Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

While driving under the speed limit can you be done for dangerous driving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,957 ✭✭✭Hooch

ttm wrote: »
    Then please stop a few driving instructors and tell them that!

The rows I had with my wife when she was learning, at least 3 instructors told her she would fail her test if she didn't drive at the speed limit as if you didn't you'd be slowing down other traffic and that wasn't allowed.

Take an area of town with a road with just enough room for parking on each side, with shops and pedestrians. It is a good straight road but if someone opened a car door you'd need to stop. Well I drive through at about 30kmph in 3rd gear, but untill she past her test my wife would always tell me her instructor made her drive in 4th at 50kmph along the same road. wtf parked cars,doors opening, kids running out, women pushing push chairs with babies in them out between parked cars to test if there is anyone on the road, cars parked on the wrongside of the road blind sided when pulling out and shes told to speed up to the speed limit. Hmmmm things have changed my old drivng instructor would have said 3rd gear area you need maximum contol, but that was the UK over 30years ago LOL he used to chain smoke in the car - at least thats changed ;)

One thing I find is English drivers are far better than irish. Try stop an Irish car and your following for several kilometers before they slam on the breaks and stop in the overtaking lane of immediatly swing over two/three lanes into the hard shoulder. Try stop and english one and they pull over, safely within seconds.

Think our test/instructor/licencing system is all wrong.....but thats for another rant and another thread!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭ttm

Sorry was going off topic, will rant on our test/instructor/licencing system another day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Were you asked to make a cautioned statement??

Did you make a complaint of dangerous driving against the other vehicle??
    I've to go in and give a statement in the next few days. TBH, I think the other party is only doing this because he doesn't think the civil case will go his way and is trying offence as the best form of defense.

The last thing I want to do is turn this all into a criminal case but if it comes down to it, he's forced my hand.

Sleepy wrote: »
    I've to go in and give a statement in the next few days. TBH, I think the other party is only doing this because he doesn't think the civil case will go his way and is trying offence as the best form of defense.

The last thing I want to do is turn this all into a criminal case but if it comes down to it, he's forced my hand.

Give your statement, it will be cautioned, and tell the Garda the full story. Just because statements are taken doesnt automaticaly mean anyone will be prosecuted. the supt could direct no prosecution. See how it goes and let us know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭Omcd

Acceleration lane....new one on me. Merging lane maybe??

Merging at 50 kmph is perfectly fine and totally legal on every Irish road. If you cannot allow for slow drivers and drivers with no confidence then thats not their fault. They is no law against driving slow.

So, why was I pulled by a Garda who wanted to give me two penalty points for inconsiderate driving for driving at what he claimed to be 55 kph in what he thought to be 100kph stretch of road ??

Omcd wrote: »
    So, why was I pulled by a Garda who wanted to give me two penalty points for inconsiderate driving for driving at what he claimed to be 55 kph in what he thought to be 100kph stretch of road ??

Did I stop you???....no. Am I psychic???.....no

Did you get a ticket....no. Could you have gotten a ticket.....no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Dabko

sounds like that garda was in the same sh1ty line of traffic behind you that everyone else was and decided to flex his muscle a bit through pure frustration and annoyance!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭Zube

Sleepy wrote: »
    I've to go in and give a statement in the next few days.

No, you don't. You are not obliged to make a statement at all. Talk to a lawyer before you do.

It is possible that your statement will be used to convict you of an offense even if there isn't enough evidence to do so without the statement.

Did I stop you???....no. Am I psychic???.....no

Did you get a ticket....no. Could you have gotten a ticket.....no.

Well, he was traffic corps, and wanted to give me a ticket, explaining 55km/h in a 100km/h zone 'constitutes inconsiderate driving carrying two penalty points'.

I didn't get a ticket after explaining to him that there were 60km/h signs on the road due to the roadworks he had pulled me just in front of (in fairness to him he had just joined from a side road before pulling me so wouldn't have passed the signs himself).

Other than that, I dont have any particular reason to doubt what you say. I'm not trying to wind you up. It's just that if you are TC and he was TC, then from my perspective it looks like different TC members are singing from different hymn sheets - so I'm confused :confused::confused:

ttm wrote: »
    Then please stop a few driving instructors and tell them that!

Driving instructors don't tell you to make progress to avoid tickets, they tell you to make progress or you'll fail your test.

And they're right, my sister failed for sticking scrupulously to the limit, which was known as "failing to make sufficient progress on the straight" (although that was a long time ago).

Dont be clouded by "Traffic Corps" on a car of jacket. TC are just Gardaí....nothing more. I think people expect us to be infalable....were not. We all recieve the same training, but some take a particular interest in the law and the correct interptation of it. You cannot get a ticket for driving too slow in this country. Sure all agri machinery would be banned from roads if you could.
    Other than that, I dont have any particular reason to doubt what you say. I'm not trying to wind you up. It's just that if you are TC and he was TC, then from my perspective it looks like different TC members are singing from different hymn sheets - so I'm confused :confused::confused:

Dont be clouded by "Traffic Corps" on a car of jacket. TC are just Gardaí....nothing more. I think people expect us to be infalable....were not. We all recieve the same training, but some take a particular interest in the law and the correct interptation of it. You cannot get a ticket for driving too slow in this country. Sure all agri machinery would be banned from roads if you could.

hmmm.. 'I cant soar with eagles when surrounded by turkeys'
    I cant help wonder what the inspiration for this was :D

hmmm.. 'I cant soar with eagles when surrounded by turkeys'
    I cant help wonder what the inspiration for this was :D

I would tell you the truth that it referred to some posters on boards but I could get infracted:pac::D

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,835 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I've been looking for it but can't find the link. However, I'm reminded of the farmer in Sligo (about a year ago) who was done in court for being an ignorant prick and not letting traffic pass.
    He wasn't done for being too slow alright but he was done for inconsiderate driving by blocking traffic.

kbannon wrote: »
    I've been looking for it but can't find the link. However, I'm reminded of the farmer in Sligo (about a year ago) who was done in court for being an ignorant prick and not letting traffic pass.
    He wasn't done for being too slow alright but he was done for inconsiderate driving by blocking traffic.

Yes but not for driving too slow. I believe your referred incident was farmer joe driving in middle of the road, a tyre at either side of the line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,375 ✭✭✭metrovelvet

I was driving down the n17 today and an OAP was in front of me going 35 KM an hour. Not only does it cause road rage but it also causes people going at a healthy speed to stop short on the break. And it causes an obstruction of traffic flow. Is absolutely dangerous.

To boot, even when there was a temporary double lane, the bitch stayed in the right hand lane and wouldnt move. So I honked and honked and honked and she still wouldnt move so I overtook her in the slow lane with a tailback for a half a mile behind me.

SLeepy I would report the other driver since you had the right of way and were under the limit. Ive seen it time and time again on country roads where ive had to slam on breaks for these feckers pulling out at 10 kms onto a national road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 44 dryle

Can a member of the Gardai (plain clothes) pull out in front of you and slam on their brakes in the fast lane of a motorway causing you to
    1. Brake hard and
    2. Swerve into the slow lane to avoid an accident.
    Then pull you for dangerous driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

dryle wrote: »
    Can a member of the Gardai (plain clothes) pull out in front of you and slam on their brakes in the fast lane of a motorway causing you to
    1. Brake hard and

Sorry I can't help, have never driven in a 'fast' lane.

Overtaking lane, apologies still call it fast after so many years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,359 ✭✭✭cyclopath2001

1. Brake hard and
    What speed were you doing at the time, what was the limit and what were the driving conditions?

110kph, 120kph zone and extremely clear conditions, garda stated I overtook 4 cars, whereas I actually overtook 1 vw bora gold coloured.

Did he issue you with a summons?

No said one will be posted out, only showed a badge on the outside of what looked like an ordinary wallet, no ID showing his name etc, claimed he was citing me under section 41,51,62 and another number.

...in the fast lane of a motorway causing you to Brake hard and Swerve into the slow lane to avoid an accident.

If the "slow" lane was clear (and it must have been, or you'd have hit something), why were you driving in the "fast" lane?

Zube wrote: »
    If the "slow" lane was clear (and it must have been, or you'd have hit something), why were you driving in the "fast" lane?

overtaking cars that were well under the speed limit who were in the slow lane. The Garda who pulled out in front of me had no cars in front of him either, he just pulled out in front of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 ciaranoreilly

overtaking cars that were well under the speed limit who were in the slow lane. The Garda who pulled out in front of me had no cars in front of him either, he just pulled out in front of me.

They are the law they can do what they want really! But yes you can be done with driving too slow as it annoys other road users and you can be done with driving without due care. depening on the speed limit and you speed, but if you blocking cars in a 100kmhzone and you done 50 yes u can

If you were overtaking cars in the "slow" lane, how is it that there was room for you to pull into that lane to avoid the Garda? Did you actually pass him on the left?

Zube wrote: »
    If you were overtaking cars in the "slow" lane, how is it that there was room for you to pull into that lane to avoid the Garda? Did you actually pass him on the left?

I was overtaking both cars, there was a decent distance between them, as i was overtaking the second car he pulled out in front of me and slammed on brakes, I thought he was a drunk driver and had to bang on brakes and swerve to avoid collosion. I had just checked my speedo and it read 110kph. There was no car in front of said car in normal driving lane to cause him to pull out in front of me. I hope this clarifies the situation.

I hope this clarifies the situation.

Yes, that's clear, and obviously not dangerous driving on your part. If you do get a summons, I would get a solicitor and tell him the story, then get a suit to wear to court and hope for the best.

Contact the Garda ombudsman and and make a complaint concerning dangerous driving and harassment. If not, you've no defense if you get a summons for dangerous driving. After all, according to your account, you were not able to brake in a straight line and had to swerve, so this means his actions were extraordinary.