Tommy Tiernan and the Jews.... A Bridge too Far ????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,118 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Nevore wrote: »
    No worse than anything he's said about travellers, Downs Syndrome sufferers, blacks, or people from Navan. :)

The guy excels from controversy. It's about all he can do. I don't rate him at all, actually, I cannot stomach his voice. It has to be the most annoying voice in history. He is vastly overhyped and overrated and I wouldn't cross the road to see him. I find his cringeingly embarrassing, not funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,720 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

fintonie wrote: »
    tommy who:confused:

Tiernan. Didn't you read the thread title FFS :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Knock, knock

Who's there?

You ever hear the joke about the broken pencil?

You ever hear the joke about the broken pencil who?

Nevermind, it's pointless.
    :eek: filth.

Tommy shouts like a feckin nazi and is about as funny as Hector who in turn is about as funny as a nazi that sounds like Tommy.

Simply shout something that quite a few people will get annoyed about and if that's not getting you enough attention then shout it louder, that's the way of Tommy. Offensive only in the sense of highlighting how thin we are on the ground for real comedic talent, well that's just rude to highlight it by shouting about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Q. Whens the release of Tommy tiernans New video?

Ans: About 1 month after he pulls one of these now tiring stunts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 avdoyle80

I wish Tiernan and that Hector asshole would **** off back to Navan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

avdoyle80 wrote: »
    I wish Tiernan and that Hector asshole would **** off back to Navan

Why, do they live near you or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Bob_Harris wrote: »
    Jews are whiny cnuts.

Let me wish you a belated Rosh Hashanah.

You should come along to one of the boards beers sometime - the craic is mighty, and I go :D

As for Tommy T - I think the guy is just a fvcking idiot.

As for the content of his latest outburst, 'meh' - couldn't give a rats arse tbh.

Now Benny Hill - there was one funny fecker all together.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I chuckeled at Tommy's very first DVD, everything after that has been absolute garbage and I mean absolute garbage.

Who gives a flying **** what he says, can we not leave him fade away into insignificance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

wudangclan wrote: »
    yeah,but how would you feel if you were a black traveller from navan suffering from downs syndrome??
    Unlucky.

Shame, once upon a time TT used to be funny. At least Bill Hicks died in his prime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

FearDark wrote: »
    I chuckeled at Tommy's very first DVD, everything after that has been absolute garbage and I mean absolute garbage.

Who gives a flying **** what he says, can we not leave him fade away into insignificance.

"H-waas he the divil?" "Ah don't know, Ah don't know" >>>> Jews hurhurr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

Well, each to their own i suppose. He's in the middle of a tour of Mayo at the moment. He spent two weeks here on holidays staying a few doors away from me and spent a good few nights in the place i work. He was friendly, and after alot of "Holy God is that Tommy Tiernan" crap he settled in quite nicely, Friendly, fun and sociable. Never acted well off or well known. Never grunted when approached for autographs either although it was family time for him. There are a couple of very well know Irish stars that frequent where i live and i can tell you if you hit them with their legend catch phrase or ask them for an autograph they'd scowl in your face.

Funny? Well funny is where you find it, if you don't like him don't listen to him or buy his DVD's, don't go to his shows. Simple enough really. Anyone who gets offended by him has little to be offended by. He's out for the shock value and you're giving it to him. If enough people thought he was crap he'd fade.

My two cents anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Handsome_Pete

It's possible to do racist jokes in a PC way, a way that highlights racism itself rather than poking fun at minorities. Its what the likes of Jimmy Carr or Sarah silverman do, and can get away with it. But Tommy Tiernan has been veering closer to the Jim Davidson/Bernard Manning side of things for a while now, and this just pushes him over the edge, the unfunny pr1ck is one step away from blacking up, if he hasn't done it already.

He's developed some sort of weird John the Baptist persona , he seems to think that he's a lone voice in the wilderness, telling it like it is, but in reality he's an increasinly racist, increasingly unfunny idiot who needs to stop and think that maybe, just maybe, not everything he says is gospel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

I fail to see how making fun of disabled people is funny. It just seems a bit nasty, to me - considering that Tommy is able-bodied and is far more fortunate in life than anyone living with a disability.
    Also, I'd argue that poking fun at disabled people helps to create social stigma and stereotypes.

I really really don't get how people see his act as "making fun" of disabled people. Personally I think you've missed the point. Subjects like religion, Downs Syndrome, Travellers etc are triggers and many people can't see beyond that.

As for his delivery...he's hardly the first comedian to swear and raise his voice. Billy Connolly isn't exactly known for his demure stage persona, neither was Bill Hicks.

To each their own I guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Chinafoot wrote: »
    I really really don't get how people see his act as "making fun" of disabled people. Personally I think you've missed the point. Subjects like religion, Downs Syndrome, Travellers etc are triggers and many people can't see beyond that.

As for his delivery...he's hardly the first comedian to swear and raise his voice. Billy Connolly isn't exactly known for his demure stage persona, neither was Bill Hicks.

To each their own I guess.

Yeah but Hicks and Connolly were funny. It's a very small but important difference.

Chinafoot wrote: »
    Billy Connolly isn't exactly known for his demure stage persona, neither was Bill Hicks.

Whatever about Billy c. but most certainly Hicks wouldn't be of the same "special protected enviroment where people know that what your saying isn't to be taken seriously" or some such cowardly guff that TT came out with to defend himself. Very different kettle of fish there.

Say it and go with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

It would be more in line for Alan Shater to be worrying about the state of the nation than Tommy Tiernan tbh, when was the last time we heard anything from him about anything relevant, another f**king drain on our taxes.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

token jew alan shatter

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

So Sh!tter thinks its "unacceptable"? I wonder what punishment he'd like to dole out, a gag order on all Irish comedians who say anything remotely edgy? or prison even? Are we living in Iran or something?

I reckon Sh!tter is delighted with this great opportunity to get his name in the paper, fkin politicians, snakey w@nkers.

Edgy ! My fcukin wrinkled wallnutt !!

Edgy...great fcukin word for third rate has been "comediens".

This guy is seriously unfunny as is that other half wit from Navan Hector...I have said it in previous posts these guys are long past their sell by dates...they have been rumbled...I say just fcuk the hell orf and close the fcukin door arter you ...

Hmmmm ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭JW91

A lot of people here just love complaining about everything. He's a bit outrageous alright but that's all part of his humour.

He's a brilliant comedian. Apart from Dara O'Briain he's the best Irish comedian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

IRcolm wrote: »
    Its not gonna inspier any huge anti-semetic outburst from the public.

*puts uniform and torch back in wardrobe*
    *weeps for Aryan race*

Tiernan's pretty rubbish, he knows a lot of his jokes are lame so he detracts from this by jumping around and shouting, like Dane Cook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 230 ✭✭ConsiderThis

He just said what everyone else was thinking

How do you know? Or is that what your own prejudices want you to believe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Panda Bear

He just said what everyone else was thinking

So now YOU can tell what everyone is thinking ??????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Edgy ! My fcukin wrinkled wallnutt !!

Edgy...great fcukin word for third rate has been "comediens".

This guy is seriously unfunny as is that other half wit from Navan Hector...I have said it in previous posts these guys are long past their sell by dates...they have been rumbled...I say just fcuk the hell orf and close the fcukin door arter you ...

Hmmmm ?

Washed up? They sell out shows all the time, they have more publicity than other comedians due to their style (or lack of it).. I'd hardly say they were has beens.

There'll always be a niche market for stuff that pushes the boundaries, be it in art galleries in London or stages in Kilkenny.. and there'll always be those that give out about controversial subjects been made light of just like other stuff is

994 wrote: »
    *puts uniform and torch back in wardrobe*
    *weeps for Aryan race*

Tiernan's pretty rubbish, he knows a lot of his jokes are lame so he detracts from this by jumping around and shouting, like Dane Cook.

I guess he is short on material and has not got the talent or imagination to create his own. Reminds me of those Dork Comedians that pick on someone in the audience and use that to make fun and a show Dorks.

Just shows how UNtalented he acyually is

humberklog wrote: »
    Whatever about Billy c. but most certainly Hicks wouldn't be of the same "special protected enviroment where people know that what your saying isn't to be taken seriously" or some such cowardly guff that TT came out with to defend himself. Very different kettle of fish there.

Say it and go with it.

Why Hide behind so called comedy to poke fun at another race or ethnic group sometimes "comedy" is unfairly used to pke fun at something you do not believe do not understand and most likely FEAR...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭Bob_Harris

Let me wish you a belated Rosh Hashanah.

You should come along to one of the boards beers sometime - the craic is mighty, and I go :D

Are you coming on to me?

JW91 wrote: »
    A lot of people here just love complaining about everything. He's a bit outrageous alright but that's all part of his humour.

He's a brilliant comedian. Apart from Dara O'Briain he's the best Irish comedian.

Have to say he is USLESS dork and sad uncomfortable people laugh uncomfortably at his tirade bet you would'nt find it funny if you had a personal challenge which he made fun of so why do you say it ok for others think about it for a minute..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

he must have a tour coming up......

controversy = publicity = ticket sales jing jing :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Panda Bear wrote: »
    sometimes "comedy" is unfairly used to pke fun at something you do not believe do not understand and most likely FEAR...

Like Jesus?

he was a a character. Born to a vegan, dressed in a sheet and nailed at the cross on his 30th birthday

Kinda reminds me of me, in a way

I'm talking about the Catholic Jesus though.. none of that frowned-upon Jew Jesus for me :mad:

Panda Bear wrote: »
    Why Hide behind so called comedy to poke fun at another race or ethnic group sometimes "comedy" is unfairly used to pke fun at something you do not believe do not understand and most likely FEAR...

While you may be right (or not) my post was in connection with what TT used as an explanation of comedy and someone using Bill Hicks as an example of pushing boundaries. My point is that Hicks made what he belived to be relevant political and social statements whereas TT comes close to doing that (in some peoples opinions, even if they don't agree with that opinion) but turns the tables by saying something along the lines of "sure it's only a joke, everyone knows that" (the original quote is in the OP at the end).

Out of curiousity why did you spell FEAR in cpital letters?