Middle Class Area= No Bonfire, Working Class Area= Burn The Whole Thing Down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Sheeps wrote: »
    In middle and upper class areas the people actually take pride in their communities.

As do a lot of working class people. It's the small minority that don't care and give their community a bad name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Voltex

I don't get this thread,do people have a problem with bonfires?And if so why don't you actually do something about it insted of moaning on boards? Now I'm off to set fire to a pile of wooden pallets.

Obviousley I dont...seeing as i set out to find one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

Voltex wrote: »
    Obviousley I dont...seeing as i set out to find one...
    And I wish you well in your search. Maybe you could even start one your self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

[Ignorant Foreigner] Do the council stage official, safe bonfires and firework displays in local parks over there? [/Ignorant Foreigner]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

brummytom wrote: »
    [Ignorant Foreigner] Do the council stage official, safe bonfires and firework displays in local parks over there? [/Ignorant Foreigner]

Some neighbourhoods have been known to organise a safe controlled bon fire, but mostly the kids just collect or steal whatever they can throughout October and set it on fire in a field.

Some adults let off fireworks for the kids, but again mostly it's just kids blowing stuff up.

NothingMan wrote: »
    I live in Tallaght and we threw our old wooden garden table on the field this morning assuming it would be gone pretty quick. Still there now though. I think Tallaght may be coming up in the world.
    Obviously except for scummers like me throwing tables into fields. :)

Some neighbourhoods have been known to organise a safe controlled bon fire, but mostly the kids just collect or steal whatever they can throughout October and set it on fire in a field.

Some adults let off fireworks for the kids, but again mostly it's just kids blowing stuff up.

Oh right, cheers.
    For once I'm actually quite grateful for our local councils :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Voltex

Throughout October!!!...in some areas they steal all year long.
    I remember being at at a council organised bonfire when I was at Uni in Manchester...very well done...brilliant bonfire. I remeber i couldnt stand within 100ft it was sooooo hot!!

Throughout October!!!...in some areas they steal all year long.

Oh they definitely steal all year long, but they get impatient and light smaller fires with their loot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

I came from a middle class housing estate and we had bonfires almost every year, right up until we lost all the ditches and green areas we used to stage our bonfire on and cull wood from when the building started for houses during the Celtic Tiger.

Come to think of it, the Celtic Tiger killed it off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,185 ✭✭✭asdasd

Halloween in Ireland is pretty much a contained riot, a chav uprising. The police cede areas of the city unless people are actually getting burned to death. And even then, there is a certain reluctance.
    Ireland flags during world cups all there in working class areas and not at all in middle class areas.

We should merge patriotism and bonfirism like the English on bonfire day. Instead of burning the guy and the Pope we need to get the chavs burning the Queen. Well, effigies of. That would add a certain patriotic frission to the lumpen takeover of the city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 350 ✭✭b28

Yeah that'd be great. It'd be even better if they were full of working class people and immigrants. :rolleyes:

I can't believe how you can get away with saying that!
    Its OTT!!!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

tedstriker wrote: »
    All the PC boarders are out dressed up as gardeners and yoked off their faces on some sort of natural cocktail.
    Damn, well someone has to step up and fill the void.
    I'll give it a go.

...ahem...

The level of ignorance in this thread is astounding.
    Not all working class people have bonfires and enjoy tracksuits.
    Do you have any links to back up these vile claims?
    Try moving out of your mammys basement and go see some of the world... you think it's bad here? Try walking the streets of Hanajuju on Halloween night, you small-minded, sheltered, bigots would shít your pants.
    Why don't you go out and actually help these people instead of looking down on them? I do voluntary work for six different outreach programs. What do any of you do?
    You all sicken me.

That should tide us over for now. :)

Hanajuju

Goggle has no clue. I say you made it up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Im actually surprised by how blunt boardies are...
    I was trying to be tactile in how I titled this thread....looks like I neddnt have bothered

A lot of people need to vent because they're shaking in their houses over the suffering they've endured tonight: kids hanging around outside, speaking in loud voices and letting off fireworks. Imagine!

Bitching on here beats going out and getting owned by some 16 year old.

I was chased by two 11 year olds two years ago. Left the country in shame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

asdasd wrote: »
    I was chased by two 11 year olds two years ago. Left the country in shame.

Are you sure you didn't leave in shame because you were chasing them? :p

I wish,dude. I wish.

They were tough feckers. I fled like a ...scared.. fleer.. from...stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

Wow.

So working class equals knacker/scumbag/chav etc.

(I could use some strong words here, but I shall not)

Lets just I am not best pleased about the usual lazy stereotypes being rolled out here.

Maybe there are bonfires in these areas because they like having fun.

A side note ---there is scum in all the 'classes'.

KungPao wrote: »
    Wow.

So working class equals knacker/scumbag/chav etc.

No, but vast majority of knacker/scumbag/chav etc = working class

I think most of us are working class - working for the man is working class. I generally dislike the use of the term working class to mean (effectively) the underclass. On the subject of the underclass I admit bigotry.
    A side note ---there is scum in all the 'classes'.

/cough bankers /cough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

mikemac wrote: »
    Was standing at the bus stop in Ballyfermot Dublin today. Around 17:30.
    Some fecker in a Micra gave me an evil smile and threw some sort of firework at me. Missed me but missed my bag with €70 worth of shopping by inches.
    And then the bollox was stopped in traffic for ages.

If I had balls or was like the Citizen I'd have dragged him from the car and beaten him.
    I'll admit it, I did nothing at all. And this lad I bet was no more then 17 :o

Don't really understand some people mentality - what enjoyment would he have got out of it. At least no one was hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Not really, seeing as most of them have never seen a day's work in their life.

To be honest, I think that some people in here are confusing "working class" with "scumbaggish thugs." I also think some people in here should be fucking ashamed of themselves.

Not really, seeing as most of them have never seen a day's work in their life.

To be honest, I think that some people in here are confusing "working class" with "scumbaggish thugs." I also think some people in here should be fucking ashamed of themselves.

Fair play. I think it's fair to say most knackers/chavs wouldn't be middle-class.. though, as you say, having - in all probability - not worked, it would seem unfair to describe them as working class.
    What social class would they best be described as then?

I'm reminded of a clip from John Prescott's TV series on class
    John: (Talking to some dossers): And what class would you consider yourself
    Dosser: Middle-class I think, yeah
    John: Really.. not working class?
    Dosser: I down't werk

I'm not ashamed of myself either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Some fecker in a Micra gave me an evil smile and threw some sort of firework at me. Missed me but missed my bag with €70 worth of shopping by inches.

If I had balls or was like the Citizen I'd have dragged him from the car and beaten him.

What you did was the right thing to do !these scummers love someone to react so they have something to brag about to their scummy mates

Just be safe in the knowledge that one day that fcuker will get whats coming to him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

Halloween night is an excuse for all classes to act like degenerate scumbags. Probably more from 'working class areas' but I was Blackrock/Foxrock tonight and saw plenty of bombfires/little twats with fireworks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

What social class would they best be described as then?

Under.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,397 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Tin of beans through the back window would have got hit attention. Hell even a spud in the exhaust would have gotten your point across!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭KungPao

This thread reeks of insecurity. People desperately trying to distance themselves from 'the working class'.

Most don't seem to even understand what class is, or what the system represents.

I hate all this class business. As Jumbo once said in Only fools and horses, 'a blokes just a bloke'.

Indeed Jumbo, indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I'm in D4 roysh, none of this bonfires(we rather recycle like good green people) and fireworks stuff.
    We can hear the fireworks exploding from the nearby ghetto, damn peasants. At least we have middle class gardai to take care of those riff-raff :P :D