Copper Face Jacks frequenters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Well Joey, you see, what you need to do is blockade the airport, or O'Connell street, causing maximum havoc to everyone else, and demand that the government step in and stop all competition in the supermarket market.

It's only by causing normal people to miss their flights, or increase their already poxy commute to 3/4 hours after work, that you'll drum up enough public support to convince the government that the best thing to do in a recession is kill competition.

Hang on a minute, that doesn't sound right... where would I get a half arsed idea like that!?!

Taxi driver in the family i reckon.... Nobody seems to care that i was laid off from Dunnes stores because more people shop in tesco because they are chaeper.

Will you come back to dunnes and save my job....

I dont think so,

Such is life....

Haha! No! I've no taxi driver in the family! :rolleyes:

I just try not to generalise people, any people. And I try not to give people a hard time for trying to do their job.

What those taxi drivers did a few weeks ago on O'Connell St was disgusting, I gave out yards about them! but how many drivers blocked the streets? there were also drivers who tried to get on with their work and were abused by the protesters so I think it's ignorant to say that all taxi drivers are a shower of sh*tes because of a few arseholes.

edit: Just to add, if the OP was one of the protestors then I have no sympathy for him. But I'm not going to assume he was with no foundation for the assumption.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Ah I remember the good old days when us mug punters would queue for hours of a weekend for a taxi and if some c**t skipped the queue the taxi drivers would have none of it.

Oh no, hang on... they did'nt. They didn't give a flying f**k if the person getting into their taxi had skipped about 30 people. So the boots on the other foot now lads, woe is f****in me, those poor cabbies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Bambi wrote: »
    Ah I remember the good old days when us mug punters would queue for hours of a weekend for a taxi and if some c**t skipped the queue the taxi drivers would have none of it.

Oh no, hang on... they did'nt. They didn't give a flying f**k if the person getting into their taxi had skipped about 30 people. So the boots on the other foot now lads, woe is f****in me, those poor cabbies.

+1000 jasus fogot those days.... Ya i agree fcuk them all the shoe is on the other foot they can do a bit of work now.

The amount of times this happened and the driver just laughed.... and guess what now they are looking for loyality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,846 ✭✭✭Jet Black

Your fighting a 90degree up hill battle here op.
    One bad experience with a taximan is all a person will remember.
    I've had many run-ins with taximen, while a passinger and driving my own car. These are the only one's that come to mind, if I had any good ones I cant remember (selective memory I suppose).

Are you legally parked there? The magic Hazard lights dont count!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

bullsh1t. no taxi driver can round up. if anything i round down. if the fare is 10.90 i just ask for a tenner

I'll give you that one OP, the last few times I've got a taxi all the drivers have rounded down.

Was actually quite surprised at that, it's a relatively new phenomena.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

At lease half the taxi journys I have taken in the last year have been crap; either the driver has been talking on his phone, or he's had a go at me for not living far enough away....

I work in retail and am not planning on ruining other people's days by grinding the city to a halt just because my hrs have been sliced and diced.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Fcuk each and every one of them equally then :)
    Why are 90% of nasty comments on the internet followed up with smiley emoticons? Is it supposed to soften the blow or something?

'Well, you called me a wanker, but look at that adorable little face...how can I stay mad at you?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭ven0m

Wonder if everyone in this thread & the OP realises that punters do not have to 'take the first taxi at the top of the queue on a rank' - that punters can take ANY taxi they like off a rank....
    Am I entitled to choose any taxi at a rank?
    Yes, as a consumer your can choose whichever taxi you would like to travel in.

http://www.taxiregulator.ie/consumer-FAQs.html

just my own 2 cents (I use these sparingly now as there's a recession on lads & the pennies, they help!) ........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

i thought this was another one of those appeals to find the baby daddy when i seen the title of the thread,im so disappointed:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 TheMorningLine

Was the baby's father found?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Was in Taxi saturday and it was a chinese guy. First time i had seen a Chinese/Asian person driving taxi here. Today i was cycling in town and saw several south east asian drivers. Now Ive no prob with people here legally working but i didnt think we took any refugees from asia and most asians were here on special visas that wouldnt allow them to work in such jobs just limited hours in spar etc on a student visa or as a chef in chinese restaurant on visa that allows you come to EU if no local qualified person can be found. Asian guy on Saturday barely spole English and didnt know way to where i was going. Is there enough local people out of work without letting non eu people in here to take jobs that end up costing us more through dole for local guy who couldnt get job as min wage not viable when dole is more.

Big sentance:
    Now Ive no prob with people here legally working but i didnt think we took any refugees from asia and most asians were here on special visas that wouldnt allow them to work in such jobs just limited hours in spar etc on a student visa or as a chef in chinese restaurant on visa that allows you come to EU if no local qualified person can be found.
    Little sense.

...and as for them bloody forigners, coming here taking all our jobs... :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭ronbyrne2005

Zulu wrote: »
    Big sentance:
    Little sense.

...and as for them bloody forigners, coming here taking all our jobs... :rolleyes:

Yeah shure lets open the doors and bring in millions of highly qualified graduates from india and china to do middle class jobs cheaper. See how the politically correct brigade react then. I am all for managed migration but not for non eu people bending visa rules at time this country is in its worst recession in 50 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Esmeralda34

bullsh1t. no taxi driver can round up. if anything i round down. if the fare is 10.90 i just ask for a tenner

Umm, I will have to disagree with you here! Though I've yet to experience overcharging in Dublin, I was in Tralee a few weekends ago and couldn't believe my eyes!

Generally when I am there I use a a trusted taxi driver that I know well. However, on my last visit he was working nights and so I had to go elsewhere for daytime trips.

They still seem to stick to the €6 minimum fare regardless if the meter is showing less (€4.50/5.00). When it has been in excess of this they have blatantly rounded up!

Is this just limited to Tralee??!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭delricyo

Speaking of CFJ frequenters ...

My housemate was there on Saturday night and of the nice taxi men in the "rank" tried to charge him 90 euro when he reached Maynooth. The feckin cheek !! Of course he told the taxi driver where to go - but didnt get the plate details etc

Rant over :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Why are 90% of nasty comments on the internet followed up with smiley emoticons? Is it supposed to soften the blow or something?

'Well, you called me a wanker, but look at that adorable little face...how can I stay mad at you?'

You know what smugness is? ;)

It could also mean a joke... there is not only one meaning to this smiley.
    you said 'dole > taxi driver'. what i take from that is, given the choice you would sooner be on the dole rather than drive a taxi (ie work) maybe you should learn to explain yourself more clearly

I said Dole > taxi driver. This is not Dole > work. Instead of trying to be smart, I suggest you read posts properly and stop assuming... There is no way I could have been any clearer. There are jobs I wouldn't do, driving a taxi is one of them (note how I said driving taxis not driving in general)

like i said on certain nights coppers is the only show in town. skip the queue myself? says alot about you that you'd consider that an option.

Oh? so you are a psyciatrist also? What results did you find from your breif psychoanalysis? What does that say about me exactly? Well?

dont be rediculous of course they are my work colleagues

No they are not, you don't work with them... they just work in the same industry, and every so often you will get out of your taxi and have a chat with them... they are not colleagues. If they are from the same company, then they are colleagues :)

like i said i didn't agree with it, so why would i go park there

You don't have to agree with something to support it.
    ive yet to intentionally screw any of my customers over

If that is the case then well done, your kind seem to be rare.
    i use many different ranks. there has always been an unofficial rank outside coppers which up until recently oporated fine.

I underlined the key word here :). No rank = no real rules...

tbh thats one of the many things wrong with the world today. the whole thing of, well everybody else is screwing the system so i might as well too. that attitude is wrong and will gain nothing worth having.

Don't blame the people, blame the system.

im not disputing that fact. it happens me a lot. i drive a 7 seater and find a lot of people would prefere to get a salon car. i can understand that. in that situation the done thing is that the driver usually gets out and goes to the guy ahead of him and explains that the customer wants to take his taxi. more so on the ranks outside the city where its the same guys working alongside each other each day, read work collegues xavier.

The driver can do as he wishes, once it is not on the meter and I am not paying for it, oh and it doesn't take all day. I have no problem with you explaining, but there shouldn't need to be any explanation. This just proves that you guys make up your own rules. Prior to me knowing the rules, I went to a taxi man and asked him for a lift, he refused and said he wasn't first in the queue. I took the car at the top of the rank.

If you know the rules, then why do you need to explain it to the taxi man in front?
    Well in that case, all people on the dole are lazy f*cks who should get off their arses and get a job instead of scrounging off the tax payer :rolleyes: generalisations eh!

I wasn't generalising. I have a mate who is a taxi driver, I know a few more. I don't actually have a problem with taxi men personally. It's the whole whining and moaning and forcing things upon the government that pisses me off, which a lot are guilty of.

Also, you're right, you are entitled to get into whatever car you want, that was a typo on my part and completely incorrect! oops!

Ah ok no worries :) Although they do have a rule amoungst themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

I just try not to generalise people, any people. And I try not to give people a hard time for trying to do their job.

Sweeping generalisation get a big job done quick. Shame on you for promoting anti-efficiency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 TravisStyles

Umm, I will have to disagree with you here! Though I've yet to experience overcharging in Dublin, I was in Tralee a few weekends ago and couldn't believe my eyes!

Generally when I am there I use a a trusted taxi driver that I know well. However, on my last visit he was working nights and so I had to go elsewhere for daytime trips.

They still seem to stick to the €6 minimum fare regardless if the meter is showing less (€4.50/5.00). When it has been in excess of this they have blatantly rounded up!

Is this just limited to Tralee??!!

that shouldn't be happening. you only have to pay whats on the clock. a case of agressive tip extraction it seems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 TravisStyles

forget it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ElaElaElano

Pace2008 wrote: »

Pace,

I sympathise dearly with your frustrations, and as CEO of the Internet Deadpan Society will fight tooth and nail to orchestrate an attack on half hearted humour and Michael McIntrye-esque 'laughingatyourownjokeshystericallytocoverupjusthowshittheyare-ism'.

Yours blankly,

Col

ps taxi drivers are a shower of tarts, rip off republic, wouldn't be caught dead in one, moaners, cheating the system, no more monopoly for you, do not pass the top of the queue! do not collect £200!

/i've run out of clíches/

forget it

I wonder what it is you had said prior to your edit :)

You know I am right. You know it's ok to be wrong sometimes... ;)

Yeah shure lets open the doors and bring in millions of highly qualified graduates from india and china to do middle class jobs cheaper.
    Sensational! Do you write for the Sun by any chance?
    "Flippin' Foreigners Fighting For Family Jobs: Yes folks, Johnny Foreigner is now taking all our middle class jobs. Poor decent Irish people are having to compete with ... blah, blah racist rant"
    See how the politically correct brigade react then.
    Of course I'm a member of the "politically correct brigade": I just corrected a racist prejudice on the internet.
    I am all for managed migration but not for non eu people bending visa rules at time this country is in its worst recession in 50 years.
    And you saw this taxi mans visa, of course? I mean, you KNOW he was illegal because...? He looked different? Smelled funny??

You won't have to worry about anyone taking your job if you are good enough. Of course, if you're the type of person who just sits around crying about "people stealing our jobs", chances are you're not very good at your job, and are nearly out the door already, so worry away. However, your time and energy would be better spent in educating yourself, taking the thumb out of your arse, and getting on with whatever work it is you do.

Sensational! Do you write for the Sun by any chance?
    "Flippin' Foreigners Fighting For Family Jobs: Yes folks, Johnny Foreigner is now taking all our middle class jobs. Poor decent Irish people are having to compete with ... blah, blah racist rant"

Of course I'm a member of the "politically correct brigade": I just corrected a racist prejudice on the internet.

And you saw this taxi mans visa, of course? I mean, you KNOW he was illegal because...? He looked different? Smelled funny??

You won't have to worry about anyone taking your job if you are good enough. Of course, if you're the type of person who just sits around crying about "people stealing our jobs", chances are you're not very good at your job, and are nearly out the door already, so worry away. However, your time and energy would be better spent in educating yourself, taking the thumb out of your arse, and getting on with whatever work it is you do.

On a side note, being good doesn't make your job safe... that is a fact. Assume much?

Nope, but it makes you far more employable. Is this a personal issue for you? ...it's just, what with the "assume much" I figure I've license to assume things now.

Another fact for you: there are jobs still out there.
    You might just get one of them jobs if you're the best candidate. (This is a general comment - try not to take it personally)

Nope, but it makes you far more employable.
    Another fact for you: there are jobs still out there.
    You might just get one of them jobs if you're the best candidate.

I know, there are plenty of jobs, just not 500,000 :P

Being the best doesn't guarantee you a job either. It could also make you less employable. Managers know what they want, some want cheap labour, others want a fool who will do anything, others want someone with massive productivity etc etc etc. It's not all black and white.

I know, there are plenty of jobs, just not 500,000 :P

Being the best doesn't guarantee you a job either. It could also make you less employable. Managers know what they want, some want cheap labour, others want a fool who will do anything, others want someone with massive productivity etc etc etc. It's not all black and white.
    Maybe it's not, but as a manager I'll take a guess at what they don't want: bigots who moan about "johnny foreigner taking all our jobs". You'd be amazed how highly people rate attitude.

Oh? How can you tell the johnny foreigners apart from everyone else in a CV or interview?

I think you've totally misunderstood me tbh.

Do you mean, how do I tell the bigots from everyone else? You'd do it in the contract period (generally the first 6/9 months).

I think you've totally misunderstood me tbh.

Do you mean, how do I tell the bigots from everyone else? You'd do it in the contract period (generally the first 6/9 months).

No not bigots, they are easy to spot. How do you spot a racist unless they blatantly spurt it out, which most will not.