Has something like this ever happened to you?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Thats only because no one has a clue whats going on! Something about a goat with a needle...i dunno
    Right, so so far we have:

Junkie scamming
    Carlow Town
    The Late Late Show
    A goat with a needle
    A lack of s's

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

You should have brought her out to my house, imagine the story you could tell then.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,677 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Is there ANYTHING to be said for having another mass?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

Not sure if this is right place to post this thread or even if the title is anyway descriptive.

I stayed in a hotel Friday Night & was alone & not drinking. Went out after LLS for a stroll as I was finding it hard to sleep.
    Stopped off at a Franciscan Friary/Abbey beside which there was a Not Quite A Church Building as there was lights-on & I was curious as to whether there would be a service on this late. Maybe an Oratory? Apparently some Fridays there's a Special Mass for Our' Lady & the Priest hears confessions etc. & there's Mass at 1AM.

Anyway, in the doorway was a young-ish woman (25 she told me subsequently) & another older woman (guessing in her' 40s/50s). Neither of them related or connected. Basically the 25 Y.O.s' Story went she was babysitting for her' sister in Waterford during the week & had missed her' connecting bus back to Athlone with a view to going on "home" to Tuam. The odd-part was she'd come up from Waterford on the Thursday Morning & missed the connection which was fair-enough. But this was Friday Bloody Evening @ 23.55Aproximatley. 1-nce is forgiveable. 2-wice is careless & daft. But that wasn't true it turned-out.

So she was angling for a room or somewhere to stay which is where I came to be involved. I'd purely stopped to see what was going on as it was an odd-time of night for a Mass to be going on. Turns out the Old-Dear was a bit of a Bible Thumper/Basher & Religious Zealot (She Voted No she told me & Campaigned Against a Yes Vote & was a member of Coir & didn't want Abortion to be legalised etc.).

T'Was she who asked me did I know anywhere. I sudgested a Hostel & Old-Dear drove out but place was closed-down. So I said we'll go back in & try a B&B for this young-wan. 1st One turned "us" down & the "Sorry We're Full-Up" excuse was used. They weren't. Other 2 B&Bs said No too. In fairness at Crazy O'Clock to have a woman looking for a bed? Why did she not sort herself out before then? The Old Dear'd gone in to ask while I stayed in her' car with the 25 Y.O. in back seat.

So I sudgested other B&Bs within walking distance or my hotel which I knew wasn't full & was cheap-enough. So the Old Dear proceeded to pay E40-Qid for a room in hotel for this girl & afaik since this 25 Y.O. had "lost her' ticket fp the bus" had given her a few bob to cover her expenses. I'm guessing E20-50Qid.

All very charitable of the Old Dear. Indeed the little help I did give with directions to hostel & accompaniement to it & sudgestions of places a bed could be found was rewarded with me being called a Good Samaritan. I'm a decent bloke & try to do right, not cause trouble. break the law etc. But Good Samaritan? Bit far off the mark there but appreciated anyway.

SO, about 15 mins. after the 25 Y.O. is checked-in, the Old Dear proceeds to leave (after accompanying her up to her' room to get her settled) the premises. I stood-around chatting in Bar to Night Porter cos I smelt a rat & thought there was something not quite-right. All of a sudden didn't the 25 Y.O. let herself out the locked-door with her' bags (handbag & a Next Paper Bag) & strolled purposefully away. This at Odd-Time AM or later. Odd is not the word & we couldn't figure out wtf was going on.

I met proprietor of B&B next day & discussed the matter with him, asked him was he really full & he said "No". He asked me to describe the girl & I said blonde hair & he said was it tied-back into a pony-tail & did she look skinnyish & I said yes. He told me IF it was the same person that she was a heroin-addict/junkie. It was ondly when he described her & the antics that the penny-dropped. I wouldn't'v'd a clue as to an explanation for her' wierd behaviour.

I had said to her that if I had ended-up in her' homeless circumstance & had "lost my ticket for the bus" that first-thing I would've done is contacted the local An Garda Siochana. But she requested that we didn't involve them or contact them. Alarm Bells Were Ringing.

The reason she left would tally with what Proprietor reckoned in that as an addict (Local or Genuinely from Tuam) she'd do anything for her' fix. Including manipulating people. So that Old Dear who'd paid for her wasted her' E40-Qid & whatever else she gave her as the extra she gave her was more than likely spent on a fix. She didn't come back to the hotel so must've had a contact in town.

It was quite frankly bizarre. Naked Camera etc. wouldn't have anything on it. Ye just couldn't make it up.

Now, I`m not a junkie, and I never have been/will be (hopefully). But there must be easier ways of swindling cash out of people, even when your brains are fried?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,723 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Why use 1-nce instead of once? 1-nce is longer to write :confused:

Mass eh? Hmm, communion and a cup of tea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

3 questions

whats LLS?

what were those two posts all about?

and did you get her number?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭me_right_one

CianRyan wrote: »
    It did, actually.

Wear=Clothes ect...
    Where=Over there.
    Were=In which place did it happen?

Wrong again!

Wear, pronounced "way-er", = Clothes etc.
    Where, pronounced "whey-er", = In which place did it happen
    Were, pronounced "werre", = Past plural of "are"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

antodeco wrote: »
    Why use 1-nce instead of once? 1-nce is longer to write :confused:

Mass eh? Hmm, communion and a cup of tea

Infact, `once` is a lot simpler than `1-nce`. Wonders will never cease...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Infact, `once` is a lot simpler than `1-nce`. Wonders will never cease...

That's, infacta, the point that antodeco made....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

Sorry if i'm stating the obvious here, but, going on the fact that u saw a skinny scrany blonde with shopping bags outside a church at "crazy O'Clock"... did you not cop that she was a junkie?:confused:

Kudos for being a genuine bloke and all, but seriously...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Miss Pee Agent

And you watched The Late Late Show instead of America's Got Talent. I think thats where you went wrong.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭me_right_one

I like ur name, sounds......................... moist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

Right, so so far we have:

Junkie scamming
    Carlow Town
    The Late Late Show
    A goat with a needle
    A lack of s's

Good synopsis,lets just take the moral of the story as don't bring junkies who may or may not be from Tuam back to your hotel in Carlow,cause drugs are bad:(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

I feel like I'v just been TANGO'D....... wtf is this thread about?:confused::confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,953 ✭✭✭Vinta81

rhkf7s.gif