Opinions welcome on holding parking spots

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 606 ✭✭✭baaaa

So how long can you reserve a space for? Can I pay people to work in 12 hour shifts to reserve a highly sought after spot in town next Friday morning at 8.30am?
    I don't know,I suppose you say a space can't be reserved under any circumstances?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

No different than holding a seat in MacDonalds or the pub imo and we have all done that.

Get over it and find another space. Else use the bus!

You are comparing getting a seat in a pub and a parking spot on the road, if you cannot see how differant these two are, you need more life experience in order to have a proper opinion about it. :rolleyes: Considering one of the three is illegal, an obstruction and a hinderence to other (here's the clue) motorists, I think you will find that they are not even similar, they cannot be compared.

I was down in dun "sh!t hole" laoghaire a few months back and this piece of sh!t mother put her 6-7 year old son in a spot to hold it for her husband while she stayed at the other end of the parking spot so there was no chance of sneaking in that spot. They had a camper bus type thing. I beeped and told them to move, she shouts at her son, "don't move, don't move". I pulled up beside her and told her she was a terrible mother for putting her son in danger for the sake of a parking spot. If her kid wasn't there it would have been a differant story. fcuking b!tch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭Archeron

The Americans didnt get pissed off when the Russians got into space first, maybe we should learn from them.

You are comparing getting a seat in a pub and a parking spot on the road, if you cannot see how differant these two are, you need more life experience in order to have a proper opinion about it. :rolleyes: Considering one of the three is illegal, an obstruction and a hinderence to other (here's the clue) motorists, I think you will find that they are not even similar, they cannot be compared.

I was down in dun "sh!t hole" laoghaire a few months back and this piece of sh!t mother put her 6-7 year old son in a spot to hold it for her husband while she stayed at the other end of the parking spot so there was no chance of sneaking in that spot. They had a camper bus type thing. I beeped and told them to move, she shouts at her son, "don't move, don't move". I pulled up beside her and told her she was a terrible mother for putting her son in danger for the sake of a parking spot. If her kid wasn't there it would have been a differant story. fcuking b!tch.
    Dear oh dear,have you ever driven or parked a camper bus type thing as you put it?
    Also do you think that if you were putting down for a few days it might be a good idea to pick a spot and wait for it?
    Can u think?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

baaaa wrote: »
    I don't know,I suppose you say a space can't be reserved under any circumstances?
    Yes it can, when it says ''reserved''.

Dear oh dear,have you ever driven or parked a camper bus type thing as you put it?
    Also do you think that if you were putting down for a few days it might be a good idea to pick a spot and wait for it?
    Can u think?
    Saucer of milk for table 4, meow!

Yes it can, when it says ''reserved''.
    I see ,when was the last time a space told you it was reserved?

Every day, when I go to work.

Can you think?

Saucer of milk for table 4, meow!
    Really though,the majority of pratts that beep on the road are only beeping to let you know that there's a box and you've stepped outside it,and they are startled.

What? :confused:

Every day, when I go to work.

Can you think?
    I think you mean there was a symbol on it that indicated it was reserved.
    When I stand in spots I am indicating the same thing,just in a different way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

my disabled cousin gets me to do it when I'm with him
    He would be entitled to a disabled space, no?
    eh,get ur own spot.
    The very same thing could be said to those who stand in the space.
    There are many reasons why a person could be reserving a spot but it's certainly not for you.
    I don't think anyone said it was.
    idiots.
    "Idiots"? Because they disagree with you and consider what you're doing to be wrong?

Yeah, the wrong way.

Dudess wrote: »
    He would be entitled to a disabled space, no?

The very same thing could be said to those who stand in the space.

I don't think anyone said it was.

"Idiots"? Because they disagree with you and consider what you're doing to be wrong?
    Yes,it's down far end of town.
    No,they have a space.
    I never ssaid they did.
    Idiots cause they advocate abusing me,for keeping a parking space,for 15 secs.

Can't believe that everyone is in agreement with the OP. I'd be totally on the woman's side. She got there first and held the spot for her partner who was coming up the road. If I was in a bar and held a stool for my friend and some Ludraman tried to take it from me I'd belt him. Although it's never happened. The person asks "is that seat taken?" I say "yes it is" and he looks elsewhere. I'd say you're totally in the wrong OP.

The op is in the right, the other gobsh!tes are not in the right in the eyes of the law. And to be honest, that's all that matters.
    You and everyone else who thinks that people standing in a car park spot waiting for their other half to get to the spot is completely 100% wrong. There is no question or debate, there is no need to prove it either. It's that simple.
    By your reasoning then, are you saying that if you and your wife are in McDonald's and she is sitting at a table while you get the food, I am perfectly entitled to tell her to shift her arse and fcuk off if I get my food before you?

There are no laws governing this, morals maybe... but neither are comparable.
    I think the op and most of the others would behave differently if it was a man standing in the spot.

Fembots... :rolleyes: Why is it that you make this a sexist thing? If anything people would be less inclined to confront a woman about it.
    yeah sure,that's why it never happens to any of the 3 males in my family that do it

Maybe people are mixing up these males with your cousing? ;)
    There is a space.U are reversing into it.I drive into it before you.

That means you are not very intelligent, it also means you can't drive and do not understand the rules of the road. You have little or no life experience, go get some.
    There are 3 or 4 spots(besides d 2 disabled) in town where I live where he can get out of the car in a half dignified fashion,if I'm in town doing whatever when I see one come free I call him and stand in it for him,he drives himself,just ends up scraping cars accidently if he doesn't have a certain type of space.Dunno what's d big deal.If I ran into it just ahead of u maybe but im clearly here reserving it for a reason so fup off

A certain type of space, you mean like a disabled parking space that are all over the place? The spaces larger than the average spot? With room for the wheelchair and all the rest?

If you have a reason or not (just like if you have a reason for murdering somebody) it doesn't make it right, it's still wrong. You are 100% wrong, whatever you may think.
    I know u speak english.

This is hilarious. You give people sh!t about their English, and then say the following. It's brilliant. You can't even spell, so don't dare question others about their English when you don't even have the basics.
    nope,just pissed off with bitches trying to intimidate me out of d spot im reserving coz ima girl
    Excuse me?I'm a 19 year old,7 stone girl.I think the hard men that you're refering to are the ones that want to run me over and shout at me.
    Interesting to note that whenevr my da does it he gets smiles and waves

I'm a 15 stone ex army, 6 foot tall, brick sh!t house, I would love to see you in a spot, and tell me it's yours as I look down on you. If you don't sh!t bricks...
    my disabled cousin gets me to do it when I'm with him and my ma does this all the time when she's picking up my granny so that the old dear doesn't have to haul herself to far on the zimmer..I understand why people get pissed off,I've had a bumper pressing my leg twice!But eh,get ur own spot.
    There are many reasons why a person could be reserving a spot but it's certainly not for you.idiots.

Nobody really cares about your cousin to be honest. Or your old granny. We do care about our parking spots. It's fustrating to see a 17 year old child standing in a spot reserving it for "reasons" unknown to us for someone who may or may not be in the vicinity.
    That's a good idea,so while you are setting yourself up to reverse in I drive straight in behind you and rob your spot.That's what you want?

If you want your licence revoked, continue to drive wrecklessly.
    look over these posts,the vast majority of them are negative toward a woman reserving a spot for 15 secs for unbeknown reasons,this is what's wrong with us today,thugs.

More sexist bigotory fembot tripe... It gets old seeing this utter drivel. The fact that you have a muff doesn't make people any more or any less angry at you for holding a spot. It's the fact that you have the odasity to think that it's ok to keep a spot in a car park while your cousin or brother wanders around town like a headless chicken. If I happen to reverse into you and knock you down, well tough sh!t, try telling the judge you were standing in the spot keeping it. You will find yourself paying for the dent in my car ;)
    And how would you feel if my cousins wheelchair had accidently left a big scrape along your car as he struggled to squeeze in by it?

A little pissed, but then I would wait for your cousin and he would pay for the damage he done. Being a cripple doesn't mean you can get away with that sort of crap.
    It's you that didn't get to the space in time,she is in the process of putting a car in the space

No no, you see, you didn't get the space in time, you have to be in a car in order to get a space.
    Can u think?

From the looks of things, you have never driven or parked anything other than a pushbike, which I am sure you got help with. You make the assumption that I seen what was going to be parked there, you also make the assumption that they were parking there for a few days. Well firstly that would have been illegal. Maybe you should start thinking and stop offending people who you disagree with? It's ok to be wrong, once you STFU afterwards. Do you think it's a good idea for somebody to have their family sleep in a camper van in a carpark for a few days???

Are you being serious? Really???

You really don't have any life experience, do you? Honestly... Your lack of driving knowledge is unreal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭Epic Tissue

What I am wondering is how you all think the wife would get to the space 15 minutes before her husband that needed to park there arrived :confused:

Yeah, the wrong way.
    I see your point obviously but sometimes things have to be done different ways than what we're used to,this can be for a variety of reasons that we may not be fully aware of.
    In instances like this-female reserving spot for unknown reason for 15 secs-it's silly to assume the worst and act accordingly,and I contend that behaviour like this is detrimental to society.

What you are doing is illegal. It is wrong and you are 100% in the wrong.
    Yes,it's down far end of town.

So? How can you turn a problem that is yours into everybody elses?
    No,they have a space.

No they don't. They are not in their car.
    Idiots cause they advocate abusing me,for keeping a parking space,for 15 secs.

I am sorry, but the people standing in the parking spots, reserving the spot for another person are the fools. The fact that you state you are only there 15 seconds tells me you are lying about it. It's definately more than 15 seconds. It is 100% illegal. I cannot tell you this enough it seems.

Anyway, to prove you wrong even further, it is illegal for any member of the public to direct traffic. There are times when it's ok to temprorarily direct traffic, like an accident or a spillage, a member of the public can direct traffic until the Gardai arrive.

The only people in this whole country who can direct traffic without getting a permit are the Gardai. You need a permit to direct traffic. That includes workers on the road. They need to apply to the council to be able to direct traffic.

Doing what you do is an obstruction and you can be prosecuted for it. Which I hope will happen to you and your family sometime soon.

So for the record anybody who stands in a parking spot to reserve the spot, no matter what reason is given, is 100% wrong in the eyes of the law. You are wrong, completely wrong, so you have lost your argument, please give it up.

I see your point obviously but sometimes things have to be done different ways than what we're used to,this can be for a variety of reasons that we may not be fully aware of.
    In instances like this-female reserving spot for unknown reason for 15 secs-it's silly to assume the worst and act accordingly,and I contend that behaviour like this is detrimental to society.

Your behaviour and actions are detrimental to society. You are still wrong. No matter what reason you have, it is not a good enough reason to break the law for a parking spot.

I'm a 15 stone ex army, 6 foot tall, brick sh!t house, I would love to see you in a spot, and tell me it's yours as I look down on you. If you don't sh!t bricks...

I'm not bothered replying to rest of your nonsense,this sentiment is typical.
    On an aside it's impressive that you are ex army and considerably overweight.

Oh,I drive my ma and da's campervan every second week or so to keep my da happy,so I've plenty of driving experience and probably bigger things than what you drove,otherwise you would'nt be bitching about some child keeping a spot for his da u sap.

Your behaviour and actions are detrimental to society. You are still wrong. No matter what reason you have, it is not a good enough reason to break the law for a parking spot.
    Here we go with the law again,what law please?

Oh,I drive my ma and da's campervan every second week or so to keep my da happy,so I've plenty of driving experience and probably bigger things than what you drove,otherwise you would'nt be bitching about some child keeping a spot for his da u sap.

I've highlighted the key word, isn't it past your bedtime?

Also, six foot and 15 stone doesn't mean he's overweight, although I wouldn't expect you to know that seeing as you're completely clueless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Here we go with the law again,what law please?

The law that states only a Garda can direct traffic.

How many people here need to tell you that what you do is illegal before it sinks in. Sheesh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

meh, they probably drove past the spot and couldn't back into it so someone jumped out until they turned.. is it really that big of a deal

Find another fukking spot and be glad you don't have AIDS!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Banned.
    I've highlighted the key word, isn't it past your bedtime?

Also, six foot and 15 stone doesn't mean he's overweight, although I wouldn't expect you to know that seeing as you're completely clueless.

Infracted.

We're done here.