Has something like this ever happened to you?

• 04-10-2009 12:50AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭

Not sure if this is right place to post this thread or even if the title is anyway descriptive.

I stayed in a hotel Friday Night & was alone & not drinking. Went out after LLS for a stroll as I was finding it hard to sleep.
    Stopped off at a Franciscan Friary/Abbey beside which there was a Not Quite A Church Building as there was lights-on & I was curious as to whether there would be a service on this late. Maybe an Oratory? Apparently some Fridays there's a Special Mass for Our' Lady & the Priest hears confessions etc. & there's Mass at 1AM.

Anyway, in the doorway was a young-ish woman (25 she told me subsequently) & another older woman (guessing in her' 40s/50s). Neither of them related or connected. Basically the 25 Y.O.s' Story went she was babysitting for her' sister in Waterford during the week & had missed her' connecting bus back to Athlone with a view to going on "home" to Tuam. The odd-part was she'd come up from Waterford on the Thursday Morning & missed the connection which was fair-enough. But this was Friday Bloody Evening @ 23.55Aproximatley. 1-nce is forgiveable. 2-wice is careless & daft. But that wasn't true it turned-out.

So she was angling for a room or somewhere to stay which is where I came to be involved. I'd purely stopped to see what was going on as it was an odd-time of night for a Mass to be going on. Turns out the Old-Dear was a bit of a Bible Thumper/Basher & Religious Zealot (She Voted No she told me & Campaigned Against a Yes Vote & was a member of Coir & didn't want Abortion to be legalised etc.).

T'Was she who asked me did I know anywhere. I sudgested a Hostel & Old-Dear drove out but place was closed-down. So I said we'll go back in & try a B&B for this young-wan. 1st One turned "us" down & the "Sorry We're Full-Up" excuse was used. They weren't. Other 2 B&Bs said No too. In fairness at Crazy O'Clock to have a woman looking for a bed? Why did she not sort herself out before then? The Old Dear'd gone in to ask while I stayed in her' car with the 25 Y.O. in back seat.

So I sudgested other B&Bs within walking distance or my hotel which I knew wasn't full & was cheap-enough. So the Old Dear proceeded to pay E40-Qid for a room in hotel for this girl & afaik since this 25 Y.O. had "lost her' ticket fp the bus" had given her a few bob to cover her expenses. I'm guessing E20-50Qid.

All very charitable of the Old Dear. Indeed the little help I did give with directions to hostel & accompaniement to it & sudgestions of places a bed could be found was rewarded with me being called a Good Samaritan. I'm a decent bloke & try to do right, not cause trouble. break the law etc. But Good Samaritan? Bit far off the mark there but appreciated anyway.

SO, about 15 mins. after the 25 Y.O. is checked-in, the Old Dear proceeds to leave (after accompanying her up to her' room to get her settled) the premises. I stood-around chatting in Bar to Night Porter cos I smelt a rat & thought there was something not quite-right. All of a sudden didn't the 25 Y.O. let herself out the locked-door with her' bags (handbag & a Next Paper Bag) & strolled purposefully away. This at Odd-Time AM or later. Odd is not the word & we couldn't figure out wtf was going on.

I met proprietor of B&B next day & discussed the matter with him, asked him was he really full & he said "No". He asked me to describe the girl & I said blonde hair & he said was it tied-back into a pony-tail & did she look skinnyish & I said yes. He told me IF it was the same person that she was a heroin-addict/junkie. It was ondly when he described her & the antics that the penny-dropped. I wouldn't'v'd a clue as to an explanation for her' wierd behaviour.

I had said to her that if I had ended-up in her' homeless circumstance & had "lost my ticket for the bus" that first-thing I would've done is contacted the local An Garda Siochana. But she requested that we didn't involve them or contact them. Alarm Bells Were Ringing.

The reason she left would tally with what Proprietor reckoned in that as an addict (Local or Genuinely from Tuam) she'd do anything for her' fix. Including manipulating people. So that Old Dear who'd paid for her wasted her' E40-Qid & whatever else she gave her as the extra she gave her was more than likely spent on a fix. She didn't come back to the hotel so must've had a contact in town.

It was quite frankly bizarre. Naked Camera etc. wouldn't have anything on it. Ye just couldn't make it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

So.....did you ride her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Murray M Chotiner[1] (October 4, 1909 – January 30, 1974) was an American pornstar, attorney, government official, and close associate and friend of President Richard Nixon during much of the 37th President's political career. He served as campaign manager for the future president's run for the United States Senate in 1950 and for his vice presidential bid in 1952, and managed the campaigns of other California Republicans. He was active in each of Nixon's two successful runs for the White House in low-profile positions.
    Chotiner was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; his father moved the family to California and then abandoned his wife and children. Murray Chotiner attended UCLA, and graduated from the Southwestern School of Law. He practiced law in Los Angeles, and branched out into public relations. Involving himself in Republican politics, he played an active part in several political campaigns and made an unsuccessful run for the California State Assembly in 1938.
    Nixon retained Chotiner as a consultant to his first congressional campaign in 1946. In an era when the perceived threat of communism was a major domestic issue, Chotiner advised the future president to link his liberal opponent, Representative Jerry Voorhis, to a political organization which was believed to be communist-dominated. Nixon was elected, and hired the attorney to run his 1950 Senate campaign against Representative Helen Gahagan Douglas. In that campaign, Chotiner used a similar strategy as in the race against Voorhis, stressing Douglas' liberal voting record (printed on pink paper to hint at communist sympathy). Congressman Nixon easily defeated Douglas, and Chotiner next managed Nixon's 1952 vice presidential campaign and counseled Nixon through allegations of antisemitism and revelations that there was a privately-run fund to pay Nixon's political expenses—revelations that the candidate decisively overcame with his televised Checkers speech.
    After Congress investigated Chotiner in 1956, suspecting the attorney was using his connections to Nixon for influence peddling to benefit his private clients, the Vice President and his former campaign manager temporarily parted ways. Nixon recalled him to work on his unsuccessful 1962 gubernatorial campaign against fellow Republican Joe Shell and Democratic incumbent Edmund G. Brown, Sr., and again for his successful 1968 presidential bid. After Nixon was inaugurated in 1969, Chotiner received a political appointment to a government position and, in 1970, became a member of the White House staff. He returned to private practice a year later, but was involved in Nixon's 1972 re-election campaign. Chotiner described the Watergate break-in that eventually brought down the Nixon Administration as "stupid", and when a newspaper accused him of organizing it, he sued for libel and won a substantial settlement. He remained an informal adviser to Nixon until he died in Washington D.C. following an auto accident in January 1974, and Nixon mourned the loss of a man he described as a counselor and friend.

Chotiner was born on October 4, 1909 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, the son of Albert Hyman Chotiner and Sarah Chotiner. The family moved to Columbus, Ohio, soon after Murray's birth, and relocated to California in 1920.[2] Albert Chotiner, a cigar maker by trade, managed a chain of movie theatres in California, and soon abandoned his wife and children.[3]
    After attending the University of California, Los Angeles,[3] Chotiner enrolled at the Southwestern School of Law, graduating at age 20, the youngest graduate in the school's history.[4] However, he had to wait until he was 21 to be eligible to take the bar exam.[2] He initially practiced law with his older brother, Jack—they had a general practice in which they defended a number of bookies—but eventually the Chotiners dissolved the partnership, and Murray Chotiner opened a law practice on his own in Los Angeles.[5] He later described many of his clients as "unsavory, to say the least".[6] In the early 1940s, he branched out into public relations.[4]
    Chotiner initially registered to vote as a Democrat, but soon switched parties, joining the Republicans.[7] He involved himself in Republican politics, working on Herbert Hoover's unsuccessful presidential re-election campaign in 1932.[4] In 1938, the young attorney ran against longtime Republican incumbent Charles W. Lyon for the California State Assembly. Lyon cross-filed and secured his re-election by winning both primaries, defeating Chotiner in the Republican poll, and narrowly beating Robert A. Heinlein (who subsequently turned to writing science fiction) in the Democratic contest.[8]
    When Earl Warren successfully ran for Governor of California in 1942, Chotiner served as his field director.[9] However, he alienated Warren when, hoping for a favor in light of his 1942 support, he asked the newly-inaugurated governor to decline to approve the extradition of one of his clients to another state.[10] Warren had Chotiner thrown out of his office,[11] and the future chief justice refused to let him have anything to do with his re-election campaign in 1946.[4] According to Nixon biographer Earl Mazo, Chotiner stated that while people remembered him for "making" Richard Nixon, "the real man I created was Earl Warren".[12]
    Chotiner served as counsel to state committees investigating violence in motion picture strikes and conditions in children's boarding homes and in homes for the elderly.[13] In 1944, Chotiner was elected president of the conservative California Republican Assembly, a grassroots organization of party activists;[14] he had previously served as president of the Los Angeles Republican Assembly.[15] In addition to his political involvement, he was active in the Los Angeles Jewish Community Relations Committee.[2]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,660 ✭✭✭jaffa20

Ya, that happens to me all the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Not sure if this is right place to post this thread or even if the title is anyway descriptive.
    I stayed in a hotel Friday Night & was alone & not drinking. Went out after LLS for a stroll as I was finding it hard to sleep.
    Stopped off at a Franciscan Friary/Abbey beside which there was a Not Quite A Church Building as there was lights-on & I was curious as to whether there would be a service on this late. Maybe an Oratory? Apparently some Fridays there's a Special Mass for Our' Lady & the Priest hears confessions etc. & there's Mass at 1AM.
    Anyway, in the doorway was a young-ish woman (25 she told me subsequently) & another older woman (guessing in her' 40s/50s). Neither of them related or connected. Basically the 25 Y.O.s' Story went she was babysitting for her' sister in Waterford during the week & had missed her' connecting bus back to Athlone with a view to going on "home" to Tuam. The odd-part was she'd come up from Waterford on the Thursday Morning & missed the connection which was fair-enough. But this was Friday Bloody Evening @ 23.55 Aproximatley. 1-nce is forgiveable. 2-wice is careless & daft. But that wasn't true it turned-out.
    So she was angling for a room or somewhere to stay which is where I came to be involved. I'd purely stopped to see what was going on as it was an odd-time of night for a Mass to be going on. Turns out the Old-Dear was a bit of a Bible Thumper/Basher & Religious Zealot (She Voted No she told me & Campaigned Against a Yes Vote & was a member of Coir & didn't want Abortion to be legalised etc.).
    T'Was she who asked me did I know anywhere. I sudgested a Hostel & Old-Dear drove out but place was closed-down. So I said we'll go back in & try a B&B for this young-wan. 1st One turned "us" down & the "Sorry We're Full-Up" excuse was used. They weren't. Other 2 B&Bs said No too. In fairness at Crazy O'Clock to have a woman looking for a bed? Why did she not sort herself out before then? The Old Dear'd gone in to ask while I stayed in her' car with the 25 Y.O. in back seat.
    So I sudgested other B&Bs within walking distance or my hotel which I knew wasn't full & was cheap-enough. So the Old Dear proceeded to pay E40-Qid for a room in hotel for this girl & afaik since this 25 Y.O. had "lost her' ticket fp the bus" had given her a few bob to cover her expenses. I'm guessing E20-50Qid.
    All very charitable of the Old Dear. Indeed the little help I did give with directions to hostel & accompaniement to it & sudgestions of places a bed could be found was rewarded with me being called a Good Samaritan. I'm a decent bloke & try to do right, not cause trouble. break the law etc. But Good Samaritan? Bit far off the mark there but appreciated anyway.
    SO, about 15 mins. after the 25 Y.O. is checked-in, the Old Dear proceeds to leave (after accompanying her up to her' room to get her settled) the premises. I stood-around chatting in Bar to Night Porter cos I smelt a rat & thought there was something not quite-right. All of a sudden didn't the 25 Y.O. let herself out the locked-door with her' bags (handbag & a Next Paper Bag) & strolled purposefully away. This at Odd-Time AM or later. Odd is not the word & we couldn't figure out wtf was going on.
    I met proprietor of B&B next day & discussed the matter with him, asked him was he really full & he said "No". He asked me to describe the girl & I said blonde hair & he said was it tied-back into a pony-tail & did she look skinnyish & I said yes. He told me IF it was the same person that she was a heroin-addict/junkie. It was ondly when he described her & the antics that the penny-dropped. I wouldn't'v'd a clue as to an explanation for her' wierd behaviour.
    I had said to her that if I had ended-up in her' homeless circumstance & had "lost my ticket for the bus" that first-thing I would've done is contacted the local An Garda Siochana. But she requested that we didn't involve them or contact them. Alarm Bells Were Ringing.
    The reason she left would tally with what Proprietor reckoned in that as an addict (Local or Genuinely from Tuam) she'd do anything for her' fix. Including manipulating people. So that Old Dear who'd paid for her wasted her' E40-Qid & whatever else she gave her as the extra she gave her was more than likely spent on a fix. She didn't come back to the hotel so must've had a contact in town.
    It was quite frankly bizarre. Naked Camera etc. wouldn't have anything on it. Ye just couldn't make it up.

Were the shop out of Paragraphs today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I'm not sure as I just read the first and last lines tbh.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Anyway, in the doorway was a young-ish woman (25 she told me subsequently) & another older woman (guessing in her' 40s/50s). Neither of them related or connected. Basically the 25 Y.O.s' Story went she was babysitting for her' sister in Waterford during the week & had missed her' connecting bus back to Athlone with a view to going on "home" to Tuam. The odd-part was she'd come up from Waterford on the Thursday Morning & missed the connection which was fair-enough. But this was Friday Bloody Evening @ 23.55 Aproximatley. 1-nce is forgiveable. 2-wice is careless & daft. But that wasn't true it turned-out.
    Murray M Chotiner[1] (October 4, 1909 – January 30, 1974) was an American pornstar, attorney, government official, and close associate and friend of President Richard Nixon during much of the 37th President's political career. He served as campaign manager for the future president's run for the United States Senate in 1950 and for his vice presidential bid in 1952, and managed the campaigns of other California Republicans. He was active in each of Nixon's two successful runs for the White House in low-profile positions.
    Chotiner was born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; his father moved the family to California and then abandoned his wife and children. Murray Chotiner attended UCLA, and graduated from the Southwestern School of Law. He practiced law in Los Angeles, and branched out into public relations. Involving himself in Republican politics, he played an active part in several political campaigns and made an unsuccessful run for the California State Assembly in 1938.
    Nixon retained Chotiner as a consultant to his first congressional campaign in 1946. In an era when the perceived threat of communism was a major domestic issue, Chotiner advised the future president to link his liberal opponent, Representative Jerry Voorhis, to a political organization which was believed to be communist-dominated. Nixon was elected, and hired the attorney to run his 1950 Senate campaign against Representative Helen Gahagan Douglas. In that campaign, Chotiner used a similar strategy as in the race against Voorhis, stressing Douglas' liberal voting record (printed on pink paper to hint at communist sympathy). Congressman Nixon easily defeated Douglas, and Chotiner next managed Nixon's 1952 vice presidential campaign and counseled Nixon through allegations of antisemitism and revelations that there was a privately-run fund to pay Nixon's political expenses—revelations that the candidate decisively overcame with his televised Checkers speech.
    After Congress investigated Chotiner in 1956, suspecting the attorney was using his connections to Nixon for influence peddling to benefit his private clients, the Vice President and his former campaign manager temporarily parted ways. Nixon recalled him to work on his unsuccessful 1962 gubernatorial campaign against fellow Republican Joe Shell and Democratic incumbent Edmund G. Brown, Sr., and again for his successful 1968 presidential bid. After Nixon was inaugurated in 1969, Chotiner received a political appointment to a government position and, in 1970, became a member of the White House staff. He returned to private practice a year later, but was involved in Nixon's 1972 re-election campaign. Chotiner described the Watergate break-in that eventually brought down the Nixon Administration as "stupid", and when a newspaper accused him of organizing it, he sued for libel and won a substantial settlement. He remained an informal adviser to Nixon until he died in Washington D.C. following an auto accident in January 1974, and Nixon mourned the loss of a man he described as a counselor and friend.

Chotiner was born on October 4, 1909 in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, the son of Albert Hyman Chotiner and Sarah Chotiner. The family moved to Columbus, Ohio, soon after Murray's birth, and relocated to California in 1920.[2] Albert Chotiner, a cigar maker by trade, managed a chain of movie theatres in California, and soon abandoned his wife and children.[3]
    After attending the University of California, Los Angeles,[3] Chotiner enrolled at the Southwestern School of Law, graduating at age 20, the youngest graduate in the school's history.[4] However, he had to wait until he was 21 to be eligible to take the bar exam.[2] He initially practiced law with his older brother, Jack—they had a general practice in which they defended a number of bookies—but eventually the Chotiners dissolved the partnership, and Murray Chotiner opened a law practice on his own in Los Angeles.[5] He later described many of his clients as "unsavory, to say the least".[6] In the early 1940s, he branched out into public relations.[4]
    Chotiner initially registered to vote as a Democrat, but soon switched parties, joining the Republicans.[7] He involved himself in Republican politics, working on Herbert Hoover's unsuccessful presidential re-election campaign in 1932.[4] In 1938, the young attorney ran against longtime Republican incumbent Charles W. Lyon for the California State Assembly. Lyon cross-filed and secured his re-election by winning both primaries, defeating Chotiner in the Republican poll, and narrowly beating Robert A. Heinlein (who subsequently turned to writing science fiction) in the Democratic contest.[8]
    When Earl Warren successfully ran for Governor of California in 1942, Chotiner served as his field director.[9] However, he alienated Warren when, hoping for a favor in light of his 1942 support, he asked the newly-inaugurated governor to decline to approve the extradition of one of his clients to another state.[10] Warren had Chotiner thrown out of his office,[11] and the future chief justice refused to let him have anything to do with his re-election campaign in 1946.[4] According to Nixon biographer Earl Mazo, Chotiner stated that while people remembered him for "making" Richard Nixon, "the real man I created was Earl Warren".[12]
    Chotiner served as counsel to state committees investigating violence in motion picture strikes and conditions in children's boarding homes and in homes for the elderly.[13] In 1944, Chotiner was elected president of the conservative California Republican Assembly, a grassroots organization of party activists;[14] he had previously served as president of the Los Angeles Republican Assembly.[15] In addition to his political involvement, he was active in the Los Angeles Jewish Community Relations Committee.[2]

Fascinating, please, do go on!

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

Fuck this, im off to bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Tl;dr.

Some one explain to me, wtf just happened?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭DO'Carlo/Wex

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    So.....did you ride her?
    Did I 'eck as like. But if I'd got the chance I would've tried it on.

Was actually gonna knock on her door at one-stage to ahem, "check on her"! But chickened-out.

Didn't know what way things were gonna turn out subsequently so if things'd gone belly-up, I could've ended up worse-case scenario being arrested for something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

brummytom wrote: »
    Were the shop out of Paragraphs today?

apparently yours didn't have the correct "were"

Wait, what?

congo_90 wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

congo_90 wrote: »
    It did, actually.

Wear=Clothes ect...
    Where=Over there.
    Were=In which place did it happen?

They did, on the other hand, run out of s's, so it would seem.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

tl;dr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I wish I had the patience to read those long winded posts .

Actully , truth be known I frigging dont .......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,205 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

Anyway, in the doorway was a young-ish woman (25 she told me subsequently) & another older woman (guessing in her' 40s/50s). Neither of them related or connected. Basically the 25 Y.O.s' Story went she was babysitting for her' sister in Waterford during the week & had missed her' connecting bus back to Athlone with a view to going on "home" to Tuam. The odd-part was she'd come up from Waterford on the Thursday Morning & missed the connection which was fair-enough. But this was Friday Bloody Evening @ 23.55Aproximatley. 1-nce is forgiveable. 2-wice is careless & daft. But that wasn't true it turned-out.

Here's the i don't give a fúck to read it version

Junkie scams old women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,043 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

What's with the apostrophe after her?

And I'm pretty sure stuff like that tends to happen. Junkies will do anything for their fix.

tl;dr version

ScienceNerd rocks and should be given gifts of varying values

CianRyan wrote: »

They did, on the other hand, run out of s's, so it would seem.

Ah fúck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,608 ✭✭✭Victor_M

tl;dr version

ScienceNerd rocks and should be given gifts of varying values

Yeah.... sciencenerd sounds like the sort of lad that will receive loads of gifts, particularity from sexy women, i'm sure as we speak you are being well taken care of.(or taking well care of yourself!)

To quote Pighead tl;dr Thread legendary;deadly read, thanks for the vote of confidence.....you loser!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I needed a new heel for my shoe, so, I decided to go to Morganville, which is what they called Shelbyville in ...zzzzzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭milehip1

ok two things, what is a LLS? and where in the country were you?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

At least she's not robbing folks with a dirty needle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

At least she's not robbing folks with a dirty needle.

Well that's a relief cos mine's filthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 309 ✭✭DO'Carlo/Wex

milehip1 wrote: »
    ok two things, what is a LLS? and where in the country were you?
    Late Late Show.
    Carlow Town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

Latchy wrote: »
    I wish I had the patience to read those long winded posts .

Actully , truth be known I frigging dont .......

I read them. Both. I WANT MY LIFE BACK!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

Mass, at that hour of the night?

wtf

I read them. Both. I WANT MY LIFE BACK!!!
    It's more entertaining trying to piece a story together from peoples replies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

It's more entertaining trying to piece a story together from peoples replies

Thats only because no one has a clue whats going on! Something about a goat with a needle...i dunno