Dunphy calls Ireland's performance 'shameful'...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

We should elect him President, as we haven't had one assassinated before.

I'd vote Dunphy ahead of Ahern anyway.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

God i'd love ta smack him tbh,

Rite so we didnt play great at the end and Italy should not have gotten that goal, th edefending was shocking, but the team doesnt deserve the bashing that he gave them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Archimedes wrote: »
    Dont give me that shite. Sure, Andy Reid would be handy to have around, but knowledgable football fans know you dont draw with the World champions if you played "terrible". Knowledgable football fans know that this is not the worst Italian team ever. Dunphy, as usual, is an attention-whoring, sad, pathetic old man who knows how many people will have been watching RTE tonight and decides to hog the limelight once again. Last-gasp equaliser aside, those players played their hearts out tonight, and to get a draw against Italy and be labelled as "terrible" by that miserable old git is downright f*cking shameful behaviour.
    Exactly ,it's noting to do with another ireland team ( who played quite ok at times ) not getting a result .It's about '' thrown my dummy outta the pram '' look at me ,I'm good for the ratings , Dunphy .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Trap nearly exploded when Reid was mentioned by ArrrTae-Eees interviewer.

Dunph is right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Lads keep this thread on topic re Dunphy.
    No football discussion.
    There is a forum for that.
    Dunphy is a football pundit... Taking football out of this will result in loads of variations of "Dunphy is a w*nker".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,260 ✭✭✭Elessar

Nobody likes Dunphy because he tells the truth, even though most of the time the truth is not what people want to hear. He can be harsh but he's truthful. Fair play to him tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Takk wrote: »
    Dunphy plays air guitar

From around 0:10:55.

A good Air Guitarist....not a GREAT Air Guitarist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'd vote Dunphy ahead of Ahern anyway.

I'd vote for a worm-infested dog-turd rather than Ahern.:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭fcussen

Elessar wrote: »
    Nobody likes Dunphy because he tells the truth, even though most of the time the truth is not what people want to hear. He can be harsh but he's truthful. Fair play to him tbh.

No. He tells people what they don't want to hear. And sometimes it's true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭fcussen

He's not saying it because it's true. He's saying it because it's what they don't want to hear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭K-Ren

I don't know, I think Dunphy's championing of the little people of Ireland is hilarious, I much prefer it to the angry, frothing sexual tension between Andy Gray and Richard Keys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,859 ✭✭✭✭Sharpshooter

Kold wrote: »
    Dunphy is a football pundit... Taking football out of this will result in loads of variations of "Dunphy is a w*nker".

Any unsuitable post will be deleted and as of now anyone throwing abuse around or discussing the match in this thread will be banned.

As I said before there is a Forum for discussion of football.

I am trying to leave the thread open, but if it gets messy I will lock it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

He took it one step too far tonight and i actually felt embarassed for him.

He made a total fool of himself.

Ireland giving away late goals and Dunphy go hand in hand ,like a old soap opera ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

if dunphy would keep quiet about politics , i would actually like the guy , hes usually on the money ( ronaldo aside ) when it comes to soccer , traps treatment of reid is cruel regardless of what the manager has done with what is easily the weakest irish team in 30 years

Quickly corrected by a manager (Souness) who pointed out that they need a couple of strikers and they would be very good.

Dunphy is an hysterical clown. This is the guy who was trumpeting Traps appointment as:

"The greatest day in the history of Irish football"

At least Giles and Souness have some credibility as top ex-players and ex-Managers.

Still he is entertaining....despite his ludicrous statements.

italy have always been short a decent striker bar rossi in 82 and he was never any good before or after , strikers apart , they are superior to nearly every team

Leaving the Andy Ried issue aside, getting the weakest irish team in 30 years to a play offs for the world cup finals is quite an achievement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭MrMatisse

Dunphy is a Total Muppet. We dont have the players. Couple of injuries and wed be a sunday league team.

Hed like to see us loose but try to play like the dutch or spanish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Dunphy is a total Muppet. He purposely says sensational things to get people talking about him.

* BTW, please do not move this thread to soccer.

irish_bob wrote: »
    italy have always been short a decent striker bar rossi in 82 and he was never any good before or after , strikers apart , they are superior to nearly every team
    Latchy wrote: »
    Leaving the Andy Ried issue aside, getting the weakest irish team in 30 years to a play offs for the world cup finals is quite an achievement.

Football forum guy's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

Dunphy is right but people always settle for mediocre standards in this country and when you dare to aim high people just shoot you down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Dunphys great! After a good football match I like nothing better than listenin to some sensationalist Dunph-isms. The mans a legend. Sure nobody really takes him that seriously so it doesnt matter. Its all abit of theatre.
    Given the choice between Dunphys crazy postulations being counter-balanced by the almost always correct John Giles, or the bland tedium that is BBC or Sky TV coverage, I know who Ill be watching.

I think most people (even the real football fans that Dunphy talks about) would be hard pressed to argue with that fact that, they would have takin our current position if they were asked back in the dark days of Stans reign.
    But Im goin off topic there :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Poor Dumbphy, he only uses one simple formula, be controversial at all times:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

why is this even here???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Happy Monday

Dunphy said Reid should have been in the team last year even though he was 2 stone overweight and dropped from Sunderland.

The words sh**raker and bitter wan*er come to mind when thinking of Dunphy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,454 ✭✭✭mink_man

Football forum guy's.

how can you give out to people for talking about football when the op was related to football!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

brummytom wrote: »
    To draw with Italy is goooood.

I thought they had it in the bag till the pasta-eating Bastards got in there in the last minute :(

As an Italian living in Ireland can I just say this sort of cheap racist stereotyping really burns my canoli.

dunphy is a hack when it comes to politics but he is sincere about football , during jacks regin , dunphy was the only one who didnt act like a sycophant , he exposed jacks obtuse and rigid approach , sure jack got results but he more or less allowed liam bradys career to end early just because bradys brand of football was too pretty , dunphy is right to keep banging on about reid , now if only he would call out stephen ireland for the petulant brat and traitor that he is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Happy Monday

RonMexico wrote: »
    Dunphy is right but people always settle for mediocre standards in this country and when you dare to aim high people just shoot you down.

I don't see any list of accomplishments after Eamon Dunphy's name.
    Now as for that chap Trappatoni.............:D

mink_man wrote: »
    how can you give out to people for talking about football when the op was related to football!?

The thread is about Dunphy.
    I asked for it to be kept on topic re Dunphy, but no football discussion.

I know well who he is, but discussing football belongs in the correct forum.

This thread has an hour's life left in it now.

By the way mink_man, questioning a moderators decision on thread will result in a ban.