Irish times journalist says that Irish fee paying schools not elitist !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

K-Ren wrote: »
    I love private schooling. It meant that when I went to secondary school, any pretentious dickwads that might have ruined 5 years of my life were all holed up together in some place far, far away!

yea, riiiight....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Her name is Orlaith and she went to Mount Anville, for God's sake. Of course she's elitist.
    I have never met a spoiled brat at the school, either pupil or parent

Seriously, there's not one spoiled brat in Clongowes? BULL****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

jonsnow wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/education/2009/0929/1224255433096.html

this is so typical of our elite in Ireland.They view themselves as ordinary and hardworking and see themselves as having got ahead purely by their own hard work and talents-never acknowledging all the old boy and old girl networks that have protected and helped them to success their entire lives.

I find this absolutley hilarious, who the fcuk are you to say my parents were part of an old boy/old girl network? Who the hell are u to say that they didnt get "ahead" by their own talents and hard work?

I think your struggling with being oridnary and will find any excuse to look down on those who have had more success and given their children a better education.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭K-Ren

Pighead wrote: »
    How on earth can you call somebody a pretentious dickwad for attending a private school!

In that case the lads who don't bother going with education at all should call you a pretentious dickwad for attending school. The boys with no footwear should call you a pretentious dickwad for buying your Nike runners etc etc etc etc!

I see where you're going with this- so what you mean is they'd kind of have the same attitude as me towards other people, except that they ''don't bother'' with education and don't have shoes? Your strong rebuke, particularly your mention of '' etc etc etc, etc etc etc exclaimation mark '' has swayed me, my hat is off to you sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Oh The Humanity

Its only fair that D4 kids should be quarantined from normal kids ehm, allowed have their own school so they don't infect normal kids with their fcuked up accents can learn important D4 skills such as Lacrosse, Hockey, what season pieces are important to be seen wearing, how to cultivate an eating disorder etc

If they were allowed to contaminate ordinary kids schools subjected to attending schools with plebians they may never learn these essential life skills and then where would we all be Petronella? Hm?

I love private schooling. It meant that when I went to secondary school, any pretentious dickwads that might have ruined 5 years of my life were all holed up together in some place far, far away!

I love public schooling. It meant that when i went to secondary school, any jealous idiots that might have ruined 6 years of my life were all holed up toghether in some place far, far away.

Should have got your "ma" to work that extra part-time job to get Transition year in.

I AM BEING SARCASTIC

Its only fair that D4 kids should be quarantined from normal kids ehm, allowed have their own school so they don't infect normal kids with their fcuked up accents can learn important D4 skills such as Lacrosse, Hockey, what season pieces are important to be seen wearing, how to cultivate an eating disorder etc

If they were allowed to contaminate ordinary kids schools subjected to attending schools with plebians they may never learn these essential life skills and then where would we all be Petronella? Hm?

and let's not forget the favoured team-sport of blackrock college "kick the proletarien about the cranium"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

I see where you're going with this- so what you mean is they'd kind of have the same attitude as me towards other people, except that they ''don't bother'' with education and don't have shoes? Your strong rebuke, particularly your mention of '' etc etc etc, etc etc etc exclaimation mark '' has swayed me, my hat is off to you sir.
    Oooooh look at this pretentious dickwad with his fancy hat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

I know someone who decided to send their kids as day pupils to a private school (about €5,000 per child) on the basis that all the other schools that were close enough to be considered had abjectly poor reputations and she had heard nothing but bad things from the other parents with children at them. She slaved away doing an extra job part-time to make sure she could afford it. I really think the state needs to realise why people are paying to choose schools.

This is important. If you live in tallaght, for example, which is probably the biggest town in the country. You don't have a good school anywhere near you. If your kid shows some promise, your only option is to send them to one of the local kips and hope for the best, or go private.

There's a real shortage of good public secondary schools for working class kids in Dublin.

only1stevo wrote: »
    I love public schooling. It meant that when i went to secondary school, any jealous idiots that might have ruined 6 years of my life were all holed up toghether in some place far, far away.

Should have got your "ma" to work that extra part-time job to get Transition year in.

chill out there finian, you'll give yourself skin failure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Pighead wrote: »
    Oooooh look at this pretentious dickwad with his fancy hat.

Banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

genericguy wrote: »

Cop on.

genericguy wrote: »

Wasnt serious, surely that was obvious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Nothing like private school threads in After Hours to bring out staggering levels of snobbery (and I don't mean the "reverse" kind).

That said, not all private school educated peeps were born with silver spoons in their mouths.

Dudess wrote: »
    Nothing like private school threads in After Hours to bring out staggering levels of snobbery (and I don't mean the "reverse" kind).

Give a few examples? Note mine was merely an example of how stupid KREN was sounding had It been in reverse.

I find this absolutley hilarious, who the fcuk are you to say my parents were part of an old boy/old girl network? Who the hell are u to say that they didnt get "ahead" by their own talents and hard work?
    I agree with you there - it's ludicrous to say every single person who goes/went to a private school is part of Ireland's elite and only got a place at the school because of the old boys'/girls' network. My brothers went to a fee-paying school and my dad was a civil servant (not a senior one), my mother wasn't working. They went there because it offered the best facilities of the schools that were convenient to get to, but it happened to be private. Their first choice was a state school but they couldn't get in there due to being just outside the catchment area.
    I went to a state school because it offered the best facilities of the schools that were convenient to get to. I think the notion "paying for it means it will be better" is naive.

However, I think the following comes across as awfully snobbish:
    I think your struggling with being oridnary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

If you really strive to do your best then you'd be best going to a public school.

Why?

I went to a public school.

I'm the best.

Me.

Nobody else.

It only makes sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,288 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Dudess wrote:

I agree, but I definitely do mean the reverse kind of snobbery.
    Dudess wrote:
    However, I think the following comes across as awfully snobbish

I think those quotes are somewhat outnumbered by the chip-on-the-shoulder crowd though.

However, I think the following comes across as awfully snobbish:

Ok im going to edit that post and put a big massive SARCASM badge on it.

And Eoin is right, The Reverse kind is far more prevalent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭laugh

That said, not all private school educated peeps were born with silver spoons in their mouths.

Furthest off the mark you have ever been, nothing like a private school thread to highlight the giant chips on shoulders.

The parents are just adding to what the state are obliged to pay for everyone.

I would rather have the private schools than be without them, if only a few people with talent are given the environment to suceed where some scumbag isn't taking up all the teachers time with their behavior problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

Oh I see how it is.

Reverse snobbery?

Yrebbons. –noun, plural -ber⋅ies.
    Having the characteristics of a bons. One who shows acceptence towards others' opinions or viewpoints and regards others as being equal or superior.

laugh wrote: »
    I would rather have the private schools than be without them, if only a few people with talent are given the environment to suceed where some scumbag isn't taking up all the teachers time with their behavior problems.

This is where I'll have to disagree with you - you'll get scumbags and assholes in any school who will waste the teacher's time. But to criticise parents for spending money on their children's education is beyond me.

eoin wrote: »
    This is where I'll have to disagree with you - you'll get scumbags and assholes in any school who will waste the teacher's time.

They get the door from my experience. Especially important in the early years before people are serperated by talent / interest in subjects.

Maybe its a bad thing that they dont feel obliged to educate someone who isnt interested themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭laoisforliam

Sleipnir wrote: »
    Her name is Orlaith and she went to Mount Anville, for God's sake. Of course she's elitist.

Seriously, there's not one spoiled brat in Clongowes? BULL****!

Theres spoiled brats in nearly every ingle school in the country

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

jonsnow wrote: »
    They view themselves as ordinary and hardworking and see themselves as having got ahead purely by their own hard work and talents-never acknowledging all the old boy and old girl networks that have protected and helped them to success their entire lives.

Talked to many of them?

laugh wrote: »
    if only a few people with talent are given the environment to suceed where some scumbag isn't taking up all the teachers time with their behavior problems.
    This is the kind of thing I mean...
    eoin wrote: »
    But to criticise parents for spending money on their children's education is beyond me.
    I think it's more a case of objecting to the assumption that private school = better education. It's extremely misguided. State schools can have facilities that are second to none, some private schools don't have good facilities. All teachers receive the same training. Some teachers are good, some mediocre, some bad - the fact they're based in a private school doesn't change that. Ditto when it comes to the student's ability/level of application.

I went to a fee paying school, because it was a good one and mostly because they didn't shove religion down my throat. Non-catholic school go!

Yeah, but look at the comments on the other side of the fence!
    I think it's more a case of objecting to the assumption that private school = better education. It's extremely misguided. State schools can have facilities that are second to none, some private schools don't have good facilities. All teachers receive the same training. Some teachers are good, some mediocre, some bad - the fact they're based in a private school doesn't change that. Ditto when it comes to the student's ability/level of application.

Again, my issue is with assuming that people that go to private schools are all gormless chinless wonders that will benefit from this mythical old tie network.

I don't know how the appointment of teachers works in private or public schools, so I don't know if there is a difference in the quality of teaching.

Put it this way - if you have kids and the best school in the area actually was a private one that you could afford, would you send your kids there?

"the truth" and "the reality" is the kind of thing I mean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭gavney

don't know about elitist but 16K a year for school is f*cking insane

is it really? you know it's 16K for boarding, not for Day Pupils? Are you saying it's an outrageous amount for someone to pay (which is a matter of opinion, fair enough) or that it's a ridiculous amount to charge?

Let's say they charge 5K a year for Day Pupils (which is about average what it costs in most fee-paying schools).

So, to feed, board and baby sit your children for 11K for 8/9 months of the year isn't actually that much (if that's what you want).