some kids baseball team but when he opened that coat my brain saw dynamite and not chocolate and kicked into action. The NYPD thanked me and the detective, and your man wanted assault charges to be filed against me, the cops escorted him out of the Subway and told him he could be charged for selling on the subway without a licence.

I got a fright that day but I am sure he got a bigger fright, having the people in the subway carriage applauding us for catching a "terrorist" was cool though.

You're a hero!
    Oh wait, you're not. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,838 ✭✭✭midlandsmissus

In my last job it was my responibility to lock up the place, so I was always the last one to leave.
    One night I decided to stay late and do a bit of work. I was sitting at a computer, on one of those swivel chairs with wheels.
    All of a sudden I felt two hands behind me yank on the chair, and my chair rolled backwards across the room with great force.
    There was no-one around.
    I had to go through three rooms and unlock each one on the way out to get out. It felt like the longest time of my life, fumbling with each lock in my haste. I was so scared. Never stayed in that room on my own again.

I told him to take off his Celtic top and hide it...not go around wearing it!
    He would stand a better chance if he was simply half naked...they would think he was drunk. If they saw him wearing the Celtic top...Bye Bye kneecaps.

I know! I was just making the point that it shouldn't really have happened in the first place.

Sectarian violence is a serious problem in this country and actively provoking people about it isn't funny or wise.

Like I said, people are free to do as they please, but be warned that actions have consequences and you can land yourself in serious trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,032 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

My job before used to involve me working in middle east
    I do remember the time I was in country where two bomb blasts went of
    I was also in India for the Mumbai terror attacks last November

*Cop voice*
    Where were you on the days/nights in question hmmmmmmm need an alibi son!:eek:

lol

aaaa let me see I was aaaa hmmmm watching TV;)

EVENFLOW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

mine was one which was entirely my own fault, and partly down to my over-active imagination.

i was working in a psychiatric day hospital, and my last appointment of the day ran overtime. the other staff called me out of my office to say they were leaving, if i was ok with that. the patient i had in at teh time was someone i had known for a while and i didnt think he posed any threat to me, so i told the others to head off.

the patient wouldnt have overheard that conversation.

after teh others had left, out of teh blue, he started telling me that he fancied me, and that he had "erotic" dreams about me. one very uncomfortable conversation followed.

he left a while later, and a min or so after he left my office, i went out and locked teh front door of teh building, locking myself in. i had paperwork to finish off, and didnt want to be alone in an unlocked building.

what i didnt know was that this guy had gone into the loo, not out of teh building as i had thought. when he found teh front door locked, he came back into my office, without knocking, so i looked up to see him standing in my doorway smiling at me.
    having thought i was alone in teh building, i was totally freaked out, thought he must have deliberately hidden and was now going to attack me.

it was a gut-chilling few seconds (which seemed like hours) until he said "could you unlock the front door please".

oddly, i've been assaulted by patients many times, but that one incident scared me more than any actual assault i suffered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭stripysocks85

When I thought I'd ran outta Shredded Wheat.......I didn't. It was all okay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭neil_18_

DanHendrix wrote: »
    I had a panic attack a few months back for the first time... Thought I was going to drop dead of a heart attack.. Since that day i cant get it out of my head.. Im in fear of my heart just stopping at any moment...:(

Had my first one about 3 weeks ago! And to make it worse earier that week i had been to the doc with chest pains! Seriously panicked when my throat was closing and all that!
    And ye i cant stop thinking about it! always in the back of my mind! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

My scariest moments have always involved other people.

Thinking we were going to lose my brother 6 years ago. I was away that weekend, the one weekend I was away that year probably and I think it was for a reason, he collapsed, had a really bad epileptic fit and stopped breathing. If I was there I think I would have panicked and been no help to my parents. We live in the middle of nowhere so my Dad had to drive a mile to meet the ambulance. He rang me while he was waiting for the ambulance to come home, thinking he was dead. Fcuking hell I'll never forget that journey home from Dublin to Cork as long as I live. It took me hours to get back in touch with them. Thank God he pulled through and is fine now but I still feel sick when I think about it. My Dad really shouldn't have phoned me at that moment but he obviously wasn't thinking straight.

Playing with my little nephew, think he was about 5 at the time and he tripped and knocked his head off a door. Was out cold for what seemed like forever, lips went blue and everything. Frightened the shit out of me. He had a habit of fainting when he was younger when he got upset, he'd stop breathing when he was crying and collapse. He's stopped now but Jesus that little brat has given me some frights!

My Dad choking on food after laughing. My mother being old school thought hitting his back would help and me being the age of ER etc gave the heinrich maneuver a go and it worked.

My boyfriend getting mugged in Dublin last year while I was in Cork. He was drunk and didn't know where he was (gobshite) and while he was talking to me on the phone I could hear him stumbling and was trying to find out where he was. Next thing I hear is some arguing and a bang and the phone went dead. I had to wait six long hours for him to find his way home, collapse in to bed and finally ring me when he woke up. He had been mugged and had a black eye for his troubles. He got the bollocking of a life time and hasn't been that drunk since. At least he got the wake up call he needed but it wasn't much fun for me obviously! Idiot.

Things that happen to me haven't really scared me at all, it's always other people that scare the bejeesus out of me if something happens to them. My family are sending me to an early grave! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

neil_18_ wrote: »
    Had my first one about 3 weeks ago! And to make it worse earier that week i had been to the doc with chest pains! Seriously panicked when my throat was closing and all that!
    And ye i cant stop thinking about it! always in the back of my mind! :(

That sounds awful :( Did it just come on out of nowhere?

lol

aaaa let me see I was aaaa hmmmm watching TV;)

A likely story :p
    But I'll believe ye this time
    :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭marko91

in june in ayia napa we rented out a quad and 1 day i was just driving all around the place for the fun and near the beach besde a building site i was flying along this sideroad and all i notice a bit ahead of me was this HUGE black snake on the middle of the road, the noise of the quad must of scared it cos it wiggled like fcuk across the road into the long grass..it musta been at leist 8 foot long...i tell ya i had to stop the quad for a minute to get myself back together:pac:doesnt seem scary now but at he time i nearly died with shock.