Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kipping Pull Ups

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Okay, some good info on that forum, but I've seen the forum answers before and while some of the guys seem quite knowledgable, they're not verifiable.

The example in that link about kips being 54% more powerful is something like what I'm looking for. However I don't think the science behind that adds up. They're using the simple Power formula Power=work/time which is fine for you and I to use as a general rule of thumb, but it's not the formula for time that a scientician would use.

Secondly, there's an added value in the equation which is the momentum generated by the swinging action which requires little force from the person to get it going, and from the the Second Law we know that every pull up generates momentum for the next one. I have no idea what this would add to the pull but I would guess it to be significant.

All of this would be very easily assessed. All you would need is an accelerometer, a group of athletes who could both kip and do strict pull ups, a heart rate monitor to test the actual training effect, and some boffins well versed in physics and biology.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭cmyk

Well the article seems to suggest that's it's based more so around the speed of the movement in comparison to a strict pullup with the exception of one poster.

It also throws something else up I've been wondering for a while. How are the WOD RX'd? I feel like I'm somewhat cheating when I scale a workout.

Surely taking in comparison two people at different weights with similar levels of fitness, the person at the heavier weight will find it easier...and therefore quicker to move that amount of weight? Are the bodyweight WOD's more comparable?

For an example I'll use Hanley's fran the other week, without going back on the post I think he said he is around the 95-100kg mark, I'm 78kg and my regular lifts would be significantly lower, does that not mean he already has an advantage? So if fran was RX'd at thrusters of %bodyweight not be a fairer test? Apologies for dragging off topic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

cmyk wrote: »
    Well the article seems to suggest that's it's based more so around the speed of the movement in comparison to a strict pullup with the exception of one poster.

It also throws something else up I've been wondering for a while. How are the WOD RX'd? I feel like I'm somewhat cheating when I scale a workout.

Surely taking in comparison two people at different weights with similar levels of fitness, the person at the heavier weight will find it easier...and therefore quicker to move that amount of weight? Are the bodyweight WOD's more comparable?

For an example I'll use Hanley's fran the other week, without going back on the post I think he said he is around the 95-100kg mark, I'm 78kg and my regular lifts would be significantly lower, does that not mean he already has an advantage? So if fran was RX'd at thrusters of %bodyweight not be a fairer test? Apologies for dragging off topic.

yeah, but I'm pulling much more weight on the pull ups. And what about the WODs thar involve running etc, and the more long distance ones? The heavier guy doesn't Get to scale down the run distance like.

That kinda attitude annoys me (not giving out) cos tbh trying to move thru CF workouts at 100kg is REALLY ****ing tough, the one advantage you have is your strength and then ppl wanna take it away and handicap you even further!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 859 ✭✭✭BobbyOLeary

This is where focusing on one particular CF workout brings about problems. I reckon Hanley does have an advantage over most of us at Fran but something like Annie

50-40-30-20-10

Double Unders
    Sit-ups

he's going to have a much harder time than me. Similarly stuff involving high rep muscle ups (30 Muscle ups for time or Jason) he's going to have a harder time at than me. It balances out in the end really. Glassman described it in a journal article a while back something like this:

"The big guys struggle with the bodyweight stuff while the light guys struggle with the weight, and the guys in the middle are struggling with both."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,394 ✭✭✭Transform

totally agree - it balances out in the end and really its best to be rounded at most things which shows through in competitions where the overall winner might not win say all 8 events but places well in all.

Which is what almost all sports are like e.g. tennis, you are going to have the big hitters and then you have the grinders with great footwork but not total power/strength guys. Take andrew murray - too skinny at first to be a top player and in one year, bang 1-2 stone heavier and can compete with the best.

IMO The guy/girl in the middle generally is the best overall athlete however you are going to have the total surprise packages of guys/girls that go against the trend.

This is where focusing on one particular CF workout brings about problems. I reckon Hanley does have an advantage over most of us at Fran but something like Annie

50-40-30-20-10

Double Unders
    Sit-ups

he's going to have a much harder time than me. Similarly stuff involving high rep muscle ups (30 Muscle ups for time or Jason) he's going to have a harder time at than me. It balances out in the end really. Glassman described it in a journal article a while back something like this:

"The big guys struggle with the bodyweight stuff while the light guys struggle with the weight, and the guys in the middle are struggling with both."

Yah exactly... Like I can hold my own, and do quite well in the sub 10 minute weighted workouts, hell even my Cindy score is ok (19 rounds + pull ups last time I checked 2-3 months ago), but anything over that sorta time period gets very hard very quickly. Like I dread the thought of the chipper workout that's probably gonna be part of the next invitational cos I know I'm dead on it, same with Murph, that was HORRIBLE because I'm so heavy. Same with burpees (aka the worst exercise ever)

and i would be the opposite - love the longer ones yet do not hate the shorter ones i just get on with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭d'Oracle

Roper wrote: »
    Okay, some good info on that forum, but I've seen the forum answers before and while some of the guys seem quite knowledgable, they're not verifiable.

The example in that link about kips being 54% more powerful is something like what I'm looking for. However I don't think the science behind that adds up. They're using the simple Power formula Power=work/time which is fine for you and I to use as a general rule of thumb, but it's not the formula for time that a scientician would use.

Secondly, there's an added value in the equation which is the momentum generated by the swinging action which requires little force from the person to get it going, and from the the Second Law we know that every pull up generates momentum for the next one. I have no idea what this would add to the pull but I would guess it to be significant.

All of this would be very easily assessed. All you would need is an accelerometer, a group of athletes who could both kip and do strict pull ups, a heart rate monitor to test the actual training effect, and some boffins well versed in physics and biology.

With my engineers hat on.
    I am also skeptical of Couches definition of Power with regard to the kip.

It makes the assumption that the movement can be approximated to a single object, moving through a one dimensional plane which could be applied to a strict pullup but not the kipping pullup.

Using work as a parameter falls over cos the kipping pullup is a complex movement, involving horizontal forces and torques which will have a net work of zero in terms of the vertical motion.

If you describe power as P = F.v, then its also a big approximation that could be valid for the strict but not the kip.

The only way you could establish the work done or the overall power in the movement, is to assess the rotational work output in the swing, the push away at the top of the swing and the vertical pull at the top of the swing. Then you would have to assign force components to these.
    Then you would need to assign a force component to the momentum which is transferred in the swing.

This makes me think that the newtonian method (I.e. F=ma, W=F/t) would be fairly useless in analysis of the energy system that is the kipping pullup.

It also makes me think that they may be overstating the effect that the higher velocity would have on any resultant vertical output. That is with all the assistance from pushing and swinging they may be significantly reducing the required output from the body.

Finally, It thinking about it makes me think its a very different exercise to the strict, so it seems pretty dumb comparing the two.

d'Oracle wrote: »
    With my engineers hat on.
    I am also skeptical of Couches definition of Power with regard to the kip.

Tbh, every time something is "defined" by Crossfit, it's done in a way to make Crossfit appear better than other ways of training. Take their definition of fitness like... I don't even bother paying attention to it anymore, just take it for what it is!!
    Finally, It thinking about it makes me think its a very different exercise to the strict, so it seems pretty dumb comparing the two.

It's pretty much 100% absolutely different imo. Well, 100%'s a bit extreme, but I wouldn't the kips a muscle or strength builder at all!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

No point in ****ing about with the mechanics of this as a human body is a complicated thing when in motion and most of the mass is does not form anywhere near a rigid body. Trying to simplify this is silly too and fails to take into consideration a whole bunch of important factors. The "power" metric (force*distance/time) is far too simplified and is only useful in certain situations. I remember reading somewhere that you can get "fran" like power outputs on some resistance machines, so if that's the case why aren't CF using leg presses etc in metcons? I think they lost their way when they started defining fitness as "increased work capacity across broad time and modal domains", which could mean pretty much anything as opposed to the definition they laid out at the start (the 10 physical fitness parameters or whatever) which, whether you agree or disagree with the use of "fitness", was definite and consisted of some very definite parameters which were measurable. Now we have everyone on the cf boards ranting on about integrating the "area under the curve", rambling about how they're right because it'z teh phyzicsss and blabbing on about "graphs" and "data", it isn't doing CFHQ any favours as it adds to the dogma and seems to be driving people away. Screw analysing power and work with a simplified and inappropriate model, do it with movements. Someone who has a sub 50s 400m run a 230kg deadlift and everything in between doesn't need to integrate an imaginary graph to tell them where they are.

Regarding kipping: it will take me less time to kip 100 pullups than do 100 strict ones. Why? muscular fatigue. If I do 15 strict pullups (fairly close to my max) and 15 kipping ones there will be some time difference. If I move it to 100, the kips will win by a mile because I have to rest with the strict ones. do I get more of a CV benefit from squatting 100kgs for 5 in a minute or 60kg for 30 in a minute? Also, kipping works well for for shoulder flexibility and has some other benefits. Like everything else it's a tool and has a purpose, a different purpose to a strict pullup. Saying that one is better than another is like saying a van is better than a tree. Re: the momentum... where does it come from? it comes initially from the athlete doing work with his muscles

I think the hrm is the best idea here. I'll have a go at this next week and see what the craic is.

hmmm, I think I've probably just rambled out what everyone else said previously.

Dead Ed wrote: »
    I think the hrm is the best idea here. I'll have a go at this next week and see what the craic is.

hmmm, I think I've probably just rambled out what everyone else said previously.
    If you could do that I would be interested to see the results.

d'Oracle, that's a good post and reflects my thoughts on the matter. The only thing that I would disagree with is your contention that the Newtonian method is useless. It's all there it's just complex!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭cmyk

Hanley wrote: »
    yeah, but I'm pulling much more weight on the pull ups. And what about the WODs thar involve running etc, and the more long distance ones? The heavier guy doesn't Get to scale down the run distance like.

That kinda attitude annoys me (not giving out) cos tbh trying to move thru CF workouts at 100kg is REALLY ****ing tough, the one advantage you have is your strength and then ppl wanna take it away and handicap you even further!!

That's fair enough, I guess it's just that fran gets thrown around more than other workouts in here.

The way I look at the kipping pullup (and this may be very simplistic) is that in a nutshell all training is pushing for an improvement of some sort, be it in strength/power/skill/speed, in CF, it's normally for time/speed. I see the kipping pullup as simply a more efficient movement and therefore faster?

The only thing that I would disagree with is your contention that the Newtonian method is useless. It's all there it's just complex!

I could expand on the point, but this is hardly the place for a discussion about Newtonian vs Lagrangian analysis.

I ain't no sub atomic particle so Newton applies! :D Seriously though I'm not an engineer or a physicist so I can only speculate as to what the best method would be.

What really surprises me though is that Crossfit is probably 10-15 years old now and it seems no one has examined this. The "power" of the kip is often cited as the reason for it's inclusion in CF workouts but if there's no actual science to prove that then surely there's a chance that you're not getting what you think you're getting, either in power or the metabolic effect?

As a adendum to this, I want to say I like a lot of what Crossfit does and I particularly like Crossfit Ireland and I know they do good things there. A lot of times you ask questions on the web and people assume you're picking a fight but this is just curiosity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,388 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

A lot of pseudo science here lads.
    I would describe the vast majority of "data" I have seen on stuff like this to be pseudo science. There is an air of the emperors new clothes about many studies and "data", it is very easy to twist formulas etc into your own favour -I have done it myself many times. They begin by (mis)applying physics formulae blinding the layman reader with these unquestionable truths, sneering at people who would dare question the mighty Newton, when Newton himself is probably cringing in his grave seeing how people can get stuff so wrong.

Serious amounts of Chinese whispering and misinterpretation takes place.
    I ain't no sub atomic particle so Newton applies!
    Yes, but not in the ridiculously basic forms I have seen used. Like work= force x distance, I have seen this on many many pages trying to discuss merits of low vs high reps etc. To show the flaws of many of these things just think in extremes. Using some "formula" a guy will say a lad doing 1 rep deadift with 100kg has done the same "work" as a guy doing 1000 deadlifts with 100g.

Momentum, inertia, the changing position of the body etc will make for incredibly complex calculations. They should really be thinking what power/forces are need for a humanoid robot to perform the movement! not a simple 75kg block of concrete being moved up & down.

I would view them as quite different exercises too, you can see this from some statements,
    I am not sure what to make of the dead hang/kipped discrepancy. I bounce between the 44-51 kipped pull up range and 28-31 deadhangs. My partner in crime here at Crossfit NorCal, Nicki, has 3-4 dead hangs and 25-30 kipps.

There was mention of different, stronger muscle groups being able to be employed when kipping. I find difficulty in lowering myself quickly, if you instantly are dropping you are not getting the full effect you usually would from a slow controlled negative. They are pushing away from the bar so combining their force with gravity to get a more powerful swing. Watching videos reminds me of a kids swing, whipping your head back and legs harder to get higher.

I imagine if you could get a similar swinging bicep curl motion you could get a good rhythm going, I find I can with pushups too, dropping quickly which avoids the negative phase so I can get far more reps out by avoiding this fatigue.

rubadub wrote: »

Yes, but not in the ridiculously basic forms I have seen used. Like work= force x distance, I have seen this on many many pages trying to discuss merits of low vs high reps etc. To show the flaws of many of these things just think in extremes. Using some "formula" a guy will say a lad doing 1 rep deadift with 100kg has done the same "work" as a guy doing 1000 deadlifts with 100g.

I think Roper was joking there.
    rubadub wrote: »

I imagine if you could get a similar swinging bicep curl motion you could get a good rhythm going, I find I can with pushups too, dropping quickly which avoids the negative phase so I can get far more reps out by avoiding this fatigue.

Reminds me, I have seen guys with barbells or dumbbells doing a hip thrust action at the bottom of a bicep curl. Kipping curl?

I think Roper was joking there.
    Ah yes I know, and he already questioned it, I was just going further and showing how flawed it is. Your post said it very well.
    Reminds me, I have seen guys with barbells or dumbbells doing a hip thrust action at the bottom of a bicep curl. Kipping curl?
    You will see people dismiss "cheaters" just like kippers (never saw that written before!). But many know exactly what they are at, I would often cheat curl to get an extra negative rep in. Also since the kippers push away at the top of the bar it could be viewed as a push & pull exercise, I am not sure how forcefully they do push.

It would be nice to see empirical numbers, Transform had said he kips and it increased his 1RM chin, but if he had spent that same time doing strict ones would he be better at the 1RM chin. But of course you could improve in other areas, so there will always be debate. And it could just not work for another person in the same way.

Oh THATS what a cheat curl is.....

i really get bored after buliding up a certain movement after a while e.g. weighted chins so the kipping was just another thing to work on and i still do weighted chins.

rubadub that's nicely put.

If you read enough actual sport's science/physiology you'll note that firstly, you'll rarely see newton simply applied, and secondly that it's all either directly from or based upon studies from circa 1950-1975 and that little of any note has happened since.

Essentially that's my point, if kipping is so good/powerful, why hasn't it been integrated into every top athlete's workout?

Once again I want to state that I have no problem with it per se, just the attitude behind it. I suspect kipping is popular in CF because the workouts can be done faster with it. If so, fine.

If you read enough actual sport's science/physiology you'll note that firstly, you'll rarely see newton simply applied.
    Yes, it is usually the dodgy guy selling some system skewing formulas so his system appears 234.4% "better" - the numbers cannot lie -FACT!;) I actually find some of them amusing and enjoy reading the nonsense.

Even in proper studies there is a lot of assumption, like calories being counted as a measure of fuelling humans. Or they might correlate some other measurable output, like maybe oxygen blood levels, or heart rates etc, and then concluding "exercise A is better than B since the heart rate was higher during the exercise", as though this measure is unquestionably a direct measure/proof.

I cannot kip but I expect if you did hook up some fancy biofeedback equipment to me, and if I wanted to prove kipping is "better", then I probably could. I could easily do lacklustre pullups if I wanted to, which to the viewer might appear the same as ones where I really give my all. Then I could go all out on the kipping ones so they seem better.
    Essentially that's my point, if kipping is so good/powerful, why hasn't it been integrated into every top athlete's workout?
    Thats a very good point. On that gymnastics site they said
    http://gymnasticbodies.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1656&p=10241&hilit
    kipping pullups are a useful tool for easily increasing total amount of repetitions as well as developing elasticity in the shoulder girdle. They are also beneficial is developing a sense of rhythm and coordination. But most importantly, Chinese Pullups are an important initial first step in preparing the shoulder girdle to safely handle the stresses involved with high level plyometric-type elements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

I really need to chime in on this, but I'm not that eloquent in the mornings and try not to post over the weekend. Hopefully I'll be back on later to clear up some things/add more fuel to the fire. :D

I look forward to it, but I have a feeling there isn't really a fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Captain Furball

I look forward to it, but I have a feeling there isn't really a fire.
    I'm not sure what it is your even discussing any more.

Started as a discussion on Kipping pullups, then progressed (briefly) to kipping versus non kipping. Then became the science behind kipping and how it may be misrepresented.

Now it seems to be a dissemination of any relationship between the two and is easing back towards being about kipping pullups.

Simple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Captain Furball

Started as a discussion on Kipping pullups, then progressed (briefly) to kipping versus non kipping. Then became the science behind kipping and how it may be misrepresented.

Now it seems to be a dissemination of any relationship between the two and is easing back towards being about kipping pullups.

Simple.

Very good :)

Funny enough thread all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 859 ✭✭✭BobbyOLeary

I hope this doesn't come across as defensive as it's really not meant to be. Maybe it hasn't been included into every top athlete's workout because it's better suited for GPP? Move away from athletes for a minute and think of the armed forces and police. There's been a big push for integration of CrossFit into these services with USMC, Navy SEALs, and the Jacksonville PD reporting positive results from CF and the inclusion of the kipping pullup. They're the armed forces equivalent of top athletes.

Maybe the kipping pullup hasn't got a place in a top athlete's workout (though gymnastics maybe?) because CrossFit hasn't got a place in a top athlete's workout? Dunno really, just spitballing here.

was in a gym in the states ages ago and asked a massive guy why he was doing overhand kipping pullups no joke he said

"boy when you running from the poooooolice you gonna jump over the wall like this (underhand and slow and controlled) or like this (kipping)!!!"

I hope this doesn't come across as defensive as it's really not meant to be. Maybe it hasn't been included into every top athlete's workout because it's better suited for GPP? Move away from athletes for a minute and think of the armed forces and police. There's been a big push for integration of CrossFit into these services with USMC, Navy SEALs, and the Jacksonville PD reporting positive results from CF and the inclusion of the kipping pullup. They're the armed forces equivalent of top athletes.
    Sorry I don't buy that one! The principles of how to get strong don't change because you have a different job. I've seen pro athletes doing the very same session as weekend warriors. The difference hasn't been in what they're doing, just the level they're doing it at. I'm not all that concerned with what the Jacksonville PD are doing, and I've seen so many martial arts and fitness programmes that "are what the Navy SEALS do" to be very skeptical.

Like I've said I'm not against kipping for kipping's sake, I just haven't been given a reason for it's inclusion in the last 4 pages. I'm interested in Colm's view. By the way I think "it's faster and we want to post faster times" is a perfectly valid reason too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

Re-reading through this now that my bloody wisdom teeth aren't aching any more (self pity part of the post over) I'm not sure there's a lot I can add.

It seems to come down to a few things for me.

Power/Science/Physics
    I'm not well versed enough in physics to do any sort of calculation on power, momentum, etc (Will would be, but he doesn't post here).

In a very simplistic science approach, as Ed has pointed out, you can do more pull ups in a shorter time with kip than you can without. Speaking purely in terms of vertical displacement on the centre of gravity (which we'll take to be the hips) 20 kipping pull ups will achieve that aim faster than strict pull ups will do that. So in that sense they're more 'powerful'.

There's a contention in CrossFit that power a ~= fitness. i.e. if you can do the same work (which we'll say is a set task) in less time, or more work in a set time period, you're fitter. It's loosely defined, but I think it's a good working definition.

I'll fully accept that the definitions are ill-defined in all of this, and as for emprical based studies, I don't know of any.

Training Effect
    Greg Everett, in the Performance Menu outlined some of the pros and cons of the kipping pull up
    Description: This type of kipping pull-up is the most similar to the glide kip used in gymnastics, although the two movements are quite different. What they share is a longer range of motion of the whole body and a more fluid transition from horizontal to vertical movement, distinguishing them from the frog-kick or butterfly kips. Initiating the movement with a forward push of the head and chest through the arms to arch the body under the bar, the athlete will pull the hips back to reverse the arch. As this arch is forming, the athlete will lift the knees and pop the hips up toward the bar, briefly unloading a portion of the athlete’s bodyweight, while then pulling the chest up to the bar with the arms. To return to the bottom, the athlete pushes back away from the bar to enter into an arc similar to the one followed on the way up. This reduces the strain on the elbows and shoulders as well as drives the athlete smoothly into the forward arch that will begin the subsequent pull-up.

Benefits: This kip variation involves the most forward movement of the body and the greatest range of motion for the shoulders, consequently making it the most beneficial for shoulder and upper back mobility. Because of the much greater elastic loading and momentum achieved in this movement relative to other kip variations, the traditional kip offers the most potential for height relative to the bar. With enough effort, this kip can easily propel the athlete’s waist to the bar.

Drawbacks: The long range of motion that gives this kip its primary benefits are also drawbacks in some senses—it makes the movement slow relative to the frog-kick and butterfly kip, and accordingly, is not ideal for use in workouts in which the athlete is attempting to complete pull-ups as quickly as possible. That said, they are still useful in metabolic conditioning because they require more effort and consequently improve the athlete’s capacity through system improvements rather than increases in movement economy.
    Applications: For athletes not in need of metabolic conditioning, the traditional kip should be used in addition to deadhang variations to improve and maintain shoulder mobility and connective tissue strength. It’s also a convenient exercise to introduce and practice hip speed and body coordination.

In addition to this, the metabolic conditioning effect of the kip is gonna get you through your workout faster than the strict. So yeah, we use it because it's faster.

We also train weighted pull ups and dead hang pull ups as well in our warm up and strength work. Just the kip is preferred for metcons.

I've prob rambled on enough and still not covered everything here but sure...