Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Copper Face Jacks frequenters

• 12-10-2009 6:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

another taxi drivers thread, sorry.

just felt compelled to write this as im in from another frustrating night of queuing for work outside coppers. these days, besides friday and saturday, it is the only place where there is any sort of flow of punters after the pubs have closed. as i mentioned before there is a real problem of guys pulling in at the top of the que and taking fares, while we who bother to wait in line might spend up to an hour doing so.

after spending the later half of the night there i got to witness a phenomena, probably a first for the world, it was a que that worked in reverse.

to paint a picture. the 'legit' que starts outside coppers just at the pedestrian crossing lights. so the first guy to skip the que pulls in just in front of the taxi at the start of the que, than another in front of him, and another, all in all about ten taxis up as far as crystal. as the guy at the back of this new que gets a fare and pulls off, the guys in front of him reverse their taxi's back and so on and so on. its quiet unbelieveable seeing the reverse lights come on as this farce takes place. all the beeping of horns from the guys who have bothered to wait in line patiently dont matter a damn to them.

im posting this to ask people just to be aware that this is going on. i know you guys are just out for a good time and want to get in the nearest taxi when you get outside, but no one likes a cheat so please dont give them the business.

thanks
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Taxi drivers really should be paid not to complain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

What? Really, it doesn't matter where your taxi is, how about I don't like the look of you, or your stinking car? I can chose who I want to bring me home. If I want a lift in a nice Lexus or BMW then I will go to them, regardless of where they are in the queue.

There's plenty of taxi's out there, so remember the consumer rules the industry now, not ye shower of w4nkers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Bandit12

Taxi drivers = moaners

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 TravisStyles

What? Really, it doesn't matter where your taxi is, how about I don't like the look of you, or your stinking car? I can chose who I want to bring me home. If I want a lift in a nice Lexus or BMW then I will go to them, regardless of where they are in the queue.

There's plenty of taxi's out there, so remember the consumer rules the industry now, not ye shower of w4nkers.

lol, good man yourself xavier. no need to be insulting.

i'm only pointing out about the problem outside this particular nightclub. most other places oporate quiet fairly. and for sure you are entitled to take any taxi you choose on any rank.

yeah ok, take one of the guys who are pulling in at the top of the rank. i bet you a free lift home that 8 times out of 16 the guy you'll find who has skipped the que wont know where he's going.

looking for work? why not get off your arse and get a taxi like everyone else.

peace

lol, good man yourself xavier. no need to be insulting.

i'm only pointing out about the problem outside this particular nightclub. most other places oporate quiet fairly. and for sure you are entitled to take any taxi you choose on any rank.

yeah ok, take one of the guys who are pulling in at the top of the rank. i bet you a free lift home that 8 times out of 16 the guy you'll find who has skipped the que wont know where he's going.

looking for work? why not get off your arse and get a taxi like everyone else.

peace

Well we get enough of ye in here complaining, it gets annoying. "bring back the monopoly we had" is what we hear all the time, basically.

Most of the time taxi's are fine, nicest taxi man I ever had was an Iranian ;).

I wouldn't become a taxi man if my life depended on it, I would rather eat my own nuts... Dole > Taxi driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Taxi drivers in unmannerly behaviour shock!!
    What's the world coming to?

TravisStyles, I'll give you the same advice I gave another taxi driver. Get a big sticker the size of the side of your car. Get "20% Discount on all fares. GUARANTEED." printed on it huge letters. You do this, and I'll bet you you won't need to worry about queues. Of course, I understand, a taxi driver not charging maxium rate is a novel idea and might scare you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

In fairness op I hear what your saying but if you think that at 2 in the morning that the morals of where the taxi came from in the que is on anyones mind you are p1ssing in the wind. The cause is lost.

People just want to get home. If your single your focusing on the girl you have pulled tried to pull or ar attempting to pull, If your the girl your trying to get away from this bloke. If your a couple your trying to get away from the leeches that think your o/h is better with him rather than you. If you this weirdo thats been unsuccessful you just want home

So really the last thing on peoples mind is why 30 taxis are fighting for the fair.... In fact it beats walking 2 miles out of the city to get a taxi like many years ago...and i am not to old that i remember.

Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

another taxi drivers thread, sorry.

just felt compelled to write this as im in from another frustrating night of queuing for work outside coppers. these days, besides friday and saturday, it is the only place where there is any sort of flow of punters after the pubs have closed. as i mentioned before there is a real problem of guys pulling in at the top of the que and taking fares, while we who bother to wait in line might spend up to an hour doing so.

after spending the later half of the night there i got to witness a phenomena, probably a first for the world, it was a que that worked in reverse.

to paint a picture. the 'legit' que starts outside coppers just at the pedestrian crossing lights. so the first guy to skip the que pulls in just in front of the taxi at the start of the que, than another in front of him, and another, all in all about ten taxis up as far as crystal. as the guy at the back of this new que gets a fare and pulls off, the guys in front of him reverse their taxi's back and so on and so on. its quiet unbelieveable seeing the reverse lights come on as this farce takes place. all the beeping of horns from the guys who have bothered to wait in line patiently dont matter a damn to them.

im posting this to ask people just to be aware that this is going on. i know you guys are just out for a good time and want to get in the nearest taxi when you get outside, but no one likes a cheat so please dont give them the business.

thanks

The 'legit' que (it's actually queue) means what exactly? Is there a taxi rank there? No? So basically it's a free for all, yeah?

Take it up with your union buddy, not the consumer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

OP; are the queues legal? If i were to come to you, instead of the fella's infront of you will you tell me to go to the top of the queue?

I go to Coppers regularly and i don't look at the queues.... I jump into the first cab that doesn't look dodgy and wouldn't need a sat nav to take me home :)

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

It isn't a taxi rank outside Coppers, so people can pull in where they like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

i dont care who i get in as long as the c*nt knows where he is going which sadly is getting more and more rare these days.

town was really busy on sat night and of course, taxis were scarce and the snobbish ones took it upon themselves to drive past people, even when they had their lights on.

i dont think they will be passing by people tonight would they? on the way into town on sat night, we had a taxi driver who was a disgrace to say the least with the sh*t he came out with.

have no smypathy for taxi drivers, they are the biggest shower of wingers in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

just felt compelled to write this as im in from another frustrating night of queuing for work outside coppers.

Cry me a fecken river there taxi boy.

You're looking for public sympathy because fellow taxi drivers are inconveniencing you ?

Sure didn't you taxi drivers block up O'Connell street in a recent protest.
    You've nobody but your own interests at heart.

I'd actually like to see taxi drivers bating the heads of each other for fares.
    Now that's entertainment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

I feel for you OP, but people in general are queue skipping selfish cheating cnuts and you have to contend with Taxi Drivers. The cream of the crop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

I feel for you OP, but people in general are queue skipping selfish cheating cnuts and you have to contend with Taxi Drivers. The cream of the crop.

Thats not nice, taxi drivers arent queue-skipping selfish cheats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

Reminds me of the gobshite taxi man who openly admitted to working illegal 14 hour shifts on our national broadcaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

I can understand where OP is coming from. If it's the 'done thing' to queue for a fare, then it's fairly sh!t of the other drivers to nip in when they know full well there's a queue there. It's normal to get annoyed with queue skippers and everyone here has probably been frustrated when it's happened to them at a club or a chippers or whatever.

Besides, it's fairly dangerous to have taxis fighting for fares amongst a street-full of punters pissed out of their minds, reversing back down the street and everything.

MIN2511 wrote: »
    If i were to come to you, instead of the fella's infront of you will you tell me to go to the top of the queue?

yes. believe it or not some of us operate within the rules of deceancy.

I wouldn't become a taxi man if my life depended on it, I would rather eat my own nuts... Dole > Taxi driver.

if you're happy to sit at home sucking on your own balls, more power to you. not all of us have the option of choosing the dole over work.
    In fairness op I hear what your saying but if you think that at 2 in the morning that the morals of where the taxi came from in the que is on anyones mind you are p1ssing in the wind. The cause is lost./quote]

thanks joey i understand that. im a punter myself at times.
    el tonto wrote: »
    It isn't a taxi rank outside Coppers, so people can pull in where they like.

no it's not a legal rank. hence the oportunity for abuse. ive been driving 5 years and its only in the last year that this carper has started. some portions of society see loopholes and choose to exploit them.
    Cry me a fecken river there taxi boy.

You're looking for public sympathy because fellow taxi drivers are inconveniencing you ?

Sure didn't you taxi drivers block up O'Connell street in a recent protest.
    You've nobody but your own interests at heart.

not looking for sympathy dude, im just pointing out on an open forum what is going on in my job. if a driver is willing to fcuk over the peole he works along side with, do you think that same driver will have any problems with fcuking over the customers he's bringing home? think about it.

and for the record i personally didn't agree with the blocking up of o'connell street.

look. all im pointing out is a blatant slieveeness within the line of work i'm in. i was brought up to have manners and to queue (thanks for the obligitory spellchecker post) and wait my turn.

the solution to this whole mess is as simple as 3 traffic cones in a line placed after the pedestrian lights. so any garda reading this....
    enda1 wrote: »

yes. tonight on harcourt street:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

You must have a neck like a jockey's bollix.

After what the taxi drivers did to Dubliners last week, to come on here looking for sympathy.

Get out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

thanks

No one like having O'Connell Street blocked off by strikes either, but it happened.

And we all remember the good times when we had to wait for hours for a taxi and when they finally did come our friendly taxi driver would ask us where we were going to, if it didn't suit you guys you just drove off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

if you want to stop queue skippers you should be more like Travis Bickle and not Travis Styles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

all taxis have their number in lights on top of the car. Instead of whingeing to us how about tracking down the culprits and complain to them??

complaining on the internet is probably easier though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

prendy wrote: »
    all taxis have their number in lights on top of the car. Instead of whingeing to us how about tracking down the culprits and complain to them??

What the man said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

prendy wrote: »

They cant complain to anyone! Even in a taxi rank the consumer has the right to choose whatever taxi they want, just because the OP is at the front of a rank doesn't mean I have to take his taxi!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭happyfriday

TheZohan wrote: »
    No one like having O'Connell Street blocked off by strikes either, but it happened.

And we all remember the good times when we had to wait for hours for a taxi and when they finally did come our friendly taxi driver would ask us where we were going to, if it didn't suit you guys you just drove off.

Couldn't of put it better!!! Last week when I was trying to get out of town and all the aggressive 'gentlemen' on O'Connell Street were behaving like they are the only victims in a Recession by making everyone else miserable is the day any shred of sympathy I may once of had for them disappeared!!

And as for the 'good old days' when a fare was not far enough for you to bother, and you wouldn't let people in the car after waiting on the street for hours!! Karma is a bitch!!!

Des wrote: »
    You must have a neck like a jockey's bollix.

After what the taxi drivers did to Dubliners last week, to come on here looking for sympathy.

Get out of it.

as i said. i ain't looking for sympathy. just pointing out an injustice in my day to day living.
    Rabies wrote: »
    What the man said

guess thats why you're here so much then ;)

anyway fcuk it. im off to get some sleep. see you jokers with funny walks and rolling eyes later tonight.

guess thats why you're here so much then ;)

That was for both sides. If they have an issue, there is a place to complain to. If the same taxi number gets called up again and again about complaints from either customers or their peers, then something will be done about it.

I live in a city where there are way too many taxis, we never queue, taxi prices are not set by the government and we can chose which taxis we want and no taxi driver is allowed park on the side of the road for a few min with the hazards lights on while dropping off or picking up a fare for fear of getting a fine from the cops or city council.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

as i said. i ain't looking for sympathy. just pointing out an injustice in my day to day living.

Yeah, for me it's terrible when someone skips the queue for the microwave at lunchtime. I have to wait maybe 3 minutes or more to cook my thai green curry.

Maybe if I post about it here someone will magically solve the problem that I can't be arsed about solving myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Yeah, for me it's terrible when someone skips the queue for the microwave at lunchtime. I have to wait maybe 3 minutes or more to cook my thai green curry.

Maybe if I post about it here someone will magically solve the problem that I can't be arsed about solving myself.

Oooh, Mr. FancyMicrowave in work. Show-off. We have to rub hotdogs on our legs to get them warm.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

funk-you wrote: »
    Oooh, Mr. FancyMicrowave in work. Show-off. We have to rub hotdogs on our legs to get them warm.

-Funk

The legs, hotdogs or both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

orourkeda wrote: »
    The legs, hotdogs or both?

Both, the heating packed up too. We've to increase productivity during 'These uncertain times' to keep ourselves warm and make lunch at the same time. Wonderful smell about the place.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

im off to get some sleep. see you jokers with funny walks and rolling eyes later tonight.

With an attitude like this you're surprised people won't get into your taxi? :confused:

Lets get the thread back on topic of taxi queue jumpers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

I hate people complaining or moaning baout Taxi drivers moaning or complaing. They have just as right as us to complain and moan.

Im in my mid 20's.. been gettign taxi's since ive been 16/17 and only had trouble once in all them years!! Might have gotten the odd narky one or ignorant one but you have to understand itsa ppl business and not all the time are ppl gonna be in a good mood espcially when so much of the public seem to be against them.

If ppl are so annoyed why dont they get teh nite link.. oh they hate that too... or organise a lift witha friend or famliy... oh they wouldnt get up at unsocialable hours to kart their drunken mates home... pfft!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Some of us are a little old to be ringing mammy & daddy for a lift home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Well we get enough of ye in here complaining, it gets annoying. "bring back the monopoly we had" is what we hear all the time, basically.

Most of the time taxi's are fine, nicest taxi man I ever had was an Iranian ;).

Prices were cheaper back then ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

After Hours has really matured.

Not one person has blamed 'dem fordiners' yet in this thread.

Kudos AHers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

goes without saying really at this point.

Dey turk ur jerbs!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

mawk wrote: »
    goes without saying really at this point.

Dey turk ur jerbs!!!

I got a cab home last saturday with an 'Eastern European' driver and there was a definite smell of swan meat coming from the boot.

He didnt whinge and p1ss and moan the whole way out the road so i let him off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭jaysusjones

Let him off OP, its probably the only good looking thing he can get to take him home at the end of the night.

"No I didn't get a Roide, got a nice car home though"

Sad state of affairs altogether

if you're happy to sit at home sucking on your own balls, more power to you. not all of us have the option of choosing the dole over work.

Nowhere did I state that I chose the dole over work, you need to learn how to read properly.

no it's not a legal rank. hence the oportunity for abuse. ive been driving 5 years and its only in the last year that this carper has started. some portions of society see loopholes and choose to exploit them.

Get over it, or go else where, or maybe start skipping the queue yourself? A taxi man, explaining to us how people exploit the loopholes... are you for real?

not looking for sympathy dude, im just pointing out on an open forum what is going on in my job. if a driver is willing to fcuk over the peole he works along side with, do you think that same driver will have any problems with fcuking over the customers he's bringing home? think about it.

It is a lonesome job, they do not work along side you, you do not have any work colleagues, the sooner you learn that, the better.
    and for the record i personally didn't agree with the blocking up of o'connell street.

Did you join the protest though?
    look. all im pointing out is a blatant slieveeness within the line of work i'm in. i was brought up to have manners and to queue (thanks for the obligitory spellchecker post) and wait my turn.

We already know about it, as it has been around for a long time, but it was ye guys screwing us over. Karma is sweet.
    the solution to this whole mess is as simple as 3 traffic cones in a line placed after the pedestrian lights. so any garda reading this....

Or another solution would be to use the proper taxi ranks, which were put in place for ye? Or do you think it is ok for a taxi to park anywhere?
    Prices were cheaper back then ;)

I disagree, prices in my area were only 5 euro to anywhere you wanted to go within the town. now it is 8 and 10 euro.
    Let him off OP, its probably the only good looking thing he can get to take him home at the end of the night.

"No I didn't get a Roide, got a nice car home though"

Sad state of affairs altogether

Pretty sh!tty attempt at an insult really. You fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,658 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Pretty sh!tty attempt at an insult really. You fail.

Get a job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

8 times out of 16

Better odds than the 5 out of 10 I got earlier.

Another problem with you taxi drivers, you round up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

00112984 wrote: »
    Better odds than the 5 out of 10 I got earlier.

Same odds actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

Same odds actually

That was the joke.

Get a job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

00112984 wrote: »
    That was the joke.

Good one.

Give the bloke a break!

He was only pointing out what's happening. He wasn't on ranting and raving and giving out sh*t. Everyone is entitled to get into whatever car they want, the OP hasn't said otherwise.

And who's to say he was one of the ones protesting on O'Connell St, who's to say he isn't one of the new taxi drivers who is trying to earn a living after been laid off from the construction industry.

It must be fairly sh*tty to sit there waiting for a fare, trying to do it in a fair way, and your fellow taxi men cut you off.