Copper Face Jacks frequenters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭funk-you

Yeah, for me it's terrible when someone skips the queue for the microwave at lunchtime. I have to wait maybe 3 minutes or more to cook my thai green curry.

Maybe if I post about it here someone will magically solve the problem that I can't be arsed about solving myself.

Oooh, Mr. FancyMicrowave in work. Show-off. We have to rub hotdogs on our legs to get them warm.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

funk-you wrote: »
    Oooh, Mr. FancyMicrowave in work. Show-off. We have to rub hotdogs on our legs to get them warm.

-Funk

The legs, hotdogs or both?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭funk-you

orourkeda wrote: »
    The legs, hotdogs or both?

Both, the heating packed up too. We've to increase productivity during 'These uncertain times' to keep ourselves warm and make lunch at the same time. Wonderful smell about the place.

-Funk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

im off to get some sleep. see you jokers with funny walks and rolling eyes later tonight.

With an attitude like this you're surprised people won't get into your taxi? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Lets get the thread back on topic of taxi queue jumpers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

I hate people complaining or moaning baout Taxi drivers moaning or complaing. They have just as right as us to complain and moan.

Im in my mid 20's.. been gettign taxi's since ive been 16/17 and only had trouble once in all them years!! Might have gotten the odd narky one or ignorant one but you have to understand itsa ppl business and not all the time are ppl gonna be in a good mood espcially when so much of the public seem to be against them.

If ppl are so annoyed why dont they get teh nite link.. oh they hate that too... or organise a lift witha friend or famliy... oh they wouldnt get up at unsocialable hours to kart their drunken mates home... pfft!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Some of us are a little old to be ringing mammy & daddy for a lift home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Well we get enough of ye in here complaining, it gets annoying. "bring back the monopoly we had" is what we hear all the time, basically.

Most of the time taxi's are fine, nicest taxi man I ever had was an Iranian ;).

I wouldn't become a taxi man if my life depended on it, I would rather eat my own nuts... Dole > Taxi driver.

Prices were cheaper back then ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

After Hours has really matured.

Not one person has blamed 'dem fordiners' yet in this thread.

Kudos AHers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭mawk

goes without saying really at this point.

Dey turk ur jerbs!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

mawk wrote: »
    goes without saying really at this point.

Dey turk ur jerbs!!!

I got a cab home last saturday with an 'Eastern European' driver and there was a definite smell of swan meat coming from the boot.

He didnt whinge and p1ss and moan the whole way out the road so i let him off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭jaysusjones

What? Really, it doesn't matter where your taxi is, how about I don't like the look of you, or your stinking car? I can chose who I want to bring me home. If I want a lift in a nice Lexus or BMW then I will go to them, regardless of where they are in the queue.

There's plenty of taxi's out there, so remember the consumer rules the industry now, not ye shower of w4nkers.

Let him off OP, its probably the only good looking thing he can get to take him home at the end of the night.

"No I didn't get a Roide, got a nice car home though"

Sad state of affairs altogether

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

if you're happy to sit at home sucking on your own balls, more power to you. not all of us have the option of choosing the dole over work.

Nowhere did I state that I chose the dole over work, you need to learn how to read properly.

no it's not a legal rank. hence the oportunity for abuse. ive been driving 5 years and its only in the last year that this carper has started. some portions of society see loopholes and choose to exploit them.

Get over it, or go else where, or maybe start skipping the queue yourself? A taxi man, explaining to us how people exploit the loopholes... are you for real?

not looking for sympathy dude, im just pointing out on an open forum what is going on in my job. if a driver is willing to fcuk over the peole he works along side with, do you think that same driver will have any problems with fcuking over the customers he's bringing home? think about it.

It is a lonesome job, they do not work along side you, you do not have any work colleagues, the sooner you learn that, the better.
    and for the record i personally didn't agree with the blocking up of o'connell street.

Did you join the protest though?
    look. all im pointing out is a blatant slieveeness within the line of work i'm in. i was brought up to have manners and to queue (thanks for the obligitory spellchecker post) and wait my turn.

We already know about it, as it has been around for a long time, but it was ye guys screwing us over. Karma is sweet.
    the solution to this whole mess is as simple as 3 traffic cones in a line placed after the pedestrian lights. so any garda reading this....

Or another solution would be to use the proper taxi ranks, which were put in place for ye? Or do you think it is ok for a taxi to park anywhere?
    Prices were cheaper back then ;)

I disagree, prices in my area were only 5 euro to anywhere you wanted to go within the town. now it is 8 and 10 euro.
    Let him off OP, its probably the only good looking thing he can get to take him home at the end of the night.

"No I didn't get a Roide, got a nice car home though"

Sad state of affairs altogether

Pretty sh!tty attempt at an insult really. You fail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Pretty sh!tty attempt at an insult really. You fail.

Get a job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

8 times out of 16

Better odds than the 5 out of 10 I got earlier.

Another problem with you taxi drivers, you round up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

00112984 wrote: »

Same odds actually

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

Same odds actually

That was the joke.

Get a job

That was the joke.

Good one.

Give the bloke a break!

He was only pointing out what's happening. He wasn't on ranting and raving and giving out sh*t. Everyone is entitled to get into whatever car they want, the OP hasn't said otherwise.

And who's to say he was one of the ones protesting on O'Connell St, who's to say he isn't one of the new taxi drivers who is trying to earn a living after been laid off from the construction industry.

It must be fairly sh*tty to sit there waiting for a fare, trying to do it in a fair way, and your fellow taxi men cut you off.

Give the bloke a break!

He was only pointing out what's happening. He wasn't on ranting and raving and giving out sh*t. Everyone isn't entitled to get into whatever car they want, the OP hasn't said otherwise.

And who's to say he was one of the ones protesting on O'Connell St, who's to say he isn't one of the new taxi drivers who is trying to earn a living after been laid off from the construction industry.

It must be fairly sh*tty to sit there waiting for a fare, trying to do it in a fair way, and your fellow taxi men cut you off.

Stop Begrudging the begrudgers!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Stop Begrudging the begrudgers!!

Stop begrudging her begrudging the begrudgerers!

Give the bloke a break!

He was only pointing out what's happening. He wasn't on ranting and raving and giving out sh*t. Everyone isn't entitled to get into whatever car they want, the OP hasn't said otherwise.

Fcuk each and every one of them equally then :)

Also he is 5 years a taxi man.

I am entitled to get into whatever car I want :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭mad m

Dog eat dog OP....Its going to get worse on the run up to xmas, so bite the bullet and your morals and get in front of the Q next time if you want get some money....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

lol and here i was thinking Taxi drivers had some sort of mutual respect and understanding for one another, but it turns out even taxi driver's screw each other.

Thing is though, whenever I try to get a taxi at the back of the cue, they always tell me to go to the front because the guy in front was there first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭eimear1

Riddle101 wrote: »
    Thing is though, whenever I try to get a taxi at the back of the cue, they always tell me to go to the front because the guy in front was there first.

This was debated on local radio (LMFM) a couple of weeks ago - you are entitled to take whichever taxi you like even in an official rank - you may not like the look of the driver or the condition of the car but you don't have to give your reason, you can pick whichever you like from those available.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 TravisStyles

Nowhere did I state that I chose the dole over work, you need to learn how to read properly.

you said 'dole > taxi driver'. what i take from that is, given the choice you would sooner be on the dole rather than drive a taxi (ie work) maybe you should learn to explain yourself more clearly
    Get over it, or go else where, or maybe start skipping the queue yourself? A taxi man, explaining to us how people exploit the loopholes... are you for real?

like i said on certain nights coppers is the only show in town. skip the queue myself? says alot about you that you'd consider that an option.
    It is a lonesome job, they do not work along side you, you do not have any work colleagues, the sooner you learn that, the better.

dont be rediculous of course they are my work colleagues
    Did you join the protest though?

like i said i didn't agree with it, so why would i go park there
    We already know about it, as it has been around for a long time, but it was ye guys screwing us over. Karma is sweet.

ive yet to intentionally screw any of my customers over
    Or another solution would be to use the proper taxi ranks, which were put in place for ye? Or do you think it is ok for a taxi to park anywhere?

i use many different ranks. there has always been an unofficial rank outside coppers which up until recently oporated fine.

Another problem with you taxi drivers, you round up.

bullsh1t. no taxi driver can round up. if anything i round down. if the fare is 10.90 i just ask for a tenner
    mad m wrote: »
    Dog eat dog OP....Its going to get worse on the run up to xmas, so bite the bullet and your morals and get in front of the Q next time if you want get some money....

tbh thats one of the many things wrong with the world today. the whole thing of, well everybody else is screwing the system so i might as well too. that attitude is wrong and will gain nothing worth having.
    eimear1 wrote: »
    This was debated on local radio (LMFM) a couple of weeks ago - you are entitled to take whichever taxi you like even in an official rank - you may not like the look of the driver or the condition of the car but you don't have to give your reason, you can pick whichever you like from those available.

im not disputing that fact. it happens me a lot. i drive a 7 seater and find a lot of people would prefere to get a salon car. i can understand that. in that situation the done thing is that the driver usually gets out and goes to the guy ahead of him and explains that the customer wants to take his taxi. more so on the ranks outside the city where its the same guys working alongside each other each day, read work collegues xavier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Seriously OP, do you honestly think that people coming out of Coppers are going to care where their taxi comes from? The first one they see is the one they go for, queue or no queue.

Fcuk each and every one of them equally then :)

Also he is 5 years a taxi man.

I am entitled to get into whatever car I want :)

Well in that case, all people on the dole are lazy f*cks who should get off their arses and get a job instead of scrounging off the tax payer :rolleyes: generalisations eh!

Also, you're right, you are entitled to get into whatever car you want, that was a typo on my part and completely incorrect! oops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Give the bloke a break!

He was only pointing out what's happening. He wasn't on ranting and raving and giving out sh*t. Everyone is entitled to get into whatever car they want, the OP hasn't said otherwise.

Taxi driver in the family i reckon.... Nobody seems to care that i was laid off from Dunnes stores because more people shop in tesco because they are chaeper.

Will you come back to dunnes and save my job....

I dont think so,

Such is life....